The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 34

Reviewer: RiadhriDate: 2008-03-31
Reviewid: 150707Chapter: 1
This is an amazing. I'm just learning about World War II in my AP Euro class. That is just amazing. You created real people in real situations. I love it.
~Riadhri

Reviewer: TonyaDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135242Chapter: 1
You made me cry there at the end what a touching story and so masterfully done. Blending history, religion and characters from Harry Potter and doing it so seemlessly wonderful job.

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135084Chapter: 1
Wow! I only just discovered this and it's great! The fact that you posted it right after 9/11 just made it that much more touching and uplifting.
Engelmayer. I'm not sure about the "mayer", but Engel means "Angel", yes? I love the idea of an angel and a wizard working together, however briefly.
The woman with all the toads makes me think of Mrs. Figg and her cats. And then there's the line "And one man, I didn't like at all; he was very short-tempered and brusque." An ancester of Professor Snape, perhaps? Or someone else we should recognize? Or just some un-named wizard who resented having to help Muggles but did it for Dumbledore's sake?

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134681Chapter: 1
This is an incredible piece. Before I praise you, I'd like to thank iviolinist for asking about this story's name on the "Help me find a story" thread. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

This story is extremely believable, and you tell it in such a poetic way. Through your imagination and ability to work with words I have come to admire Moody much more. There is a soft side to him, after all.

Your insight is spot-on. Even several years later, I got goosebumps reading your afterthoughts. I really can't think of what else to say except - bravo.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128683Chapter: 1
I loved this story so much that I nearly cried while reading it. You tied the war against Grindelwald in perfectly with the Holocaust and WW2. I loved your characterization of Mad-Eye Moody very much. All of your theories make perfect sense as well, so it was easy to get into the *flow* of the story. Great job!

-Arimalka
P.S.- My real name is Sarah (hehe), and I lost a lot of family to Nazi concentration camps during WW2, so this story was very real for me. Thanks so much for writing it. =)

Reviewer: wolf550eDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113596Chapter: 1
Well, besides the revelation that a few more people should get a tree in the Avenue of the Righteous Gentiles at Yad-vaShem Memorial, I didn't quite get the point.
Probably because I'm a pessimist, but I don't entertain the hope his will actually help fight antisemitism. My somewhat inverted genealogic tree shows Dumbledore didn't quite manage to save them all, and I'm told most were either killed or at least rounded off by neighbors not SS soldiers...
Xenophobia must be a very beneficial trait to have flourished like it has in vast populations.

Reviewer: LilDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108101Chapter: 1
Happy belated Hanukkah! (I assume you celebrate it as well, if you don't then Happy whatever!) Seeing as how it is the holiday season, I found this story very delightful! I do wonder what Moody looked like when he was young(er)! Apparently he did not look so outrageous, as he was not gawked at wherever he went, so it's hard to picture him. I loved this story, it was just the bit of cheer I needed today! Oh, and I (being half Jewish and half Christian) find it appaling that people actually 'ban' the HP books, my grandparents, for one. Then again, they are mental, they tell me reading Stephen King books will make me get posessed by the Devil, go figure? Anywho, I hope you keep writing, I think this is a great story! Keep up the good work!
~Lil

Reviewer: ReeDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107215Chapter: 1
Hmm...I just realized that despite all the rec'ing I've done of this fic, I've never actually reviewed it. How awful! So. Here's a review.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. Your Moody seemed spot on with what we knew about him after GoF. Gruff but with a heart of gold. And the Levitson family was just wonderful. I liked how Sarah told Moody about Hanukkah--so sweet, but almost with a "duh." Exactly like a little kid.

This is a fantastic story and I'm glad I found it.

Reviewer: HawkeDate: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100340Chapter: 1
Short. Sweet. It's difficult to say whether or not this is in character for Moody, since it's so long ago; some how I could see Bill Weasley doing exactly the same thing. The Moody we know is paranoid, gruff, and rather stern; this one is nothing but kind and slightly careful.

Still, it's a wonderfully sweet story, especially for a nice Jewish girl like myself.

Reviewer: IlliriahRisingDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89722Chapter: 1
This was really a wonderfully moving story! I've always had a soft spot for Moody so I especially enjoyed it for that reason, but the setting and the simple kindnesses the story illustrates really hit home as well. I actually got teary-eyed reading it. If only there could be more people in the world like your fictional Moody.

Reviewer: tipDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87782Chapter: 1
Thank you, Seldes Katne. This is wonderful.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46158Chapter: 1
That was beautiful.

Reviewer: MelDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44896Chapter: 1
That was a great, heartwarming story. I was able to relate to it in many ways, none of them I will mention at this time. I loved this story and it's certainly one of my favourites.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 35986Chapter: 1
Thank you for an absolutely wonderful story. I love the fact that Sarah considers Alistor Moody an angel and that Moody himself seems to have come into contact with a real one. As a lover of stories set in the World War II era, I was fascinated by your inclusion of Dumbledore beginning to set up a sort of 'underground railroad' as it were for escaping Jews at the end. It seemed such the proper thing for him to do and I can just imagine some other stories along the same line.

Thank you, too, for enlarging a minor character from the Harry Potter books to make him so life-like. I've read several Moody fan fics and so far, you have captured him best. I hope you will continue to enlighten your readers with tales of his past.

Reviewer: SivanDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29623Chapter: 1
Great story!
I'm a Jew and Israeli, and I thought this was a good portrayal of how goodwill can translate into the Wizarding and Muggle worlds... If only they could have saved all the others.

Shalom,
Sivan

Reviewer: SundanceDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27817Chapter: 1
Wow - what a wondeful story!!!

I'm studying Judaism in school (A-level), and your story has really helped me to understand some things, especially Jewish ethos. Thanks :)

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26672Chapter: 1
I'm quite pleased with this story. It's nice to see a new, original take and blend it with religion. You've done quite a nice job. Congratulations!

Reviewer: hiDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24963Chapter: 1
no offence... terribly inaccurate 'bout YiddishKeit. Unless their Jews for Jesus whch aren't JEws

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21740Chapter: 1
What a sweet, beautiful story! I love your young Moody, and I really like the idea of the wizarding equivalent of an underground railroad for people in need. I wonder if the GoF-era Moody would be touched or amused at being taken for an angel; perhaps a little of both.

Reviewer: Oktober_GhostDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19473Chapter: 1
This story was niffled at the FA forum. The topic interested me, so I decided to check it out.

I don't agree with all of the theories that you put forth in the story, but I think they're all plausible and logical (and there's no substantial canon to back up any interpretation of the era, in any case). It's better to see a fic with various theories and interpretations than none at all. You definitely fulfilled that requirement; thank you for making me think.

I am assuming that the story's second day is set during Kristallnacht (your statement that it occurs during 1938 would seem to confirm that); personally, I think it's really ballsy to set a story during something this specific. You certainly have no problems with the subject matter, however.

I do have some historical quibbles, though. It was not the easiest thing for a Jew to get passage to the States during the late 30s. Not many countries wanted large numbers of Jews, and there were established quotas and plenty of anti-Semites in the States to make sure that large numbers were not allowed to immigrate. It just seemed too easy in ItPoA (although I can see why delving into this would not be a priority in this particular story).

Also, regular SS and Gestapo not necessarily interchangeable; true, all Gestapo members were required to join the SS, but the Gestapo (except for the administrative officers) by-and-large did not wear the black SS uniform.

There were only a few oddities. As the Levitsons and Moody discuss persecutions, Moody uses the word "prosecution" twice ("'Thank you.' Moody took a mouthful of stew. 'So. Courage in the face of prosecution. I take it that you've experienced this prosecution?'") Also, there is an awkward line ("Moody kept burst out into the street..."); unfortunately, I am not sure what you mean exactly.

The storyline with the female witch and the Imperio-ed wizard seems to have just dropped off; is that to be continued or has it been continued elsewhere? In either case, I'd very much like to read a continuation of that storyline.

Other things I really liked included your portrayal of Moody (who just has abundant fic potential) and the Levitsons (particularly their reactions - to the behavior of their peers and to the strange people who helped them during their travels).

In any case, this is a very thought-provoking, well-written story. Thank you.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19303Chapter: 1
Wow! I really liked this. It blended the Holocaust and Harty Potter nicely. I am a Jew myself and give it *****! I know it's corny but I really like it!

Reviewer: AngelDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10235Chapter: 1
THis is a beautiful story, thank you so much. It stands so well on its own.

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9289Chapter: 1
Clever! Original! Wonderful! Excellent! Amazing! could go on and on and on.. like the pink bunny

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9246Chapter: 1
An extremely powerful and moving story! The Levitson family are well portrayed and very easy to care about. It is comforting to think of the many decent people in this world who act to help in dark times. Your point, about all the good people who offered help and support from all over the world after September 11th was moving.

(This story struck a lot of personal chords for me. I'm Jewish, second generation American. My father's family came from Poland. A lot of them died. One of my father's cousins came home after having gone out to look for food and found that his parents and the rest of his family had been taken away. Rowling's books make subtle comparisons between Voldemort's beliefs and those of the Nazis and others who believe in racial "purity." If people like Voldemort and Malfoy have their way will we see Hermione with an "M" embroidered on her robes? Filch with an "S?" Hagrid with an "H?" (for Halfblood, maybe?) The wizarding equivalents of Auschwitz? The thought makes me shudder.)

Reviewer: VaniityXDate: 2002-08-10
Reviewid: 1572Chapter: 1
This was absolutely beautiful. It is difficult to find stories like these with morals. I think it is wonderful to read about the wizarding world mixing with the muggle world when it comes to religion. Your story was very well written and provides great background theories on Moody. You made good assumptions. This is actually the first Moody story I've read, and I enjoyed it very much because I felt deprived at the end of Goblet of Fire because we never knew the real Moody. Keep writing. :)

Reviewer: H. SandersDate: 2002-08-09
Reviewid: 1469Chapter: 1
As a Jewish person this story touched me very deaply, I know that JKR has not mentioned religon very much in her books, but with knowledge of Grindlewald's existance, it is more than likely that it is intended that he was a ally of hitler, and theirfor part of the reason for the holocaust. I would not be supprised after all, since the idea of mudblood is fairly similar to the view that germans had of non-aryians. I have always thought that if the full historys of the teachers had come out, we would have seen that the wizards on the sides of the allys are probably responsable for many of the cases of jews being smuggeled out of germany. My family itself was from poland, and they were on the very last ship to get out before the germans invaded, if it had not been for the act's of kindness that were shown to them however, they never would ahve made it to the boat.

I think that it is fitting in this time of trouble to reflect on the past mistakes of this world, and to 'Never Forget' (that is the saying we jews have about the Holocaust), for those who do not rember the actions of the past are doomed to repet thier mistakes. thier were many croweds of former niebors and friends who attacked jews during those times, caught up in the mob, today we must not let ourselves be caught up in a similar mob to perciscute innocents, for the majority of muslims do not support the actions of terrorists, it is only the small percentage of rotten apples that has placed this pale over thier entire religion.

Thank you for your writings and i look forward to reading more fo them in the future.

Reviewer: rachel42Date: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 117Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 7/13/02 6:28:31 pm)

Hi! I have only lately discovered the joys of Harry Potter fanfic and I first read "In The Presence Of Angels" about a week ago.
I really liked it, I understood that Engelmeyer was an angel (didn't seem too hard) and I wondered if you're jewish. After seeing what you've written it seems not.
I found it odd that you quoted the new testament (I had to ask my gradmother, I only know that one of the books is called Matthews).
I am jewish, live in Israel and speak Hebrew, so whenever I see something that has some connection to one of these subject I 'perk up'. So I was looking for interesting stories and I saw the word Chanukkah and I read it.
Thank you for writing it, if you have time I would like to know why you wrote specifically about that (If there's a reason).
and anyway Chanukkah's my favourite 'cos I was born then!

Reviewer: kate griffithDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 116Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 6/2/02 3:16:09)

What a powerful story. There were so many tales of supernatural grace that came out of the war. You also gave Moody grace too, to be a benefactor in the story instead of just a crabbed old man. I wondered why you had Ilse read Sarah the story of the angel and Jacob and then it made sense when Moody and the Captain were fighting.

Reviewer: JavertDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 115Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 4/4/02 10:55:33 pm)

What a beautiful story! The moral was very nice, and the characters all behaved the way they should have. The bit of real history in it makes the story much more interesting.

Read it, everyone! *glares daggers at those who haven't*

~Javert

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 114Chapter: 1
(Originally posted1/24/02 11:23:36 pm)

Moody stories...oh yeah!

Seldes, I will let you know flat out that Moody is one of my favorite characters. I think he's as interesting as all get out, and I am so pleased that you are developing and using him in interesting stories that integrate both canon and original characters. You write well. Your writing background shows.

I think so much of Moody I'm trying to give him some family in the HP works that I'm writing, starting with his niece Amanda. But that's another conversation.

I just wanted to thank you for bringing one of my favorite, and in my opinion, one of the most neglected, Potter characters to life.

Thank you.

Catherine

Reviewer: Christine BDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 113Chapter: 1
Originally posted 1/10/02 10:32:36 am)

Oh, wow! I just stumbled across this story when I was bored at work and I almost forgot to go to lunch!

I really like your combination of history and the wizarding world, and of course Moody is a wonderful character.

* Spoilers *

Sorry, I can't go on reviewing without talking about what happens in the story. Anybody who hasn't read it had better stop here and read it first. It's worth it!

Well, back to my review. I liked your description of Moody without his wand - not being able to do magic properly must be very hard for him. His struggle with Muggle clothes was very funny, too. I could literally see him fighting with the shirt.

Your idea that several spells like Apparating and the Unforgivable Curses are rather recent developments is very convincing. The whole thing about the woman and the Imperius Curse makes me want to read more. Don't you want to write another story about the development of the Unforgivable Curses and Dumbledore's defeat of Grindelwald? It would fit nicely into the setting you created in this story.

Unfortunately I didn't quite understand what Engelmeyer did. How could he protect Moody and Sarah? What kind of special power is that?

Being a German, I have to add one minor nitpick: the name Theodore in German is Theodor without the "e", not Teodore without the "h". But that's really not important.

But of course, I have to protest against your description of my home region. I actually was born in the Black Forest and have lived there for most of my life. It's a very nice region and lots of tourists go there to visit its beauty. But then it does have a strange name... and maybe we are strange people...?

Christine B

Reviewer: Christine BDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 13Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 1/10/02 10:32:36 am)

Oh, wow! I just stumbled across this story when I was bored at work and I almost forgot to go to lunch!

I really like your combination of history and the wizarding world, and of course Moody is a wonderful character.

* Spoilers *








Sorry, I can't go on reviewing without talking about what happens in the story. Anybody who hasn't read it had better stop here and read it first. It's worth it!

Well, back to my review. I liked your description of Moody without his wand - not being able to do magic properly must be very hard for him. His struggle with Muggle clothes was very funny, too. I could literally see him fighting with the shirt.

Your idea that several spells like Apparating and the Unforgivable Curses are rather recent developments is very convincing. The whole thing about the woman and the Imperius Curse makes me want to read more. Don't you want to write another story about the development of the Unforgivable Curses and Dumbledore's defeat of Grindelwald? It would fit nicely into the setting you created in this story.

Unfortunately I didn't quite understand what Engelmeyer did. How could he protect Moody and Sarah? What kind of special power is that?

Being a German, I have to add one minor nitpick: the name Theodore in German is Theodor without the "e", not Teodore without the "h". But that's really not important.

But of course, I have to protest against your description of my home region. I actually was born in the Black Forest and have lived there for most of my life. It's a very nice region and lots of tourists go there to visit its beauty. But then it does have a strange name... and maybe we are strange people...?

Christine B

Reviewer: sugarquillDate: 2002-07-23
Reviewid: 9Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 12/12/01 11:31:38 pm)

I'm just putting in a plug for "In the Presence of Angels" while Chanukah is still going on. This story is beautifully written and incredibly interesting. It mixes together history, tradition, and magic to weave a truly thrilling tale!

Check it out everyone!

Reviewer: namwolfDate: 2002-07-23
Reviewid: 7Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 12/21/01 10:50:42 pm)

Hmm I loved it.

I was reading this just sevral days after Hanuka and after going through my photo album from Poland (I went there at the start of the year, and been in the camps, the forests and the ghettos of Poland) so I was very much in the atmosphere for the story and I really liked it.

I have always felt that evil is not a thing that happen with evil men or enteties (like satan) but it is much more frighetening since it's a thing tha lives in every last one of us and must be constantlley depressed as the good in us needs to be nourtured. i think that his story gives a good insight to this things without a need for a "dark lord" to be the source for it.


and just at a side note the story of Hanuka as nothing to do with the tora which ends it's story just before the entry into the promised land. Infact it has nothing to do with the Bible as well which was sealed in the period before the time of Hanuka (which is the time of the second tempel). The story of Hanuka passesthrough the Mishena and the Talmud which are later writings.
in addition the people in question are not really the Israelies as ten of the twelfe tribes of israel were exiled and lost years before but rather Jews or those who live in Judea.
(sorry but I have an exam on all this later this week)

thats about all just wanted to say again that it's a great story.

Naama

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --