The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Water
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2006-06-04
Reviewid: 143219Chapter: 1
I read this a loooooong time ago. Well, comparatively. Long enough ago that I didn't have a name on the SQ and thus felt weird about reviewing things. So I was talking with prplhez, and she was saying how you did a great characterization of Sirius, and I was saying I knew, I remembered reading a story by you where he takes a shower while on the run, and it occured to me that I probably did not leave a review for it.

My favorite part is him watching the caked on dirt fall off his skin into the shower drain. That part is good enough that I've seemed to remember it for about two years.

And the grim satisfaction from cutting his hair. Hair can sort of be a security blanket, hiding features, and though it seems weird to think of it that way, Sirius might have had some of this going on. But cutting off his hair, and thus cutting of some of the weight from Azkaban, the positives outweighed the negatives.

Wonderful work, and I'm very sorry for very belatedness of this review.

Reviewer: Annie_jayeDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125875Chapter: 1
oh I just love this fic!! Really all I got to say. Keep writing good ones like these!:)

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-22
Reviewid: 120292Chapter: 1
Nice.

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118538Chapter: 1
awwwwwwww...Best story ever!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103012Chapter: 1
Perhaps it's mostly just the fact that you start the fic with a bit where Sirius is trying his hardest to say something coherent in Spanish, which I definitely can relate to, that sucked me in and the fic wouldn't be so excellent for other people, but I think it would. Well, except for the Snape fans who don't like good guys who do bad things sometimes, just bad guys who do good things sometimes. And who don't care about what a character who nearly got their favorite character killed or almost-worse once was up to once he finally had the time to bother. Weeeeell, it's not my place to say if it's worse.

Reviewer: MeaghanDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99046Chapter: 1
it's pretty good. you can really feel all the anger he has... or maybe i'm just obsessed

Reviewer: SeluneDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98957Chapter: 1
under-reviewed? i'll recall of yoru sirius/related work on my/'our' sirius-site. ack1 i'l lget to it tomorrow. *sigh* yes this wsa good i remember.

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85436Chapter: 1
Noooooo, not the /hair/!!

Oh, well. I guess more patient care and feeding of Padfeet gets left in the hands of Alex and Abby. ^_^

(How catharitic, though.)

Reviewer: SiriuslyLupinDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82754Chapter: 1
Very nice. Sirius's actions were described very well, and his feelings after the shower really painted a picture in my mind. Poor Sirius.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82672Chapter: 1
very nice. I like the sense we get of purpose in his actions without being overly wordy. Will now read the rest of your stuff!

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81607Chapter: 1
Very powerful for such a short fic. As good as always. :)

He didn't care what it looked like when he was done; it only mattered that twelve years of Azkaban and another year of hiding and running were finally gone, that he wasn't carrying them with him any more. At least not so other people could see.

I like that line...it kind of captures in two sentences what Sirius is probably feeling; that no matter how much he changes his outer appearance all that time in Azkaban is still affecting him outside.

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81603Chapter: 1
This is very interesting! I really like how you describe things, and the setting is wonderfully done.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81586Chapter: 1
Wonderful piece, as always. Your ability to channel Sirius still amazes me!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81576Chapter: 1
Very good! Another chapter perhaps?

For a moment he wondered if he were supposed to linger for all this gold
-Yikes! Welcome to Club NAMBLA.

Filth, filth and more filth.
He didn't adjust the temperature. Beneath the dirt, beneath the caked-on grime, his skin protested by turning an angry red. He didn't care. How long has it been? I don't know. He let the water cascade over his body for a long time before he reached for the bar of soap and began a very intense, very systematic scrubbing.

Get. Off. Of. Me.

Chunks of dirt fell off; mesmerized, he watched them circle the drain before disappearing. Something suspiciously bug-like fell out of his matted hair and rode the angry swirl to oblivion. He scrubbed and scraped and let the water cleanse him for as long as he could stand it. Until the entire bar of soap was gone. Only then was he satisfied.
-Nicely done.

Reviewer: Raven SnapeDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81555Chapter: 1
Very nice. One of those little plot bunnies that had to be hunted?

--For a moment he wondered if he were supposed to linger for all this gold.

It's these little details that make you one of my favorite authors.

--He turned it hot, stripping out of the clothes he'd worn since who knew when.

This shows how much his life has just been a day-by-day trial. He really has not stopped since breaking out has he? I also think that prior to finally seeing Harry and talking with Remus he allowed himself to be lost in dirt and filth. I donít think he felt he was worthy of being clean. Harry has a way of making people feel worthy. Helping Sirius escape, even believing him, has give him a new sense of purpose. Damn shame JKR wasted it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh well, maybe there's a way......

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81529Chapter: 1
I think the catchphrase from an old commercial says things best -- "HWATTAFEELING!" :D I think it was for a bath soap or shampoo or something...

Anyway, I'm sure the lightness Sirius felt after his bath was wonderful. Hurray for showers! Perhaps they will be to Sirius as soup is to Remus? LOL!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81506Chapter: 1
Nice little fic- I wish it were longer, but you did so much in a short piece. Makes me sad all over again thinking about poor Sirius. *sigh*

Good work.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81502Chapter: 1
Very nice. You've poured so much into such a short moment in time, very in character and beautifully written. Love the details; the place, the desk boy. Nice work.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81478Chapter: 1
I loved it the first time, I love it now. Very believable. Makes me miss Sirius even more. :-(

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --