The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 307

Reviewer: Glynnis GriffithsDate: 2008-04-04
Reviewid: 150725Chapter: 23
I've just finished reading this (nearly straight through, in fact), and first I should apologise for not reviewing after each chapter - my only defense is that I was completely caught up in your storytelling! What an extraordinary tale - you've done such a lovely job of showing us Hogwarts and OotP through Luna's eyes, and it was a masterful balance of narrative and plot and introspection. You've solidified the relationship between Ginny and Luna for me - I doubt that I will ever look at the two of them the same way again - and in light of HBP and DH, I think the relationship you drew for the two of them still holds extremely well. Thanks for a lovely story!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2007-07-29
Reviewid: 148644Chapter: 23
I had to re-read this after DH, and it's even better than I remembered. Although HBP already shot its canon compliance to hell, and DH beyond that, this still remains a piece of astonishing writing and construction, perhaps the best on the Quill. It definitely is the best character-oriented piece the fandom offers.

Now that JKR has finished the series, I have wondered if she might read fan fiction, and if yes, which story I personally would recommend. I have come to the conclusion that I would recommend this story, as a prime example of how her characters come to life in the minds of her readers, and of what amazing talent exists.

Reviewer: xMarauderxDate: 2007-02-08
Reviewid: 147148Chapter: 1
Wow...I really loved this story. This story was superb and it was refreshing to see things from Luna's POV regarding the events in OotP. I loved just how canon Luna was and I liked how you put in Luna's feelings for Ron and her dislike for Hermione increasing due to that. I loved all the missing moments with her father and her memories about her mother. Also, I liked how you portrayed her dreams and how people judge her in them.

I really hope you write about Luna in HBP as well especially her two major canon scenes: 1)With Hermione in the bathroom when se was crying. I want to read this from you especially. 2) With Harry when she asks her to Slughorn's party and later at the party.
Please write these two scenes!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-14
Reviewid: 144799Chapter: 23
This story was slightly better than your normal superb quality.
I suspect that you may have been touched by a Muse when you wrote the part concerning the room of planets.
I do so enjoy reading you work. Thank You.

Reviewer: luckylib14Date: 2006-07-10
Reviewid: 144080Chapter: 23
I know I wrote a review before, but that was what felt like years, ages ago. I have grown up a lot over the past few months, because of the usual one thing or another that can change a person's life and make them feel like an old grandmother even though they are still so young yet..

I wanted you to know that I printed this story out and read it to my parents. I love acting, and I've read them the HP books for as long as I can remember, acting out all the characters in my own way and all that. It's especially amazing to be introduced to new characters - Christine being one of my favorites. This story is extremely dear to my heart, and refreshing my mind with it a year later is beautiful. I feel a desparate connection to this glorious character you have written out of what wasn't the best explanation or depth. You gave her such depth and emotion that wasn't there before. When we finished the last chapter I had both my parents teary-eyed and sniffling. My dad said that I was right, it was truly excellent, and my mother just nodded and smiled and sniffed. I think re-reading Pandora Lovegood saying "Alone? Alone? Look around you, sweetheart." got me choking up, really thinking..

Your story reminds us all that there is truth in everyone around us, and that no matter how much we believe we are alone, we never really are, never. You brought out the essence of the Harry Potter books and put it into a unique character described as odd yet serious about her beliefs. I wish you many years of beautiful success, because this story is amazing and universal in all respects. :)

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142700Chapter: 9
I promised you a review, so here it goes.

Excellent story so far! We know so little about Luna Lovegood's background in canon save the fact that her mother has passed away. I enjoy the flashbacks through the fic as Luna remembers her parents and her own Sorting into Ravenclaw.

On the surface, Luna's the girl who makes the occasional odd comment, but in this fic, we learn how her main goal is to search for the Truth, no matter how odd it may seem. The other Ravenclaws are cruel to her until she finally makes her first friend, Ginny, and joins the group known as Dumbledore's Army. I like how you show that for the first time in her life, she has friends -- a point she makes to Harry in HBP, thus you show great insight for a pre-HBP fic.

Good job so far. I'll read the rest of this fic soon!

Reviewer: Queen of the Tinfoil FishDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139934Chapter: 23
I love you and your story so much. :D Luna is my favourite character, and I've had trouble finding good fics involving Luna...and I found a really great one here! I read the first chapter ages ago and bookmarked it, and then I checked back a few days ago when I was reorganizing my bookmarks, and -- wala! -- 87 chapters. Hooray!

Reviewer: MadameTibblesDate: 2006-01-05
Reviewid: 138040Chapter: 23
Brilliant. This is the best complete fanfic I've read to date. (One of the only fanfics I've bothered to read to completion) I really loved it. Kudos.

Reviewer: pickledishkillerDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137635Chapter: 23
Holy shit. Please excuse my language but Merlin. That was brilliant. The italiscized repitions were genius, and you gave Luna a depth that I've never thought of or read before. People have made her deep, true, but they never seem to explain it. They make Luna devoid of feelings or something. It'S usually not worth reading. But this was sheerest brilliance, and it fit cannon perfectly.

Reviewer: luckylib14Date: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137557Chapter: 23
I had read along with this story as you were writing it, and remember awaiting on bated breath to read the next chapter. I was captivated by this story, which took up half of my summer, all of my heart, and was finished just before HBP came out- so it was perfect.
I had posted before, but then I hadn't had an account, and it was deleted, I think. So, I wanted to post again and say that this is on my top 3 list of fanfics, placing 1st in the category of "closest to my heart". It is beautifully and creatively written, and as I read it, I felt what Luna felt, and could relate her to myself in a lot of ways.
Your view of Luna makes me look at her with deepest respect and I just love the character much more than I ever had when I read OOTP. It does nothing to twist the book, and fits in canon so well. I actually find myself reading OOTP, then thinking about what Luna was doing while this part was happening and things like that. I have loved how you brought out Luna's relationships with the people around her- I especially loved her friendship with Ginny; it really reminded me of a friendship I have had for a long time. Everything linked so gorgeously with everything in the book and everything in the dreams and flashbacks. Luna's mind reminds me kind of how I think-- drifting off sometimes, if you get me. Her thoughts are deep, mysterious, and then come into a better light and the ending was just perfect. I especially loved the part where Luna and Christine escaped into the crowd of Hufflepuffs after Christine told Sally off (finally!)- oh that made ME feel proud and exhilirated! I felt like I was running with Luna, and smiling with her, and crying with her. Personally, i liked this story even better than OOTP, but, it just makes OOTP better to read when I do! I really thank you for writing such a masterpiece. I hope you write a sequel for HBP, since I would be extremely excited to read Luna's perspective in that one. :)

Reviewer: camryDate: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137112Chapter: 23
Wow. I've finished the story, and saved up until the end to review. I should start by saying that I put off reading this story because Luna in canon had not interested me. But after reading so much praise for this story, I did read it, and am so glad I did. I loved it.

Your characterization of Luna was so believeable. I loved the backstory you gave her, really filling her out in a very plausible manner. The voices she would hear, the trauma of witnessing her mother's accident, and the ensuing time with healers, the interaction with her roommates, classmates, housemates, everything was so good, so well written. (For example, technically speaking, I really enjoyed how in many spots, without a lot of introduction you had the adults just talk, straight to the dialogue. It was almost like we were with Luna, coming to consciousness, not really knowing who was saying what.) You really made Luna likeable; I unwillingly became heavily invested in what happened to her, and cared for her very much. Actually, the compassion the reader develops thru reading the story is like allowing the reader to interact with the story, because compassion is such a theme in it.

OoTP was not my favorite book to read, because it was disturbing to read about a Harry so upset. So during your beginning chapters, I thought "Oh- this is a much more pleasant way to read the events of that time frame. Seeing it from Luna's POV will spare me the angst." Then I was hit with Luna's angst, and found myself so moved, so touched. I was sobbing, and thought "This isn't any better. It's just misery from a different angle." That was when I realized that not only were we seeing Harry's journey through another's eyes (which many fics do) but we were seeing Luna on her own journey as well (a well-constructed original plot many fics lack!) You showed great skill as an author to be able to use the events and characters from OoTP, but make it actually about Luna. You succeeded. When she at last allows herself to see her mother was really the climax. I sobbed. You said so much through the story about love, mental illness, and compassion. I am just in awe.

I've got to add that I also enjoyed all the other characters. Mr. Lovegood was almost an original character, and his sadness, his journalistic vision were so convincing. I loved your characterization of Ginny. It was terrific to read more about her, to understand who she is. I loved seeing her relationship with Michael Corner, that she essentially befriended Luna and dumped Michael because they were the right things to do.

I'm sorry this is so long, all jumbled together and stuck on the end of your story. I suppose I should have methodically reviewed after each chapter. But frankly, I found the story too compelling to pull out and think logically, and I just wanted to keep reading. (So really, it's your own fault. ;) ) Thank you so much for writing this. I've heard the rumor you're writing a sequel. Please please do. I'd love to read how Luna felt about going to the party with Harry, and everything else!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-11-26
Reviewid: 136288Chapter: 23
I've loved reading this story, and my stay inside Luna's mind. I was on tenterhooks to see how the story would end, what Luna's dreams meant, how she was connected to the Veil... you've answered all my questions beautifully.

I hope you'll write more about Luna soon. Perhaps an HBP Luna story? Maybe a Missing Moment? Either way, I look forward to reading more of your writing.

The song at the end was a brilliant touch.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: ClaudiaDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135307Chapter: 8
Hi, sorry to comment without having read your story. I wanted to start but your term grammar nazi just seriously put me off. Please reconsider using this type of word in a joking matter.

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-10-20
Reviewid: 134850Chapter: 23
What a fic!!! Utterly brilliant! I love it!
When I read OotP I didn't even like Luna (it's probably the Hermione in me) and didn't bother thinking about her. But this fic... It made me think, made me realize what a fascinaiting character Luna is! Tragic and yet funny. And so real...
I think you dealt with everything just right. You explained Luna in such a rich manner, it felt like a piece of canon JKR just left out.
The only thing I was having a bit of difficulty with was the repetition of her memories.
That aside, this fic is perfect! I do hope you'll write a sequel set in HBP, I'd definitely read that!

Also, there's part of a song that I felt really related to this fic. The song is Cosmic Dancer, by T-Rex and there's a part in there that goes:
Is it wrong to understand
The fear that dwells inside a man?
What's it like to be a loon?
I liken it to a balloon

Reviewer: PaulinaDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134023Chapter: 4
Someone recomended this FF on some other thing about Luna Lovegood, so I decided to read it. I was really glad I did because I loved it. It was both funny and insightful. I have to say the dream sequences weren't my favorites, but I understood their literary purposes, so I went with it. I loved the character of Edgar and the scenes at the Quibbler office. I also loved how Luna had watched Ron and his family play Quidditch. After reading this I began to appy it to the sixth book and could picture Luna's reaction to Ron's praise about the commentary she did at the games vividly. This made me think more about Luna's character in general, and I hope whoever plays Luna in the fifth movie reads this because it would give her so many good ideas about the character. I think that is the highest praise I could give this story.

Reviewer: DaksianDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133589Chapter: 23
I found this fic on a H/G recommendation LJ community, and I must say I'm grateful to the person who recommended it, even if it wasn't strictly H/G (the hint is there, so that's good enough for me!)

Your interpretation of Luna is nothing short of amazing, and I can't help but see her in a whole new light. I was completely sucked into your story, starting it at 8 pm and not tearing myself away until it was finished at 2 am. The idea that OotP was a coming-of-age time for Luna is an inspired one, especially with her unusual nature.

Your extrapolations of her life based on the canon scenes from OotP were brilliant. The development of her friendships with Ginny and then Christine, her difficulties with Sally and Patrick and Michael, her sympathy to Cho, her crush on Ron, her rivalry with Hermione, and finally her accepting of Harry as her 'leader'...it was all so very well done!

I loved the background plot to this story--what really happened to Luna's mother, and how did it impact Luna. The 'Truth' chapter was phenomenal--I got the sense you had a clear idea how things were from the start, and you slowly built to the revelations in that chapter bit by bit throughout the story. I thought your interpretation of Luna's father and the Quibbler was inspired: unlike so many others, he is not portrayed as unbalanced, but instead as a storyteller, and one who accepts that there are different viewpoints in the world. That the catalyst for this realization is the change in Luna after Pandora's death is an excellent way to bring everything full circle.

As for Luna herself, I couldn't help but smile at her throughout the story. Her characterization was spot-on, and through your writing I truly felt I understood why she was the way she was. I felt happy when she was happy or excited, I felt angry (like Ginny) when she was treated cruelly, I felt pride when she accomplished something in the DA or made a new friendship.

I could gush on about this forever, but let me just say that I'm extremely glad that this fic was recommended to me, and you should be proud of your work here. I'm grateful that you took the time and energy to do it--Luna Lovegood has become as strong a character in my mind as Harry, Ginny, Ron or Hermione because of you.

Thank you!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133422Chapter: 7
[She knew quite well from her tendency to observe people that while lives were not open books, they weren’t as shut as some might have thought.]

Great line. I really love how you've brought out Luna's inner Ravenclaw. When I first read OotP, I didn't get how Luna fit into that house, but you've really given her a sense of introspection and depth. Your Luna is very Zen.

[Despite being a book purported to teach defensive magic, every piece of actual information was accompanied by the not-so-subtle suggestion that if you were actually in need of defending yourself, you probably deserved what you were getting, and you should have just stayed at home and minded your own business, you naughty person]

*snert* That was great--you really captured the tone of the book really well. I also loved Luna and Cho's conversation as well as how you write Umbridge. It's so nice to see other classes hating her.

[But if Fudge had wanted a spy, why hadn’t he just sent one of the Ministry’s secret Polymorphs, the specially bred, shape-shifting Lethifold assassins? They could move anywhere unseen, after all…]

Hahahaha! I love how you slip in those little Luna-isms so naturally. So many authors make Luna's odd beliefs purposely stand out but you blend them in with her character so well. It makes her seem so much more organic.

[She would have to write to her father about this. This was just the sort of big story The Quibbler had been waiting for.]

Oooh, I love the idea of Luna Lovegood, girl slueth! Way cooler than Nancy Drew.

Another great chapter!

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2005-09-25
Reviewid: 133202Chapter: 23
I read this through this weekend after coming down with tonsillitis and I had forgotten just how well this is written and how superb your writing is, Tim. :-) I absolutely adore the way you write Luna, it is without a doubt the best characterisation of Luna I’ve read in this fandom. The world you have written for her fits in so perfectly into the ‘canon’ world that I have to admit mistaking the two when planning my own fic.

Your OC’s are a work of genius, and unlike many other fics I have read, yours are three-dimensional and completely life-like and believable in everything they do. Those I like in particular would be Christine, Sally O’Keefe and your interpretation of Michael Corner, as well as Luna’s parents. Luna relationships with all these people seem so *realistic* and portray Luna’s life beautifully, and explain why she is the person she is today.

As I have said to you on previous occasions that I love your interpretation of Ginny, and I am utterly delighted that she is so similar to the Ginny we have grown to know in more depth in Half-Blood Prince. The development of their friendship in “Mind’s Eye” just seems so natural.

This, as an ‘outsider’s’ view to the life at Hogwarts and seeing life differently from the trio’s Gryffindor perspective is so intriguing and I think you’ve done a superb job of adding to it. The description, the dialogue, the storyline.. It’s all perfect. You’ve got it down pat.

I have heard mutterings that you are to be writing a sequel to “Mind’s Eye” and I cannot *wait* to read the sequel to see what you’ve got in store for Luna and her new found friends.

Tim, like all your other fics, you’ve done an outstanding job with this. You (and your Grammar Nazi ;-)) should be proud. :-)

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132855Chapter: 23
MysteriousMuggle, I'm so glad you reced (rec-ed? reck-ed?) this fic! I've only read selected chapters, so far, because of time crunch issues, but I love how it ends and I'm going to go back and read the whole thing start to finish as soon as I get the chance! We always knew there was more to Luna than met the eye and you've shown us just how much more! Well done!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131982Chapter: 6
[A more practical part of her questioned the logic of having the subject first thing in the morning, when at least half the class were at a level of wakefulness and alertness that could best be described as “dubious.”]

Ha! Very cleverly worded.

That was a really sweet, sad scene where Luna watches the Weasley boys play Quidditch when she was younger. Nicw way to tie things to canon.

[Truth was beauty, someone had once told her, and beauty, truth. Luna couldn’t really remember who it had been, though she had a nagging feeling that she ought to. Whoever it had been though, Luna found that, when she considered it, she agreed. Truth, after all, was the most beautiful thing there was. There was truth in everything. Even at the heart of every lie there was truth of a sort. Truth was something that was supremely important to Luna, for reasons she couldn’t readily explain. It was just so…necessary. People couldn’t live without truth. Not properly. It had actually been why she’d chosen to take Divination. She’d thought that perhaps it would be able to help her to find certain truths. She was quite aware that there was a difference between the truth and a truth, and it…bothered her that she seemed to be searching for certain specific things. She didn’t know what they were, of course, but she felt like she’d always been looking for them. It had been her hope that Divination would be able to at least set her on the right path, but it had proved disappointing in that respect. It had proved disappointing in most respects, actually, Luna thought. Still, the tea was nice.]

This is my absolutely favorite paragraph. I really enjoyed Luna's musings on truth, especailly her ackowledgement that there is a difference between *a* truth and *the* truth. Interested to know who would have quoted Keats to her. I also loved how you fleshed out Luna with an interest in Astronomy and stars. I also love how this paragraph ended, with the tea. Ha! It was a great way to wrap up such a heady discourse and you had told us earlier that Luna enjoyed relaxing with a cup of tea during Divination.

Great chapter. I'm really enjoying seeing Luna's POV of things.

Reviewer: PaulaDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131810Chapter: 23
I stumbled across this fic a few days ago after doing a general search for any luna stories- I must say this is quite possibly the best luna fic I have ever read, and one of the best piecies of fan fiction I have ever read also. Im not really sure what constructive comments I can add so I'll just say one thing- it was *wonderful*, I thoroughly enjoyed it and hope to see one for HBP!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131550Chapter: 5
[She had met some famous people in her time, through her father’s work with The Quibbler (the one that stood out the most was real creator of Every Flavour Beans, Quentin Plunk, who had been knocked over the head with a cauldron by Bertie Bott and had his recipe stolen)]

Hehe. I love Luna's asides and more importantly I love how she has such a strong sense of belief and faith in the "truth." You really portray that well in your development of Luna's character.

I love Luna's take on the gossip surrounding Harry. It's a delicious blend of fact and fiction, with the fiction sometimes sounding more convincing than the fact and the facts distorted so that they sound really incredulous.

[Cho had asked her to leave, so why did she have the strange feeling that this wasn’t at all what she wanted?]

I like how you included that. Now we know how poor Harry felt as well!

[She said that their teaching had been…she had paused at this point, searching for a word, and had eventually settled on “haphazard.”
“Stress on hazard,” Tristan Lai murmured]

Hahahaha! Very funny, although I do feel for poor Hagrid.

[“Loony! Come on, tell me the secret identity of The Incredible Porlock-Boy!”]

*snert* Any relation to Bat Boy? ;)

[Q.E.D.”] ?

Great chapter! I love seeing things from Luna's delightfully skewed perspective. I love you you've portrayed the Ravenclaws and I liked how you incorporated canon with how Luna came to believe Harry was telling the truth.

Reviewer: Sara B.Date: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131397Chapter: 23
I know I finished this ages ago, and I ought to have posted in response then, but I'm apparently a horrible human being, and far too easily distracted, to boot.

But I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for this story. It is easily my favorite Harry Potter fanfic. I recced it and squeed whenever there was an update and laughed and gasped and cheered and all those wonderful things I want a story to make me do.

It's amazing, I remember thinking and hoping and waiting for you to write the bulletin board scene, and being utterly shocked that it was so short, so understated - about the same length as it is in OotP, but far more subtle. After following Luna through the year, I expected something much... well, bigger, for lack of a better term, and longer, of course, something very emotional and wrenching. But you know what? After a bit of thinking, I liked your way better after all. Luna is understated by definition, and it makes sense that the scene would be, too. Besides, it just reminds me of what Harry's going through at that point, what's going through his mind. Besides the line "He really had quite amazing eyes, Luna thought to herself." was so utterly perfect, I could probably forgive you anything.

Anyway, thanks. It was a fantastic.

Reviewer: Elspeth DavisDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131177Chapter: 23
MM:

Thank you for the story, it was amazing. I can't imagine all of the hours you have poured into it. Luna was a great character to begin with but you've fleshed your character out incredibly well, most published authors can't achieve what you have.

Thanks again. I hope you have found inspiration in the sixth book to write another story.

-Ellie

Reviewer: The WombatDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 131024Chapter: 23
That was a truly brilliant epic. Most enjoyable.A superb insight into the mind of Luna.

Reviewer: critmoDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130674Chapter: 23
Ok, I must admit that I wasn't too interested in Luna herself, but read this story most of all for its view on OotP, but: to write a story of these dimensions is an achievement in itself, so congrats on that. Apart from that, it blends into canon so well, that I've caught myself several times coming across points that remain unclear in canon and thinking that I've read something on that and that's usually this story. I.e. I tend to mistake it as canon, which is great.

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129448Chapter: 23
This is a wonderful story. Truly amazing. Luna's characer development throughout is so subtle but it's there, and it's great. I'm not sure what else I can say, except... great job. I hope to see a sequel to this someday - but with the ending you gave, a sequel's not really necessary.
Amazing. Truly amazing.

-Q

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128744Chapter: 16
Although it seemed to be regarded as a fact of nature that anticipating something did not make it come any faster, Luna thought that for the sake of experimentation, she ought to try it.

Genius. So in-character for Luna.
And the detention with Umbridge is sheer genius. My eyes were glued to the screen (thank goodness for my glasses) and I was totally amazed.

Great job. This chapter has been very, very good - your best yet, I'd say.

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128532Chapter: 23
Oh great ending! Lips lyrics were a nice touch, too :D. I'm glad Luna finally made peace with herself, but I can't help wondering if she ever found a Crumple-Horned Snorkack. I really hope you write more about Luna!

Reviewer: KristinaDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128359Chapter: 1
Wow. The depth on Luna's insanity you provided was mindblowing...This is one of the best fan fiction stories I've ever read. Seeing OotP from Luna's point of view is awesome....A million thumbs way up!!!!

Reviewer: idaDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128334Chapter: 1
this is great so far. the writing is excellent, especially the use of dialogue to convey a mood, it came across really clearly. i also liked the way you tied in parts from the books without sounding like you were repeating a list of stuff you read. your characters seem real and believable thus far, i want to read more!

Reviewer: crzyangelchicDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127964Chapter: 23
Wonderful. It was a pleasure. Hope to see more stories from you later.
~Crzyangelchic (Dee)

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2005-07-20
Reviewid: 127507Chapter: 23
I'm wondering.. Are you going to write another one of these stories? Luna IS in HBP.. :) And she's a bit bigger of a character.. I think it would be great if you wrote Luna's PoV for HBP... I've loved this story. It's so dear to my heart now and I've been recommending it to everybody! And I've also downloaded the "Do You Realize" song, and it totally fits this story and I love the lyrics!

But, of course, this story is great on it's own. I just think that you have so much talent, and so many people have enjoyed this story, that you should make a sequel, since Luna still does fight in HBP!! Keep up the awesome writing. :D

Reviewer: EllieDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127294Chapter: 23
That was wonderful. I *loved* it.

Reviewer: EllieDate: 2005-07-14
Reviewid: 127170Chapter: 6
I'm working my way through the whole story, but I have to take a moment to say: I am *really* enjoying this! Luna's one of my favorite characters, and I love the way you write her.

Reviewer: Hallie R.Date: 2005-07-14
Reviewid: 127129Chapter: 23
Truly amazing. Thank you.

Reviewer: HikariDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127096Chapter: 23
I can't tell you how much I enjoyed reading this. Thanks ever so much for writing it.

And for your highest compliment you could ask for: I don't see Luna in a new light, I see her in a different, more complex light. It's authors like you who can make fanon feel like canon that make us connect more strongly with the characters we already know.

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127005Chapter: 23
Absolutely fabulous, I just loved this - I think it saves me from reading the read thing. Thank you.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126815Chapter: 20
Great chapter! I loved the way Luna and co. fought the Inquistorial Squad, and Luna's flashbacks to the past combining with the story. So she's been to the DoM before, eh? Interesting...

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126736Chapter: 19
I really liked this chapter- the insight into the Ravenclaw common room at exam time was amusing- I would imagine they'd have rather an extreme reaction to exams- and the conversation with Ginny and Luna about Micheal was interesting- I did wonder whether Luna had played a part in the break up- it couldn't have been as simple as Quidditch matches. Angry!Harry was also very well described. I can't wait to see how the DoM scene is dealt with!

Reviewer: Ravenclaw_DudeDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126735Chapter: 23
Wow. Just wow. I read the whole story again, and it actually made me cry, and that takes a lot. My hat off to you, Mysterious Muggle. This is so great, I'm going to accept it as canon until JK Rowling proves it otherwise.

Reviewer: Sum03004Date: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126717Chapter: 23
I have been wanting to review for some time (I am incredibly lazy) and since I have reached the end of your story now seems like a good time to do so. I need to say that I am deeply impressed with your characterization of Luna, I honestly can't think of another story that has done such an excellent job of bringing me into the mind of a character. When I finished Order of the Phoenix I remembered thinking that I didn't understand the point of Luna. I knew she was important in getting Harry's interview out and she helped in the DoM but I still didn't understand why she was there (if that makes any sense at all). She had a chapter named after but her character remained vague throughout and I couldn't connect with her in any way so I was left wondering why Rowling would go to such lengths to introduce a character and not develop her further? Well, the point of all this rambling is to say that I feel completely different about her now. To me your Luna is now cannon Luna which is something I have never done before with any other of the more obscure characters I have read about in fanfiction. You just developed her so beautifully that the cross-over came naturally.
I also feel like I should mention how surreal and fascinating I found Luna’s dreams. I had wondered many times while reading just how on earth you come up with something so haunting yet beautiful at the same time. There is so much more that I would like to say about this story but I have never been very good at expressing my self on paper. Just know that I appreciate all the effort and time that was obviously put into this.
I think you would do a wonderful job on your own original writing and I would actually like to read it, which is something that I have never thought of doing before actually. I suppose that’s a bit narrowminded of me, but I am willing to change my ways : )
Anyway, feel free to e-mail me if you do write anything (or have written anything) original that you would like to share.

Reviewer: JayDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126691Chapter: 23
i have two things to say
one i think you must have a very warped mind to be able to write this to well.
second i think this was amazingly well done, excellent perspective on luna.
Thanks for writting,
Jay

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126675Chapter: 23
Word's cannot describe how beautiful and amazing this story has been to me. I can't even say I loved reading it, or enjoyed reading it, because that would be saying too little. The last few chapters were amazing- especially the last two and my favorite chapter- the last one. I can't even say how much I loved this story. I can relate to it. It is a beautiful story of friendship and rebirth and.. Everything I can really relate to. It makes me love my best friend right now so much that I wanna call her up and tell her! It makes me cry that this wonderful story is finished, and that I may just have to read the last few chapters over again- just to make it last. It's such a marvelous,fantastic,beautiful, wonderful piece of ART to read before Half-Blood Prince comes out on Friday. I love this story and I hope that someday fanfiction might be published so that I can buy this MASTERPIECE! It's so inspirational, and wonderful.. And, like I said, I've run out of words to describe it!! You have beautiful talent. That song by the Flaming Lips is PERFECT for this story too, it's in your comments too! *sigh* I LOVE THE ENDING!! I LOVE THIS STORY!!! I LOVE LUNA!! It's the BEST story I've read about rebirth and growing to know where you belong and realizing you are loved...OH GOD I can relate to this story so..I dunno!.. Just.. So MUCH!.. Thank you for writing it, it was the most enjoyable masterpiece I've read so far while waiting for the next HP book! I would say so much more, but I may take up an entire comment page!!!! :D EXCEPTIONAL WORK!!!!!!!!!!!!! ****jumps in the air, punching fist to the sky, and yells "WH-HOO!!!"****

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126663Chapter: 23
Beautiful, Mysterious Muggle, just beautiful. I was tearing up in some parts of the past few chapters, and grinning uncontrollably in others. It’s nice to know that Luna isn’t alone any more, that she has friends to share her life with. Christine Hammond really has grown throughout this story. And good on Luna for speaking up for herself to Sally O’Keefe.

I suppose the main thing that I have to say about this fic is that after reading it, I’ll never look at Luna in the same way again.

I look forward to reading more of your writing!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Headmistress SkiesDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126658Chapter: 1
Aww. I love Luna to pieces, she's one of, if not, my favourite character, and this is a really interesting way of looking at her. I always imagined her and her father to be close, so this was more uncomfortable for me to read than it may be 'normally' (I take it it's meant to make people feel uncomfortable, given what it's about) but I mean that in a good way.

I'd like to invite you to join my RPG at www.geocities.com/headmaster_cromwell

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126638Chapter: 23
That was a beautiful conclusion. The whole of the story has given Luna a character believably interesting and completely canonical. I'd find it hard to believe you're not JKR enjoying feeding otherwise-unused backstory into the public surreptitiously - except that if this story was to hit the streets under her name it would make mega-bucks!
Congratulations on writerly excellence. And thank you.

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126625Chapter: 23
GREAT story! I started reading it when it was first posted and I faithfully checked for updates! You have a wonderful talent of writing our beloved Ravenclaw. I noticed that when you wrote her and her mind wouldn't focus, I felt sorta disorientated and floaty. GREAT job!!

<3 Didi (or The Doc)

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126614Chapter: 23
Wonderful! I love books from alternate POVs. The way you worked in the italicized thoughts was very effective in expressing Luna. Good work.

Reviewer: ClothoDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126585Chapter: 23
NOOOOOOOOO!!!!! I don't want it to end!!! This is perhaps one of he best fan fictions, let alone Luna stories, I've ever read. You explored the psychy of (in my opinion) a very difficult-to-grasp character in ways that were very thought-provoking and realistic. You would probably make a wonderful psychologist!

Also, speaking as one who has suffered from anxiety, I loved the character Christine Hammond: you captured all of my middle school years right there.

Reviewer: grownupronDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126579Chapter: 23
Wonderful and throughly enchanting story. Thank you very much for sharing.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126561Chapter: 23
That was amazing. Really, i can't say anything more. You've changed my perception, and probably countless others', of Luna. When HBP comes out I hope nothing happens that changes this perception of Luna, but seeing as most of these changes are internal, it is a strong hope. It was just an amazing story.

Reviewer: chaliceDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126552Chapter: 23
I am so sorry this is over!

I love this story. It was beautifully done.

Reviewer: JessamyDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126530Chapter: 23
This is the most brilliant characterization of Luna. Before I read this story, I never liked her much, but now she's become so real to me. Thank you for writing this story. I'm sorry I've never reviewed before, but my favorite stories are always the ones where I can think of nothing to criticize, and that is definitely the case here. Hope to see more from you in the future, probably on the other side of HPB!

Reviewer: pabloDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126523Chapter: 23
thanks for a wonderful story, one of the very few I have kept reading lately. I really enjoyed the insights into Luna and Ginny and the different POV, and it was, to me, more interesting than Hermione Queen of Witches because the POV is so much more different from Harry's.

Congratulations, and enjoy HBP!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126522Chapter: 23
One nitpick before I give the ten things I liked about the fic that I always try and give - Ginny would call REmus Professor Lupin, I expect.

Now that that's over...

Ten things I loved:

1. The interaction you gave Luna with other people, and how you used her to explore others.

2. The play on Pandora's name; clever!

3. The friendship between Ginny and Luna.

4. The way everyone seemed in character.

5. The way you kept in dialogue, yet made it somewhat different.

6. Hermione and Luna's path to a certain understanding.

7. The realism in everything - friendships in that age group, the sort of subtle ways of apologizing, etc.

8. The dream sequence.

9. The way DD didn't confirm, nor deny, what Luna was seeing - it's up to her to decide what the truth is.

10. The song at the end... it made me cry, to be honest.

All in all, great job!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126515Chapter: 23
This is so ... incredibly incredible. It would probably take a text about as long as the story itself to fully give it justice. I mean, how many stories can bring tears to my eyes?
I absolutely adore your Luna. What you've done with her, the way you fleshed out this little weird girl from OotP, is absolutely breathtaking.
And your story structure - the chapters - the endless flashbacks always at the right time - the insightful dreams. It's without doubt an absolutely inimitable style you have.
Last but not least, I can't help absolutely loving your Ginny. You made her the kind person I know she is, but Harry has so far been unable to see. You made her something beautiful. A friend to end all friends, a friend anyone should be absolutely overjoyed to have.

I noticed that there's a little inconsistency in the chapter Truth: in the scene with the revolving doors, Harry vanishes twice, or at least the text makes it appear this way.

With that, I certainly hope that you'll be back after HBP (8 days!) to give us another year of Luna - because there can be no doubt that she'll be once more right there in the action.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126514Chapter: 23
I'm crying so hard right now, but it's a wonderful kind of crying.
Luna's found her truth, all because of you and the fascinating character you've made her. Please continue to write after HBP- I'll be pining away for more Luna.

It's journeys like Luna's that make finding your own truth just a little bit easier.

Reviewer: SydneyDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126512Chapter: 23
This is the most brilliant fanfiction i have ever read. You kept everything in canon and didn't take a single person out of character. I've posted quotes on my friends websites and I must say you are an incredibly gifted writer. I never thought about Luna much and she is now without a doubt the person I enjoy most in the Harry Potter series. Cheers.
Sydney

Reviewer: Shi-chanDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126505Chapter: 23
I'm terrible at reviews, because I never can say anything constructive, especially for stories I like. I really can't say anything about this story, because it's so great. I love it so much. I've always liked Luna, but your story made me love her even more. You characterised her so well. Thank you for making me happy when I saw your story on the updates list!

Reviewer: KevinDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126470Chapter: 23
Ah, great ending to a great story :D You know... once HBP is out and we've all read it to bits you should do a sequel! Although that migh be hard depending on what happens in HBP and that you've finished your plot... but still, you could always try :D

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126455Chapter: 23
I can't really do your story justice with a review, because I can't match your delicacy and originality. From the beginning, I've admired the way you convey emotions that are "off the beaten path," just like dear Luna. It's wonderful to see a unique POV like yours expressed so masterfully.

The messages you conveyed are beautiful and universal and so very, very human. I hope you keep on writing. You've a real talent.

I'm glad Luna is one of JKR's favorites. It'll be "interesting," won't it, to see what Jo does with her.

Reviewer: ElanaDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126444Chapter: 23
I really enjoyed your story and i've been following it since the beginning. I know it's a little lame of me but, i cried when Luna thought about death in the end. i thought it was fantastic and the song at the end is a nice touch. If you write anymore stories could you please give me an update via e-mail. thank you.

-Elana

Reviewer: UnspeakableDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126431Chapter: 23
Thank you, Mysterious Muggle, for a truly wonderful story. You took one of Jo's characters and wrote about this character with great understanding. I think that you have been true to canon and Rowling's spirit. Once more, thanks. I look forward to reading more of stories.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126426Chapter: 23
She’d put a few in some random secret passageways
-made me laugh. I can just see some young couple enjoying some private time together in "their" secret passage only to notice mid-kiss the flyer rustling above them.

Good ending. I hope you do the same for Book 6. I'd also be interested in some one shots of Luna pov in Books 2-4. This fic has strongly reminded me of the HQOW series by Arabella.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126424Chapter: 23
She’d put a few in some random secret passageways
-made me laugh. I can just see some young couple enjoying some private time together in "their" secret passage only to notice mid-kiss the flyer rustling above them.

Good ending. I hope you do the same for Book 6. I'd also be interested in some one shots of Luna pov in Books 2-4. This fic has strongly reminded me of the HQOW series by Arabella.

Reviewer: JellyBellysDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126423Chapter: 23
Oh! I'm so sad it's over. Such a marvelous piece. I wonder, if after HBP comes out, if you were thinking of doing a Luna POV of it as well? I know I would eagerly read it. Like a crack fiend, in fact. ;0)

Reviewer: WindscionDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126419Chapter: 23
Whew! And so it begins. I love this Luna, I hope we see more of her soon.

Reviewer: jmaDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126416Chapter: 23
Thanks for the fic. Your Luna was a very sweet, interesting person, and as far as I can tell, utterly canonical to boot.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126415Chapter: 22
The viel being a recent experiment I found hard to believe. While I don't have the book in front of me, I thought that the viel's surroundings appeared quite old.

Luna was touched by the viel? Excellent idea.

“Then you don’t know?”
-Hah! Nice to see someone at least once cut through the fortune cookie stuff Dumbledore spits out.

Other than that I loved this chapter, especially the opening dream scene. Wonderful. Please let me know when you do original work. If you already have, please let me know where to find it. (mrrobertsiii@hotmail.com)

“Do you know who you are, Luna?” Dumbledore asked.
-Nice tie in with her dream! Well done.

I think this may be my favorite chapter so far.

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126414Chapter: 23
Oh, I have tears in my eyes. What an intriguing journey you took us on, MM and you've given us an ending that is both heart-wrenching and heart-warming. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Thank you.

Reviewer: KevinDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126340Chapter: 20
Oh, you've really done such a great job with this story :D I really liked Luna before I read this, but now I love her! We didn't get to see her enough in OoTP, but you've filled the spot quite nicely I must say :D I love the way Ginny acts and just is how I believe her to be. The friendship between Luna & Ginny is very sweet and strange, just like Luna herself :) Now, update!

Reviewer: BrentDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126315Chapter: 20
Yay, an update! It's best because now we're at the Battle of the Department of Mysteries. Can't wait to see how it turns out for Luna. Bring more soon!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126284Chapter: 20
Of all the fics in the update list for the last two days, yours was the first I went to. Great fic.

I really like your use of the mini-flashbacks. What else can I say except this had become one of my favorite fics and your Luna is incredible.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126281Chapter: 19
No one does Luna as well as you, and your Ginny is perfect. I enjoyed the inside look at Ravenclaw during exams.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126260Chapter: 4
I'm in the middle of Chapter 3 - when the Sorting Hat looks into Luna's mind. It's just brilliant! I am enjoying your story so very much; thought you should know.

Reviewer: AverysDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126247Chapter: 19
Wow. What a great story! I like how humour is written and your descriptions are subtle and spot-on. I'd like also to compliment you on dialogs - very vivid and 100% in character. OCs are brilliant - I almost expect to meet Sally or Christine in HBP:)
Story flows nicely and it's almost impossible to stop reading. Thanks for updates!!
P.S. I don't know how else to contact you, so I'd like to ask your permission for translation of this story into Russian here. I hope you don't mind...

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126191Chapter: 20
I've never enjoyed an Alternative POV of canon story as much as this one. Your choice of Luna adds a wonderful, mystical tone and the marvelous, mysterious backstory has me completely engaged and on the edge of my seat.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126165Chapter: 20
So wonderful...it seems as if Luna will finally find her own "truth"...I can't believe this story is almost over.

Reviewer: JayDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 125991Chapter: 18
it is July (in consequenc you sai this would be finished by July) PLEASE POSE, i am very much enjoying your story but i tend to like finished storys better than broken up ones (dont most od us).
it is a great story,
thanks for writting,
Jay

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125836Chapter: 18
Great chapter! I have been waiting this entire story for someone to give Sally O'Keefe a piece of my mind.

I just wanted to compliment you on your characterization of Luna. I discovered this fic a couple days ago, and I've been completely hooked on it since. Luna seems like she would be a very difficult character to write, because we don't yet know her past and because she's so dreamy. You've done it beautifully. The backstory fits nicely with canon, and I like the way Luna flips back and forth between memories, dreams, and reality. It's almost funny to imagine what she looks like to other people while she's off in her own world (oh wait, we do know that, don't we?)

The only quibble I have is with the characterization of the Ravenclaws-- the whole house is so catty and shallow and their personalities are all too similar. It seems like there would be more tolerance for difference since they're supposed to be smart, but hey, it is Luna's POV! Anyway, great story. Update soon!

Reviewer: JayDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125642Chapter: 16
oh comon, i have been checking for a post... PLEASE POST!!! sorry...
i like your story and woulduld REALY like to read more...
Thanks for writting on the SQ,
Jay

Reviewer: MarieDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125035Chapter: 1
This is a great story. I enjoy your Luna very much, and I think you do a great job at portraying the Gryffindors from her point of view, diluting them enough not to make it seem like Luna's got an unhealthy obsession on them. Your OCs are very weel characterized, too, from Sally O'Keefe to Christine, and you wrote a really nice relationship between Ginny and Michael.
There are a couple of things that I like less, though. First, your use of flashbacks. I think it would be better to say "Luna remembered..." rather than copying/pasting the text. Also, Luna's dreams. They are not realistic dreams at all, and they are a bit redundant in the sense that they're just a reflection of Luna's state of mind and relationship to people in daily life. It looks like you're afraid of not getting your message to your readers. Maybe in your next fic your could try understatement, and see how people react ?
I'm not sure about Luna's background with the Department of Mysteries. But I'll wait till the end of the story before I pronounce myself on that.
Anyway, it's a really good story, you write really well, and I'm really happy you got Niffled, because otherwise lazy me would never have found it.
Looking forward to your next chapter,
Marie

Reviewer: Sara B.Date: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124769Chapter: 18
I knew we should be getting two chapters in one week, but I never expected two in one day! And the night before my geography final, too. Ah, well. I was studying for the wrong things, anyway.

HURRAH FOR CHRISTINE! Her standing up to Sally was -so- very satisfying. As was the twins "pulling a Weasley"... I loved seeing what's going on in the background, with DA members running around and hexing the Inquisitorial Squad at random moments... very guerrilla warfare. I'm not sure -why- I love that Luna was too busy to pay much attention to the match, but I do. And how Ron's game turned around at the exact moment Christine went mental. And I think my favorite line in that bit was "She and Christine were draped in Hufflepuff scarves and pushed into the crowd of people, who, she had a shrewd suspicion, were deliberately swarming around the Inquisitoral Squad, blocking Luna and Christine from view." And I really, really love how the Hufflepuffs didn't think twice to help Luna, even though they didn't know her terribly well and had only really been around her at DA meetings... I just love how they're already pulling out their wands before she even says what's going on.

The scene with Ginny and Luna in the library was perfect - incredibly tense, but somehow at peace... like a couple of old soldiers hiding in the trenches, waiting for the blow to fall. And then it all unravelling in laughter. Very realistic.

And I can't wait to see when she finally chooses, and when she allows herself to remember. Thankfully it should only be a day or two until the next installments.

Thank you.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124716Chapter: 18
And the plot advances… I really do like the character of Christine. And the idea that maybe something was happening during the Quidditch final other than just Quidditch (because of course Harry’d never notice if that was the case) is very plausible indeed. Thank you for this chapter — I’ve been having an absolutely horrid day, and it cheered me up immensely.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: JellyBellysDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124605Chapter: 18
Dear Mysterious Muggle,

Hello! My name is JellyBellys, and recently, I have been selected as a Niffler for Fiction Alley, A Harry Potter fanfiction archive. In case you don't know what that is, I'll elaborate. In canon, a Niffler finds shiny things, so it is on Fiction Alley. Basically, a group of fanfiction readers goes around reading lots and lots of fanfic, and picks a small number to be niffled. Its our job to pic fics that are fantastic, a cut above the rest. Then, we go to FictionAlleys forums, and post our findings, along with a review of the fic and a link to the story.

I'm happy to say I chose your Luna Lovegood fic for this honor. Congrats, you deserved it! I adore this story, and hopefully, it, and it's very talented author, will get the recognition they deserve. If you want to contact me, me email is above.

--JellyBellys

p.s. I wrote this here, because I didn't know how else to contact you.

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124570Chapter: 18
A lot of this story seems like a slightly detached nightmare, what with the things going on in OotP, and the dream sequences and echoes.

But this was the part that made me cry. I suspect there's some overidentification with Hufflepuff going on there, but charging over to that section to get help against Malfoy, and the instant response, and the fact that it *wasn't* just the DA members either -- which makes sense, because it'd be a cold day in hell before Hufflepuff as a whole wouldn't side with their own against Malfoy....

You showed "my" house doing themselves proud, and Luna's exhilaration (and her finding herself taking on a role she never expected anyone to do for her, much less to do for another) and maybe the first time she felt or realized (or had reason to) that there was a group she *could* run to, not so close as Ginny (or now Christine) but still... there. And all that on top of Ron's victory, which I cheered in the first place.

It's nearly 4AM and I'm emotional. Sorry if this is not very coherent.

Reviewer: SynDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124491Chapter: 14
I'll begin with a general comment, as I think I've been too wowed to post a review to this point... but I feel that I cannot let such good writing go uncommented! This story is beautiful, and beautifully written. I adore well-developed characters, and the characterization in this story feels really *right*. The story itself is captivating. Luna's view of the events of OOTP year is refreshing and her own story intriguing. Rereading OOTP in parallel with Mind's Eye, Soul's Reflection has been a much richer experience for me than reading OOTP on its own. I also enjoy the relationships in this story, and Luna's view of them. Her relationship with her father is touching, and Samuel Lovegood, his motivation for founding the Quibbler, the publication itself are so much more interesting with this backstory than JKR's book ever suggested.

The parallels with events from OOTP are well and dramatically written, as was this chapter's parallel between Ron and Christine finally asserting themselves. Luna's dream at the end of this chapter is, again, quite dark and frightening, yet I am heartened by the fact that, unlike the dream in the previous chapter, she is perhaps beginning to have some options. I am looking forward to reading the events of the Department of Mysteries in this fic.

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124367Chapter: 18
Ohh WOW!! This is ABSOLUTELY AWESOME! I love these last two chapters. This is the most wonderful thing I've probably ever read. This is just so beautifully written.. and the "Confidence" chapter is so happy until the dream which is so eerie and questionable... I love the feeling of freedom and how you make the closeness of all of the DA members something that will always be there. I love this. "The truth shall set you free"... What a wonderful and intriguing quote.. I cant wait to read the little part where Harry actually talks to Luna at the end of term. That should be very sweet. I love the friendship throughout this entire thing and I'm glad Christine got it all out to Sally- who totally deserved to be screamed at. I just.. god.. I just LOVE IT! I am in LOVE with this story!!

Reviewer: UnspeakableDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124332Chapter: 18
Absolutely brilliant! The previous chapter was ART!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124327Chapter: 18
I loved the Quidditch match scene. Go Luna! And go Christine! It was so lovely to see Luna making a new friend off her own bat- she's really grown as a person this year. And Ron's victory made me almost as happy as Luna- even though I knew it was going to happen. The dream was scary though... wonderful chapter, as always!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124237Chapter: 18
Go Christie!

And you write Cho very well.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124233Chapter: 18
I always say that each chapter is the best one. And then I read a new one and the process repeats itself. haha.

Wow! Go Christine! I LOVED the Quidditch match! The timing, the song lyrics, the flow...just, everything! Wow! I cannot wait for more. This is truly amazing.

Reviewer: BookQueen604Date: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124219Chapter: 18
I've been following this story for a while now, and I love it! You do a great job of keeping Luna in canon and making her POV mesh with the fifth book. Just a few questions: Is Sally the one who told Umbridge about Luna's advance knowledge of the Quibbler issue? And how will the Ravenclaws react when they realize that Sally sicced the 'I Squad' on her own housemates? I'd love to see *that* reaction! My favorite part so far has been Luna going to the Hufflepuffs for help. Keep writing and we'll keep reading!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124213Chapter: 17
I do love Fred and George. It was fascinatind seeing the school's disobedience through Luna's eyes, and I really liked the conversation between Ginny and Luna. The fact that Ginny was prepared to tell Luna something of what happened in the chamber speaks volumes about her trust in her, and how close they've become over the year. And poor Cho. I can't help but feel sorry for her. I think my favourite moment was where Ginny and Luna hexed some of the Inquistorial Squad- pretty smooth work, girls!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124203Chapter: 16
Wow. That detention with Umbridge was horrific. That's always been, for me, one of the most terrible parts of the books, and this brought it all back. I was crying by the end of it, for Luna. I shared Ginny's reaction. How dare she do that to Luna? To Harry? It's just so horrible.

On a lighter note I like how you established a kind of rapport between her and Firenze- they would get on well, both seekers after truth. And I liked Firenze's prophecy regarding her. It makes me wonder what exactly Luna will make of the DoM.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124182Chapter: 18
This, as a companion volume to OotP is awesome. Having dream sequences which, only here, begin to overtly mirror Harry's, but just as with his, drawing us to the conclusion.
Again, lovely running battle stuff; all of which ends up being reinforcing for the central story of Luna's personal growth - as with her new FRIENDship with Christine (the Neville of Ravenclaw) - leading her into closer and closer companionship with the DA and giving her something worth choosing life for.
I'm raving - but I'll blame you for stimulating me to such a pitch! Well done!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124173Chapter: 17
Oooooh! Lovely! Especially liked the scene in the library where we're already tuned into that glimmer of closeness between Harry and Ginny - and it becomes this marvelous anvil on which Gentle Luna taps out her reflections about relationships.
Ginny and Luna running together (and Luna's accompanying reflections) are a good foil fo rthe conversation that follows. Love the next bit where Luna discovers that she isn't afraid.
The previously hidden swamp scene was wonderfull! Really clear descriptions - I could see it so clearly. Good to have a bit of a running battle scene - very OC.
The final dream - the stakes are getting high aren't they? Is Luna going to be able to live with the self that wants to join her mother in death? Have I read that correctly? Again, beautifully evocative scene. Your writing is excellent.

Reviewer: Dee (crzyangelchic)Date: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124156Chapter: 18
Awesome chapter. The dream scene was creepy... as usual. well done. The chase scene was fun! well done. I ABSOLUTELY loved the interaction between Christine and Luna. I had always like Christine. They are so much alike. And i didnt miss luna calling her a friend. I wonder if luna will recall it.

"“Oh, just a friend of mine,” Luna said."
Very good. I cant wait to see what happens next. Pleasure to read...as always. :)
~Crzy

Reviewer: Dee (crzyangelchic)Date: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124149Chapter: 17
Wonderful. wonderful as usual. I want to pace myself and not read your next chapter right away. That way I wont be all anticipating your next update. But you've got me hooked and I cant help but click that >> button. See you next chapter! Pleasure reading.
~Crzy

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --