The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 40

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128684Chapter: 1
Ooh, hehe. I liked it a lot. The visit from Snape = priceless.

Reviewer: ancillaDate: 2005-07-23
Reviewid: 127682Chapter: 1
Sweet, simple... a great combination... i would love to see a next chapter on this story, altho it might puncture the "magick" around it. Ah... Severus Snape... most welcomed... thank you.

Reviewer: N. PetrenkoDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123773Chapter: 1
I love this story. Good work.

Reviewer: PotioncatDate: 2005-05-23
Reviewid: 122632Chapter: 1
This is an excellent story! I found it because it has been nominated for an award. I do disagree with other reviewers, it does not call for another chapter, but it does leave the reader wanting more stories! Great work and good luck on the contest!

Reviewer: SeaIsleWitchDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121338Chapter: 1
How charming! Well done!

Reviewer: ColleenDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120942Chapter: 1
I really liked this! Short and sweet! This is the first feed back I've ever given, so please take this as high praise. I have to tell you though, that irregardless is not a word. Sorry to be critical, that was the only complaint I have about the whole thing. Will there be a second story from Scotland?

Reviewer: LilDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108100Chapter: 1
Oh, this was lovely! I loved it! I hope you write the sequel about when she goes to Scotland, that would be entertaining! Anywho, keep up the good work!

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103920Chapter: 1
i loved it! very cleverly done, good description, nice dialouge. But what is that flute thing?

Reviewer: Mystical WitchDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102235Chapter: 1
Love this story and I hope you will write a sequel.

Reviewer: Erato_the_hopelessDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96675Chapter: 1
I really like this. I've always had a secret wish to come in contact with the characters of Harry Potter. Thanks for keeping that wish alive!

Reviewer: JulietDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92090Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant! Completely true to character! I love the creativity and the sense of "what if...?" that I get while reading it. Thank you for writing this and please let us all know about the trip to Scotland-we're dying to hear.

Reviewer: DeritineDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85589Chapter: 1
Brilliant! This needs a sequel, though... I want to know what happens in Scottland.

Reviewer: ChthoniaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82892Chapter: 1
Nice idea! The atmosphere of a library came over well, and Snape was very IC, though perhaps a little softer than I would have expected at the end. I can't imagine what he thought about the Librarian's planned event! An image of his reaction to Lockhart's Valentine's Day antics came to mind.

The owl-summoning flute was a nice touch.

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73013Chapter: 1
LOL!!! I could so *see* that scene playing out in my mind, and I swear I knew who your unusual patron was even before he opened his mouth - and when he did, there was not a shred of doubt left. There’s just no mistaking that not-amused monosyllabic manner of speech!

But how could you get Harry and friends in trouble like that? I just hope they’ve graduated by now and are out of his reach!

I’d quote highlights if I could decide on my favourite lines, but it’s all too good.

I hope you’ve kept that flute safely somewhere, and I hope you’ll get a chance to discover its proper use one day. :-)

Thanks for making me laugh! :-)

Jolie

Reviewer: StoneyDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70270Chapter: 1
Loved it. The letter at the end was a nice touch.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68258Chapter: 1
I very much enjoyed your story. It was well written and made me laufgh. Mahalo!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56865Chapter: 1
Love the story and the interraction! One note -- "irregardless" is not a word, though it is often used in place of the correct "regardless" or "irrespective". I suspect Prof. Snape would be mortified to make such an oversight....

Reviewer: Topaz WatersDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55400Chapter: 1
Aww!!! Professor Snape was being nice! How cute! I loved it, I wish something like this could happen to me...Adorable fic!!!

Reviewer: KemDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45862Chapter: 1
Oh, this is terrific! As a librarian I'm both jealous of McAllister and thrilled to see librarians so non-stereotypically represented. Thanks!

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39670Chapter: 1
What happened with the flute???

Reviewer: quigglesDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29914Chapter: 1
WOW!! that is soooooo cool! did it really happen?!?! i really think it is cool if it did!!

Reviewer: lkjfalrgjal;gbnaDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21942Chapter: 1
cute story!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21695Chapter: 1
This was very amusing -- the idea of explaining Hogwarts to *that* particular visitor.... and the bit about the "Sorcerer's" stone!

"You don't seem the type." *snickers* I think she seemed much more the type to him after complaining about rude students.

Reviewer: LassiterDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16239Chapter: 1
This is one of the more creative, unique, and interesting fanfics I've read. Cool. Good job, you.

Reviewer: FleurDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15308Chapter: 1
I loved this! I can just see Snape glowering as he finds out the truth about his missing potion materials!

Wonderful!

Fleur

Reviewer: Alexandra GrayDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14755Chapter: 1
That was fun. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2002-11-27
Reviewid: 10308Chapter: 1
WHOA....haha that's all i can say, that was so INTERESTING! i mean wow you have such an imaginative mind to think of that! i really enjoyed reading that!

Reviewer: Ariana DeralteDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 9984Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this:) What a great story and from such a unique point of view. Well done. Cheers:)

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9673Chapter: 1
I read this a while ago, but never reviewed. ::looks sheepish::

This is a great idea, though! Very cute and funny. Wouldn't it be cool if that happened? ;) lol
Actually, this could make for an interesting fic, where Harry Potter is actually real, and the librarian goes to Scotland...falls in love with Snape...sigh. <g>

Reviewer: sweatpants24Date: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9450Chapter: 1
This was SO interesting! You have QUITE the mind. I could never think up something like this. (Well, I could but it wouldn't be half as good.)

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9240Chapter: 1
This is another of the stories that I printed out to read to my sons and share with my mother, back when I first started reading fan fiction online. One of the first stories that I came across which showed Snape in a sympathetic light.

I remember this story as one that TRULY opened my mind to the many possibilities available in well-written fan stories. I loved that it was written from the POV of a Muggle librarian who was unaware of who she was dealing with. This story delighted my whole family.

Reviewer: GengiDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8727Chapter: 1
o.o ^^ Wow! I really liked that! Very original and...well...*cool*. 8) Great story! :) Made me happy! ^_^

Reviewer: Angiesphinx!Date: 2002-08-29
Reviewid: 3449Chapter: 1
this thing it's just facinating!
snape, right?!
just lovely & funny!
i recomend it
lots of cheers!

Reviewer: Hermione @ HeartDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 3028Chapter: 1
Wow! Clever! I liked it when she told Snape (I'm assuming it was him) about Harry stealing the boomslang (pardon my misspelling, if there is some)... Gr8 job!

Reviewer: BookwormOwl~*~Date: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1680Chapter: 1
Um, I'm sorta confused. Is this a true story? Who
was this mysterious man who sent that stuff? Very good though. I've had and heard some weird Harry
Potter stories like that too.;)

Reviewer: LizDate: 2002-08-03
Reviewid: 723Chapter: 1
I love this story. Its so... uncanny its wonderful. I've worked in a library, believe me, we DO get strange people in there! I just got done with a LOTR book club and the idea of something like this happening made me giggle. This is a great story, exactly the thing I like to read. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 388Chapter: 1
I think I reveiwed this one before, but I didn't like it having no reviews. One of my old time favorites!

Reviewer: WerechickDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 334Chapter: 1
Wow! That was just brilliant. Truly brilliant!

Reviewer: missy hallanDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 126Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 3/31/02 3:52:00 am)

Your "Close Encounters of the Harry Potter Kind" was the first story I read on te SugarQuill. I loved it but didn't leave a review because I did not have an EZBoard account at that time. I just finished Fortunes Favor the Bold, and I think it is quite interesting. I have a tarot deck and am just beginning to learn how to use it, so this story espically interested me. I'm just wondering how you did a reading for characters. Snapes, was eerily dead on! Great stories!

Reviewer: JMStalkerDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 125Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 7/23/02 12:07:52 am)

I just read 'Encounters of the Harry Potter Kind', and I'm sorry I can't say anything more intelligent than this: I loved it. It was very unique, very interesting, and the only problem I noticed was the odd spacing between a few paragraphs, which really doesn't make a difference, anyhow.

I can't say enough times how fascinating the fic was: this is the first fic of yours I've read, and I'll be sure to check out some of the others.

*trisha*

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --