The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Just Ron
Review(s): 63

Reviewer: Red Bess RackhamDate: 2006-08-11
Reviewid: 144744Chapter: 1
That was adorable. Loved it. I love Ron and this story was perfect. :D Awesome job.

~Red Bess Rackham

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2006-04-22
Reviewid: 142147Chapter: 1
wow, ireally liked it!!! the ending was just perfect!!:

"He’ll be ‘just Ron.’

And it’ll suit him fine."

congrtas, i really liked it

Reviewer: GreenMeansGoDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129532Chapter: 1
Amazing. Absolutely adorable.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108416Chapter: 1
Yes, I know, I've read this story a bazillion times and reviewed before, but I just love it! It really is adorable... from Hermione's "reasoning" to the surgery-comment by Harry, the hint of R/H is there but not thrown in our faces. I love it. Amazingly adorable. Perfect.

Reviewer: GinDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106789Chapter: 1
Wonderful, you captured Ron pefectly.

Reviewer: WendyDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105442Chapter: 1
Sel, I liked the other two stories, but I *loved* this one. I've wondered what Ron thinks about being the 'ordinary' one and I think you got inside his head very nicely. :-)

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100609Chapter: 1
Awwww. I'm feeling all.. WAFF-y now. :D

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100478Chapter: 1
Really beautifully written and captures the essence of what Ron is in a compelling way. Keep writing like this.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100127Chapter: 1
Ooh. I really like this fic. I think you captured a lot of the good, and occationally not so good, sides of Ron. I'd like to give constructive critasism, but I really can't think of what to say.

Reviewer: vivDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96055Chapter: 1
i now feel like giving ron the biggest of bear hugs.
but i cant, so i'll send one to you.
:)
*hug*

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95990Chapter: 1
::sniffs::

oh, *Ron*. you've made me cry, SelDear, and completely captured the fustration of always being left behind. and what a perfect scenario! i can just picture Hermione squealing on Ron's broom. what fun!

telling the story in that stilted third person was interesting too. at first it confused me, surprised me, threw me off, and i really didn't get into the flow of your writing until Ron and Harry dragged Hermione outside. not sure why: i guess it was just different.

but i quite liked the lines about "an astonished McGonagall and a distasteful Snape", how they made her choose between brooms, and how at the end of the day, Ron was happy to be himself. wish we could all find that peace.

:)
::speaks in a mysterious, otherworldy voice::
"i think we should expect great things from you, SelDear..."

please write more, and soon!
~TPR

Reviewer: emmaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95875Chapter: 1
this was really sweet! LOVED IT! :P

Reviewer: Kaji!Date: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95870Chapter: 1
This is darling; I love Ron, he's so often overlooked. This story captures it perfectly, and also captures the characters beautifully; great job. ^_^

Reviewer: natrahDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95665Chapter: 1
it was a great story !!!
well done

Reviewer: natrahDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95663Chapter: 1
it was great story !!!
ron should read this..

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95594Chapter: 1
*lol* Awwww... nicely stylistic fluffymush. Thanks for the warm fuzzies. :-)

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95587Chapter: 1
I loved this! I love the way it was written in a future tense, something about this writing style makes it all the more sweeter, without being cotton-candy fluff (which has its day and age, but that's not here. in this story, i mean.)

please continue your work, you're an amazing author!

Reviewer: PlineDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91606Chapter: 1
Clap clap! That's really good! It's just like Ron. And I really like the way you ended it.

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 89012Chapter: 1
LOVE IT! PERFECT

Reviewer: SatyenDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88904Chapter: 1
Brilliant - You've highglighted why Ron is so just Ron.

Very good

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87444Chapter: 1
That was, there's no other word for it, *cute*

It's a definite compliment, and I was very intrigued by the style you chose to write it in, sounded a bit like a poem.

Reviewer: xonyDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85618Chapter: 1
**cries**

Reviewer: JenniferLupinDate: 2004-05-30
Reviewid: 85236Chapter: 1
"Because Harry has all the fame, and Hermione has all the brains, but Ron has them."

This fic made me cry, seriously. Very nicely done.

J

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-05-30
Reviewid: 85214Chapter: 1
yes. yes it will suit him. this is one amazing fic. just like ur other one. but his is even more amazing !

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85101Chapter: 1
I thought this was going to end up being another melancholie "I'm sad for me piece when I started reading you story. Then the plot twisted and this first line made me really smile:

<They will pull her into the bright, bright sun and give her the option: Harry’s broom, Ron’s broom, or they can carry her between them.>

Not much of a choice, really...

I smiled through the rest of your fic and think you have summed Ron up quite nicely in this quote:

<Because Harry has all the fame, and Hermione has all the brains, but Ron has them.
He’ll be ‘just Ron.’
And it’ll suit him fine.>

I'm glad Ron is finally finding his place in the world. He can never be the shadow of his brothers and I think Ron is finally figuring out that he is his own man.

Great story. Please post again soon.

Reviewer: ValDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85049Chapter: 1
That was wonderful! You've placed Ron just right, but revealed some of the wonderful things that he has and how important he is. I really love it, especially with the bits of R/H and Harry smirking about it.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84950Chapter: 1
lovely, lovely look into the mind of our greatest Hero.

Reviewer: ShylahDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84897Chapter: 1
I think this is the most perfect discription of Ron I've ever read. A little subtale shipping, which pays much homage to JKR.. Beautiful piece.

Reviewer: EndicottDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84886Chapter: 1
So good that was the perfect Ron

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84475Chapter: 1
That was so very, very sweet. Please write another!

Reviewer: missbDate: 2004-05-14
Reviewid: 82568Chapter: 1
Just wonderful!! ^_^ Perfect characterisations!

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82149Chapter: 1
"Because Harry has all the fame, and Hermione has all the brains, but Ron has them."

OMG, that's genius! Seriously, I love this. So quiet, but still very Ron. He's got a lot going on in that head of his, I know it. *g*

Very well done. :)

Reviewer: SummerDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82106Chapter: 1
Really cute!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82085Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Not too angsty, and one-hundred percent Ron.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82074Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really great, and a great characterization of Ron!

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82062Chapter: 1
Wonderful. So many people write Ron as having jealousy of Harry and Hermione, but you took a different path here. It gave Ron so much more maturity than people give him credit for.

"Because Harry has all the fame, and Hermione has all the brains, but Ron has them."

That's the side of Ron that many people ignore reading the books. That Ron is smart enough to know that he has the real prize. Great work.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82055Chapter: 1
How unbelieveably sweet. This was wonderfully done. I love the writing style, the implication of dialogue is wonderful, the way you describe everything. . .beautiful.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82001Chapter: 1
Awwww. Poor Ron, but not poor Ron because he figures it out in the end. I love Ron. I love this little fic. It really does seem to do the characters justice.

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81966Chapter: 1
Nice story!

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81944Chapter: 1
that was great story-telling that was...

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81940Chapter: 1
Best fic i've read in a looooong time!

Reviewer: Lilies And RustDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81928Chapter: 1
Say it with me if you know the words: Awwwww...

This is my very firstest review ever, so you know you've done something wonderful.

"How she manages to be the most irritating girl he’d ever known – and yet the saving grace of girls, Ron can’t figure out."

I'm all aflutter. (sigh) I loved this.

Reviewer: hamsiniDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81912Chapter: 1
You deserve a pat on the back for a job well done! You've really captured the mood of the moment. Keep it up!

Reviewer: eDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81881Chapter: 1
cute :o)

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81871Chapter: 1
Awwww! You've perfectly captured the feelings of being a teenager who is overshadowed. I especially liked this line: Harry, who was the best mate a guy could ever ask for – except for casting shadows in which Ron continually got lost.
And I adored the ending.

This was so sweet, it brought tears to my eyes!
Liz

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81864Chapter: 1
That was...wow. That was one of the best short, get-into-the-heads-of-one-of-the-characters fics I've read in a very long time. I can't get over how fantastic that was! Ron was so perfectly Ron-ish, and the part where they went flying was so amazingly IC, and so believable, and I loved how it was written, that style suited it perfectly, and...I'm sorry I'm rambling, but that was BRILLIANT, and I just can't find words adequate to describe it! It made me feel all squiky inside :) Oh, I wish I could write as well as you! *hugs SelDear* for being so talented! Well done! Ok, I'll go now, really, I will... :)
Fluffy_Rose xxx

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81846Chapter: 1
He’ll be ‘just Ron.’

And it’ll suit him fine.

Aww, cute. Great fic, the constant use of pronouns worked pretty well, and the hes in the beginning and end balance out nicely. I loved the picture of Hermione flying on the back of Ron's broom and thought that the justification fit her perfectly.

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81841Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwww sweet

Reviewer: B.J.Date: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81836Chapter: 1
Beautiful. The content, the mood, the writing. Just beautiful. :)

Reviewer: DanielaDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81811Chapter: 1
whoa! that was sooo touching!
it wasn't any 'weep sob' type thing, but touching al lthe same!

I really lvoed it, and it was sooo true!
Ron isn't anything extraordinary, but He needs harry and hermione, and they need him. He may htink he is 'just ron' but deeper down, he's more. I luv Ron, he's one of my favorite characters! the books need him. The characters need him. Fan's need him. To me, he's not 'just ron' he is 'THE Ron'. The ron who makes me laugh, the ron who is insanely inj love with hermion, but has n't figured it out yet. The ron who is alwasy ther efor Harry. The Ron who livens up any moment with a joke. "THE Ron."

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81801Chapter: 1
Very cool =)

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81798Chapter: 1
I liked.

The idea of "Just Ron"-- not special like his two best friends or older siblings-- is not new at all, but your conclusion was fresh, and sweet, and uplifting. Your Ron doesn't need to step out of anyone's shadow to be himself. I like that.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81789Chapter: 1
This was beautiful--I love how you seperated by line breaks a lot, it really adds to the story. Very cute!

-Linnet

Reviewer: emeyersDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81766Chapter: 1
As so many before me have said: "...cute...." Ron'll be okay after all 'cause he's figured it all out. :)

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81765Chapter: 1
A very nice debut on the SQ authors' list! I doubt that Ron would ever show so much thoughtfulness in canon, but I love that you show it for him. Well done.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81756Chapter: 1
wow. this was amazing. absolutely amazing. I was smiling the entire time, at the fluff, at the well-written-ness of it all, you name it. I adored the entire story, it was cute, humorous, quick and beautiful.

Fabulous job.

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81744Chapter: 1
So great. That was very, very well written; most writers wouldn't have been able to pull it off. Not to mention super-cute fluffiness! But it's obvious that you're quite fond of dashes :)

Reviewer: PokeyDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81737Chapter: 1
I liked this. Theres something about this that realy makes me like that. I like the way it was writtin, I like the way you did ron, I liked the flying bit. Over all I just realy liked this. It was realy good. I hope to see more from you

Reviewer: KatrinaDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81717Chapter: 1
Wow that was beautiful. I dont know where to begin with this Review. I am saving this, because by the end I was crying, and any piece of writing that can make me that emotional is a wonderful piece of work indeed.

Reviewer: rahiDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81715Chapter: 1
i love it!

Reviewer: MissBrooke06Date: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81703Chapter: 1
Very cute story. I liked the way you gave a focus to the Trio friendship and highlighted some R/Hr sweetness. I loved Hermione's "reasoning" on why she should ride with Ron. Nice!

Reviewer: CirceDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81693Chapter: 1
I like this! It flows very naturally and I love the cadance of it. I really like the fact that Ron acknowledges his envy without being bitter or angsty and that he's made peace with being 'just Ron'. The thing that strikes me most is how this manages to be a good, solid look at the Trio and still have a strong R/Hr element...I think that's tricky to do!

Reviewer: FaqaDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81686Chapter: 1
Goody! With all the SHIP stories wandering around fandom, it's been a while since I read a good strong story about the Golden Trio. Wonderfully done, though Ron's a bit too passive for my taste(I can see him as trying his damndest to be MORE than 'just Ron'). No matter. Great job.

Is this, BTW, a comment on the Ron-character-mutilation of the HP movies?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --