The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Your Very Own Dora
Review(s): 108

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-19
Reviewid: 151343Chapter: 1
This story is so darling. I loved that note in your journal about Maddie suggesting that Tonks use "Yvodora Nymph" as a pseudonym. Anyway, I couldn't even begin to imagine how Remus must feel like, wounds still fresh from losing three friends who were like brothers to him. Dora was just the medicine he needed at the moment (the hug scene was great!). While it's kind of strange to see them in this time period when we know that they get married afterwords, but this relationship between these two makes sense. She absolutely thinks the world of him, and he's incredibly fond of her. I love the way that you drew Tonks' picture. So cute!!!

Reviewer: moggieDate: 2008-01-02
Reviewid: 150295Chapter: 1
I never seen this one before, thank you once more and the picture at the end is lovely :)

Reviewer: XalerDate: 2007-07-08
Reviewid: 148469Chapter: 1
How old is she in this one? 9, maybe 10? Then Lupin would be like 23 maybe? It saddened me lots. Remus is a great person. He and Tonks will make a lovely couple. Yay.

Reviewer: Nimbus 2000Date: 2007-06-25
Reviewid: 148360Chapter: 1
I think this is one of the best stories i've ever read.Its funny when you think that Remus and Tonks will get together in the 6th book

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2007-04-10
Reviewid: 147719Chapter: 1
I just finished reading "the Doll Army" for the fourth time, and then I saw this and knew I had to read it.

AND IT WAS FANTASTIC.

I think you're my new hero. x) Really.

It was written very well, and I love the relationships between the characters, as well as your fantastic portrayal of them. You're so good at developing things like that in the span of a one-short story--a rare talent these days.

Anyways.
Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic.
Keep up the awesome work!!

Peace forever
bennedetto.

P.S. I love the drawing at the end. Especially the whales. :D

Reviewer: fizzjamsDate: 2007-01-25
Reviewid: 146996Chapter: 1
!

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140831Chapter: 1
Was a cuter fic ever written than this one? NO! Dora is a child is just the most adorable thing ever!

Oh, I love the continuity in your stories. I love how they all flow together. You're such a good author....I love you....I'm considering becoming your groupie. You write such good fics!

Oh, this fic made the part in shifts when Dora told Remus that she was "his very own Dora" so special and stuff. Most you make me cry in all your fics? It's quite mean actually!

Great fic!

krumfan

Reviewer: purebristlesDate: 2006-01-03
Reviewid: 137958Chapter: 1
I am dying from a toothache. This was just too sweet for words! Thank you for writing a whole backstory to accompany the Shifts & Shades universe... makes the whole idea of Remus's guilt a little more realistic.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2005-11-04
Reviewid: 135690Chapter: 1
It has taken me forever to actually read this--and now I wonder what took me so long. You managed to get across the pathos of the situation without doing anything obvious to achieve the effect. This was very powerful.

Reviewer: DanniDate: 2005-09-27
Reviewid: 133333Chapter: 1
So so cute, I love it

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132536Chapter: 1
Oh gods, this is so beautiful and sad and just... perfect. Just perfect. You've nailed everyone's character again and the only thing I don't like is the fact I can't go right now and keep on reading your stuff, because I have homework to do! :)

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131942Chapter: 1
Cool! I really liked the picture at the end, it's a nice touch!

Reviewer: becehDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130810Chapter: 1
Wow, that was awesome. And i love the picture at the end!!!!!!

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130597Chapter: 1
Aw, this is so sweet! I love Remus and Tonks stuff (or Dora, obviously) and all this is perfectly in character. Plus, the drawing is adorable! Thank you for bringing a smile to my face.

Reviewer: RedDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128764Chapter: 1
Oh...This is possibly the sweetest thing I have ever read...I love the picture at the bottom. I almost started crying half way through because of how sweet it is...aww...

I love it!!!

Reviewer: AndoniDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128274Chapter: 1
This story is so sweet, you portaryed the character of Dora very well with the usage of appropriate vocab, that a younger Dora would obviously use. The relationship between Dora and Lupin here is just spot on. I love the picture too. :)

Reviewer: RinaDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122403Chapter: 1
Wow! Really great story! I really liked it! Dora sounds soo innocent! Its adorable! Although it really made me angry when Andromeda told Dora about sirius being a murderer! Overall, you are a very good author and i am going to read the rest if your stories! V. Nice! -Rina

P.S. to anyone who is reading this review, i HIGHLY recommend you read fernwithy's 'Shifts"

Reviewer: BrianneDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119094Chapter: 1
A wonderful story and I love the picture at the end

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118264Chapter: 1
Dear Fernwithy
This is fantastic.
I've been reading through your work after picking up on "Shifts". I was going to wait until I'd read it all before commenting, but the addition of the drawing here is going one step further than anything else I've read and is too good not to coment on. It exemplifies everything I'm enjoying in your work:
You portray your characters in thoroughly age-appropriate ways - Dora's back-flips here and the differing concerns and developing self-confidence of Lupin in 'Lines of Desent' for example.
You infuse your work with a real love for the characters. In 'Shifts' especially all the charascters - especially the teaching staff of Smeltings - were believable and very likable. The marriage relationships were distinctive and realistic. Dora, here, is such a believable and likeable girl.
As an adult I think she slides (in Shifts esp) into a too-mature person; too cognisant of her own mind for the utterly artless and clumsy post-teen of JKRs creating - but you get away with it as she adopts the persona of the older 'Dora Lewis' - a job-related skill implying that she does, in fact have the ability to project herself into the persona of a much more mature person, and you even unobtrusively explain how this happens as Dora reveals to Lupin how looking older means that older women talk with her as one of them.
The other thing you have done exceptionaly well is give evil a reason. The backgrounding you've done for Snape (I'm thinking of the Sorting stories) is fantastic, turning him into a character I can empathise with. Even To, Riddle becomes understandable. The way you showed how an almost-affection for his dead mothers words (numbered as they were) leading to some sense of loyalty to her and therefore of outrage at his father's treatment of her made huge sense.
So congratulations and thank you. If I can think of any more to add to these thoughts by the time I reach the end of your folio I'll write again.
Till then

Reviewer: MariposaDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116374Chapter: 1
I've been reading Shifts and I love it! I wished you would have put in the first chapter or in the description to read these two fics first! I love them! Now I understand why Remus is having such a hard time with falling in love with Tonks! He practically changed her nappies! This is great background for Shifts and it explains alot and is great reading too!
Great story!

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 115940Chapter: 1
Wow, you've accomplished the impossible. You've made me dread the release of book 6, because I'm afraid they'll do something terrible with Tonks, and make nowhere near as amazing as you have. I've been reading Shifts for a long time, and this is the first time I've read the prequels. I NEVER cry! You are amazing.

Reviewer: Scarlett488Date: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115883Chapter: 1
What a lovely, heartwrenching story. I tend not to cry much when I read, but I did twice while reading this. I've managed to avoid post-Halloween 1981 Remus stories for that very reason. The thing that struck me the most about that part of the story was not poor Remus or Poor Andromeda, but Poor Sirius.

Love the changing colors of Dora's hair, very nice!

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-02-28
Reviewid: 115154Chapter: 1
That was so adorable!
I loved it!

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114890Chapter: 1
Very, very cute

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 114006Chapter: 1
i also agree with denali. Please do the order of the phoenix thing!

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 114005Chapter: 1
I almost cried! It was great!

Reviewer: 57channelsDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113113Chapter: 1
Lovely.

Reviewer: Abby CookDate: 2005-01-31
Reviewid: 112565Chapter: 1
You have truly managed to capture the voice of a young child, in both this and Doll's Army, and that's very difficult to do! The drawing with the color changing hair was absolutely the icing on the excellent cake and I laughed aloud when I saw how Dora's hair changes color. Wouldn't it be fun to grow up in a family that could do that? Excellent job.

I can't help but wish you continued this arc, perhaps the reconciliation between Remus and the new-Auror Tonks, as their work with the Order of the Phoenix reunited them? It would be interesting to see how Tonks as an adult came to relate with Remus.

Reviewer: Sadie HydeDate: 2005-01-13
Reviewid: 110755Chapter: 1
Lovely. You've captured the spirit of a little girl so eloquently and described what is a very real and true feeling sense of what it was like for her as a little girl, being friends with Mr. Lupin. The picture at the bottom is wonderful as well. And I loved that she adopted a kitten- I'm hugely into shelter pets as the best pet option. Great job. Thanks for the read- I've already read the Doll Army countless times, it's one of my all time favorites. Please keep up the great work!

Reviewer: DenaliDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110517Chapter: 1
Me again! I just read Angharad's review below and I AGREE! You MUST write the reunion between Tonks and Sirius -

What would she say????!!!! Especially since he put HER Mr. Lupin through so much!

I trust ONLY YOU to do this properly!! (<--- bossy, like little Dora) PLEASE!!!!!

Reviewer: DenaliDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110516Chapter: 1
Awwwwww, your stories are GEMS, truly. That picture is the cutest thing - I love kid art! Love this line "He let go of her elbows and wrapped her up in a tight hug that felt warm and comfortable and Mr. Lupin-y" So sweet.

But the story was also heart breaking - I wanted to tell them all it wasn't true! Sirius didn't kill those people! Poor Andromeda, Ted and Dora. *Sigh*


PS I love how Dora is bossy. HA!

Reviewer: NARDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109619Chapter: 1
Really cute and touching story - the picture really looks like a little girl's work.

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2004-12-13
Reviewid: 107660Chapter: 1
I keep trying to avoid all the stories after Sirius goes "bad" because I get so frustrated and sad, but your stories are so exquisite that I couldn't pass it up. Besides, I already fell in love with little Dora and her doll army. One of things I love so much about these stories is the way you capture a child's view of the world. I loved the relationship between Tonks and her favorite older cousin so much I wanted to know if you ever considered writing about their reunion all those years later?

At any rate, this story is heartbreaking, and it makes me adore Lupin and little trusting, loving, confused Dora all the more.

Reviewer: Taltyn aka SerpentprideDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105481Chapter: 1
This is simply the most wonderful thing I have ever read. I actually feel a little choked up now that I've read it - and the some of the bitter irony at the beginning makes it even more poignant. God, that was a well-written story. If I could write something half so moving, I'd call myself a writer.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105350Chapter: 1
I do believe my favorite two parts were...

"Professor Dumbledore... do you remember Professor Dumbledore?"
"No."
"He found me a regular teaching position. In Wales. At a school."
"I don't like him. Or Wales."

and...

"I tried to give myself bosoms last month, but it didn't work right and Mum told me that I wasn't allowed to morph that way until I actually have bosoms, and I don't know why I'd want to morph them then, if they were really there." She frowned. "They were a bit uncomfortable, actually."

The entire thing was marvelous though, thanks.

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102062Chapter: 1
Your young Tonks is brilliant. You really have her character perfect. And I can't tell you how much I liked the picture at the bottom here. It's one of the coolest things I've seen here on the Quill. I also like the family interaction between the Tonkses. For minor characters in canon you've really given them a wonderful back story. Keep your wonderful stories coming.

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101579Chapter: 1
Another fantastic story! This one brought tears to my eyes. You have these characters down so well - it's really amazing, and so much fun to read. The picture at the end is great - how did you get it to do that??? Very very very cool. Once again, thanks for writing, and keep up the good work!

Reviewer: julieDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101438Chapter: 1
I adore this story. I've read it before, but today I thought I'd re-read it. It made me cry. I felt rather foolish sitting in the library with my laptop and crying. They were good tears though, cleansing...Thanks for that

-Julie

Reviewer: Lamina CourtDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100449Chapter: 1
Wow... This was absolutely adorable.
I don't come to SQ often, so I didn't know you could add pictures at the end... and that one is too cute! Love the hair colour changing thing.
The story was very original, in a fan ficiton world where it seems nearly impossible to accomplish. For that you get full props. I saw you talking about this story on Godrics Hat, and decided to see if I could find any type of R/T, which, you may be happy to know, I did not.
Not one ounce.
Though she did sound a bit younger than 9, which is the only bit I'll agree on with the reviewer you were talking about.
There were many interesting points that stood out to me: Andromeda bruning Sirius out of photos: Black trait?; the Latin verbs at the beginning: you either did some heavy research or have taken a Latin class - rock on; and some other things that elude me at this moment because, frankly, I'm not feeling too well...
This genfic was very good in not retelling the whole Traitor Scene or anything, because after a while it gets a little tiring.
Thank you for writing such a good fic :)

-Lamina Court

Reviewer: LinDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99014Chapter: 1
Awww, how *cute*! I love the picture; it goes so well with Dora's bubbly personality. Tonks is one of my favorite OotP characters- her cheerful good humor is a breath of fresh air in a book dripping with angst. I pity her mother, trying to raise a Metamorphmagus, but I suppose Andromeda was up to the challenge. She had to be strong willed to reject the Blacks, after all.

Little!Dora is just so adorable... exactly what Remus would need at that point in his life, I think. You have the breathless enthusiasm of childhood down pat- do you have kids or work with them?

One thing- why have a magical school for Squibs? If I were a Squib, I'd much rather live as a Muggle, where nobody would know that I was a shame to the family and everyone else would be like me.

Happy writing,
Tourmaline

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98803Chapter: 1
I've read this story three or four times by now and just realized I'd never left a review! Your Dora is one of my favorite characters. Her relationship with Remus is so wonderful and realistically written. Dora raised some tough questions here and it's nice to see the adults in her life doing their best to answer them honestly.

The adorable picture is just the perfect icing on the cake. Marvelous!

Reviewer: vacuumbunnyDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96057Chapter: 1
I loved this so much, the child-like narrative was perfect (and at times devastating) and the touches of humour were great.

Reviewer: Wolf EarsDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96040Chapter: 1
Well, through half of this story I cried, and the other half, I laughed. So either I have some sort of mental disorder, or you're a great writer! I don't think it's the first one--or at least, I sincerely hope not.

Very nice picture. I especially like the whales that seem to be about to devour Dora. I have named them Alfonso and Jeff. (The big one is Jeff.) Oh, and Remus's rectangular feet are a nice touch as well. My friend would very much like Remus and his rectangular feet to randomly Apparate in her house on Sundays to teach her Latin.

Andromeda's reaction to Sirius's...'betrayal'...was very well-written. It was interesting to see it through the eyes of Dora. Whenever I read a story involving Remus after Lily and James's death, I have a strong urge to shake Remus and yell, "PADFOOT WAS FRAMED!" over and over. If you haven't noticed, I'm a tad obsessive about Sirius and proving his innocence. Annoys my friends quite a bit. ;-)

Anyway, I'd just like to say I've read several of your other stories, and you are a fantastic writer. Keep up the good work.

--Wolf Ears

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95566Chapter: 1
I've just reaqd this again and it's stil made me fill up. It didn't occur to me that Remus was a werewolf when I read this because the parts were so subtle:

"Come here. I'll tell you a secret."

Dora came closer to him.

He gave her a sad, tired smile, and said, "Mr. Lupin is a lot tougher than he looks."

and

"Every Sunday?" Dora asked.

"Maybe not every Sunday."

It took me a few reads to notice this. Well done. Sometimes in stories with Remus, it's just staring at you in the face, like:

Lupin's wolf-like eye's darted back and forth... almost as if he were... a werewolf. And his paw... erm... hand reached for his wand.

But you did it so well. I showed this to my friend Steph and she read all of your stories after it.

Well done again

Reviewer: Matilda BagginsDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93802Chapter: 1
Hmmmm... I really liked this sequel to 'The Doll Army', but I was a bit put off by your hint of Remus/Tonks towards the end. I was really enjoying the insight and characterization demonstrated by Andromeda's confusion and anger and Dora's sadness induced by the people she loves leaving left and right contrasted with the continual strained merry-making taking place outside their apartment. I could even see Dora trying to desperately hold on to Remus as one of the few people who haven't left her yet, but I think you crossed a line somewhere such that it was awkward. I do love your line where Remus tells Dora that he's stronger than he looks. I wanted to jump up and down with joy because _yes_, he _is_. He is very strong in a quiet and determined way, and I could definitely see Dumbledore helping him find a job and get away from all the associations in London from the war. That was brilliant. I also really loved the mirror rescued from Granny Tonks' house and Remus' attempt to help Dora recognize that she didn't need to belong to anyone because she was special for being herself. *sigh* Overall, I really enjoyed this fic, but like I said, I think the suggestion of Remus/Tonk at the end didn't quite work (after all, she is supposed to be six, right?).

Reviewer: ~LunardDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93286Chapter: 1
Uk, you put a mustache on the picture! lol

The story is fantastic, made me feel all weirdy inside. Your story about Dora was my favorite and I'm glad you did that one too!

Reviewer: Mysterious MuggleDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91670Chapter: 1
Can I just say that I love that picture? The manically smiling whales are brilliant, and the colour-cycling hair is lovely touch. And the story was fantastic. Just as good as The Doll Army. Dora is just adorable (and that sentence sounds really weird, now that I think about it :P). I think special mention should go to Andromeda's reaction to what happened to Sirius. Really, really powerful, and I think seeing it through the eyes of a child like that makes it even more frightening and awful.

Really great story. :) Love it.

Reviewer: SmithDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91183Chapter: 1
*sniff sniff* This was so good. I cried through half of it! Great story.

Reviewer: KathleenDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90928Chapter: 1
Absolutely BEAUTIFUL. Thank you so much for sharing this~I can relate so much to your Dora, she is a lot like I am, so that's probably why I'm a little teary now! I love "The Doll Army" and your Sorting series, but this is one of my favourite fics ever.

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90672Chapter: 1
When Remus told Dora that he wasn't going to teach her anymore, I teared up because I really felt for her. I love how realistic of a child she is, and that picture at the end made my freakin life! Congrats on a wonderful story and it's just so nice for Remus to have *someone* after all he's lost.

Reviewer: LemonPixieDustDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90485Chapter: 1
Wow. I cry very easily, I cry at ads on the TV and photos of celebrity weddings (sad I know) so it's no surprise that I burst into hysterical tears after reading this. It was so beautifully written and there closeness is so delicately shown. Iím going to put ĎAnother Dora story by FernWithyí on my Christmas list. I sometimes donít like fan fiction (I think ff.net had too many horror stories that out me off slightly) but the ones on Sugar Quill and yours are soÖ good.

Sorry Iím rambling. The point is, this is a lovely story.

Thanks for writing it

LemonPixieDust

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88652Chapter: 1
AWESOME! I really needed a sequel to The Doll Army after I read it yesterday! Thanx! This is the 4th story of yours I have read in 4 days!

Reviewer: JaneDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88162Chapter: 1
Awwww! How cute! I loved reading both of the stories about little Dora!

Reviewer: SydneyDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88060Chapter: 1
The picture is SO COOL!! You ought to do one with Dora and Sirius and Remus when Sirius comes back. It could be a happy story! That would be cool. This story was quite good though.I liked it as much as I liked The Doll Army.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88058Chapter: 1
That was absolutely precious. I want to cry.

Reviewer: CatakitDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87284Chapter: 1
Bloody Brilliant!

Reviewer: KikiDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86047Chapter: 1
WIll DEFINATLY be adding this to my site!

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85949Chapter: 1
Wow. The Doll Army was very good, but this one is just... Just wonderful: so touching, so well-written, so good with canon. I loved Lupin (I can't seem to call him Remus either) teaching Latin, it seems so fit for him. We just finished Ovid in my Latin class, so that was funny to read about.

More of these! (With the Lovely Lovely Lupin, of course!)

P.S.: Wonderful drawing!

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85854Chapter: 1
Awww.......

Loved this story. Made me want to cry though. Okay I lied. It did make me cry.

What pretty picture! Her hair changes! cool! I am such a child.

~Katie Bell

Reviewer: TiaDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85841Chapter: 1
This is wonderful story! :D Please write more! :D

Reviewer: Kimberly ScireDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85746Chapter: 1
Adorable; Loved it. I can't believe I just managed to read it.
Adore the pic too.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85740Chapter: 1
Aaaaaaw.... oh, great. Now I've got cavities from the sweetness! I wonder what Dora thought about the founding of Rome... probably she thought Romulus was a right git. I didn't know you could put pictures in these stories. No-one else does. Well, for some reason the way Dora felt compelled to label everything in her picture, like it isn't obvious those are the supposed Welsh whales, was amusing. And it was funny when Dora was talking about... ahem... making herself look more grown-up. For some reason I felt sad about poor ol' Remus getting into this business of imagining being a tree, like maybe he'd rather not be a person. A human person! *angry part wants to rant about Umbridge* Gee, I'm ramble-y today.

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82957Chapter: 1
This story was very good.

The first part was so sad. I felt so bad for poor Remus, you did an incredible job of showing what Sirius's family must've felt.

The last part, especially the letter, was very cute. I loved how Dora kept saying things about "I"ll just tell you when you come on sunday."

and, of course, I love the picture of Remus and the Wales' Whales and color-changing Dora. Very sweet.

Wonderful story.

Reviewer: Lady LongbottomDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82402Chapter: 1
Very sweet. I loved the "Mr. Lupin is tougher than he looks" line. You've really captured the Remus from the books in your stories; just so understanding. I can't wait to read more from you about Remus and Tonks. And that picture was absolutely adorable.

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81626Chapter: 1
oh... that was a really touching story. i love how you portrayed little tonks. the picture is just wonderful. the letter.. well, the letter got my crying. i love this.
yours,
angelina weasley.

Reviewer: mariagonerDate: 2004-05-02
Reviewid: 81078Chapter: 1
Man alive, this story is freaking adorable. The picture is wonderful. And it all really brings a lump to your throat.

Reviewer: AmethystLSDate: 2004-05-02
Reviewid: 81042Chapter: 1
That was so very precious! I read the Doll Army as well, and I have to say that these two are moving to the top of my MWPP list. Honestly, they were the perfect mixture of sweet and a bit sad. I love your Lupin, and I adore your Tonks. Please write us some more of them!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80847Chapter: 1
Thank you for making me smile! That was simply wonderful. I hope you write more Dora stories. You caputre her perfectly. This story was the perfect mix of sweet and sad. You had me crying and at the end you made me laugh.

Reviewer: ElshaDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80598Chapter: 1
Ohh...that was so sweet. You captured young Tonks and Lupin so perfectly. Lupin was just born to teach; it makes me even madder that he left Hogwarts at the end of PoA. Returned!Lupin might be a cliche, but if he doesn't come back after the end of the series, it'll be dreadful.

You also adressed nicely a very interesting issue: the "war generation" who were spent their early years under the shadow of the First War (Bill, Charlie, Tonks, and to some extent Percy.) It must have been a tragic and frightening time for young children, with family and friends disappearing. I liked Lupin speaking to Tonks about how _she_ was feeling, since it was so easy for her parents to get wrapped up in their own grief. (The description of "Mum said to be especially kind to Dad...Dad said to be especially kind to Mum...summed it up just right.)

And there was Latin! As someone who took it I thoroughly approve of Latin in fics. Always a good start. :) Keep writing about Remus and Tonks - I like your characterisations of them and as a dedicated R/T-er I'm always happy to read good fics which feature them at any time in their lives.

Reviewer: mosyluDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79973Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww . . .

A picture . . . with whales . . . and her hair changes colors!!!

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww . . .

Okay, enough of that.

I love this story, FernWithy. I love the way you brought out Remus's sadness without making it heavyhanded or overwhelming. Mr Lupin IS a lot tougher than he looks! And Dora's confusion and suppressed grief is very good too . . . so often, people forget that kids need answers as much as adults. And the bosoms . . . "er, that was more than I needed to know" . . . snicker!!

I'd love to see a Christmas story . . . hint, hint, HINT, hint.

Argh. I have to, one more time.

Awwwwwwwwwwww . . .

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79778Chapter: 1
*tears up* This story just touched my heart. And, Remus's stories are always special to me, but this was heartwarming. I actually had to stop for a moment and look away so my sister wouldn't see the sad grin on my face. Almost seems like a contradiction, and yet it isn't. Wonderful, wonderful job with Remus, and Tonks. I like her more and more. :)

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79721Chapter: 1
Oh, I LOVED THIS!!!!! I'd wondered at how Dora and her parents had handled everything that'd happened that night. I loved what Andromeda said to Remus "There are enough holes in the world, lets not make anymore." I though it was wonderful that they would still embrace him as part of their lives instead of tarring him with the same brush as Sirius. This was very good.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79662Chapter: 1
Every bit as good as the first one (well, except for the absence of a very beautifully characterized Sirius and Peter, but sadly, that's to be expected). Ted Tonks is wonderful! I'd marry him if he weren't already taken, and if I weren't hopelessly in love with Remus (who is also wonderful of course, and I adore the way his toughness and resilience comes through here).

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79660Chapter: 1
haha.. wow. an excellent fluffy/cute fic.

SEQUEL!!!!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79659Chapter: 1
Wow. Fern, your work never fails to amaze me. Need to get some Kleenex now.
"Mr. Lupin looked tired.
And old.
Then he raised his hand in greeting and found her smile, the one that said, Now, Dora, what kind of trouble are you in today?, and he was just Mr. Lupin again, and she smiled back and waved".

Loved the "secret", too.
And the bosoms part:)! LOL

Everything just comes togeter in a great story, with so many layers, hints and emotions - I could feel this all around me.
Insanity

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79602Chapter: 1
awww this si soooo sweet

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79587Chapter: 1
["Come here. I'll tell you a secret."
Dora came closer to him.
He gave her a sad, tired smile, and said, "Mr. Lupin is a lot tougher than he looks."] Awwwww, I just broke out into a huge grin when I read that! It is a very Lupin-y thinng to say. He and Dora have such great interactions together. You really write children well. I especially liked how Dora felt like everyone going away was her fault.

[Dora dared herself to do it, but it wouldn't quite come out. "I'll have to ask my Mum if it's all right," she said. "I'm not usually allowed to call grown-ups by their first names."] I love how you wrote that. It *was* really daring to call grown ups by their first names when you were a kid and you capture that sort of sanctioned recklessness very well.

Love the picture, especially Dora's changing hair. Very sweet.

This was a really sweet glimpse of Dora/Lupin. Lovely.

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79585Chapter: 1
Llanfair PG! Just running into the name of that place at random cracks me up. Sweet little story. Thanks for telling us it.

Reviewer: CesaDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79551Chapter: 1
How cool! I loved your story and cute, little, bossy Dora. Are you going to write more for it or is it a one time shot?

Reviewer: GDDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79528Chapter: 1
So Sweet - I especially liked the charmed picture

Reviewer: AntoniaeastDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79518Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I love little Tonks, and Remus was perfect. The picture at the end was very cool as well- made me smile!

Reviewer: AzaeliaDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79511Chapter: 1
Oh wow, that was wonderful. I was wondering what would happen to Dora when Lily and James were killed and Sirius was in Azkaban. Great job! It was a very touching story, tearjerking in places.
You do a great job of seeing very dark happenings through the eyes of a sweet little girl.

Awesome story!
Azaelia

Reviewer: TeriDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79501Chapter: 1
Such a gorgeous fic. Made me cry.

Reviewer: maidenjediDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79473Chapter: 1
FernWithy, m'dear, you continue to amaze. This was a great story. You've given Tonks what she needs so desperately - fleshing out. This is a character I can get behind.

As for Lupin and Andromeda - YOU MADE ME CRY!

Fantastic work. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79463Chapter: 1
I think this deserves one great big "awww...."

Seriously, though...I can't say how utterly adorable and sad I think this piece was. It's so sad to imagine Dora's confusion when she finds out that Sirius "killed Mr. Pettigrew." Her relationship with "her friend Mr. Lupin" is just way too adorable, and the picture just tops the icing, or however that weird saying goes.

Anyway, I wonder if you'll do a sequel?

-Linnet

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79459Chapter: 1
Oh goodness, I always get teary-eyed when I read your Dora-and-Mr. Lupin stories. I absolutely loved the Doll Army, and this sequel was just as excellent, if not better, than its predecessor. Another job well done! You are my favorite author on the Sugar Quill.

Reviewer: BobcatDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79454Chapter: 1
I love your little Dora, both in this and in "The Doll Army," and seeing the aftermath of the events of Halloween, 1981, from her perspective is a treat. I like your characterization of Remus, too, and watching the two interact after Dora's inadvertant mention of Sirius was one of those sort of scenes that I can only hope to be able to write. The picture at the end was a pleasant little surprise. Thanks for a great fic.

Reviewer: SinyaaDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79453Chapter: 1
*Squeals over the picture.* Tonks hair even flashes color! Too cute! I loved this story and really felt bad for Sirius and the family not knowing he was innocent. Dora is so cute in this story. She is a very believable little girl. She actually reminds me a lot of my neice.

Reviewer: DylanDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79443Chapter: 1
I think that the picture is really cute!!! tTe flashing hair in it is the perfect touch!

Reviewer: SaxifraceDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79439Chapter: 1
Veryveryvery cute! I love the picture at the end. Write more! Pleeeeease? *puppy eyes?*

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79438Chapter: 1
Oh, this is lovely. I read it already on your LJ, so I knew the story and knew that it was good, but I really like the way you have polished it as well. The letter turned out well, I think, with Dora not including information on Wales because her mum said Mr. Lupin didn't need to read another report. That way you can show Dora's desire to prattle on about all she's learned to her favorite teacher without overshelming the reader. She's such a wonderful little girl, and very good about taking care of others' feelings. Nicely done!

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79404Chapter: 1
this is really good and really sad. I think it's a great POV of a little kid who doesn't quite understand what was going on with VOldemort etc. Tres Bien! Will we be hearing more from Dora Tonks any time soon?

Reviewer: Tamira LuneDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79392Chapter: 1
Oh cute! I hope you keep up with these "Dora" stories. I like them loads!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79376Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwwwww!

This is possibly one of the cutest stories I've ever written. That said, there was a lot of darkness lurking beneath the surface. The way you had Dora hiding her sadness out of consideration for her mother and father was so realistic, and the way she noticed how Remus had aged - the smell of the forest - the scratch across his face - the way he said "Mr. Lupin is tougher than he looks"... It was very moving and very sensitive. You write both Dora and Lupin so well, and I can see how Dora would love 'Metamorphoses'. The drawing at the end was just... wonderful. Great story, FernWithy.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79373Chapter: 1
Wow... just... *grabs a Kleenex*

I love Dora's characterization here. Really wonderful.

<<Mr. Lupin looked like someone had hit him in both eyes, for some reason he had a scratch all the way across his face.>>

Great allusion to his transformation after Oct. 31. It's just enough to get the point across.

<<But now nothing wanted to be said.>>
I love this line. It's a beautiful way to show Dora's reaction.

I loved it. I love the ship. You are planning on writing more with this, right?

~Ella

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79364Chapter: 1
Ack! Just realized that my accented e's didn't come out properly at all... they were fine yesterday! Oh, well. Yes, that is the word for "to lose."

Yup, I'm an R/T shipper, TPR (sorry!). But I'm in the "comfort-ship" sort of frame of mind with them. They remain friends, and eventually decide to make a family of their own. I expect he'll have some difficulty making the transition from ickle!Dora to grown-up Tonks, though, much to her annoyance. :)

Thanks everyone!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79362Chapter: 1
tearjerking, but adorable just the same.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79361Chapter: 1
::tears up::

oh god, FernWithy, I have nothing to say to that.


..........


That was awesome. Incredible. I can't find the words to tell you what I think of it.

You write Tonx better than anyone else I've ever read and probably will read. It's uncanny how you get into her head; you write beautifully but not only that you make it sound like a child talking and you make it sound like not just any child but TONX. It's like magic! :D

Are you a Remus/Tonx shipper? I couldn't not be, after reading "The Doll Army." I wish he would come and teach me Latin!

My favourite bits have to be when Dora learns Remus is leaving and she says "but I did my homework! I went ahead!" which is awesome because it's EXACTLY what she would say when that happens; of course, my other favourite bit has to be about morphing bosoms. :D :D :D :D

The picture was an AWESOME touch (so was Remus teaching Squibs, btw); did you draw that yourself? It is BRILLIANT. I prefer Remus sans moustache, persnoally, and at the age of nine I'm not quite sure she'd be wearing pigtails...though I'm one to talk because my sister is almost nine and she does, so I'll stop nitpicking. :)

I am in crazy-love with your work, FernWithy.

anxiously awaiting whatever might come next,
~TPR

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79333Chapter: 1
Not only do you write so well that I always go for your stories first, but now you're making animated GIF's to go with them! I'll rave about the writing later, but let me just say that I adore the drawing. Very much like a 7-8 year old might do it, and goodness, it's so cute, and funny, and heart-warming!

And now on to the writing. It brought tears to my eyes, especially the Dora-Remus dialogue. A lot of people in fanfic have, for some reason, paired them up romantically as adults, but I can't see them like that. I much prefer your interpretation. And it made me think that, when adult Dora found out the truth, she must have hurt just as much about her dear Mr. Pettigrew being guilty, as she did about Sirius. Heart-rendering, although you do manage to keep it light (talk about breasts being uncomfortable! haha). I especially liked this:

"Dora Tonks could always talk. Mum said she'd come out into the world jabbering on about something and not caring that no one understood her. Daddy said it was mostly, "Gurgle, gurgle, gurgle, spit," and he was still working on the translation."

That's... so Tonks!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79317Chapter: 1
Great work, FernWithy! Knowing that you are being careful how you build the Remus Tonks relationship, I wanted to tell you that this seems just wonerful. If it was difficult for you, it does not show. The whole thing is wonderfully warm and loving. I like the way Ted asks Dora to be mindful of Mr. Lupin. And I think it is very accurate that Remus would see how Dora was isolating herself! Great idea to include the artwork! It seems almost a shame the books of canon have to be Muggle-ized and there are no charms like yours!

I think my favorite line is this:
>>Mum nodded. "There are too many holes in the world, Remus.<< I think that shows what the Tonks are like. And nice reference to her photo album and the Black Family Tree Tapestry. Just a wonderful line.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --