The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Post Mortem
Review(s): 72

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-04
Reviewid: 145592Chapter: 3
Excellent.

Reviewer: PythonBlossomDate: 2005-10-31
Reviewid: 135525Chapter: 3
This is an amazingly well done story. I loved how you stressed on the importance of humanizing the enemy and the heavy costs of war.
The ending two lines are beautiful.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129046Chapter: 1
Wow - I read this thinking totally that you'd just written it, after HBP. Man, dead on, eh? Excellent stuff.

Reviewer: SKODate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121467Chapter: 1
Hey. I loved it. It left me a bit confused though. Not because of your story-telling...that was brilliant but I don't know how to...really deal with the situation. I would have thought Ron would've felt really guilty and unable to even look at Malfoy. A lot of things are left unsaid. That could either be a very good or not. Either way I think you're a brilliant storyteller and I hope you continue! :)

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106362Chapter: 3
heartbreaking, but the truth. i love they way you did the rules-very moody. beautifully done, a hard topic to right about. keep up the good work!

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97090Chapter: 3
i've always felt that Draco was misunderstood. this was so sad. “No,” Ron said. “That’s what I said to him. I said I was sorry. About his mum.”
i cried at this part! great job!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: TamiDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96885Chapter: 3
Nearly made me cry. Too sad. Touching fic. Really... I'm nearly in tears.

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96849Chapter: 3
wow. that was so good. i loved it!!!!!!!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89893Chapter: 3
Poor old Draco. He can't help it if he's.... evil. Well, maybe he can. A thoughtful bittersweet story, very well written. Keep it up!

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89644Chapter: 3
EXCELLENT piece! Very powerful.

Reviewer: rapunzelDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89456Chapter: 1
I really liked this story. I think it fits in very well with how Malfoy would have acted in this instance. Great job!

Reviewer: /l,mnDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89389Chapter: 3
omg that was so sad!!!!!

Reviewer: Bunni (again)Date: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89354Chapter: 3
Also, it's nice to notice that the people on the dark side are still human. They might be slime, but they're not like Voldemort. Voldemort has no sense of humanity left. No human kindness. But the others do..

Reviewer: BunniDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89353Chapter: 3
This made me do a whole lot of thinking.. It really did.. They all /would/ feel terrible about killing.. I understand better now.. ..

ANYWAY! Good story. Nice form, nice lenth. I especially liked the way you ended it. Very nice. I'm hardly ever satisfied with endings, but this is a good one.

Reviewer: EmeraldDate: 2004-06-11
Reviewid: 86735Chapter: 3
That was wonderful. One of the best fics I've read, it puts everything into perspective perfectly.

Reviewer: ErikaDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86635Chapter: 3
Wow! Beautiful. Very touching.

Reviewer: eznquasiDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86455Chapter: 3
awww draco loves his mommy.
nice to see someone who realises that its impossible for the peolple on the Dark Side to be complete and utter evil to the core.

Reviewer: BeatriceDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86300Chapter: 3
Oh, that was so sad and touching!

Reviewer: shooting starDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86218Chapter: 1
that was beautiful, thank you. I loved how Malfoy showed his sadness with anger! I would review for all your stories, but I think that might take too long...so I think you are very talented will have to do.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86149Chapter: 3
I enjoyed your story, and how Ron understood in the end, how he didn't fight back because he knew Malfoy was in pain.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84123Chapter: 3
Very poignant and truthful.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83424Chapter: 3
Wow. This is great. I especially love Ron's POV, because it shows a more sensitive side. I love the two rules of war, and I love his entire chapter. This is a great fic.

Reviewer: HarteDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83371Chapter: 3
Awesome writing, very moving.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83343Chapter: 3
Very well done, especially Ron's epiphany there at the end about the opposing side being human as well. Wonderful.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83328Chapter: 3
This is beautiful. It's too easy sometimes to forget that the people on that mysterious "other side" are people just like us.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83292Chapter: 3
>>What if this is it?

What if this is the last time? Ever?

It could be.<<

And now the lightbulb goes on for Ron...

>>In that moment, Ron forgot about a lot of things. He forgot that Malfoy was a horrible, bullying git whom he’d loathed practically since the moment they’d met. He forgot about taunts and sneers and “Weasley is Our King.” He forgot five years of a seething cold war that had periodically erupted into battles.<<

That moment made me want to cry. Malfoy was and is an absolute git, but he'd lost the one person who loved him more genuinely than any other.

>>Narcissa Malfoy had been a Death Eater. He knew that. She’d more than likely meant to kill Tonks. He knew that too. She hadn’t been much of a nice person, to be honest about it. But she’d been a person. Alive. And one person, at least, had loved her.

Now she wasn’t alive.

And one person loved her still.<<

Wow. I'm speechless. I don't to what extent this story might have been motivated by current world events, but I think would be an excellent resource for helping kids talk about the loss of life that occurs in war. I appreciate your subtle treatment of the issues involved -- it really gets the mind whirring.

Excellent, excellent work.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83290Chapter: 2
>>When Hermione asked, Tonks didn't hear. Or pretended that she hadn't.<<

Poor Hermione, she's not always the most adept at sensing when people need time and space to sort things out emotionally.

>>“Your Aunt Bella didn’t much care when she killed Sirius,” Harry said in a hard, tight voice. “Bet she didn’t give it a moment’s thought. Bet she enjoyed it.”<<

A very in-character reaction from Harry, given his experiences with Bellatrix.

>>“Be that as it may, Harry,” Lupin said, “she was a human being.”<<

As others have mentioned, this is a fitting outlook from Remus. He knows just what it means to have your humanity exchanged for a label.

>>Harry said slowly, feeling the words roll around in his mouth like rough pebbles, “Think if it was your mum.”<<

Ahh...and Harry begins to understand. You do an excellent job of showing all the mental and emotional tangles that must follow an event like this.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83288Chapter: 1
Really, is there ANYTHING you can't write? ;) Yet another moving, thought-provoking story. The writing is spare, but you allow us to fill in the rest with our own emotional reactions.

>>"I don’t understand," she said.<<

That's Hermione speaking, right? It seems a fitting thing to come from her mouth -- she operates by logic, and death in war is the furthest thing from logical.

The use of "Aunt Cissa" is another poignant touch. Regardless of how evil Narcissa might have become, this is Tonks AUNT, and I'm sure she always didn't know her as such.

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83277Chapter: 3
Those last two lines just broke my heart...
Fantastic fic, by the way - a good reminder that these books are gonna get very dark and we need to be prepared for that. Everyone was very much IC, especially Ron. Well done!

Reviewer: Lady LongbottomDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83261Chapter: 3
Brilliant. Ron realizing it could be the last time he sees his mum really brought a tear to my eye.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83215Chapter: 3
Super! I knew the five words. You really did set that up well. It couldn't be anything else. The whole story is built solidly. First letting the younger ones see Tonks and Lupin model sorrow over the finality of death. Even the death of an enemy. Then setting Ron and Molly together before boarding. Ron's "I love you" was wonderful. And it set up a sympathetic response from Ron. Which I was so glad to see led to a fight! Even if Ron is sorry, it is easy to see how Malfoy perceives htat comment as inappropriate. Ron was anything but sympathetic at first. And I don't think Malfoy has a sympathetic bone in is smarmy little body. So he wouldn't recognize it as anything but spite.

And your usual touches of realism anchor everything.

>>She let her head fall sideways to rest against the wall. “Rule two is . . . nobody can change Rule One.”<<

The description of her actions brings this alive!

Great work, as usual!

Reviewer: Robin KDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83195Chapter: 2
You took a difficult and sensitive concept and handled very deftly....clear points, but not too heavy handed. Nice job.

Reviewer: wm_lawDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83177Chapter: 3
That was incredibly moving. So simple yet so powerful. Just wow. Fantastic job.

Reviewer: jamuDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83167Chapter: 3
this is a very interesting idea to write a fic about...and i love it. it's so....moving. i guess that's what you could call it. and reminding. morally reminding. it reminds us that when you strip away race, religion, gender, good or bad, we're all simply humans. one and the same.

Reviewer: FaeDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83158Chapter: 3
Sad story, really touching, i'm glad Ron cared

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83156Chapter: 3
I liked Ron's realizations at the end. It's things like that that make him a better person than Draco Malfoy. Draco's reaction to Ron's attempt at condolences seems very in character, not wanting to be the object of pity for someone who he has always looked down upon.

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83150Chapter: 3
Ron's become all...sensitive...telling his mum he loves her...expressing his sympathy for Malfoy...I suppose Narcissa's death really hit him hard, and I love how you let him realize that war is painful from both sides.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83146Chapter: 3
This was wonderful. Though you didn't make them up, I did love the two rules of war. Great idea for a fic, keep it up.

-Linnet

Reviewer: whizbeeDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83142Chapter: 3
Lovely story! A lot of times when authors do different perspectives, the story just ends up being repetative, and it's difficult to even tell that the styles of writing that pertain to certain characters have changed. However, you have done a wonderful job with it; the characterizations are spot on, which impacts the *way* you write each chapter. Also, each chapter sort of has its own theme, which shows what each character gets from the experience. I thought that was very well done. It's a shame there isn't more but I think you stopped it at the right place, too many versions would have gotten annoying. Another think I liked was Hermione chasing Ron down with a hankerchief as she's yelling at him. Wonderfully done. So many authors overdo their relationship or dramatize it, but your depiction of it could have come straight out of canon. Again, beautiful story. I have looked forward to your work for quite some time.

Reviewer: CGDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83141Chapter: 3
Beautiful story. Makes us all re-think a lot of things, doesn't it. THanks for u're work!

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83125Chapter: 3
Wow, the ending was definitely powerful! You should work on this more, though - perhaps a fanfiction dealing with how Tonks copes?

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83119Chapter: 3
I have to tell you, this is one of the most touching pieces of fanfic I've ever read. Seriously. *OOTP SPOILER* I think Sirius' and Cedric's deaths opened the gate for the kids to begin to grapple with death on a very real level, and your story moves it to another plane -- what happens when we kill someone? How does that impact the world? Are there absolutes of good and evil?
This was beautifully done. I especially liked your use of one of my favorite M*A*S*Hisms. Thanks so much for sharing.

Reviewer: DsneyvoiceDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83102Chapter: 3
That was very good. Something probably most of us don't think about very much, either.
Good job! =)

Reviewer: Too_Many_SoxDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83092Chapter: 3
"Narcissa Malfoy had been a Death Eater. He knew that. She’d more than likely meant to kill Tonks. He knew that too. She hadn’t been much of a nice person, to be honest about it. But she’d been a person. Alive. And one person, at least, had loved her.

Now she wasn’t alive.

And one person loved her still."

That was a very nice ending to the chapter. I'm actually liking this story so far. I didn't think I would. Although I don't know why I doubted you because I love everything you write (speaking of which, any decision on whether or not you'll add to the "Home" series???). I think the two rules add a nice touch and are very much in canon because they describe what everyone in the HP books are always trying to deal with and death is a major theme in Harry Potter.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-05-14
Reviewid: 82565Chapter: 1
Just wondering...are you going to add any more to the "Home Is Where the Heart Is" series? I think you should (actually I desperately want you to) because I really like that story and I know other ppl who love it too. This story's interesting so far btw (thought I should comment on that since I'm supposed to be reviewing it and not begging you to go back to the other series. But PLEEEEEEZ consider it?)

Reviewer: g sDate: 2004-05-13
Reviewid: 82530Chapter: 2
I really like this; it has a slower pace that allows for reflection instead of rushing from one action to the next. I look forward to finding out how Draco takes it.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82427Chapter: 2
This is very thought-provoking. I like the way you have Harry responding in a stereotypical "this is a WAR, dammit!" hawkish way where killing the "bad guys" or the "enemy" is seen as a source of celebration, a GOOD thing, not any cause to mourn...yet slowly starting to consider the other side, as well as the impact of the death on Tonks. Ron and Hermione too. Also, I'm not a L/T shipper but your depiction of the relationship is quite believable and IC. I think it's also quite IC to have Lupin be the one say that "she was a human being", since I'm sure he'd have had his own experiences with people treating him as less than human...

Reviewer: wm_lawDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82330Chapter: 2
Wonderfully deep and touching.

Reviewer: MollieDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82319Chapter: 2
OMG! This is sooo good! Im dying to find out all the details....when do we see Draco? and isn't Lucius still in Azkaban...so who will take care of him...??? Unless...does the Order take him in?!?!?!

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82272Chapter: 2
Poor Tonks! I feel sorry for her. I'll be interested to see where this is going....

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82264Chapter: 2
“Your Aunt Bella didn’t much care when she killed Sirius,” Harry said in a hard, tight voice. “Bet she didn’t give it a moment’s thought. Bet she enjoyed it.”] That is a perfect line, and it is something I could totally see Harry saying.

Great portrait of how young adults deal with death, especially a death as confusing as Narcissa's. Enen though she's evil and on the other side, she was still someone's mum. You capture that ambivilence very well.

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82249Chapter: 2
"... “Think if it was your mum.”

... Harry said, “It could be.”

... None of them said a word until Ron’s mum--pale, strained, distracted-looking, but alive--came to call them for lunch."

I love the way this was done, Molly coming to fetch them for lunch. Your style is very reminiscent of Hemingway and Arundhati Roy ('97 Booker prize winner) - two of my favourite writers.

Keep writing.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82227Chapter: 2
This is a great narrative. Very well thought out and beautifully told. Love Lupin's line “She’ll come to me when she doesn’t need to be strong any longer.” as well as your description before Harry's “Think if it was your mum.” Wonderful, wonderful imagery!!!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82170Chapter: 2
The atmosphere of this fic is incredible: sparely described but so real.

“Think if it was your mum.”

The boy's getting it. Slowly.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82153Chapter: 2
I do like this idea. It'a almost a philosophy assignement: Is death during war evil? And how is one supposed to feel at such a death. I like that you have the members of the Order taking is seriously. As if they have thought this through and feel the wight of it more. Sort of lends credence to the age limit for joining. I also like that no one is piping in with the answers. In fact they seem to move back and forth from one view to the next. Very real. Your trade mark.

Great work!

Reviewer: Robin MortsophiaDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82132Chapter: 2
And I still love it, though I'm sad now. But more would still be nice.

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82122Chapter: 2
wow still great

Reviewer: lifesendDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82113Chapter: 2
Oh my goodness. This is just perfect. The different points of view, and the coldness of reality. I loved what Tonks said: "if I didn't care I would be no different from them." Simply wonderful. And makes you think about the spoils of war. Please continue!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82112Chapter: 2
You have captured very well the emotions that range at death. Death is never easy, no matter who dies, be it friend or foe. Good job at making that a reality in this story.

Reviewer: SierraDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81987Chapter: 1
I would love to see how this turns out. Please keep writing.

Reviewer: Robin MortsophiaDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81690Chapter: 1
Brilliant! I love it! More? *pouty face* Please?

Reviewer: Hunter's MoonDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81659Chapter: 1
Woah. That was a chilling and unexpected beginning. I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81654Chapter: 1
Well, I'm intrigued. I wasn't expecting it to be Narcissa. It's great so far. Keep going!

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81618Chapter: 1
Tonks killed her aunt? Poor Tonks...no wonder she's so upset. I like the little details you put in, like how Tonks said 'morning' instead of 'good morning.'
I also see a promise of Remus/Tonks in this story...it should prove to be very interesting.

Reviewer: wm_lawDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81601Chapter: 1
Very interesting and, like hermione, I don't quite understand what's going on. Hopefully future chapters (there will be future chapters right?) will clear it all up

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81587Chapter: 1
Great beginning! Please update quickly, as I am on tenterhooks waiting to see what happened!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81574Chapter: 1
A good enough start, but too short. Like to know how a not-absolutely-pure-blood got into Malfoy Manor if it is anything like the Order's HQ.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81565Chapter: 1
wow what a start

Reviewer: wendiDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81541Chapter: 1
ummmm wow this will be a story i will follow

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81540Chapter: 1
Wow...just...wow.

Poor Tonks.

Reviewer: Grandma KaateDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81493Chapter: 1
What a great phrase... "the tea had contained enough Ogden’s Old Firewhiskey to revive a car battery." Wow! I have liked all your stories. You have a knack for making them memorable.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81461Chapter: 1
hmmm...Interesting. Very well written, as I have come to expect for you. I patiently await more. :-)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --