The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-04-30
Reviewid: 142394Chapter: 1
I nearly stopped reading this when I came across three OCs ... but I carried on just that little bit more and then the tale that the three children had to tell had me captivated! You did Moody very well! I really would love to see him continue to interact with those children. For a moment, before I'd figured out the timeline, though, I imagined the girl would be Lisa Turpin. I suppose my only lament would be that you didn't have the Muggle-born boy as someone we would get to see in a passing mention in the books.

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95284Chapter: 1
I like this fic a lot. The OCs are interesting, Moody is well characterized, and the situation is well plotted. The only tiny nitpick is that I don't get the impression from the books that Fidelius is nearly this easy to cast. Other than that, though, this is an excellent fic. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Morag RyanDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85184Chapter: 1
Oh, I love it! Magnificent look at the "disturbance" at Moody's house. I searched you out after I read about your love of Moody in the forums and I'm SO glad I did -- this is utterly wonderful. The bit where Lisa is cautious about drinking what Moody offers and Moody's very serious response just clinched the brilliant characterisation for me -- it's so quintessentially moody.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83084Chapter: 1
Your journalism degree shows, that's some excellent writing there.

Reviewer: msandDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80506Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this story very much.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68254Chapter: 1
I loved the story. The kids were cute and I liked the way Moody handled them. Keep on writing!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54745Chapter: 1
This was really touching. I also like how you wove history with Harry Potter's world. please keep on writing.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9245Chapter: 1
This is another of your stories that I read and loved ages ago, but didn't review. Better late than never...

Dennis, Lisa and Jeremy are delightful children; warm and very real. The scene where Rosier's wand works for Jeremy is one of my favorite story scenes ever!

I really enjoy the way that you write Moody! Gruff, unconventional, a true maverick, but under all the scars and the magic eye he's a decent and good person. I especially enjoyed it when he praised Lisa for being reluctant to drink the cocoa. ("Constant Vigilance!" :-))

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 128Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 1/24/02 11:23:36 pm)

Moody stories...oh yeah!

Seldes, I will let you know flat out that Moody is one of my favorite characters. I think he's as interesting as all get out, and I am so pleased that you are developing and using him in interesting stories that integrate both canon and original characters. You write well. Your writing background shows.

I think so much of Moody I'm trying to give him some family in the HP works that I'm writing, starting with his niece Amanda. But that's another conversation.

I just wanted to thank you for bringing one of my favorite, and in my opinion, one of the most neglected, Potter characters to life.

Thank you.

Catherine

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --