The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 10

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136473Chapter: 1
That was REALLY good.

Reviewer: AriDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123720Chapter: 1
ehhhh this was ok no nearly as good as your portrait of a potions master. I wish you could have bulit the relationship of Florence and Snape but i loved the ending. KEEP WRITING!!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91110Chapter: 1
Interesting. I liked Snapeís bitterness, his horrible past and his desire to escape it. Iím not sure enough was made of the Maruaderís bullying, though. And I didnít understand it structurally- I mean it began with Snape not wanting to teach Occlumency and then went on with him thinking back over his life- during the lesson? Before? It would have been good if after all that you had gone back to the ďpresentĒ again- to the Occlumency lesson, Somehow it didnít tie up too neat. Anyhow, an insightful and well written fic, keep it up!

Reviewer: Nymphadora GreyDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86346Chapter: 1
I'm NOT a Snape fan by an stretch of the word...But your heart has to melt with this story...smashingly done...I think this is a great explaination to Snape's background...do write more.

Reviewer: GDDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82028Chapter: 1
Great story - I hope you get around to telling us more about Florence.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81636Chapter: 1
One of the fics that makes me feel truly sorry for Severus...you've painted him perfectly, good job!

-Linnet

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81585Chapter: 1
Curses and Counter-curses by Vindictus Viridian
-a good head of house for Snape

the name remained, serving as a haunting reminder of Severusí weakness and of the day Persephone had taken her own life.
-excellent history of that name. No wonder he hated James so much.

I like how you included the bits from the Pensieve.

she had blossomed in his life as a child, had grown with him until she had been choked by the weeds of his soul, then had promptly scattered herself to the wind
-a bit much that.

Excellent! I'm off to read your other fics.

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81570Chapter: 1
Oooh, someone else who thinks it was Florence kissing Snape!

Great story, if anything, too short. Care to develop it some more? I'd like to read it.

Kizmet

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81568Chapter: 1
I enjoy reading people's "takes" on Snape, and you've got an intriguing one (more than one, actually, what with Portrait of a Potions Master!) This one is very ambitious for a short piece--it reads more like an outline of a serial, with lots of telling (where I'd rather be shown) interspersed with a little dialogue. That being said, I wish I *could* read it in serial form (!) because the plot and action are plausible, Snape's motivations and characterizations are on target, and you've done a nice job tying together cryptic little details from canon into his personal history.

Second year (twelve) seems a little young for their first kiss behind the greenhouse. Not that it's unheard of...just that the dialogue surrounding it suggests that everybody in their class is already meeting there regularly (or saying they are) and Severus and Florence are feeling left out. That seems more like the social situation for third year (thirteen going on fourteen). A few would start at twelve, but Snape would probably be among the later starters. (But what do I know?)

As for whether Snape was ever in love...well, I'd like to think so, too, whether or not canon will ever support it. He deserves somebody. Even another Slytherin.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81500Chapter: 1
Absolutely riveting! I'm not a huge fan of Snape fics, but this is so well written and so very believable that I think you may have converted me. I actaully feel some compassion for the man after reading your story and really feel as though you've provided a terrific history for Snape that explains all the mysteries that JKR has not cleared up about him.

Terrific work!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --