The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Daddy's Favorite
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116356Chapter: 1
This is great, as all your work is. I love your characterization of Professor Sprout -- we don't know much about her from canon, but you make her seem like a real person. Of course, I love your portrayal of Dumbledore, who seems totally in character -- Harry is his obvious favorite. Harry is also hilarious, even though he only gets a few mentions: "given that he is a teenage boy with all of the teenage boy's self-absorption" especially made me crack up. This is exactly what Harry is like during OotP.
Keep up the great work -- and please write more for Here Be Monsters!

Reviewer: PotiojncatDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94063Chapter: 1
I particularly like the idea that not everyone is awed by Harry. I didn't see your description of DD's fondness for Harry as anything improper, as some of the reviewers seem to. I'm sure I've read this before and I thought there was also one with McGonagall. I hope to read more along this line.

Reviewer: Sinistra MDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83334Chapter: 1
You know, you are a good writer, but after reading through your stories I find the portrayal of Dumbledore's affection for Harry toeing the line of pedophilia. I know that's not what this is, of course, but it's in the language you use to describe Dumbledore's attitude and other characters' perceptions of him. I find this off-putting, but otherwise, it's interesting to see what the other professors think about the relationship between the headmaster and his favorite student.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-05-13
Reviewid: 82523Chapter: 1
I like your portrayal of Professor Sprout. Its always hard to write about something that has such mistery surrounding it. We know very little about Sprout but I think you did an exellant jod of using information we already know and adding your own flavor to the story. Keep writing!!!

Reviewer: AnonDate: 2004-05-13
Reviewid: 82509Chapter: 1
I wanted to apologize if I misunderstood; after reading the other reviews, and talking with someone else from SQ, I realized that I might have interpreted it wrong. Please forgive me if I took this to be something it wasn't - I had no intentions of doing so. And to think that I did a whole speech on why censorship and overrreacting about stories was wrong!

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82447Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really good. You made Sprout seem like a totally fleshed out character, and this is a really good point. Overall, a great story! tres bien!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82372Chapter: 1
This is very interesting...I like your characterization of Professor Sprout a lot. :) As for people being squicked by the way Sprout discusses Dumbledore's "love" for Harry...if you read Dzeytoun's other stories about Dumbledore, I don't think you'll get the impression that this "love" is in any way a shippy thing, in fact it's quite complicated and conflicted. Just an FYI.

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82297Chapter: 1
Hmm... people are interpreting this in different ways, but I'm going be neutral and say it was a lovely story.

Reviewer: LineDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82263Chapter: 1
Really good written I must say, and very good point. I love the POV, and the teachers' favourite thing :)
I wonder if Dumbledore actually is Harry's family at some point..... or something... he might as well be. It was just a thought I got...
~Line

Reviewer: AnonDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82258Chapter: 1
I am normally not against different pairings; but I have to say that while this was unique, I don't like the fact that you seem to show Dumbledore's infatuation towards Harry in a positive light. The thing is, even at almost sixteen years of age, Harry is still a minor. I find the concept of a 180 year old man lusting after a fifteen year old boy very disturbing, not to mention out of character.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82251Chapter: 1
Nice to see that you're transferring these to the SugarQuill as well. Magnificient work.

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82248Chapter: 1
oh, i read the whole series archived at ff.. or was it fictionalley. i think it was ff.net. great stuff!

Reviewer: PirateQueenDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82226Chapter: 1
I thought this was a lovely story - very poignant in its treatment of the memorial for Cedric, and very beautifully written. I look forward to reading more.
The only tiny criticism I have is that I can't see Snape attributing a talent for Potions to Draco ...

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82179Chapter: 1
I love how this story is written from a teacher's point of view. Even though we teachers are loath to admit it, we all have our favorites and I loved hearing from Professor Sprout. I love how she sees her students and recognizes their strengths and takes pride in their accomplishments and decisions. I was disappointed, though, that she didn't speak of her favorite or that of Professor Flitwick. I know there isn't much in canon about prominent Ravenclaws or Hufflepuffs, but as long as a mention was made about Snape's and McGonagall's favorites, I'd would have liked to hear about the other teachers' favorites.

This is an extremely well-written story and it grabbed me from the beginning; especially the students' decision to recruite Neville Longbottom to work his magic on the ailing plant. I look forward to more of your story. Please post again soon.

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82178Chapter: 1
I truly enjoyed the Hufflepuff side of things and the Sprout characterization, but Sprout's description of Dumbledore seems very much out of character, in my humble opinion. Dumbledore certainly loves Harry, but certainly not in a remotely sexual sense. His affection, I would say, is no different from Lupin's or Sirius': born of, yes, admiration, but also obligation and a sense of duty.

Reviewer: HamsiniDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82174Chapter: 1
I have never actually imagined the herbology teacher like this. I mean she was always a nice little dame concerned about her job to me. Beautifully written! With latent humour in every line and a sense of great housemanship and wizardship!

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82166Chapter: 1
Very interesting - I didn't look at it that way, but you've got a point. Dumbledore must make it a point to watch over Harry, if he's to protect him. I like how you've given each head of house their favourite student, a very realistic touch (hurrah). The emphasis on Dumbledore watching Harry all the time is a touch creepy, I must admit. But I did laugh out loud when you said:

"I just hope Dumbledore doesn't spy on him in the shower."

And when you mention that Sprout doesn't like it that Harry doesn't notice how much Dumbledore watches him - forgive me, perhaps I'm being insane, but I just get the tiniest hint that she, may perhaps be jealous?

"Admit it, you also don't like it that Harry Potter does not notice how Dumbledore watches him."

All in all, a good story with a fresh viewpoint. Commendable! And Hufflepuffs are always worth the read :D

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82156Chapter: 1
Interesting viewpoint ...

Reviewer: Hunter's MoonDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82145Chapter: 1
This is a great look into a little-mentioned canon character and a House that certainly doesn't get the respect it deserves, both in canon and fanon!

I like the way you narrated Dumbledore's growing interest in Harry from an outsider's perspective. I always thought Dumbledore's near-constant use of the word "love" in "The Lost Prophecy" chapter of OotP was a little on the creepy side. ;)

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82131Chapter: 1
Beautiful! *wipes away a tear* Very touching. No really i loved it. I love Dumbledore and his love for Harry.

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82127Chapter: 1
cool loved ther endding

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82116Chapter: 1
Very interesting, and very different. I like it. Of course, anything with a 'Puff theme is always worthwhile :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --