The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Discussions
Review(s): 109

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2008-01-18
Reviewid: 150421Chapter: 3
[Although these two are so clueless it's cute.]

Anne and Theo really are cute! I also like that the Aurors are being shown in a positive light.

Wow. The story of Theo witnessing his cousin's death is so powerful. It feels real--two kids goofing around and then an accident. There's something so frightening in the normalicy of the death--the language is really matter-of-fact, which makes it seem realer. Wow...I really just want to give Theo a hug.

What a cliff-hanger at the end! I love how you can see the relationship developing between Anne and Theo--even his letters are starting to have "love" at the end.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-11-16
Reviewid: 149938Chapter: 2
[4)Ladies and gentlemen, I know at least one of you is Muggle-born. You're Aurors. You're SMART. How in Merlin's name do you open and reseal a damn envelope!]

Ha! I love it when wizards are confused by Muggle technology!

[Only a month to go - thank God, and then I can be back at Hogwarts. Where I will have to deal with Malfoy. I have clearly offended some higher deity, or I wouldn't have to deal with all this.]

I love Theo's voice. It has all the dry, sarcastic wit of Snape and yet it's not nearly as vindictive. You paint such a vivid portrait of Theo by the tone of his voice and choice of words--I really adore him and wish we could have gotten to see him as a "good" Slytherin in canon.

[but once we stopped and started to chat — we had nothing to say. I’ve noticed this happening every summer, but it was never so obvious before now. Their lives have diverged so totally from mine.]

You really capture the isolation and weirdness that Muggle-borns must feel during the summer. The sense of isolation and separateness Anne feels is written so vividly and in a very realistic way.

I'm really enjoying Theo and Anne's letters--and the Ministry letters were quite hilarious. The blend of humor and seriousness is just perfect!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-09-27
Reviewid: 149429Chapter: 1
[My home was a farmhouse, once. Not fancy, not grand, but with the kitchen floor worn down from generations of footsteps, endless names carved on the roof beams. It was built to be a home, not a display cabinet.]

Great description. You really get this sense of coziness and how old the house is. An interesting contrast against his DE background.

[If I ever start to go on like that, you have my permission to shut me up in any way you feel appropriate.]

He-funny! I love how Anne isn't a typical teenage girl.

[I know they're happy to have me here, but they're distracted at the moment. All those people to murder, you know.]

Ha! I love Theo's sense of humor.

I love how each letter has its own voice and you write each character so distinctly. This is really great!

Reviewer: Meucci WarlockDate: 2006-03-04
Reviewid: 140518Chapter: 4
I like this story. And the one preceding it. I stumbled across them the other day, and I've steadily been neglecting other things that need to be done IRL in favor of munching through your fics. While I don't really like the back-and-forth of a letter-writing fic, I can see why this was necessary, and your excellent portraits of the characters made it more than tolerable. :) I even found myself wanting to know more about the blended-into-the-scenery characters like Dion. That's excellent writing; to get readers asking themselves questions about characters who are tangential at best... which, I suppose, is what Nott is for JKR. ;) How's that for a compliment?

Additionally, I don't traditionally like scads of OC's, but you've made me rethink that one a little bit, too.

It takes a good writer to make me enjoy something (well, two somethings - the letter format & lots of OC's) I'm usually biased against, but you've done it.

Hmm... what else? There are several little silly errors spread throughout this fic... lots of exclamation points, et al, in strange places (Dion to Beaumont memo, about 1/5 of the way through this chapter) and I noticed one or two places where periods are missing. I always try to temper my negative comments with nice ones... so I figure I owe you the opposite, what with all that prior praise. ;)

That got a little long on me, but thanks for the read. Planning to R/R your other stuff as I get to it.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138281Chapter: 4
Simpler, more humour, and –bonus- less errors than ‘Distractions’. Overall – More enjoyable. Thank you for a pleasant read.

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2005-12-29
Reviewid: 137769Chapter: 4
BTW Elsha, where do you get your names from ? I mean what motivates you to use those particular names?

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2005-12-29
Reviewid: 137768Chapter: 4
I love it! I like the way you use all these wonderful names - Medea from Jason and the Argonauts, Hector, Priam and Andromache (I love the name Andromache) from the Illiad, And I liked the way you wove in the tonx family, like tonx being dubious about the whole letter-reading thing - well actually, the whole auror alternate POV thing is awesome, iit makes them so much more human to read about their doubts and frustrations, like not wanting to get more work before lunch! And Home and Away... LOL! - and how Ted Tonx is related to the Martin family. I am so sorry for poor little Andromache.
Reading about Gwaihir and how Anne named him was a crack-up... I am slightly ashamed to admit that just a few days ago, after an LOTR binge, I added Gwaihir to my list of favourite names. Gwaihir and Bronwyn - the owls have better names than the humans! Bronwyn has always been a favourite name of mine, and one of my best friends, so it was nice to come across it.
I don't want to give the impression that the names are the only thing good about the Theodore-Anne story, the story is WONDERFUL. The names are just one of the things that jumed out at me. But the story is wonderful and so vivid that the characters and their feelings and dilemmas and griefs just jump off the screen at me. But please... don't make me write about the whole huge, wonderful story, because I'm just dying to go and read the rest of it...

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-09-23
Reviewid: 133091Chapter: 4
And the plot thickens. I just love seeing all of this from the point-of-view of "side characters," as it were. Not only is Theo not a main participant in the war, he doesn't WANT to be. It's so fascinating to see how war drags in people from every stratum of society and oftens the choices you must make aren't left up to you in the first place.

Oh, and I love Theo's dry appraisal of the relationship between Potter and Malfoy and how stupid Malfoy is. Absolutely classic.

Reviewer: ByrdDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127295Chapter: 1
I love your work, Elsha. So much that I can't bear to read other fics and see Theo as a bad guy. I normally don't go for reviews, but I noticed that in his second letter, Theo says "and the far more reliable source of my mother." I know you had to go back and edit the parts about him having his mother, so I figured you'd want to know this little tidbit still exsisted. Again, I love your work, and I hope you'll coontinue writing about Anne and Theo after HBP comes out.

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124908Chapter: 4
Hi, Elsha! So, I've finished the first two... out of the two, I think I like this one better. There's something about letters/diaries in stories that always gets me.

I also love Theo in this one. I love his awkwardness and uncertainty in--well, everything, almost. And the best part? "I remember telling you there was no good noun to describe -us- people who opposed the Dark Lord." Too cute! :)

I also really love Anne. She's such an awesome Hufflepuff, and if I were to go to Hogwarts, I'd hope to be her friend. She's so sweet!

I was about to cry at the beginning, though, and when Theo was saying that he knows what his dad does, but he can't help seeing the father in him. That's exactly how I imagine him to feel, or any Death Eaters' children (with the exception of Draco Malfoy, maybe).

Love,
Brittney, off to read Discoveries!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121718Chapter: 4
This, and Distractions, are fabulous. I've delayed reading them forever, and I'll guiltily admit it's because of Anne, the OC. But I'm over my prejudice, completely! You have turned me, thank you! I love your characterization of Theo and Anne. I love how in their letters it's more and more obvious that they "like like" (reverting back to my childhood) each other. Like, with their signatures, formal at first, ending with simply "love." Excellent work. I look forward to reading the sequel.

Reviewer: IssyDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118819Chapter: 4
Wow. I didn't think you could top Distractions, and... you did.

This was very different, I felt, from Distractions - which probably had something to do with the epistolary style. Much as I loved Distractions, I really loved the new feel of this one. Anne is as charming and loveable a character as ever, and I felt that you really brought Theo out in this one - as Anne had the main narration in Distractions, he (inevitably) had to play second fiddle a bit. With the epistolary style, they could both be developed equally - I loved it!

What I really liked about Discussions is that something actually happened to Anne - she couldn't just be an observer any more because the death of the Martins hit too close to home. It really was terribly sad when the Martins died, and the way you portrayed Anne's reactions to that was marvellous. I also liked the way that, more and more, Theo is being forced to pick a side - the Diagon Alley incident was a great example of that, and it also served as another development in the Anne/Theo relationship which is, as in Distractions, admirably written.

I'm off to read Discoveries now - the ongoing saga of Anne and Theo has me well and truly hooked!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116069Chapter: 4
I didn't review this when I first read it, what a prat I am.

I really enjoyed this story, especially as we got to know Anne's family, and the nice contrast set up between Theo's family. The epistolatory style made it fresh, rather than confusing, especially as we got an insight into the Ministry as well, how they work, and the different personalities that are involved.

The last chapter... what a shock. Really brought the Second War into Anne's home, so sad. :-( But it's a reminder that apart from defeating Voldemort, Harry's family situation might not be as unusual as we think.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: SeraphinaDate: 2005-02-27
Reviewid: 115091Chapter: 4
Read and enjoyed... very much so! Maybe I'll even come up with something useful to say later, but for the moment I just want to read the sequel ;-)

Reviewer: PolestarDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114249Chapter: 4
Okay, couldn't resist and read this one right after "Distractions". Now I probably should distract myself enough to go and do something else... But I really loved this one. I'm a sucker for the epistolar form, and these letters you wrote felt like letters. I love how rambling and reflective Theo got as the summer went on.

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111890Chapter: 4
This universe is wonderful! I love it.

I like how you took a character who was only mentioned once or twice in the Harry Potter series, and managed to create a universe around it. It's very creative.

Also, as a musician (I play piano and cello) I love how Anne can play flute and Theo piano!

~Anne

PS - Yes, my real name is Anne. I'm not just saying that because of your character (:

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105772Chapter: 3
Hey, I think you need to sit down and clarify the timeline on Theo's Mother. She is dead, yes? Well, you say something about "parents" in your first story near the end, and I thought she died when he was two, but now he's eight and she's alive??? Write me back and clarify.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105554Chapter: 4
Wow, so much happened in this chapter. The Diagon Alley attack, the Aurors reading more letters, Fudge being Fudge, and of course Theo deciding that he would rather join Harry Potter's side than Voldemort's side. That's a really hard decision, but he did it. I'm looking forward very much to see what happens next, but that'll be for another time.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105553Chapter: 3
Wow. It wasn't the Martins, was it? I'm going to read on fast, but first I have to say that I'm glad you addressed the topic of Theo saying more in his letters than at Hogwarts in this chapter. I'm glad you actually did that on purpose, since otherwise, it would have been a discontinuity in the story, and that would be a pity. Now, I'm completely happy (although I do wonder why you write first-years and You-Know-Who without hyphens) and I'm quickly heading to chapter 4.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105550Chapter: 2
It's kind of funny that Ministry people are wasting their time with reading Theo and Anne's correspondence. I hope nothing bad comes from it. Nice that you gave Tonks a small role -- she really sounded like Tonks in that letter, too. Great job!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105549Chapter: 1
I've finally found some time to continue the series. I really like this story -- so much different from the first and yet in the same mood, kind of. It's odd that Theo seems more open now that he's writing to Anne. I mean, he talks about Death Eater relatives and fear of being recruited, while he never talked about those topics easily. Oh well. We'll see how things go when they're back at Hogwarts.

One more thing:
>>According to the Daily Prophet, and the far more reliable source of my mother,<<
I suppose you forgot to edit Theo's mother out here? :-)

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103630Chapter: 4
This is a really great follow-up of the series. I'm going to read the rest now. =)

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103547Chapter: 4
You are my goddess (in a pantheon with JKR, of course) I bow before your powers. Tell me Anne and Theo will get together!!! Please! I need my vicarious smoochies!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102370Chapter: 4
All through this story I felt a sense of doom settling around Anne and Theo. I love stories written as letters and memos because they are so personable and really let you "see" into each character's head. I had to laugh at some of the Aurors' memos and the fact that some of them felt they were prying into their subjects' private lives by the end of the summer. However, I am also glad that they were able to glean some useful information as well.

Theo's letters to Anne really got to me. The two quotes below show just how much he's struggling with his situation and his own changing attitudes towards his father:

1. "But I felt so — safe, just for a couple of hours, because he was back and I have the residual childhood belief that my father can keep me safe. He can’t, I know, but it isn’t a rational thing."

2. "I know what my father is, but when I see him, somehow all I can see is my father – someone who has never been anything but parental towards me. He’s my father. What else can I say? I can’t look at him and see someone who would do what I know he does, even though I know it."

I have a feeling that there is some foreshadowing going on here for other parts of Anne and Theo's story. I'm now off to read the next part of the series...I can't wait to see what happens next.

Reviewer: ElspethDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101433Chapter: 1
Wanted to let you know that I've enjoyed your story v. much (supprisgly, actually, since this isn't the type I usually read). Ayhow, I've noticed that Nott said, "and the far more reliable source of my mother, Fudge has decided not to tell the Muggle Prime Minister anything except..." when we've already learned that his mother died when he was two. Thought I'd let you know of the inconsistancy.

Good job!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101279Chapter: 4
While I know the SQ frowns on this, I have to say how much I have enjoyed your Theodore and Anne stories so far. I resisted reading them for a while, the whole, "Uck, a Slytherin" syndrome I'm afraid, but now, well, I'm staying up as late as necessary (or as early) to get up to date. You have defintily done something brilliant with these tales.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98419Chapter: 4
Again, we'd like to leave a detailed review of every part of this, but we're racing the clock to get "Discoveries" read before The Week of Doom begins.

Lovely story! It was so nice to watch Theo transition from "sincerely yours" to "Love." Also well-handled was his gradual shift of opinion about Anne: Where, when they first met, he was sneering that--because of her bloodlines--she'd never really be an equal in the Wizarding World, now he is staunchly defending her; "You're one of us." Through Anne, the war is becoming more personal to him: We can see he's soon going to be forced off that fence of ambivalence he's been riding.

Sixth year should be ve-e-e-ry interesting....Thanks for a great second installment!

Reviewer: Katherine WallDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96816Chapter: 4
Very good story, particularly in the area of chracter development. In under a year Theo has gone from thinking Muggle-borns are inferior to considering active opposition to Voldemort - I mentally cheered when I saw his 'us' in front of 'people who oppose the Dark Lord'. If a story can get me that attached to characters so quickly it has to be good. I feel slightly resentful of the Auror's reading Anne and Theo's mail, even if it did prevent an attack. Plenty of shades of grey.

Reviewer: Katherine WallDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96815Chapter: 1
Your writing is excellent, I've just read your other story and started on this one. You've done a particularly good job of the letters from Anne's friends - they sound very authentic. One thing that seems to be a mistake though - in the last story Theo said his mother died when he was two, but in this story she's alive.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95911Chapter: 4
I have really enjoyed your stories. You have created two wonderful complex orginal characters.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94780Chapter: 4
Awesome, as per usual. Now I'll move on to "Discoveries." Can't wait! <><

Reviewer: mishaDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94741Chapter: 4
More and more I feel dragged into this alternative world, where characters are facing personal conflicts the way real people do. ALso enjoying the references to Potter & co, but so far you've had Jo Rowling's books' storylines going on to work with. Now, I'm very interested to see how you handle the bit ROwling's books haven't covered yet, namely the next year at Hogwarts with the second war in full swing. Kudos to you for coming up with such an engrossing set of characters!

Reviewer: mishaDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94543Chapter: 1
Minor mistake: In the first letter Theo mentions his mother. Isn't she supposed to be dead?

Reviewer: MymmeliDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91688Chapter: 4
A was down and I was looking for something to read here. Imagine my surprise and delight when I found the continuation of the wonderful "Distractions"!

I don't usually like epistolaries, I have problems concentrating when I read them for some reason. But you managed to keep me interested.

It was a bit of a surprise reading about his mother, but I figured you were incorporating new canon info in episodes.

I particularly liked two things. First, the Auror memos. They provided a bit of comic relief, what with the confusion how to open a letter that's - wait for it - sealed with glue. And, being outsiders, they gave a better view on the whole thing. The guilt trip was quite well done. As Aurors, they're used to reading other people's correspondence, but not that of teenagers. Reading teenagers' letters makes them uncomfortable, but only slightly, because they're used to it. The comment about "Home and Away" is very observant, LOL. Although I always used to watch "Neighbours" (much less cool). Umm, anyway. You could see both in Britain, by the way (you seem to suggest that "Home.." wasn't on in the UK)

The other thing is the contrast between Theo's letters and Anne's friends'. Wow, in one year Anne and Theo have got so much closer than Anne and the girls. You can tell he cares for her a lot more than they do, and she tells him stuff she hasn't even mentioned to them.

I'm very worried about that memo from Fudge. I don't like him being involved. I don't want him to know anything about their correspondance. Even if he isn't a Death Eater, he'll blab it all to the next Lucius Malfoy who comes along.

But I'm sure you won'y kill or hurt them in any way. Please?

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90438Chapter: 4
Oops! I just finished "Discussions" and now I understand! You've already posted the edited version of "Distractions" with JKR's new info, but not updated this one yet. Sorry to have asked a question you already answered.

I'm off to start "Discoveries" now... yay! It's so nice to find stories that are great AND are already a good way down the road to being finished.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90432Chapter: 1
I am enjoying this story just as much as "Distractions"- I love the Theodore/Anne interaction, and the idea of live at Hogwarts from a non-Harry perspective. Everything has been lovely so far.

My one complaint... in "Distractions," Theo told Anne that his mother died when he was two! What's she doing back now? That's a pretty drastic change... a lot of Anne's previous relationship with Theo was based on her understanding of how alone Theo was, with only his father to depend on.
I'd like to know why you decided to change that aspect.
But as I said... I am looking forward to reading the rest of this and finding out more about Theo and Anne.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90214Chapter: 4
Me again. I left the Aurors out of my first review, but they were a wonderful touch. Very good comic relief, and since I'm reading this instead of doing my job (letting me near a computer is just a bad, bad, baaaad idea...), I sympathize. Wholeheartedly. Especially about making the planes. And I always like a good Tonks cameo.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90212Chapter: 4
Again, wow. You get so much depth with these stories. The friendship is entirely realistic and your excellent characterization comes through even in letters. Theo is awkward and rather more formal; Anne stops and starts but flows better. The really are a wonderful pair. And her sulky brother is called Edmund. Cute. Is that a nod to the Narnia books, or am I making that up? (You did name an owl Gwahir - it's possible). And didn't you say somewhere in the first one that Theo's mother was dead? Never mind. And brava - this is a great fic.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88773Chapter: 4
Another great story. The mixture of worry about the war and talk about mundane things like cricket and annoying cousins is just right. And the way Theo and Anne discuss the attacks, especially the attack on the Martins, is excellent, though sad.

I want you to know, I should be getting ready for bed, but no, I had to finish this story, and now I have to start "Discoveries."

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88769Chapter: 3
I laughed out loud over this line:

"I could come over and talk to you, but I like making the paper planes more."

I almost feel bad mentioning this, though, with such a sober ending to the chapter....

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88179Chapter: 4
I have to tell you I thought Distractions was great and I know the next one will be good too, but I really enjoyed Discussions so much more (maybe you can pull a JK and make it a 3yr summer lol)

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88178Chapter: 4
I have to tell you I thought Distractions was great and I know the next one will be good too, but I really enjoyed Discussions so much more (maybe you can pull a JK and make it a 3yr summer lol)

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84165Chapter: 4
What I really really really really liked about this chapter was how Theodore was like, "I'm really selfish. I'm against it not because I have morals, but because I don't feel like it. But I wouldn't want to join Potter, either. Nope, I'll just sit here on the fence forever. Except how would you join Potter's side? Theoretically, of course. It seems very difficult, especially since I'm a Slytherin; any insights? I mean, just wondering, you know. Because I wouldn't ever join the us, I mean, the good people, on the good side. Right then, [insert voice breaking] see you on the train." I like him a lot. :) The only thing is, the ending didn't seem very end-full, "it's only the beginning." [insert GREASE music] That said, I can't wait for more!
Hey! I just thought of something. Theodore is the name of one of the chipmunks from Alvin and the Chipmunks. Just thought you should know. I think he was the chubby one.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84109Chapter: 4
Yay! Another chapter! I loved this one--it had me worried when Theo was so frantic about Anne not going to Diagon Alley. Can't wait for "Discoveries"!

-Linnet

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84054Chapter: 4
I'm soooooooooooo looking forwards to Discoveries.

Reviewer: lise carewDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84045Chapter: 4
well, here i've gone and read both stories in one straight sit through... time to get up and stretch my legs ;) i've very much enjoyed this tho. i suppose my only comment would be that this story seemed more of a place holder for the summer months - not nearly as much character development as in the first story. however, this IS after all summer, and letters are very different from talking face to face. will keep an eye out for discoveries, am looking forward to it.

Reviewer: CGDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84028Chapter: 4
A COUPLE WEEKS??? Siriusly, how many of us are going to last that long! ARGH! but no matter how much I whine, I suppose there's nothing I can do but sit tight and PATIENTLY wait for your next installment. Another wonderful chapter by the way- looking forward for more.

Reviewer: SabrielDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84020Chapter: 4
I love this story!! This was a great ending chapter. I can't wait for Discoveries!!! My only problem is that this chapter seemed to have a few spelling/grammatical errors such as "I and Ed and Nicola," shouldn't it be "Ed and Nicola and I," but whatever. Your story is absolutely amazing!!! ;P

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84017Chapter: 4
Your description of the attack was heart-rendering. I really am impressed with your ability to sustain tone, and keep your characters in character. Glad to see the Ministry spies having some guilt pangs about reading these letters!
The first person I thought of when I saw the Theodore Nott info on the Web site was you! Don't you feel smart? I'm glad you are going to put this info to good use. Can't wait to see more.

Reviewer: manjDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84005Chapter: 4
I love this, its wonderful. i always look forward to your updates, i cant wait for Discoveries. Keep on writing, you're extremly talented.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84001Chapter: 4
Thank you for a lovely series. Am looking forward to the next one. I rather thought it would be called "Decisions," but maybe that's the last installment!

This is one of the most enjoyable fanfics I have read. It's so true to the way teens express themselves. All insecure, second guessing themselves. The only quibble I have is that I don't think Aurors would feel guilty over the "voyeurism." Spying is their job. But that doesn't take away from my admiration for your work. Write on!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84000Chapter: 4
Thank you for not keeping us in suspense! I thought it would be the Martins. Keep up the great writing!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83968Chapter: 4
I thought of your stories when I read what JK Rowling had written in her official website. I was actually quite relieved to find that you were so accurate in your portrayal of Theodore Nott. I love the Slytherin boy you have created, as well as Anne Farleigh, and I'm releived that the similiarity seems to be there. I can't wait for the next stories of these two! Thanks so much for writing them and updating them frequently!

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83935Chapter: 4
Elsha,
I must tell you that my heart swelled with pride when I read "Jo's" description of Theo. Who freakin' cares about the widower business, you nailed him! I'm so impressed. Although it seems to me that his not having a mother would change the landscape a bit for him when Dad is thrown in Azkaban. Just he and the house elf in the wilds of Yorkshire? Do 15-16 y.o. Slytherins throw wild parties when no parents are about? Yeah, I can really see Theo doing that. ;) Or would he have to go stay with the dreaded cousins? The horror!

Well, you know I love it. It's one of the truly great fics out there. Don't feel obligated to change it just because of Mother. Then again, if elderlywidower!Eric is interesting to you, change it. We know you'll do a great job...

~Canopus

PS-Theo's way smarter than Malfoy--JKR's just a master of understatement. Sometimes.

Reviewer: mandjDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83587Chapter: 3
i love your story, i was jumping up and down with joy when i saw you had updated. great job!!!

Reviewer: BrookeDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83543Chapter: 3
I love this story. You have to be one of the best fanfic writers that I have read. Please keep writing.

Brooke

Reviewer: A Knot is Worth a Knut Like MeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83034Chapter: 1
I've reviewed this fic under lots of different names, hoping that just reading the fic again and again will cause you to update sooner. I guess it's not so. I just adore this fic- I haven't actually enjoyed any fics for ages- and here, you've got this fic with great original characters who are perfect, but not in the Mary-Sue type way. Love it!UPDATE!

For a reviewer- p.s. Sabriel, Gwaihir is the name of the messenger of the eagles, not the Eagle Lord or whatsit.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83017Chapter: 3
I love this so much. I loved the ending!

Reviewer: jkDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83016Chapter: 1
you know... i get the distinct feeling anne and theo are cluelessly in love.i wonder...
anyway, when are they getting back to school?
are you going to stretch the letters until the 6th book comes out? i hope not. keep going on your own.i bet you could do just as great a job (plus i'll just die if i don't get to know what happens soon).

Reviewer: cassieDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83015Chapter: 3
As Anne said in her letter dated August 16, these leters are addictive.

Reviewer: JessDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 82992Chapter: 3
Cliffhanger! =( Write more!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82953Chapter: 3
NOOO! How could you leave me hanging like that? I love this story sooo much. It's awesome. Please update soon!

Reviewer: diDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82946Chapter: 2
was it the martins? i hate cliffhangers!

Reviewer: lilynutDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82944Chapter: 3
This story totally rox! I think it's so adorable and it's very realistic. I can never wait until the next chapter - post SOON! Thanx a ton

Reviewer: CherDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82883Chapter: 3
OMG! Love the cliffhanger- well, I hate it, actually. I can guess who was attacked...
I don't actually think that Theo's quite that clueless- if you look in 'Distractions', you can guess that he knows... hehe. But he's just avoiding it. I think it's Anne who's clueless- but that's so cute!
You haven't fallen into the trap of making her a Mary-Sue and Theo the male equivalent. Your fic, which is one of the few with non-major characters that I've actually really liked.
Keep up the good work and update SOON! I can't stand waiting with cliffhangers!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82818Chapter: 3
I love it. I really do.

Theo calling the house-elf "it" is one of these tiny details that make this story so good.

And of course, you've left us a terrible cliff-hanger. The Martins, by any chance?

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82811Chapter: 3
ooh, a cliffhanger! I think I know who it was, unfortunately. They are a pretty clear target, aren't they?

Still enjoying this a lot, as Theo warms up and he and Anne become more aware of their feelings. I like the MoM employee's comment about their being "clueless."

Reviewer: KaylaDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82802Chapter: 3
J.K. Rowling has some info about Theodore Nott on her website: http://www.jkrowling.com/textonly/extrastuff.cfm?ref=cutscenes

It's in the 'Cut Scences' section of the 'Characters' section.
Love your story!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82741Chapter: 3
was it the marlins ???? AAAAAhh evil evil cliffies !

Reviewer: Anne NottDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82730Chapter: 3
Noticed the 'love Anne' and 'love from Theo' so... it's really cute. Love it! UPDATE! I can't BEAR to wait long with cliffhangers!
ps Like the Auror memos. Though Anne and Theo might not be THAT clueless...

Reviewer: The Distracted OneDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82729Chapter: 3
OMG- was it... the Martins? I LOVE your fic! UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82711Chapter: 3
The last two letters made me scared. And I agree with that Auror--they're so clueless, it's cute. I really love how you have the Auror's posts to each other. It adds a whole lot to the story, definitely. Looking forward to another update!

-Linnet

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82704Chapter: 3
Excellent. Still one of my favorite fics. Love, Theo?

I like the memos from the Aurors.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82678Chapter: 3
What an awful cliffhanger! Building all of that up, and then just leaving it there... I hope you manage to write the next chapter quickly! ;)

As for this one itself, I really liked it. And I was glad to see the memos from the aurors in there -- too right they should be feeling uncomfortable, reading these letters! Shame on them!

Reviewer: CGDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82660Chapter: 3
Somehow I knew u were going to end on such a cliff-hanger!!!! Argh! By the way- wonderful as always, it's so sweet... and they're so clueless. I noticed that snuck in "love from Theo".. so maybe not so clueless after all. please update ASAP!!!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82076Chapter: 2
"You’re one of us, not them"--love that line--so straight up. I really felt *violated* when the Aurors were trying to figure how to read their correspondence. The fact that the two of them, who have their own relationship, exclusive of everyone else, would be then be talked about about and scrutinized. . . it was so wrong! Good ol' Tonks! Anyway--another great chapter! Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82054Chapter: 2
I know at least one of you is Muggle-born. You're Aurors. You're SMART. How in Merlin's name do you open and reseal a damn envelope!
-Hah!

I liked your having Tonks get her opinion in. Having the Ministry getting involved is a great twist and I look forward to seeing how you develop it.

You’re one of us, not them.
-Hmmm...Shame he doesn't feel that way about more Muggle-borns.

Excellent. I really enjoy your writing. Hope you update soon.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82013Chapter: 2
i anxiously wait for an update all the time !! i love their story... itd not fluff. as a rule a dont read fics abotu other characters other than the main three but the this one is a great exception coz u did such an excellent job of fleshing them out and not letting them turn into Mary-Sue's and Gary-? whats the guy version of a mary sue ? well nvm
what i meant to say was excellent story ! will u continue into their 6th yr ?

Reviewer: fantasylover12001Date: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81949Chapter: 1
Just read the two stories featuring these two and I really enjoyed it. Normally origional characters are hard for me to be interested in but I like Anne and Theodore (though he isn't technically a origional character). Looking forward to the rest!

Reviewer: cassieDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81938Chapter: 1
I love how you have added a new layer of intrique to the tale of the relationship between these different people. What will happen next from the Ministry's POV. Wil the Ministry end up using some of the information, and how? This on top of the excellent tale of Theo and Anne.

Reviewer: ViatrixDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81820Chapter: 2
Thanks for writing more of this fic! I absolutely coming to love Theo and Anne--I you handle them well. I can't wait to see how they develop! And then Theo's "You're one of us, not them"...Wow!! Does he even realize he wrote that? REgardless, it's wonderful, they're wonderful, and I'll be waiting eagerly for the next installments :)

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81793Chapter: 2
Oh, I forgot to mention--I love how the Aurors are looking over their shoulders...it's really adds some dimension. I especially liked Tonks's letter-it's so Tonks.

-Linnet

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81792Chapter: 2
This is rapidly moving its way up on my favorite stories list. I'm really beginning to like Theo, and you've characterized him as a perfect Slytherin. Good job, I'd love to see more updates soon!

-Linnet

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81786Chapter: 2
This is great stuff; the only thing is that it would have been interesting to see the Auror perspective on the last round of letters. I was reading and looking at the status bar trying to figure out if there was going to be room for the Auror viepoint before I got to the end.


-Steve

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81771Chapter: 2
Oh, and I forgot to mention that it's really fun to know that the Ministry is peering over their shoulders -- adds a whole other dimension.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81730Chapter: 2
Elsha, I really am enjoying your Theo/Anne stories! I like the fact that you're conveying this one via letters. The Aurors' back-and-forth was very entertaining. And it's fun to see how Theo and Anne's relationship is progressing. Sentimental, eh?

The nice thing about letters is that often people express themselves more intimately than in speech, so it can really add to a relationship. This is a fun ride. Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81429Chapter: 1
I loved "Distractions" -- actually, the first fic I've loved in a while -- and so I'm really psyched for this epistolary fic. :) I can't wait for more!!

Reviewer: Adela EledhwenDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81406Chapter: 1
Can you update SOON? Please? This is such a great fic and a great carrying on from 'Distractions'... You've succeeded in making Slytherins seem human to me. You've made me LIKE a Slytherin which is more than I can say for others.
I love it how you based Anne and Theodore's friendship on their love of music- I could really link with that, as I've got a really strong bond with music, too.
Can you PLEASE update soon? *puppy dog eyes* Please? And keep up the good work... make it a good update.
Thanks! You rock!
-Adela Eledhwen

Reviewer: BwahahahahahahhahahhahaaaaaDate: 2004-05-05
Reviewid: 81355Chapter: 1
:P LLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVV)EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
*
' P
*

Reviewer: SabrielDate: 2004-05-05
Reviewid: 81354Chapter: 1
I absolutely LOVE your stories:-D Your characters are so real and believable. Isn't Gwaihir the name of the Eagle Lord in LOTR? Keep up the MARVELOUS work!!!
^^
U

Reviewer: RosieDate: 2004-05-05
Reviewid: 81346Chapter: 1
Hurrah! I've been waiting so anxiously for you to begin writing the sequel. You do an excellent job at writing in letter format; not boring or winding at all, unlike many letter-fics. I loved how Anne comments to Theo that Gabby suggested she get a boyfriend... will more romantic tension follow? (How great!) Thanks for writing, you're the best.

Reviewer: VictoriaDate: 2004-05-05
Reviewid: 81324Chapter: 1
Were the MoM letters important? Becuase I just skipped over them, thinking they weren't imp.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81244Chapter: 1
I like it so far. You've got me entrigued. Keep it up; I can't wait to read more! Yay! God bless.

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81129Chapter: 1
keep going!

Reviewer: BrookeDate: 2004-05-02
Reviewid: 81017Chapter: 1
I love these characters and I am so glad that you are writing more! I enjoyed the small progression of the salutations--that was a nice touch. The memos from the ministry were also a nice touch, I can't wait to see where that goes. Keep writing, you have an excellent flow.

-Brooke

Reviewer: BeccaDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80877Chapter: 1
That was great! Can't wait to read the rest! Great sequel to a great story!!!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80876Chapter: 1
That's a great start! I can't wait for the rest. i have a few ideas of what might come , so pleeease keep writing to see if i'm close to the truth. Being early is good, though i never am!

Reviewer: =DDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80821Chapter: 1
I loved the correspondences... the continuation of the story... write more plz! :)

Reviewer: richmondDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80806Chapter: 1
yay! a sequel. I loved the first, and I can't wait to read the second. Thanks for keeping up with the demand for quality fics :)

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80740Chapter: 1
oh i do love this story im so glad your keeping up with it please update soon =)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --