The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Only One
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-09-15
Reviewid: 149288Chapter: 1
Yes! I've thought this song was perfect for Harry/Ginny too. And I think the Ginny dragging Harry out of the dumps is very appropriate and romantic. Excellent story.

Reviewer: SlugabedDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125817Chapter: 1
It's kind of, erm, corny. What I mean is Harry's kind of out of character. Harry seems to possess stereotypically 'feminine' qualities, cuz he's emotionally overt, and doesn't have a problem with talking about his feelings. In the books, Harry doesn't appear to be like that. He's more reclusive. I'm not saying that you're not having Harry reclusive here, but it seems like it's a rather temporary thing; like Harry's being reclusive only for these few moments. He says, 'Dean is a lucky guy,' which is really uncharacteristic for Harry to say. I know they're rather minor flaws, which you could even call trivial, but it does result in cringing at those particular parts.

I'm not quite sure where this line is going (I find it out-of-character-Harry):

"No, you don't know! I wanted to show everyone how generous I was, I wanted Cho to see it! I wanted to make everyone see that I wasn't just some upstart little boy! I wanted to save Sirius, I wanted to show Dumbledore that it didn't matter whether he spoke to me or not, I could do things without him, he didn't matter!" He choked, and swallowed hard. "And now they're dead. I couldn't finish what I started!"

I didn't exactly know that he wanted to show Cho how generous he was. Somehow, the idea that Cho holds some relevance in his life is outlandish.

Other than that, you've obviously written incredibly well.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122923Chapter: 1
This was fun & still directly on target! Thanks.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-24
Reviewid: 117563Chapter: 1
You really are good. Thanks for another good tale.

Reviewer: BradDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98881Chapter: 1
This was lovely. Fluffy enough for me to get a bit teary while reading it. I wish you'd done other H/G pieces. I think you've captured Ginny 'put Harry right' Weasley perfectly. Thank you for the story!

Reviewer: maddiDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98792Chapter: 1
wow
really good fanfic
it was interesting
well done

Reviewer: AristotleDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97971Chapter: 1
What a great fic! I've got great, honking tears in my eyes. I absolutely adore H/G fanfiction, and yours is some of the best I've read in a really long time, and not just from Sugar Quill.

You've got amazing writing abilities, and I can't wait to finish this post so I can go read more!

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93581Chapter: 1
Oh, I'm in love.... In love with your story! Great work! Simply terrific. It was recommended and I'm so glad I read it. Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88873Chapter: 1
Excellent. You should really continue this story. It is very good and have loads of potential.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85626Chapter: 1
I've got to say, while this is a scenario that has been covered a lot, there's something in the depth and complexity of Harry and Ginny's encounter that really makes your story stand out. :) You don't gloss over the circumstances with only the goal of an eventual snog in mind (although I wouldn't mind terribly if you wanted to write that, you know).

On to the particulars:

>>What made her think that she could do something when they were helpless?<<

I like that line -- Ginny has always seemed to respect the bond of friendship between those three, and despite what some people say, she's never tried to butt her way into it.

>>She wandered after him, through the garden, avoiding speeding gnomes chased by Crookshanks.<<

LOL, that's a nice detail there. It really sets the mood for the Burrow.

>>"You wonder how people can go about their daily business when you've done something so awful, when something is so wrong with the world. You wonder how people can stand to be around you. You don't think you'll ever be the same again."<<

This seems very in-character for Ginny to say, in light of OotP. :)

>>"Do you still think of him?" Harry asked.

Ginny let out a breath, surprised by the question.<<

I find it telling that Harry asks this question and Ginny knows *exactly* to whom he's referring. They have the bond of shared experience, and they're certainly on the same wavelength now.

>>"Harry, you're not a murderer," said Ginny firmly, "and as for playing the Hero, bollocks."<<

Hee, not above a little profanity to get Harry's attention!

>>"He was really nice to me in the beginning. Not like he became later, nasty underneath, but just nice. Friendly. He talked to me about himself. He said that he knew what it was like to be lonely, to feel as if nobody understood you."<<

*sniff, sniff, sniff*

>>"What I mean is… at the risk of sounding stupid, you're Harry Potter. You're the Boy Who Lived. I know that you get tired of being that, and the way the public acts towards you, it's not surprising, but for a number of people, that's it. As far as they're concerned, if you say so, then it must be true.”<<

I love that she says this. It highlights the fact that they have grown up in different worlds, and I think it's totally true. Just think of those celebrations after Voldemort's defeat in Godric's Hollow. It's still a lot for Harry to comprehend, and honestly, and it will probably always annoy him, but the truth is that he DOES give people hope.

>>Some of us followed you before we had any proof, because we didn’t need proof. Some of us were willing to protect you, no matter what. Some of us were willing to stand by you, no matter what. Just don't forget that, Harry. Don’t forget us."

WOOHOO! GO, GINNY, GO! :D *breaks out a tissue*

>>"Dean's a lucky guy, Ginny," he said, then turned and walked to the gate.<<

Gah...gah...gah...You could be lucky too, Harry!!!

>>There was only one word in Ginny Weasley's mind.

Damn.<<

aasdfalsdkfja;lsdkfjaldkjaasdlfj;askj

What an absolutely perfect ending. I confess, I usually don't read songfics, but I really enjoyed this story.

~Katinka

Reviewer: Sinistra MDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83276Chapter: 1
Yeah!!! Loved this story, it's the "missing confrontation" between Ginny and Harry that I was hoping to see played out in OotP. And you did it so well. Kudos for pulling off the songfic element, too; that's not always so easy and it really works here. Nice job.

Reviewer: JayDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82962Chapter: 1
I loved it...very beautiful! Very good...i'd read a sequel if u made one..good job.

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81800Chapter: 1
That was so moving, and beautiful. Now MY eyes are watery =]

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80720Chapter: 1
Oh Starsea - this is so lovely. The visual imagery is just great. The conversation is so real and their voices so honest. I especially love that you hinted at their understanding of Tom's pain, and that Sirius was with Lily and James. Wonderful job.

Reviewer: kinderjediDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80476Chapter: 1
Your characterization of Harry and of Ginny is wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing this story with us!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80273Chapter: 1
**Author's Reply**

Thanks so much for the reviews, everyone! This story has received more reviews in a week than "Destination Unknown" did in a whole month. I suppose it just goes to show how many H/G fans frequent this site. I'm also glad that so many people like the ending, because it made me grin an evil grin when I wrote it. I enjoyed writing Ginny so much that I am now writing a Ron fic! ^_^ But I don't think there will be a sequel, not until Book VI comes out.

anemone - I realise there is no such thing as "mental rape", but I was going for the symbolic meaning, such as when people talk about the "rape" of the rainforests. Plus, this is from Ginny's point of view. I suppose "violation" would have been better, but it doesn't have the short, brutal impact of "rape".

jenadamson - I made you breathless? I'm impressed.

Linnet - thanks! I was pretty excited about being on the Professors' Bookshelf!

magicaljules - Harry crying isn't exactly OOC. He went to do it alone, it was just that Ginny noticed and followed. Fools rush in where angels fear to tread, some might say. Well, Ginny isn't a fool, and I can see her being frustrated with Harry's gloom even as she understands the reason for it. But I'm glad you picked out all your favourite lines, because I always want to know which parts people particularly liked!

To all the "Lucky you" people - St. Margarets, Cliodna, Mary A. Weasley, hairy_hen, Autumn, I'm glad you enjoyed this so much.

*smiles at Lilac* When are you bringing out another filk?

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80094Chapter: 1
Wow, this was wonderful! You honestly captured the essence of Ginny. The way you have her speaking reminds me so much of canon Ginny that it's suprising! You have some truly amazing lines in this story. This one, for example really reached out to me:
"Don't I? You think that it's all down to you – if you hadn't done this, then such and such might have happened. Merlin's Beard, Harry! I know that you're important, I can see that from the way Dumbledore treats you, but that doesn't mean you have total responsibility for everyone! Professor Snape had choices, just as Sirius had choices – you were important, but you can't have been the sole reason for their actions!"

It's like you got into the heads of the characters. With this line, you've captured exactly what Harry needs to hear. This story made me well up, and then just when I was about to start crying, it ended, and the ending made me laugh. Only the best stories can do that.

Liz

Reviewer: DaeDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 80022Chapter: 1
great job! i loved the end!!

Reviewer: AutumnHeartDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79972Chapter: 1
This is lovely - a very believable extrapolation of Harry and Ginny's OotP relationship. This conversation, I think, is very neccessary for both of them at this stage of things and this is one of the best interpretations of it I have seen.

keep writing,
AutumnHeart

Reviewer: jamuDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79968Chapter: 1
this is really good! i love h/g, and the way you put them in character was awesome...might we be seeing a sequel??
-j

Reviewer: anemoneDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79964Chapter: 1
Great fic! I think you understand Ginny and Harry's characters well. I like their interaction with one another too.
Not too sure sure about the phrase "mentally raped" though. There's no such thing.

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79957Chapter: 1
i think that you should write a sequel!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79914Chapter: 1
This was beautiful! Ginny and Harry were both perfectly in character, as was Lupin. Ginny's thoughts are believable and realistic. Fabulous work, keep writing. Congrats on getting on the Professors' Bookshelf!

-Linnet

Reviewer: CliodnaDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79887Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. I even found myself getting choked up a couple of times, and I'm not normally one to do that. Brilliant characterization, and the final line was just... priceless.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79852Chapter: 1
That was wonderful Starsea! I really enjoyed it! I was especially interested in Ginny's discussion about Tom and how she wanted to be special--I think that is a good point. (I have a similar conversation between H/G in my next fic. but yours is much more detailed)
I also liked how you described Harry physically--how fragile he seemed--how Ginny liked his smile.
The part where Ginny tells him his "saving people" thing isn't like a hobby, was clever and sounds like something she would say. The damn at the end was perfect--oh those feelings! It really sums up Ginny's situation doesn't it?
The Pretenders are awesome and this is a great song to put with this narrative. Great job!

Reviewer: jenadamsonDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79848Chapter: 1
This was very well done. The characterizations of Ginny and Harry were fantastic. I too am a firm believer that Ginny will probably play a large role in helping Harry recover from his grief. This story shows why; she understands his feelings of guilt and loneliness. You’ve done a great job in exploring her feelings about Tom – and how they relate to Harry. I think all of the air left my lungs when Harry told Ginny Dean was a lucky guy. I’m a sucker for romance, but I think, for this story, leaving it off where you did was perfect. I especially liked the line about Ron – how something is going on, just not what he wants – it made me smile in a bittersweet sort of way. I enjoyed reading this immensely.
Jen

Reviewer: JaquelyneDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79830Chapter: 1
You are not alone in this thought that Ginny will be the person that will bring Harry back from the Brink of grief, insanity, his own tortured thoughts. I am finding that even the non Harry/Ginny shippers feel this way. (I am a H/G shipper, So I really believe that.)

This was very well done. I loved the talk between them. It was something they both needed to do. All of those years of watching Harry have to pay off for her at some point, only if it's as good friends.

Well Done!!!
~J~

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79829Chapter: 1
Excellent story. You've really nailed the H/G interaction, making it believable and not forced. Of course they would be a bit awkward at some points, considering they don't talk on a regular basis, but they have a very in-depth understanding about the Chamber and everything else, even if Mr. Potter doesn't quite recognize it yet. I like how he suddenly began to really look at her at the end, indicating he's taking more notice. I really hope we see a scene like this in book six, even if they don't romance until the seventh--it's a very necessary beginning. Awesome!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79818Chapter: 1
That was so good! Thanks so much for sharing it!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79816Chapter: 1
Excellent story Starsea! I enjoy reading your posts in the forums, but I had never read any of your fanfics until now...I'm glad I caught this one, and I'll be sure to read the rest as soon as I'm finished here :o)
interesting lines:
"Oh, why you look so sad.
The tears are in your eyes,
Come on and talk to me now…"
Ahhh, "I'll stand by You"...I love that song :o)
"He was curiously blind to some things. He probably thought he was doing a good job of hiding his true feelings, eating his cake, sipping at his Butterbeer." (our Gin really knows our Harry, and so do you Starsea)
"He was Harry, almost a brother, definitely a friend by now. And yet… and yet…" (how lovely, my favorite part of the fic...it's so hard to describe such feelings)
"His voice had not dropped suddenly, but gradually lowered itself over the last year, so that he spoke her name like a man, not the boy she had known." (our Harry is growing up much too fast...help him Ginny!)
"Sometimes you had to be so careful with Harry: the wrong word or gesture and he would flee, like a wild animal. Like a stag." (beautiful analogy...)
"To be blunt, she had been mentally raped, and this boy – young man – standing in front of her had been the only thing which stood between her and death. She still felt anger at how easily she had been duped, and sometimes she could not help but mourn the loss of her innocence, the end of that starstruck yet energetic little girl."
"They both knew that Voldemort was no laughing matter; they both knew they could have died in the Chamber of Secrets – but comparing Tom Riddle to that flea-bitten old tabby somehow made him easier to talk about." (hee hee...they both use humor to avoid tension at times)
""No, you don't know! I wanted to show everyone how generous I was, I wanted Cho to see it! I wanted to make everyone see that I wasn't just some upstart little boy! I wanted to save Sirius, I wanted to show Dumbledore that it didn't matter whether he spoke to me or not, I could do things without him, he didn't matter!" He choked, and swallowed hard. "And now they're dead. I couldn't finish what I started!"" (hmmm...I don't know what to think about this)
""There are lots of sad things,"" (true that, Harry)
""The twins are going to be showing off some new merchandise, I suggest you get back quickly if you don't want to be their puffskeins."" (puffskeins are the new guinea pigs!)
"It was the way Dean looked when he sketched her… Except that Harry didn't draw." (ehhh, Ginny and Dean...bleh! But hey, good line anyhow)
Starsea, I can respect where you're coming from here. I love that that song inspired you, as it's one of my favorites :o) To me, some of the dialogue is OOC for both Ginny and Harry toward the middle of the fic (not to mention Harry weeping), but the story was so well-written, and I really love how you have Ginny's "heart bleeding" for Harry. You are right, it is Ginny who seems to know Harry so well...
Good job!

Jules

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79811Chapter: 1
That was so nice! The end was perfect. "Damn." Oh, I love it. Good interactions between Harry and Ginny. You should tell people about it on the Lucky You thread.

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79810Chapter: 1
Great job! You captured Ginny well--it's hard to that, so kudos to you.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79799Chapter: 1
Excellent fic! Your characterizations were absolutely amazing, perfect really. The ending was stupendous, it's not very often a fic ends with the word damn ;-) Great job! *Goes off to find more stuff by Starsea*

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --