The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Filling in the Gap
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: sejalDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131784Chapter: 1
i sat here crying when i was reading this...you've done sirius proud...i cant realli describe this story cause theres so much feeling and emotion behind it and its like no words are enough...in the words of my mentor,the guy who intriduced me to poetry writing and is my inspiration to write-mr.b-i have to say that "this is deep"

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 122980Chapter: 1
I love the way you write!!! You get the feelings just right -- down to the way that the environment influences them. Thanks for sharing this story... I, too, as sure they will eventually see Sirius -- not to mention James & Lily -- again.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-24
Reviewid: 117565Chapter: 1
As Always

Reviewer: AristotleDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98108Chapter: 1
Once again, great fic! Somehow, you always find a way to bring tears to my eyes (whether they be of laughter or sadness).

Excellant work again, and I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97995Chapter: 1
Lovely story. The sunrays were particularly inspired
BTW, flakes are also sold in Australia. We have Wendy's who make Flake icecreams and thickshakes. Isn't it nice to be precise :-)
DA Rules OK

Reviewer: FaceDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96103Chapter: 1
This is the most beautiful fanfic in the theme of how Harry and Lupin are trying to come to terms with the loss of Sirius. It is very well-written. It balances very successfully between deep emotions, and still have this very realistic feeling about it. (I'm not implying that deep emotions and reality are contraries and cannot be mentioned in the same context.)
So, I liked it very much. Great work.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94093Chapter: 1
Aw... *huggles Harry* *huggles Remus* Oy! Sirius! I WOULD huggle you, but you're freakin' dead, so I can't! Well, anyway, I love it so much that it would be a losing battle to say how much.

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93395Chapter: 1
I love Melodies of Life! I gave a little squeal of happiness when I saw it at the beginning of your fic... Not many people I meet online know about it. It's too bad that you haven't played any FF games yet. I don't own a Playstation or a Playstation 2, but I've borrowed a PSOne from my friend so that I could play FFIX and FFVII. They're great fun, and the best part is getting to know your characters and sharing a bond with them and loving them. Plus the adventure and the story... The music is, as you said, terrific. Nobuo Uematsu is brilliant.

And about the fic! It was very sad and very moving. The lyrics you included really seemed to fit well with their respective "sections." The end was just right... that small touch of hope.

Reviewer: Heather (defectus @ ffnet)Date: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88404Chapter: 1
I just wanted to say that Melodies of Life has been my favorite song since FFIX came out. It was really a plus for me that you used lyrics from it. FF gamers pride!! <3

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86225Chapter: 1
Ahh, wonderful.. Now my box of tissues is empty, and I have a desperate need for a splash of cold water in my face. I love how you've combined the lyrics with the prose, very effective in conveying the raw feelings after such a significant loss - and how they slowly mellow over time, allowing your life to become as normal as possible, and the loss more bearable.
Thank you for a great read.

Reviewer: IcybeachDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85661Chapter: 1
"or seeing Cedric's dead body" It was a bit confusing switching from Harry to Lupin at first. Left me thinking "Did Lupin ever see Cedric's dead body?" - but by the second time you wrote Harry, I finally got it ;) And it was brilliant :)

Hehe, love the song quotes – it’s the first time I read a fic with song quotes in it. Good choice of songs!

There were many good points I hadn't considered before, like that Voldemort might not keep the creatures alive after the war and having Lupin not entirely in control during full moon.

There was only one thing that made me winch. The use of the word “Shit”… Sorry, but I always have a problem with this (and related words commonly used today). I just somehow see that as a muggle-word, and imagine that wizards don’t use them (even the half-bloods). You can’t possibly imagine how many times I’ve read Snape use words like “Shit” and “Bit**” :o Both Lupin and Snape seem too…oh, I don’t know…sophisticated to use them (to me that is).

"and Remus Lupin, who suffered from the heinous crime of being a stranger" LOL! Oh, and Harry eating his sweet on the bench - that IS sad...and cute! "Remus carefully unpacked his luggage and neatly stored everything away" Perfect - exactly how I imagine Lupin acts (neat and tidy).

This is a great fic, Starsea! It had so many deep emotions and so many contemplations. It’s one of the few non-romantic fics I’ve read, and yet I found it rather romantic (the feeling of it all). It’s very well written.

Icy

Reviewer: anna MDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85616Chapter: 1
Only one word to sum this up: satisfying. I was really bitter after I read OotP too, and I really really REALLY hope there's a "Remus and Harry have a Talk" scene in book 6. In the meantime, it makes me feel better to read fics like this.
Very nice job!!

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85497Chapter: 1
I hope you get to read this, Starsea, just to give you more encouragement- you're a really good writer, in a way that is different from a lot of fic-writers, because while the rest of us try to mimic JKR's style, you've got your own, and it's a very vivid style. Even your FILKS (what does that mean, exactly?), or songfics, which I usually don't approach with a ten-meter pole, are tolerable. I'm getting ready to go read your other fics, now, simply for the pleasure of being exposed to your writing. Thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84823Chapter: 1
Wow, awesome job. I'm really impressed with the way you handled Remus' and Harry's grief. And how they become closer as a result of it. That's something I want to see happen in the books. Good job too on showing how Harry is maturing more and more into an adult. Excellent!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84612Chapter: 1
I just found this today! What a wonderful gift to all of us--words of comfort and profundity. I really enjoyed your characterization of Lupin and Harry. They both have that sly wit, dont' they? Otherwise they would be basket cases. Other highlights-the whole "bleach" story and what was on Sirius's tombstone. Just a lovely job, Starsea.

Reviewer: jaded eyesDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82943Chapter: 1
*Sniffles* How sad! I loved the story... Broke my 'ittle 'eart in two! I got my fifth book the night it came out in the US and after reading it I'm STILL in mourning for my favorite character! ;~; Poor Sirius!

I loved the Remus and Harry bonding; very sweet, but I just can't stand the thought of Sirius leaving them! ;~;

I'm getting off topic again... Anyways, again, I loved the story, and it was very nice... Is there any hopes for a sequel? If not, thats fine with me... But whenever I'm sad I'll just think about this story... ^.^

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82752Chapter: 1
Utterly, utterly fantastic! Both Lupin and Harry were perfect, and the growth of their relationship is something that I'd really like to see in the books. Brilliant!

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82742Chapter: 1
Wow. This was simply beautiful. I've read many stories dealing with exactly the same subject, but yours is definitely the best. You just have a way with words that makes everything you write a little bit more poignant and a little bit more original. Both Lupin and Harry were well-characterised here, and although I'd have thought Harry's recovery from grief would have been much more drawn-out, you made your Harry believable by having him interact with Lupin. I love the way they reached out to each other and tried to help each other in small ways. It was also nice to see Harry being more open to letting people in, such as sending birthday invitations to Neville and Luna.
Congratulations again for this lovely story.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82706Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. The interaction between Remus and Harry was spot on. I've read a lot of Remus/Harry bonding stories lately, and this is definately one of the better ones. I would adore it if you wrote more about the two of them!

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82692Chapter: 1
Beautiful.... =)

Oh, I love Cadbury Flakes xD - yeah, they are in Canada.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82690Chapter: 1
I teared up twice. It felt very good to deal with Sirius' death and you do it with such sensitivity and such depth. There are too many beautiful details to go on about, they're just everywhere. The idea of what F&G would make of Luna made me smile. Great job.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --