The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148898Chapter: 1
I loved all the Thinking Cap stories. I think you really grasped the spirit of the founders and their respective houses. You captured the characters ( Nevile, Remus, James Potter, Snape and Harry ) as eleven year olds. I really look forward to seeing a Thinking Cap story based on Deathly Hallows.

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2006-09-28
Reviewid: 145525Chapter: 1
[quote]"Salazar, he's a Gryffindor!"

"He's a Hufflepuff, you just won't admit it."

"Now, if the rest of you would think about this logically, you'd see what a clear Ravenclaw he is."

"Don't be ridiculous! He doesn't learn for learning's sake, just to further his goals. What more Slytherin do you need?"
[/quote]
"... and, since he is perfect for EVERY House, let us re-name him, Gary Stu Lupin!" ;-) (sorry, couldn't resist.)

I do love your Thinking Cap stories! I've just come back to re-read them, yet again!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118612Chapter: 1
I've read all five and enjoyed them all. Your stories are among a short list I use with young readers. Thank you.

Reviewer: DazzleBoxDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98411Chapter: 1
These are great. I wouldn't have thought that the internal dialogues of the Sorting Hat could be so entertaining. Nicely done!

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 96006Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading this! I loved the arguements that the founders got into, very amusing. You did great at characterizing Dumbledore as well.

Reviewer: FranDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86664Chapter: 1
Just a thought but you might do the sorting of Dumbledore. I know we don't know many people who are his age but it might be interesting. You could also update the one in Harry's second year to include Luna Lovegood. I love all of these fics so don't think I'm trying to be picky. They are brilliant!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85064Chapter: 1
I loved every single one of them.

Reviewer: slythfanDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81497Chapter: 1
NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!
*sob*
WHYYY?!?
You can't STOP writing now!!! You HAVE to write more Founders fics, even if they aren't in a hat! PLeeeeeeeez!

Reviewer: Chocolate MuseDate: 2004-05-02
Reviewid: 80988Chapter: 1
Wonderful! *applauds* Just as good as the rest of them. I'm sorry that you won't be doing anymore, but, that doesn't mean you won't be able to continue using these characters, they just won't be in a hat

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80782Chapter: 1
Disapointed we won't be seeing more. Maybe Just once with bits picked out of a few years. Malfoy Sr, McGonagal, Tonks, Lockhart? ppl like these could be quite amusing and if you jumped years you could make it worthwhile. Anyway, The fics were EXCELLENT! and I hope they stay as good. Pity Loona didn't feature in the one of Ginny's year I think Rowena got dumped with her. could have been an aniti-argument. Either way I would be interested to know how she ended up in Ravenclaw. Still thank you for your exceelent writting and wqhatever you choose to do next may it be as good as what you have done here.
Mask

Reviewer: Patricia C. VenerDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80772Chapter: 1
I adore this series. I hope there will be more!

Reviewer: Tamira LuneDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80754Chapter: 1
Wow I haven't seen these before...hmm...I think I'd better go read the other ones! Keep it up!

Reviewer: SpringrynDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80727Chapter: 1
"Wait, Remus Lupin? Were his parents ASKING for him to be attacked by a werewolf?" That's something I've always wondered.

Sad to see this is it for stories now, because this series is great!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80717Chapter: 1
Last fic...no! =( But this was one of my favorites yet! I loved this line:

"Very wise of him," Salazar commented. "He must have known what a good Slytherin young Lupin would be. Wait, Remus Lupin? Were his parents ASKING for him to be attacked by a werewolf?"

Hilarious!

-Linnet

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80638Chapter: 1
Wait, Remus Lupin? Were his parents ASKING for him to be attacked by a werewolf?"
-Very funny

"That's harsh, Salazar."
"Who said it was an insult? There's a place for people with that talent!"
-Good one

I'd take a child who loved learning so much even if he wasn't very smart."
-So true. So why do we never so any examples of this in Ravenclaw?

Thanks for a much needed good laugh after reading Robin's wonderfully dark fic.

Reviewer: Jolie BlackDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80621Chapter: 1
Yay! Another Thinking Cap story!

Loved this one just like the others – your sense of humour really rivals that of JKR. All these little absurd details, like “Engelbert the Eccentric, who had declared that all exams were to be presented as interpretive dance” – I laughed so hard! All those details you slip in are great, like Phineas Nigellus arguing with the voices in the hat, that’s very In Character.

I also love the fact that unlike the other Headmasters, Dumbledore actually knows what to expect when he put on the hat: “//I always wondered if you got bored between Sortings.//” – another wonderful understatement from the Greatest Wizard of Our Time!

Grumpy Salazar is great again – ever since your stories have presented me with the possibility that he might actually have been less than proud of Tom Riddle’s ambitions, he’s grown so much on me!

The Sorting of the Marauders’ year was so much fun to read. We know so little about that time and yet you elaborated so well on what we have, they’re all so recognisable. Great ideas there - like the fact that Sirius would probably have been sorted into Slytherin straight away if Salazar hadn’t been busy sulking at that time; little Remus being so proud that he’s there at all; and the reasoning why Peter should go into Gryffindor was particularly convincing: “If he values bravery so much, he should be in Gryffindor. I'd take a child who loved learning so much even if he wasn't very smart."

And: “Wait, Remus Lupin? Were his parents ASKING for him to be attacked by a werewolf?" - Thanks for addressing the question I’ve been asking myself for years! ;-)

Generally, I liked how this story (more than your previous Thinking Cap fics) combines great humour with more serious matters. I loved Rowena’s comments on the “good vs. evil” and the “freedom of choice” questions.

Well, now would be the time to beg you for a sequel… but if you think that all Thinking Cap stories have been told now, I can only say thanks! and I hope that books 6 & 7 will give you many new ideas. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy re-reading the series that we have.


Jolie

Reviewer: AshaDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80595Chapter: 1
I love your thinking cap series, but this one just might be my favorite.

my favorite part? All four Founders were silent for a long moment when the Hat settled on the head of a thin, painfully excited boy whose only thought was, \\Please let me stay at Hogwarts. PLEASE let me stay at Hogwarts!//

"Well of COURSE he'll stay!" Helga exclaimed, sounding more like the little mother than ever. "Goodness me, but he's had a hard life..."

"I still don't see why he'd think we would expel him before he's even Sorted!" Rowena poked around the boy's head for a moment. "I've never heard of a werewolf this young before...Good for Albus for letting him in!"

"Very wise of him," Salazar commented. "He must have known what a good Slytherin young Lupin would be. Wait, Remus Lupin? Were his parents ASKING for him to be attacked by a werewolf?"

Great work. keep writing!

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80594Chapter: 1
Very nice Another grat insartmnt in the suiouse- write more

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80568Chapter: 1
Ah, it's great to hear from the Founders again. I like these stories, there's just the right mix of humor and seriousness, and one can easily see you've put a good amount of thought into this. I'm sorry to hear that this will be the last disembodied Founders fic (at least for a while), but one can only have so many plot bunnies centered around something so specific, so I'll have to forgive you that, lol.

Reviewer: Phoenix's MelodyDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80556Chapter: 1
I love your stories...

"If they knew that the unthreatening, battered old hat about to Sort them into their new Houses actually held the magical essences of the four great Founders of Hogwarts...
Well, the school nurse would have been extremely busy with reviving potions instead of getting to enjoy the Welcoming Feast!"
LOL

Or this one,
""Speaking of which," Rowena added, "you might want to duck."
The hair disappeared from beneath the Hat's brim just as the entire Hat contracted and dropped a fat scroll out of the magical attic." LOL<- That just reminds of CoS with Harry and the sword...
I hope that whatever writing project comes your way next will be just as well-received as these stories. Thanks for making me laugh!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80553Chapter: 1
No! More Hat stories! I can think of a few! Um....Lucius, McGonagall, Dumbledore, Regalus, Oliver, Arthur, Moody, Umbridge...LOCKHART!!!! Come on, I'll die waiting for book 6. Please?

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80541Chapter: 1
All the hat fics have been told?

Would it be possible to get just one more - just one?

I would LOVE to see the hat having a discussion with Hermione - of course, it might be quite a challenge to get her to take the thing off...

-Steve

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --