The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137444Chapter: 1
Ooh, that's so sweet ! I like it !

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123053Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: KayDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102328Chapter: 1
I thought the way Ginny was describing the others' hands, was remarkable. She jumps from one perso to another as if she was telling a story. Awesome!!!!.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99328Chapter: 1
Great job! I enjoyed it a lot!!

Reviewer: PotioncatDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97942Chapter: 1
This was a very interesting way to look at the characters. I liked the idea of Molly, a little sad to see her children grow up.

It would be interesting to see how Ginny views teachers' hands.

Reviewer: geraDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93422Chapter: 1
i like this story. it's very nice and thoughtful. do you like hands too?

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92452Chapter: 1
I liked this story - it summed up a bunch of people's hands without ever making it really look like a list. It was really Ginny telling those things!
Just one remark: somehow I can't see Parvati and/or Laven,der at a surprise party for Harry at the Burrow. Then again, Lavender's hands were interestingly described!

Reviewer: Christine T.Date: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92354Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this insightful piece. Thank you!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92153Chapter: 1
What a sweet interlude. Great idea, that Ginny would learn so much from observing the hands around her. I think you have captured each of her subjects qualities perfectly, and I love the idea of her quietly observing everyone. My favorite part, though? Harry getting a birthday party at the end. What a great touch. :-)

Reviewer: buriDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85082Chapter: 1
omg i love this story, its so cool!

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81794Chapter: 1
Very insightful and well written. ^^

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80421Chapter: 1
Oh, I like this idea--it was a great way to look at the characters! I really like your line about the hands being the gateway to the heart--because really it's not what you say sometimes, but what you do--which really shows how you feel.
I think Ginny would be that positive about her family and Harry and Hermione. I'm glad she wants Percy back. I also like how you show progression of the characters in their hands--and that bittersweet knowledge that time passes and the body will show it.
A lovely, thoughtful story.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 80028Chapter: 1
So sweet. I loved it. My favorite part was: "Some say that the eyes are the mirror to the soul; I say that the hands are the mirror to the heart." And, of course, the end!

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 80012Chapter: 1
i think im in love with this fic :) so cute....and very ginny like....interesting and sweet...please do write more like this!
beth xxx

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79944Chapter: 1
This is lovely! I never thought of hands that way before, and Ginny's reflections were magnificent.

"Some say that the eyes are the mirror to the soul; I say that the hands are the mirror to the heart. "

That was just unspeakably beautiful.

-Linnet

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79917Chapter: 1
Oh. My. Gosh. This story was amazing! I really love the whole 'flair' of it.

I love drawing, sketching, painting, etc., and I always seem to find hands the hardest to draw. Not only is the shape just hard, but everyone, as was indicated in this story, has a totally different set of hands. I also find it intriguing to study people's hands, because you really can tell a lot about the person's character from them.

This story actually made me think of the movie 'Titanic', because when Jack is showing Rose his drawings, and she finds many of the same woman, he says he drew her because, "She had beautiful hands." That really reminded me of this story.

Anyway, as I mentioned earlier, I realy loved this story, because you really expressed everyone's character beautifully with just the way their hands looked. Awesome job!

In Awe,
Caitlin

Reviewer: Laura HDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79866Chapter: 1
Hands as the window to the soul--I like it! Personally, I hope the hands Harry ends up holding are Ginny's.

Reviewer: GinnyDragon54Date: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79863Chapter: 1
I love hands. I've always wanted a boyfriend with really nice, strong hands. I thought it was kind of a weird thing to want in a guy. Now I feel like I have something in common with Ginny. Awesome story. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: LilyclioDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79846Chapter: 1
This was a really good idea! study people's lives by looking at their hands... Do you really do that, or did the idea just pop in your head?
Anyway, I hope you have others ideas of this kind, I'm sute it'll be fun to read

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79826Chapter: 1
unique...and it was great

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79823Chapter: 1
wow. I am in awe of your talent :o) You really have a gift! I too, have always noticed hands. I don't know why...when I was very little I noticed the difference between workworn and pampered hands. My father was a Marine, is now a fire chief, and he refinishes furniture and builds things as a hobby. He scrubs his hands daily so they will be clean as his mama taught him, but he most definitely has strong, workworn hands. I use my father's hands as a standard by which to measure other men's hands. After eyes, hands are the first thing I notice on a man. I suppose my mother has Molly Weasley hands...she knows how to work hard. She has MS and teaches piano lessons out of the house. Her hands have calluses from the wheels of her "traveling wheelchair" (she has a motorized one for the house). But her hands are somehow also soft and loving and graceful as she plays piano. My Maw Maw, my father's mama, taught my sister and I to keep our hands lily white, smooth and lady-like, as we are genteel southern women. We are our father's daughters, and we could sand and stain furniture from the age of 3...but, of course, that doesn't stop us having nice soft hands with which to play the piano or to draw :o)
Harry and Hermione as quasi-Weasleys...I love it! And I really like your take on the whole Dean and Ginny subplot...

*sigh* what a beautiful story!

Jules

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79817Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I love everything and I teared up at certain points ( the talk with Mrs.Weasley over growing up and loving her children...)I always thought Ginny was the sort of character to take notice in little things, like hands( some people ignore hands because well they're *hands*). I liked Ron and Harry's hands the best, there was just something about the way they were decribed. Greatness all around. Good job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --