The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-12
Reviewid: 141853Chapter: 4
Another fine section. I do so like this fic.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126048Chapter: 4
Heh, lunch with Dumbledore (at the restaurant called Nothing At All) was awesome ("Would you like dessert first, last, or instead?" Indeed.)

Thanks for providing such a great feel-good series. I have a feeling we'll be needing it after the next book comes out...

Reviewer: Myster WebDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109258Chapter: 4
"They'll show everybody next year."
Ginny laughed. "You've said that every year since I can remember, Ron. They haven't yet."
"Well, this is the year!" Ron fished a scarf that matched the socks out of the wrapping paper and looped it defiantly around his neck.

:)I feel so loved. Your Welcome. Now, if you could keep spinning out your tale, the world would adore it (nudge, nudge, wink, wink)
Oh, and do you know where Tom got that paperweight? That was really cool.

Reviewer: Myster WebDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109256Chapter: 3
Seems he won't need to learn transfiguration (gaah, what a word) so quickly, hmm? Can't wait to read the next one!

Reviewer: Myster WebDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109255Chapter: 1
ACCCCCKKKK! When the website was moved around, I couldn't find you guys! Stay put will ya!
Anyway, great job! A scuffed muggle penny...oh dear.

Reviewer: Tasogare no HimeDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88450Chapter: 1
I LOVE your stories, I've read them at both fiction alley and here and I re-read them frequently. This is my favorite so far. You sead some where (though I can't quite remeber where.) that Sirius might make a project out of grimmauld place. If you don't have any ideas of what that would be might I offer a sugestion?
He could (with alot of work) turn it into a Half-way House for Muggelborn Wiches and Wizards, and squibs with no family. not only would it be helping people but would have the plus of causing his dear old mum to role over in her grave.

Reviewer: Myster WebDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87895Chapter: 2
Tom fleetingly wondered if that meant the rest of them were supposed to help or not, but thought it probably meant everyone.... He was distracted and had to smother a laugh when the boa murmured, "As long as I'm not sssupposed to be a garland."

Well, it would get rid of the need for a tree topper. Glad you got the cartoon!
(about the room: Phew! Worse than cat litter!)
Great ideas and keep going!

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87537Chapter: 4
I have gone back and read the rest of the series, I believe I've reviewed a couple of them, and it's amazing! I'd read The Application That Should Have Been Denied, so I knew how wonderful you guys were, but this is just beautifully written and so much fun to read.
"...but beyond all the logical reasons, behind all the transformations and Dark magic, there had still been the little boy on the street corner, watching the big cars go by, and wanting." --Insightful, that. And I'm sure very true. I love how you've shown Tom to be caring and conscientious enough to not keep all that amazing wealth for himself. Distinctly define himself from Voldemort.
I LOVE the restaurant! That's so Dumbledore! "Nothing at All" HA! And with glass floors...it's great!
The bit about Remus calmly tripping Sirius was priceless. I've seen my friends do that a hundred times when one or the other is acting the fool.
The phoenix was beautiful, if like you said, a bit impractical. It did fit. Perfectly.
But the best part of the entire story is the Key. Almost cried on that one, which would be entirely inappropriate being that I'm at work. But the gesture was incredibly touching.
Lovely work, folks! Next installment??????

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87521Chapter: 4
I have wondered at times whether he recognized his own hand in the groundwork for some of the very spells she later developed for use against him
-neat idea!

, because apparently Sirius was too excited to sleep and set off all the bells again
-very cute.

Hope you continue this AU.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87464Chapter: 4
I'm sad to see this story end, and I'm looking forward to the next one! Tom's happiness at the acceptance he's found with his 'mad Gryffindor' friends was perfectly written, especially his reaction when Sirius gave him the key.

Loved the cheerful Christmas morning frenzy, especially Sirius's pleasure in the holiday and his guests!

It's truly a delight to see that a certain teeny owl has found his way into your AU. He's so cute!

Oops, I can't believe that I nearly forgot to mention how much I enjoyed the scene in Gringotts, especially this line:

"But it was still a wrench to look away from the shining gold, up into Dumbledore's impassive gaze, and say in a very small voice "I can't keep this."

Lovely! And not something that I could ever picture coming from Voldemort. It's pleasure to see Tom walking his own path.

Looking forward to the next story!

Reviewer: Donna BreedingDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87445Chapter: 4
This is my first commemt. I realy enjoy this story line. I wish I had just a little of the imagination you guys have shown.

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87417Chapter: 4
"...feeling like he'd just been plowed into the turf by a particularly urbane Bludger." *giggles* You guys have such a way with words. :)

I adore Tom. This comes as no surprise to either of you, I'm sure, but I do. :D He's just so adorable -- precocious and very serious at times, a mischievous scamp at others, and sometimes just a lost little boy. *cuddles him* Very appropriate, what he did with the money, though I'm glad he kept a LITTLE!

...And I want one of those paperweights. Not to mention a key to the Madhouse!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86804Chapter: 1
Ah-ha! The plot thickens....
Here we go again! Great job and PLLLEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEE (whimper) write more. Soon. Quickley! VITE! (French for quickley!)
Thank you!

******

"Thanks. For both. And he'll probably still be over a lot, it's not like Sirius is going to keep him locked up."

"Well, no." Ginny shook her head. "When the twins went to get him at the start of last year, they had to pull bars out of the window."

"Ugh. What are they so afraid of?"

She shrugged helplessly. "I don't know."

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86654Chapter: 3
Oh FUN! Fun fun fun!!! Yay! I love the house, and Tom is so sweet! Bless his little heart, he doesn't want to be evil, of course at some point that isn't fourthirty in the morning I'll have to read the rest of the series so as to not be quite so lost, but I pick up quickly, and you are very good writers so I'm not completely lost, just a little uninformed. Wonderful, really!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86618Chapter: 3
Wow. I hadn't read these before, and I have to say they are awesome! I don't know what else I can possibly write. The stories seem to flow-I did wonder about what amulder asked, about Ginny and Harry's relationship, but I'm just excited and ready to wait for it to happen. It seems to go so well together. Please, please, add some more soon. These stories are really good, very detailed, just wonderful. Oh- and Ginny is awesome!

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86610Chapter: 3
Artifact storage?! Eep, can't we just decide to drop the key to that one out of the cart?? I shudder to think what 'Voldy' would have stored in there. Borgin & Burkes would have a field day.
~Canopus

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86500Chapter: 3
It's not breakfast, it's an adventure!! Harry and Tom were adorable in the breakfast scene. Tom's logical taming of the butter made me laugh, as did the reference to Harry scaring the bacon so that it never tried to fly away.

It's good to know that the boa is finding his way around Sirius's house.

Loved this exchange:

"Sirius blinked down at him. "What on earth's going on? -- Or do I not want to know?"

Dumbledore smiled serenely. "You always want to know, Sirius."

Your characterizations of everyone continues to be exquisite. That chocolate Portkey is very Dumbledore. And it figures that he'd love riding around on those Gringotts carts.

Your original characters are also exquisite. Gnashtalon's both likeable and formidable. The scene where he questioned Tom about his identity was awesome! Tom did himself proud too.

-grin- It's so in character for Voldemort to have had secret bank accounts in Switzerland.

Ah, Tom's rich! It's going to be interesting to see how he handles this. I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: RobertDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85865Chapter: 2
One of the best, and my personal FAVORITE of the AU series - I continue to enjoy every word of the Time's Riddle fics... You guys are fantastic, the world is compelling, the characters are right on the mark (with appropriate changes due to the alternate reality) and what else can I say? Keep up the good work! Oh, and I like the Boa too. :-)

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85602Chapter: 2
Sirius's house is PERFECT. I was grinning during the entire chapter! The description of Sirius "climbing out from under the couch with drinks" made me laugh out loud. What an inspired idea to have the Marauder's Map-ish blueprints as a guide! Tom's fascination was endearing. (Yes, it would be fun to see what Fred and George would make of the Madhouse, they'd love it.)

Lovely detail about Sirius having rescued some of the Potters' possessions for Harry.

Ooh, I like Dumbledore's plan to get Voldemort's financial assets away from his Death Eater followers and into Tom's hands. This should be interesting! Seeing Tom and Dumbledore on the same side never ceases to delight me. You handle the give-and-take between both brilliant minds so well.

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85587Chapter: 2
*gigglefits* I adore the Madhouse, you know this. It's just the sort of place Sirius would adore.

Reviewer: Myster WebDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80521Chapter: 1
Very well done! I really liked this:

"I am." She smiled again, then looked at the time. "Oh -- I'm going to have to go. I promised Colin an extra pair of hands with some new photography potions he wanted to try. Supposedly these don't smell when they're brewing."
"Brilliant. Go help him, the world needs you."

Well, in fact the world does need Ginny...to keep us from getting bored. Great job once again!

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79977Chapter: 1
Wow, I've fallen way behind. This is such a fun series! I really like seeing Harry so happy, and I love seeing Harry get the chance to go live with Sirius. (Poor Sirius.) Those two deserve to be happy.

Got a chuckle out of Ginny's reaction to being invited. Loved the line "Ginny, who looked rather like someone had hit her between the eyes with The Monster Book of Monsters."

Poor Tom, I know what it's like to have to try to scrounge up decent presents when you don't have any money.

I know what he can do, though! He can get some parchment, combine that with a simple stitching spell and make everybody... (drummroll)... diaries!

*RUNS*

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79903Chapter: 1
A nice start. Tom seems a likeable sort so far in all of your stories of him. It would be nice though to see a bit of his personality that made him LV

Reviewer: GDDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79859Chapter: 1
Great job as usual.
I feel so inept reviewing, because your stories are so wonderfully written and brilliant, that I can't think of any constructive criticisims (well maybe one question: What took you so long?)

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79854Chapter: 1
It is interesting to think about the characterization of Ginny. She was so much behind the scenes in the first 4 books. Even in book 2, she really was kept out of our view by the clever author. I used to be a regular over at gryffindortower.net, and I shared the view of many that Ginny really was a very strong person, even before OOTP came out and (IMHO) confirmed it.

Still, here we have a much younger Ginny, in a much different situation. It is really interesting to think about how she is portrayed, and how she *should* be portrayed.

I think you should put her on a broom sometime. OOTP confirmed that she'd been practising for years with her brothers brooms. Since you're in an A/U you have a perfect opportunity to introduce that at some point.

Back to the whole relationship question... with Ginny a friend of Tom's, and Harry as well, this does throw a big twist on the Harry/Ginny relationship, as compared to that in Canon. Now there are even more instances when they are together, and with Tom as a sort of filter or buffer between the two, it seems that you're having her gradually become more able to talk in front of Harry even sooner than in the books. Tom is a good encouragement there. Of course, without moldy-voldie around, we have an opportunity for Harry to become more relaxed about life.

Still, it would be fun to have a scene where a strong Ginny tells of Harry, as she does in OOTP with the easter egg in the library, or at Christmas time when she told him off for not asking her what it was like to be possessed.

Just how far are you planning on going with this A/U??

thanks-much.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79803Chapter: 1
"Tom waited until she was well out of sight, then hauled his bag out from under the table. It was one thing to have ineptly-manufactured homemade Christmas presents for people when you didn't have to watch them pretend they weren't... well, things improperly transfigured out of bits of stuff no one would miss.

It was quite another when you'd been invited to a friend's brand new house to spend Christmas with his brand new family. Unfortunately, this didn't change the essential fact that he'd been brought forward in time (or recreated, whichever explanation fit best) with two Knuts and a scuffed Muggle penny in his pockets."

This was a poignant image. I wonder what Dumbledore has planned?

What a treat to see another story! This AU is a treasure-trove of recaptured lost chances. Harry and Sirius will have a home of their own and Tom Riddle's going to have a Weasley summer!

As always, the way you write Tom and Ginny's friendship gives me a wonderfully warm feeling. Especially this bit:

"Listen." Ginny glanced around the library and lowered her voice a bit further. "If you've been hearing from Malfoy he exaggerates and you know his views are skewed." She caught her lip with her teeth briefly before adding, "And if you've heard Ron complain, well, I think he's especially sensitive about hand-me-downs because he gets them next to last and he's taller than everybody. We don't get to be all that extravagant very often, but that doesn't mean we aren't all right, and considering how many of us there are, one more is not a problem. I want you to come, all right? You're my friend, and I'm sure they'll say yes, and you'll help out but it'll be just like all the rest of us do."

It's moving and and heart-felt. And the part about why Ron has special reason to gripe about hand-me-downs made me grin.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --