The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Defining a Hero
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136489Chapter: 1
Pleasing. Thanks.

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-07-27
Reviewid: 127990Chapter: 1
Fluff is good! =) Hehe, good job! I liked the "Yes Harry... Now I am."

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105139Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story, Deia, particularly the bit about “getting the girl at the end/middle”. I’m assuming that this is set during sixth year, because Harry had only just been told why he hadn’t been made a prefect at the end of OotP. A very sweet R/H piece.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104626Chapter: 1
That was one of the cutest stories I've read. Keep up the good work! =)

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104623Chapter: 1
Cute!

Keep up the fluff!

Reviewer: ChristinaDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95507Chapter: 1
this story was great! i loved all that emotion you put in ron! expecially the hero part...that was pretty sweet! keep writing! Thanks!

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88862Chapter: 1
ever since i read that part in the 5th book, i thought "Ron would be crushed if he found out about that..." this was very well-written and Ron's character was dead-on perfect.

"You are brave, loyal, and you have a great heart. And I know you wouldn't hesitate to put your life at risk if it meant saving someone you care about. You've already done that for me and Harry more than once. And this is how you know someone's a hero. You are a hero, Ron Weasley, and I'm proud of you."
only Hermione could move Ron to tears with those words...yay R/Hness!

excellent job!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: CaliDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80518Chapter: 1
That was adorable =) Loved it. I wondered about what Ron would think if he knew Harry hadn't gotten the badge because Dumbledore didn't think he could handle it, but I think a part of Ron always felt that he didn't deserve it. You hit the nail right on the head. I also adore the kiss. Absolutely sweet! Thank you :)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80482Chapter: 1
That was great! Just lovely. I liked the way you forced them together over the prefect thing. And I liked the way they were acting when Harry found them. His way of dealing with it was good too.

I enjoyed this, alot! I look forward to more!

Reviewer: MarDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80458Chapter: 1
truly brilliant

Reviewer: KewiiDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80390Chapter: 1
It's a good story, but I feel like you relied too much on the dialogue.
The problem with dialogue is making it feel natural. Usually it works best if you include action while characters are talking. ie: 'Hermione said as she patted Harry on the shoulder'.

Good stuff though.

Reviewer: Lylane... The shorter oneDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80366Chapter: 1
It was Bloody Briliant! Nice H/R get together!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80314Chapter: 1
girl in the middle how cute =) very nice i think i like this one the best of ron and hermione getting together

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80297Chapter: 1
Oh, that was sweet! I liked the line about getting the girl in the middle. We have been writing about Ron as the hero over on the Anthology thread, so it was great to read your thoughts on the subject.
The only question I had was that Harry doesn't hear about why he didn't get the prefect badge until the end of OotP--so this must take place 6th year? That would make sense--because Hermione seems a bit more appreciative of Ron (as she should be).
Anyway--I really liked it! Maybe you can join us over on Anthology and write some more Ron stories!

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80293Chapter: 1
Ah, this was a really sweet story! I love your Ron, he's very in character...a good guy, even though he doesn't see it yet. And of course, yay for fluff!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80289Chapter: 1
Aw! Very, very sweet. Love the dialogue between Ron and Hermione. He definitely is a hero, isn't he? Well done!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80280Chapter: 1
This is great. I'll admit that my heart hurt, too, when Dumbledore told Harry that it was really him all along who was meant to get the prefect's badge (even though, like Ron, I figured it all along). Our Poor Ole' Ronniekins...we (and Hermione) know his worth! :)

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80241Chapter: 1
This is awesome! You've captured all three characters extremely well; I can really believe their reactions.

I think my favorite passage is

"So... if I am a hero, do you suppose... erm..."
She was puzzled by his behavior. "What?"
"... Ahem... do you suppose I could get the girl at the end?"
Ron blushed furiously, and she felt the heat spread on her cheeks.
"I don't know, Ron," she said quietly, "maybe you could get the girl in the middle." She could feel her face grow even hotter.
His head snapped up and he looked at her with such intensity that she started to tingle all over.
"Do you mean it?" he asked seriously, his voice deep.
"Yes. I mean it."

This made me smile madly...very glad that Ron finally knows he has something/someone because of who he is and not because he's someone's brother or best friend.


Thanks for writing a truly pleasant story to read.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80239Chapter: 1
Awww. That was incredibly cute. I loved it. Especially Hermione calling Ron a hero--and he got the girl in the end. Very sweet.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80237Chapter: 1
Aww, cute fic. I like how you had Ron find out, and I loved when he asked if he could get the girl at the end and her response about getting the girl in the middle.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80235Chapter: 1
so stinking cute...i'm gonna read it again!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80148Chapter: 1
I'm not a huge fan of R/Hr fluffy fics, but I liked your story because of the title (it grabbed my attention and did not let go) and how Hermione defined what a hero is for her (thus, that was my favourite part of the fic).

Harry's first reactions to seeing them like that were pretty good and kinda funny.

In the end, a very good job.

Animus

Reviewer: DillybeanDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80143Chapter: 1
I love R/H fluff :)

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80136Chapter: 1
How cute! I always love R&H first kiss stories. Yours was simpler than most, which was great about it.

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80127Chapter: 1
Awww, a really cute piece. Poor Ron, my heart really went out to him when he overheard Harry and Hermione's discussion. That was really nicely written, the dialogue was spot on.

I'm glad that Hermione was able to *ahem* 'cheer Ron up' ;) She really should tell Ron what a hero he is because everything she said about him was true.

As much as I hate to see Ron feeling inferior, that was a really nice piece.

Nic xx

Reviewer: KIzzyDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80118Chapter: 1
It's great. write more please.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --