The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Lioness
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-04
Reviewid: 136764Chapter: 2
An entertaining read. Thanks

Reviewer: infinitevikingDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123599Chapter: 2
This is a gorgeous story. McGonagall's character is wonderfully true. I love the strength and gentleness you gave her, and will definitely be looking out for your work in the future. Thank you for writing this!

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101245Chapter: 2
I'm a great fan of Minerva, so I really like this! I tried to think of specific parts to say were my favorites -- but the more I thought, the more I realized, it was ALL great! (I guess, if I had to pick a favorite part, it would be Minerva's talk with Harry in her office.)

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100397Chapter: 2
Today is McGonagall's birthday, so I decided to give your Minnie fic a read.

I like how you wrap up all of Jo's loose ends at the end of OotP, including Minerva's discovery of the Blood Quill.

Reviewer: LorieDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99253Chapter: 2
I feel that you have really understood Minerva McGonagall. This piece is very thorough in delving into her mind, and you have a masterful way of putting "bits" of humour into the narrative. I am looking forward to reading more from you!

Reviewer: Pirate QueenDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99252Chapter: 2
Well done! This is an excellent fic, very atmospheric and nicely paced. You've got inside Minerva's head beautifully, and it's great to see her character explored so well. The speech to the Gryfinddors is very inspirational, but my favourite line has to be "A disgrace to felines everywhere!"

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99213Chapter: 2
Wowowowowowow wonderful Greta caterantion. Very belivable. All Icc... I wish there been more snape but its mravias story so thats fine... waite what do you mean "The End"?!?!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99202Chapter: 2
"Have you ever killed anyone, Professor?"

"Yes, I have." Harry looked up sharply. "During the war with Grindelwald. It was perhaps the hardest thing that I have ever had to do." Minervaís tone made it clear that the subject was closed.

DAMN.... I wish this was up BEFORE I wrote the relevant chapters of Oversexed, Overpaid, and Over Here. It would've added to what I have in store for her.

I would LOVE to read about what you think she was up to during the 1940s.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99180Chapter: 2
Wow! All that I can say is that my respect for Prof. McGonagal is even more now:D. In my mind's eye, I could even hear the pipes playing "Scotland the Brave" after she handed Peeves her walking stick. Please write more of her P.O.V. These chapters are awesome.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99166Chapter: 2
Wow, I like how you wrote McGonagall - very good! I felt so bad for her, though. Oh, and are you going to work more with - or have you worked more with - her killing someone during the war with Grindlewald?

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97390Chapter: 1
Good work, very interesting read. I like hearing things from McG's POV; she's one of my favorite characters. You seem to have captured her pretty well, and, well, since this is listed as Chapter 1 I can assume there's another chapter in the works, so I must say that I can't wait to see what McG says to HP, if anything. ^^

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84611Chapter: 1
Great story. Hmm, will there be more chapters? I'm really looking forward if so.

Reviewer: LupiniaDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83052Chapter: 1
SYLVIA Sprout!!!!!! Yeeeeeessssss!!!!! I'm so glad to see my first name in a HP fanfic at last! Almost brings a tear to my eye... What could possibly be better? (to see it appear in HP canon, but maybe it's a bit too much to ask ;-))
Great speech, by the way, Minerva! Lemon drop?

Reviewer: Andi TaylorDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82948Chapter: 1
I love this story, i truly think you write like the phoenomonal JK rowling.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82805Chapter: 1
Great story, with many great things. The first of all is the reason why I am even here to review it: your summary pulled me right in. It's a very good summary, and after "I want to read this" was the first thing I thought: "I hope the story will live up to its summary and be very good." Well, I'm not disappointed.

You write well, your plot is interesting, but I'm most impressed by your grasp of the characters. For example, this line:
>>You know Harry. It is likely that he would have gone anyway, even knowing about the prophecy.<<
It's exactly what I always thought. Harry *would* have taken the risk. He would have done anything to rescue Sirius, even if it would have resulted in his own death.

Also, I loved Minerva's deducing abilities you showed here:
>>Fawkes chirruped, and Minerva suddenly realized that he had probably been reborn sometime during the headmasterís presumed duel with Voldemort.<<

There's only one thing that you could improve. I know Minerva is old and strict and things like that, so the language you use should be a bit formal, but sometimes, it's not formal anymore, but wordy. For example:
>>Her momentum carried her all the way to the door where she grasped the griffin knocker and let it fall, then repeating the action twice more.<<
I had to read that sentence three times in a row to understand what you were saying. Sometimes it's better to use more common words and a easier to understand sentence structure. Here's another example:
>>His Deputy, knowing that the two students just named had been present in the recent attack, immediately asked,<<
Again, I had to read this multiple times.

Apart from that, you did a very good job. My favourite line:
>>Minerva told herself that the only reason she had refrained from saying Voldemortís name was to spare the students.<<
Very, very, very much Minerva. I was a bit suspicious when you mentioned before that she was going to use Voldemort's name, because that's not easy if you're used to not use it for twenty years. The above line, however, showed me that I had no reason to doubt your writing: you've grasped Minerva's character very well.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82799Chapter: 1
<<<Hey, why doesn't Ginny get a cameo? She's a Gryffindor too, and she deserves more respect than to be shoved under the rug AGAIN. :( >>>

Eria, you need to read a little more carefully. Considering this bit near the end:

"Itís Voldemort, and of course heís back! Heís been back!" That was Ginny Weasley. Her statement caused shrieks, gasps, and another flurry of exclamations. Even Harry Potter had turned around to look at her.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82777Chapter: 1
Wow... That was absolutely excellent! Well written, emotional without ever feeling trite or contrived, the tone was consistent and appropriate, Professors McGonagall and Dumbledore were resolutely in character, and the ending was brilliant!

Thanks for writing this... It really was very good!

To the person who complained about Ginny not having a cameo: In case you haven't noticed, Ginny does appear in the story. Want some cheese with your whine?

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82776Chapter: 1
Very, very good.
It left me in tears.

Reviewer: Alabaster BlackDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82751Chapter: 1
WOW! I don't know if I've ever read a fic from Minerva's POV...and you did SUCH and excellent job portraying her character! I loved Dumbledore's and Minerva's conversation...and also Dumbledore's quote about "self blame can only go so far before it becomes self pity". The speech was excellent and I LOVED the last line!
The WAS one hell of a speech!
I hope you're planning on writing more!
Alabaster

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82713Chapter: 1
"Wow, Professor," he said, blinking. "That was one hell of a speech."

That made me laugh. And Lee's right--it sure was one hell of a speech. I love this story! There'll be more chapters, right?

-Linnet

Reviewer: EriaDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82708Chapter: 1
Hey, why doesn't Ginny get a cameo? She's a Gryffindor too, and she deserves more respect than to be shoved under the rug AGAIN. :(

Reviewer: SusanDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82686Chapter: 1
Wow. Very, very nice. I hope you have more in beta right now. I can't wait to read it!

Go, Minerva!

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82663Chapter: 1
Pretty good so far. It usually takes me only a couple of paragraphs to decide whether I'm going to finish reading a fic. Yours kept me going clear to the end. And with a story that takes the viewpoint of Professor McGonagall no less. The only character harder to write convincingly is Dumbledore.

Reviewer: Sylvia AlvarezDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82662Chapter: 1
THAT was one HELL of a story. Cannot wait for more.
Well written and true to canon.
Does your name imply that you may (also) be an Anne Mccaffrey fan?
Welcome to the Dragonhold, if you are.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --