The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 49

Reviewer: cara aliceDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137572Chapter: 1
i think it was great, with a great use of aussie slang, written like a true blue, from down under, where the werewolfs wanda'. this would probably be the best bit of writing i've seen on this website, great work

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135015Chapter: 1
I particularly liked the definition of a B & S. I didn't recognise it but I liked it! The art of bush poetry lives on - congratulations.

Reviewer: Just MeDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132538Chapter: 1
Hilarious. Loved it!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131733Chapter: 1
And Funny

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123905Chapter: 1
How have I missed this? It's fantastic. Frankly, I don't think Lockhart could have composed a poem this good--and I don't mean that as a criticism.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122663Chapter: 1
My gosh, i was checking out fictionalley and i came across this! My gosh your good! It was great to see soo much Aussie slang included in a poem like this.... I'm rereading the chamber of secrets so it works well at the moment for me! Sadly, it never actually clicked that Wagga Wagga was actually Wagga Wagga!
Anyway, thanks for this poem, it was BRILLIANT!!!
Your rhyming and rhythm is beautiful, thanks a bunch

Reviewer: JessyDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119205Chapter: 1
OMGKGYTDJHBKT!!!1! That was FABULOUS! I'm still in hysterics, especially over the second-last verse.

Reviewer: JennayDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113026Chapter: 1
*rolls around on the floor convulsed in laughter* love it! very nice to find something written from an aussie's point of view instead of all this pommy stuff *grins evilly* nah, joking - i love the poms! really! *rolls eyes*... seriously, i enjoyed this (obviously :)and hope to find more like it around sometime! go the aussies :D

Reviewer: NoblevyneDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109837Chapter: 1
That was marvellous, a ballad that Banjo Patterson himself, would be proud of.

I actually live in Wagga Wagga and I just wanted to assure you that we don't get attacked by werewolves (well, not frequently anyway...we have had some 'vicious dog attacks'. Conspiracy? I ask you...)

Reviewer: Myster WebDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104705Chapter: 1
That...was marvolous! Perfect ten! Please write more!

Oh, and thanks for the pronunciation guide, it made things easier to understand.

Reviewer: BlandsaftDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100032Chapter: 1
i love it! it's so lockhart...though i don't know about admitting a girl broke his heart..he'd probably deny that part in court :D

Reviewer: KathleenDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98468Chapter: 1
I know this is supposed to be contructive criticism, but I just had to say that this is a wonderful poem. Were you trying to write in Banjo Patterson's style? Because if you are, I think you have nailed it.
I have lived in Northern NSW my entire life, and I never even knew there was a town called Lockhart near Wagga.
Just one question: Was it meant to be deliberate satire in making the emu's fly? [Pointing out Lockarts ignorance etc] Because if so, nicely done.
Strewth, crikey! I’m agog, sir! - very funny, because I've never heard anyone say that many colloquialisms altogether.
All up, Bloody Brilliant.

Shame on those mispronouncing Wagga Wagga's name.

Reviewer: Kathryn AndersenDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97754Chapter: 1
Hi, thought you'd like to know that I've reviewed this on my NetFic Reviews page http://www.katspace.com/reviews/netfic/
I would have emailed you a notification, but you don't seem to have an email address viewable on this site. Which is fair enough, what with spammers and all...

Reviewer: IvyDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96573Chapter: 1
Oh this is brilliant! It's so rare to have anything Aussie (and true blue Aussie not faux Croc Dundee stylings) in fan fiction that this almost brought I tear to my eye when I read:
'Said one old mage, a grizzled sage, “Strewth, crikey! I’m agog, sir!
Well, bugger me! You’ve set us free! You’ve rescued Wagga Wagga!”'

Very clever and cheeky with both the form of the ballad and Harry Potter and Australianisms.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94560Chapter: 1
I love it. I love it! It's fantastic. It works, and works beautifully. I'm going to rec it everywhere. Everywhere!

Sorry, I'm highly excitable.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91895Chapter: 1
This is sheer brilliance, and I'm not even an Aussie. :)

>>Said one old mage, a grizzled sage, “Strewth, crikey! I’m agog, sir!
Well, bugger me! You’ve set us free! You’ve rescued Wagga Wagga!”<<

Thank you for sharing such lovely verse. Feel free to write more. :D

~Katinka

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84646Chapter: 1
LOL. Bella! I loved it.

Reviewer: IvycreeperDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84449Chapter: 1
My God - what a laugh! Until now, I haven't seen a single Aussie 'wizarding' fanfic, and yours was a fantastic one to find! Lockhart at a B & S ball - priceless! Although in those stunning lavender robes he's so fond of, it's a wonder that he didn't get 'poofter' levelled at him! (Pardon the French...) Your poetry was really good, as well as your knowledge of the area. I mean, you know that Wombats roar! (Or at least, make that horrible guttural grunting sound as they try to mow your tent down). And fancy there being a town nearby called Lockhart! I wonder if J.K. Rowling knew...

Reviewer: SkippySaixDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84397Chapter: 1
O_O Wow I wish I could write that well. This would have to be one of the funniest poems I've ever read. Very Banjo Patterson-esque. As a fellow Aussie I applaud you. And for those foreigners who don't know how to pronounce Wagga Wagga, now you have no excuse!

"I locked him in the chook shed but some drongo let him out" LOL

I would love to make my dad's ute fly. That would be so cool. You should send this to JK Rowling via her site. I'm sure she'd love it too.

Reviewer: Olivia WoodDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84379Chapter: 1
Charming. :) You know, it's a shame the Wizarding World doesn't seem to have a market for fiction; Lockhart probably could have made a pretty good novelist. ;)

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84124Chapter: 1
a triumph. a cultrual masterpiece. melodious and rythmic. truly stunning and absolutely rediculous.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83990Chapter: 1
Oh, that was truly clever! What are you going to do with your signed copy of Gilderoy's book? I loved "Faithless Charlene," "Frying a dingo's dong" (why wasn't that in the glossery? :D) and poor Gilderoy being used for his "Homorphous Charming." I know you had as much fun writing this poem as I had reading it! Good job!

Reviewer: jo jackson kingDate: 2004-05-21
Reviewid: 83852Chapter: 1
You are a funny lady! Read much Banjo Paterson, btw?

Anyway, I loved it.

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83736Chapter: 1
Wow! Sheer brilliance and epic genius! Beautiful, just beautiful...

Reviewer: SteppsDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83690Chapter: 1
Oh, what fun that was to read! SHE, you've done it again! I love how your fics are educating everyone about wee little Aussie things that are just so cool! And the facts about Wagga Wagga and Mad Dog Morgan, OMG! What are the odds! LOL!

You may serenade me any time!
Stepps

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83688Chapter: 1
This is just brilliant. As a Brit who can't pretend to know much about Australia, I've actually learnt a lot from it, while laughing out loud all the way through! My favourite lines are:
'That beast's my husband Bruce!' and
'But the Everbashing Boomerang returned and knocked him out'.

Re whether Lockhart is clever enough to have written this himself - I doubt it. He got you to do it for him and tried to pass it off as his own work - it wouldn't be the first time he'd done something like that! But we know better ...

Godric's Hollow directed me towards this, and I'm delighted she did! Thank you so much.

Reviewer: LizBeeDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83588Chapter: 1
Man oh man. I've seen you round the forums, and I knew you were cool, but this is *brilliant* I love your definition of B&S (*snerk*) and the flying ute, and the correction of the pronunciation of Wagga Wagga.

I'll be showing this to my friends, no doubt about it.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83573Chapter: 1
Wow, this is really good poetry! The scansion is great and I love the internal rhymes. It's so cool to read good poety with rhyme and meter - there isn't much of it out there. Not to mention that whole thing is very Gildroy. Hee Hee. This thing sounds like Banjo Peterson, but obviously isn't. Still, that's a good thing.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83539Chapter: 1
*g* Once again, absolutely wonderful work. Well-written, clever and humorous. Thanks for this.

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Godrics_HollowDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83505Chapter: 1
Oh MAN .Elf, y0ou have made my night, as a fellow Aussie, I was laughing so hard reading that. You are sooooo clever! Oh im still giggling!

Reviewer: AlecDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83485Chapter: 1
PS - I rather think that the Everlasting Boomerang would make quite a hit at Hogwarts.

BTW, do you think some of the truth about Mad Dog Morgan was suppressed by the Department of Misinformation?

Reviewer: AlecDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83482Chapter: 1
This was absolutely priceless - and so imaginative. I do especially like the way you interwove the story with Australianisms in an almost Lewis Carroll like manner, and the way the poem fits together both the canon poetry excercise, all we know about Lockhart, and history and place names in Muggle Australia. Deeply satisfying.

In fact, as Gilderoy would say, it's perfect.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83465Chapter: 1
Like the old mage, the grizzled sage - I'm agog! That was fantastic!

Bloody hell, you're way more aussie than I could ever be, by jingo! Go down the pub and buy y'self a schooner for a job well done.

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83452Chapter: 1
*just about dies laughing*

S.H.E you are absolutely the most, the best... my favourite fanfic writer.

“I locked him in the chook shed but some drongo let him loose.”

Allie

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83417Chapter: 1
oh dear! (**wipe streaming eyes**) just...brilliant. per usual. there are so many, many lines we'd love to cut and paste/but time is short and space is scant and we're not wont to waste...

oh--'scuse us for waxing poetic there for a moment...really, our two favorite lines were these:

<<When she looked at me adoringly I’d half a mind to snog her,
And thus to make that girl the gladdest witch in Wagga Wagga.>>

<<Screaming, Charlene fled to the hall, for though the girl seemed smitten,
It transpired she did not love enough to venture being bitten.>>

tho' with your notes at story's end we could find nothing wrong/ you did neglect to mention: what is a 'dingo's dong?'

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83320Chapter: 1
Oh my. That is one of the funniest poems I've ever read! I was literally LOL even though I'm in a public computer lab right now. As a sometime poet myself, I know how hard it is to maintain a rhyme scheme and still get across what you want to say. I also liked the peek into Aussie life and culture.

Reviewer: the silent speakerDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83307Chapter: 1
"So when the savage wombat’s roar sets fearful hearts a’quiver,
Or majestic emu soars above the Murrumbidgee River,
When possum barks or great white sharks swim in a mountain pond,
Let the folk of dear Lockhart recall the power of my wand."
Splurf!
This is brilliant. You should show this to JKR (by way of her website or something), if only for the coincidence of there being an actual Lockhart town near the base of ops for the Mad Dog of Wagga Wagga. I'll bet she will get an immense kick out of it!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83278Chapter: 1
Bravo! Bravo, fair balladeer! Perfectly done.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83250Chapter: 1
*titters foolishly*
SHE, that was DEVINE!!! LOVED IT! LOVED IT! LOVED IT!

“I locked him in the chook shed but some drongo let him loose.”
That has got to be one of the classic lines of all time! *hoots with laughter*

And your research... AWESOME! That there really is a town of 'Lockhart' and Mad Dog Morgan! WOW!

Reviewer: SophieDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83227Chapter: 1
SHE! As as fellow Aussie, you have made my day!

I loved all the aussie references, especially the B&S ball... yeah, 'distinguished'... hehehe... I would love to fly around in a ute, and the Bruce and Charlene references... brilliant!

As an aussie I knew what was going on with the slang, I wonder how many people will be going 'what the...?' (hehe.. Rove...)

So, when's the fic coming out about the Australian Wizarding School?

Noice, Different, un-ewe-sual, I love it!

~ Sophie

Reviewer: LorieDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83225Chapter: 1
The mere IDEA of writing this "missing moment" was fantastic! Your sense of rhythm is absolutely grand, and it makes the words all the more funny. I've got some really dear Australian cousins, and it was fun for me to think of them as I tried to read your piece out loud (lucky no Aussies were around while I was doing it, or they would have died laughing at my pronunciation). Thanks for making my day!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83219Chapter: 1
Pauline, thanks you so much for bringing us Gilderoy's Poem. Truly a great ode. It was kind of you to share your page to bring such lovely verse.

And it is a lovely verse. Such rhyme and metre are breathtaking. I was trying not to laugh out loud because it is after midnight and I should be asleep. Then I gave up and had a good chuckle.

Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Kate_AnguaPotterDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83218Chapter: 1
*gasp* Oxygen... I need... Oxygen... so... funny... nearly... died.

"B & S: A common abbreviation for Bachelors and Spinsters Ball. These formal dances are held in many rural towns, to provide elegant entertainment for farmers’ sons and daughters."

Indeed. Elegant entertainment for young graziers. Distinguished affairs with only the finest sort of alcoholic beverage.

“I’m Bruce,” quoth he. “And you must be the dirty Pom I’ve seen,
Who’s been lurking round my farmhouse tryin’ to court my wife, Charlene!”
“Don’t hurt him, Gilderoy,” she wailed. “That beast’s my husband Bruce!”
“I locked him in the chook shed but some drongo let him loose.”

Sheer brilliance, SHE. Just... sheer brilliance. You are a genius. Although Lockhart's fortunate he missed the drop-bears in that gum tree.

Kate

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83202Chapter: 1
Great rhythym! (Alas, I will never learn how to spell that darn word.) Very enjoyable. I only wonder if Lockhart would actually be able to write a poem as good as this one...I'm thinking no. My favorite part:
"For they’ll never guess the loneliness that being perfect brings,
’Tis an isolated life for those they venerate as kings."

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83144Chapter: 1
This is FABULOUS! I never gave a second thought to Lockhart's poem--it's amusing and original. This really made my day.

-Linnet

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83143Chapter: 1
Awesome poem. Your work always leaves me laughing.

I enjoyed the bit about Lockhart's romance, and his constant self-references. Very Lockhartish.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83129Chapter: 1
::dies laughing::

Suburban House Elf, that was AWESOME. AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME. The only thing awesomer than that poem is the fact that there are actually towns in Australian named "Wagga Wagga" and "Lockhart."

God, I have no words. You've done JKR proud, I'm sure. Have you seen her poem about Nearly Headless Nick on her new website? The same style and humour. at times your rhyme scheme was thrown off a bit, and a few nitpicky places where commas could be put to use (being the punctuation junkie that I am), but other than that, it was BRILLIANT.

makes me wonder what really happened, heh. :)

favourite lines (since I can't just quote the whole poem here):
"I pranced the Plimpy Polka and a grand Goblin Gavotte"
"That made me recollect - full moon’s no time for lovers’ prowling."
"It transpired she did not love enough to venture being bitten."
"And not many wizards could,
While fighting off said werewolf, perform spellwork half as good."
"When possum barks or great white sharks swim in a mountain pond"
"Let the Wagga Wagga temptress know, she broke my noble heart."

You do your fellow Aussies proud. I love this poem!

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83117Chapter: 1
SHE, you freak me out. First the Snape, now this. And that's not even mentioning your stories.

Very interesting info on the other stuff, too.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83116Chapter: 1
This is hilarious! Haha!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --