The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)


Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 40

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128684Chapter: 1
Ooh, hehe. I liked it a lot. The visit from Snape = priceless.

Reviewer: ancillaDate: 2005-07-23
Reviewid: 127682Chapter: 1
Sweet, simple... a great combination... i would love to see a next chapter on this story, altho it might puncture the "magick" around it. Ah... Severus Snape... most welcomed... thank you.

Reviewer: N. PetrenkoDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123773Chapter: 1
I love this story. Good work.

Reviewer: PotioncatDate: 2005-05-23
Reviewid: 122632Chapter: 1
This is an excellent story! I found it because it has been nominated for an award. I do disagree with other reviewers, it does not call for another chapter, but it does leave the reader wanting more stories! Great work and good luck on the contest!

Reviewer: SeaIsleWitchDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121338Chapter: 1
How charming! Well done!

Reviewer: ColleenDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120942Chapter: 1
I really liked this! Short and sweet! This is the first feed back I've ever given, so please take this as high praise. I have to tell you though, that irregardless is not a word. Sorry to be critical, that was the only complaint I have about the whole thing. Will there be a second story from Scotland?

Reviewer: LilDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108100Chapter: 1
Oh, this was lovely! I loved it! I hope you write the sequel about when she goes to Scotland, that would be entertaining! Anywho, keep up the good work!

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103920Chapter: 1
i loved it! very cleverly done, good description, nice dialouge. But what is that flute thing?

Reviewer: Mystical WitchDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102235Chapter: 1
Love this story and I hope you will write a sequel.

Reviewer: Erato_the_hopelessDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96675Chapter: 1
I really like this. I've always had a secret wish to come in contact with the characters of Harry Potter. Thanks for keeping that wish alive!

Reviewer: JulietDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92090Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant! Completely true to character! I love the creativity and the sense of "what if...?" that I get while reading it. Thank you for writing this and please let us all know about the trip to Scotland-we're dying to hear.

Reviewer: DeritineDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85589Chapter: 1
Brilliant! This needs a sequel, though... I want to know what happens in Scottland.

Reviewer: ChthoniaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82892Chapter: 1
Nice idea! The atmosphere of a library came over well, and Snape was very IC, though perhaps a little softer than I would have expected at the end. I can't imagine what he thought about the Librarian's planned event! An image of his reaction to Lockhart's Valentine's Day antics came to mind.

The owl-summoning flute was a nice touch.

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73013Chapter: 1
LOL!!! I could so *see* that scene playing out in my mind, and I swear I knew who your unusual patron was even before he opened his mouth - and when he did, there was not a shred of doubt left. There’s just no mistaking that not-amused monosyllabic manner of speech!

But how could you get Harry and friends in trouble like that? I just hope they’ve graduated by now and are out of his reach!

I’d quote highlights if I could decide on my favourite lines, but it’s all too good.

I hope you’ve kept that flute safely somewhere, and I hope you’ll get a chance to discover its proper use one day. :-)

Thanks for making me laugh! :-)


Reviewer: StoneyDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70270Chapter: 1
Loved it. The letter at the end was a nice touch.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68258Chapter: 1
I very much enjoyed your story. It was well written and made me laufgh. Mahalo!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56865Chapter: 1
Love the story and the interraction! One note -- "irregardless" is not a word, though it is often used in place of the correct "regardless" or "irrespective". I suspect Prof. Snape would be mortified to make such an oversight....

Reviewer: Topaz WatersDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55400Chapter: 1
Aww!!! Professor Snape was being nice! How cute! I loved it, I wish something like this could happen to me...Adorable fic!!!

Reviewer: KemDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45862Chapter: 1
Oh, this is terrific! As a librarian I'm both jealous of McAllister and thrilled to see librarians so non-stereotypically represented. Thanks!

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39670Chapter: 1
What happened with the flute???

Reviewer: quigglesDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29914Chapter: 1
WOW!! that is soooooo cool! did it really happen?!?! i really think it is cool if it did!!

Reviewer: lkjfalrgjal;gbnaDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21942Chapter: 1
cute story!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21695Chapter: 1
This was very amusing -- the idea of explaining Hogwarts to *that* particular visitor.... and the bit about the "Sorcerer's" stone!

"You don't seem the type." *snickers* I think she seemed much more the type to him after complaining about rude students.

Reviewer: LassiterDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16239Chapter: 1
This is one of the more creative, unique, and interesting fanfics I've read. Cool. Good job, you.

Reviewer: FleurDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15308Chapter: 1
I loved this! I can just see Snape glowering as he finds out the truth about his missing potion materials!



Reviewer: Alexandra GrayDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14755Chapter: 1
That was fun. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2002-11-27
Reviewid: 10308Chapter: 1
WHOA....haha that's all i can say, that was so INTERESTING! i mean wow you have such an imaginative mind to think of that! i really enjoyed reading that!

Reviewer: Ariana DeralteDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 9984Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this:) What a great story and from such a unique point of view. Well done. Cheers:)

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9673Chapter: 1
I read this a while ago, but never reviewed. ::looks sheepish::

This is a great idea, though! Very cute and funny. Wouldn't it be cool if that happened? ;) lol
Actually, this could make for an interesting fic, where Harry Potter is actually real, and the librarian goes to Scotland...falls in love with Snape...sigh. <g>

Reviewer: sweatpants24Date: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9450Chapter: 1
This was SO interesting! You have QUITE the mind. I could never think up something like this. (Well, I could but it wouldn't be half as good.)

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9240Chapter: 1
This is another of the stories that I printed out to read to my sons and share with my mother, back when I first started reading fan fiction online. One of the first stories that I came across which showed Snape in a sympathetic light.

I remember this story as one that TRULY opened my mind to the many possibilities available in well-written fan stories. I loved that it was written from the POV of a Muggle librarian who was unaware of who she was dealing with. This story delighted my whole family.

Reviewer: GengiDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8727Chapter: 1
o.o ^^ Wow! I really liked that! Very original and...well...*cool*. 8) Great story! :) Made me happy! ^_^

Reviewer: Angiesphinx!Date: 2002-08-29
Reviewid: 3449Chapter: 1
this thing it's just facinating!
snape, right?!
just lovely & funny!
i recomend it
lots of cheers!

Reviewer: Hermione @ HeartDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 3028Chapter: 1
Wow! Clever! I liked it when she told Snape (I'm assuming it was him) about Harry stealing the boomslang (pardon my misspelling, if there is some)... Gr8 job!

Reviewer: BookwormOwl~*~Date: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1680Chapter: 1
Um, I'm sorta confused. Is this a true story? Who
was this mysterious man who sent that stuff? Very good though. I've had and heard some weird Harry
Potter stories like that too.;)

Reviewer: LizDate: 2002-08-03
Reviewid: 723Chapter: 1
I love this story. Its so... uncanny its wonderful. I've worked in a library, believe me, we DO get strange people in there! I just got done with a LOTR book club and the idea of something like this happening made me giggle. This is a great story, exactly the thing I like to read. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 388Chapter: 1
I think I reveiwed this one before, but I didn't like it having no reviews. One of my old time favorites!

Reviewer: WerechickDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 334Chapter: 1
Wow! That was just brilliant. Truly brilliant!

Reviewer: missy hallanDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 126Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 3/31/02 3:52:00 am)

Your "Close Encounters of the Harry Potter Kind" was the first story I read on te SugarQuill. I loved it but didn't leave a review because I did not have an EZBoard account at that time. I just finished Fortunes Favor the Bold, and I think it is quite interesting. I have a tarot deck and am just beginning to learn how to use it, so this story espically interested me. I'm just wondering how you did a reading for characters. Snapes, was eerily dead on! Great stories!

Reviewer: JMStalkerDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 125Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 7/23/02 12:07:52 am)

I just read 'Encounters of the Harry Potter Kind', and I'm sorry I can't say anything more intelligent than this: I loved it. It was very unique, very interesting, and the only problem I noticed was the odd spacing between a few paragraphs, which really doesn't make a difference, anyhow.

I can't say enough times how fascinating the fic was: this is the first fic of yours I've read, and I'll be sure to check out some of the others.


The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --