The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 32

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-04-27
Reviewid: 142293Chapter: 1
Loved both your content and writing style. It was great that Haviland wasn't the stereotypical bad Slytherin, and that DD actually turned the Tarot back on him - in his Headmasterly way! I loved Snape's reading - and here, after book 6, it is still holding strong. Also liked the description of Snape being cold, but maybe not cruel in his Hufflepuff/Ravenclaw class - I think it is more of a Gryffindor thing :) Very well-done.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93777Chapter: 4
Your story was very creative and, I thought, very insightful. I especially liked Professor Snape's reading. I look forward to reading more of your work.
The only real criticism I have is of your use of the word "irregardless" in the author's notes. There is no such word and I cringe every time I hear this non-word used. "Regardless" is the word that should be used.
Thank you for a great read and keep up the good work.

Reviewer: raucousravenDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90184Chapter: 1
fascinatingly arcane. i may just have to come back at the end of book 7 to compare. thank you!

Reviewer: ChthoniaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82893Chapter: 4
I loved the different reactions of the three teachers. You really captured them well.

The chapter headings are most apt, though I was a little confused at first by the card choices, as only Snape's seemed to make much sense. Finding out at the end that they were actual readings added an extra layer of interest, though as I read Tarot slightly differently I'd have appreciated more elaboration on how you interpret the relationships between the cards. Reading for characters was a neat idea, and I couldn't resist trying it myself afterwards. :)

(Apologies if the formatting screws up – SQ seems to do that to my posts here.)

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-02
Reviewid: 80977Chapter: 4
Very interesting insights on Tarot. And if the readings on Snape and Dumbledore were really genuine, well, that's a scary thought. (McGonagall's is vague enough that it doesn't really matter.)

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75810Chapter: 4
just rereading... So Freaky! Ah! It's like.... it's all so right now that we have the OotP, except I guess McGonagall's reading, which was kind of odd. Very interesting, though. I also though Professor Snape's reading was cool, and it was really interesting to see how he reacted to it. I'd love to see more stories with those three students. Maybe their meeting a year later?

I just have to repeat: this is great!

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65522Chapter: 1
You know, I just finished watching four straight episodes of The West Wing, and I don't know if you're familiar with the show, but there is something very President Bartlet about your Dumbledore. It may very well be only because I've been so immersed in the show, but I found myself reading his lines in Martin Sheen's voice.

Which is a good thing, because you're obviously imbuing his dialogue with plenty of authority...and now that I think about it, the two characters have more in common than I ever noticed. Huh.

Anyway...this is probably one of the most bizarre reviews you've recieved...I think the use of the Tarot cards is very ingenious and I really do think it's a nice character study of Dumbledore. Looking forward to the next three chapters!

Reviewer: LauraKayDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63753Chapter: 4
Hello. I really liked this story. As I was reading, I thought that you had actually chosen cards specifically for your purpose; but as your Author's Note reports, you had actually read for the teachers! This is the most unusual thing and makes the fic even better. I hope you write more fascinating fics in the future! LK

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54746Chapter: 4
I loved this story! I work with the tarot myself so I know what it feels like to almost look into a person's soul with the cards. I have a dragon deck but I would love the cat one Leanora has. Keep on writing! We love you!

Reviewer: Claire JuliusDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37834Chapter: 4
I loved this story! I received a nifty set of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland tarrot cards for my eleventh birthday (an owl with an acceptance letter for Hogwarts would have been far better, but...) and had a great time attempting to do readings on myself and family based on the instructions that came in the box. I think that's awesome that you actually did readings for each of the professors yourself and I really liked your three original characters! :)

Reviewer: Jean LambDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34968Chapter: 1
I've done up the major arcana for a Hogwarts Tarot--wanna see?

Reviewer: RilinaDate: 2003-03-03
Reviewid: 22519Chapter: 4
(I think I may have reviewed this before at FF.net, but I thought a re-reading warranted a re-reviewing.)

There are so many great things about this story. First, I admire your confident and graceful use of prose. Second, of course, there are your great original characters. It's particularly interesting to see a depiction of cross-House friendships; we so often see the arrogance of individual houses (and not just Slytherin!) that it's fascinating to see believable characters who choose to rise above those rivalries and the obstacles that their friendships face.

I also enjoyed seeing Hogwarts students not named Hermione Granger taking a genuine interest in their schoolwork. ;-)

Hope to see more fics from you in the future!

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21747Chapter: 4
"She's decided to tackle Professor Snape, sir." "Figuratively speaking, one would hope." <Snort> Too funny!

I really like Roderick Haviland. Is he meant to be the elusive "good Slytherin"? *LOVED* his crack about the Fool representing a Ministry job in his future, and his comment about having to make nasty cracks every now and again to be allowed to stay in Slytherin.

This was such a fun story! Snape's reaction was totally spot-on, and I was intrigued by McGonagall's response. For someone who scorns Divination so much, she certainly seemed to be familiar enough with it to know that she didn't want to hear the reading. I also really liked the little details about the difficulties of inter-House friendships. It's no wonder that we don't see more inter-House friendships in the book; just finding a place to meet is a hardship. I like seeing characters who thought enough of one another to manage to become (or stay? I'd love to hear their backstory!) friends despite the difficulties.

I'm curently writing a Tarot scene for my fifth-year fic, but I cribbed all the details from a web site--I don't actually know anything about it--and I "cooked" the readings. I'm really impressed at your method; it's so cool that you really did these readings.

Reviewer: ishihanaDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20189Chapter: 1
I like this story. I liked how you portrayed the Rowling characters perfectly canon and original characters so interesting. Thank you :)

Reviewer: Ruth GiffordDate: 2003-01-29
Reviewid: 18252Chapter: 4
A very insightful, interesting character study. I've used the cards at times while writing fan fiction and have always found the results to be interesting if nothing else.

I'm glad I stumbled across this fic.

Reviewer: KasiaDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15477Chapter: 4
I'm surprised at how accurate some of those predictions seemed--especially Snape's. Are you sure you actually did readings for the characters? :) If so, remarkable coincidence.

Reviewer: Alexandra GrayDate: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12039Chapter: 4
I enjoyed that very much. I agree with your Tarot readings. Your characters seemed very like Rowling writes them which makes this so enjoyable.

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10169Chapter: 1
Really interesting! Love your Dumbledore, just the right mix of wisdom and whimsy: "...fortuen favors the bold..." and "She's decided to tackle Professor Snape, sir." "Figuratively speaking, one would hope," Dumbledore remarked. Those were my favorite lines, along with the Fool and Ministry quote. The idea of a dragon deck was also interesting. Can't wait to read Snape's future!

Reviewer: ZiskDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9663Chapter: 4
Those are the cards that turned up on your own reading? There may be more to this Divination stock than I've thought.

Very interesting and unique premise for a story. You wrote it well with all actions taken deliberately, and reasonable explanations given, instead of leaving things to chance. I thought the reactions of each Professor was dead accurate, beautiful job of staying true to canon. Snape's unflinching acceptance - excellent.

I especially enjoyed Roddy the Slytherin and his quip on being chucked out of his house. You have to wonder how the Slytherins who are half-way decent deal with the junior Death Eaters. Ashanti and Lenora also seem to depict their respective houses very well, and reacted to their readings in relative respects.

I really enjoyed this, well done.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9244Chapter: 4
Those were the cards that actually turned up? WICKED!!! I know nothing about tarot myself. Honestly, the whole thing scares me.

Roddy, Ashanti and Leanora's reactions to the readings that they did were warm, human and real. I truly enjoyed this story!!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9243Chapter: 3
Poor Snape and poor Leanora. Another insightful and disquieting reading. I enjoyed Leanora's thoughts on how Snape treats his Hufflepuffs and Ravenclaws, and how he acknowledges her skill at Potions. I enjoyed the very Snapey lecture when he told her not to look for happy endings and actually gave her a sort of backhanded compliment on having a gift!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9242Chapter: 2
Like Ashanti, Minerva's reading fills me with disquiet. You describe the deck, the cards and what they represent very well. And Ashanti is a delightful young woman. I liked her thoughts about the private lives of her teachers, and her laugh when she tried to picture Minerva collecting thimbles!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9241Chapter: 1
We don't see enough kind, decent Slytherins. As both Dumbledore and Haviland say, "ambition isn't necessarily a bad thing." It's a pleasure to meet Haviland. I like him and his dry sense of humor. His reading for Dumbledore is insightful. And I really enjoyed Dumbledore's reading for him.

Reviewer: SilverCatofBastDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4221Chapter: 4
Wow. Really, very, wow.
Cool, I like it. Maybe you should get a webpage to just put up stuff like this. And not nessiarily in story form. I'd like to just see what the results are and how they work when all is said and done at the end of the 7th book.
But the story form is cool, I just think it'd be easier on you to post the results if you don't need to bother with a storyline.
Later!

Reviewer: Portia Isabella VictoriaDate: 2002-09-11
Reviewid: 3713Chapter: 4
Really nice. I really enjoyed reading it. Great use of words and your vocabulary was very well establish as I would actually say. I'll just pat you on the back :pats on the back:
Portia

Reviewer: CarlottaDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2966Chapter: 4
Nice readings! I've been reading cards for over 20 years and I really enjoyed this idea. Just a couple of stray thoughts about the Page of Swords that kept turning up -- any chance it/he could have represented Harry Potter in relation to these characters??? Or a spy <g>
Lots of fun. You're right. It will be interesting to see if it's possible to divine a writer's future plots!

Reviewer: briteyes 8Date: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 123Chapter: 4
(Originally posted 4/4/02 10:41:06 am)

I just finished reading the two "Owl Surprise" stories, as well as "Fortune Favours the Bold."

First, I'm heavily interested in birds and birding, and have worked with owls before. You did an excellent job of presenting the birds and the people who care for them. Especially in the wake of Harry Potter, people have been trying to make owls into pets... which is a *really* bad idea (for both people and owls!). Not only did you address that (albeit indirectly), but both sections of "Owl Surprise" were really entertaining. Poor, poor, well-meaning Percy....

Secondly, thank you *so* much for the link at the end of "Fortune Favours..."!!! I love tarot, and have been collecting decks for years. You approached the readings in a very realistic way. How perfect Snape's reading was! How fitting that Dumbledore brings up The Fool!

Writing a reading isn't easy--I've tried to do the same in one of my fics (as yet 'unpublished'). Fascinating what you can come up with, isn't it?

Keep up the good work. Can't wait to read your other fics, but it'll have to wait, as I MUST get through that Aeclectica.com first....

Reviewer: Arabella1Date: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 121Chapter: 4
(Originally posted 1/5/02 1:50:56 pm)

Wow, what an unexpected premise, and how well fleshed out. You have an exellent style, the story moves swiftly even with all the information given, and your sureness-of-hand with the tarot cards made this story quite believable (not to mention fascinating. You did those readings at RANDOM? That's just... you'll pardon me... freakish. I think you have the Eye.) The way that Dumbledore, McGonagall and Snape each reacted to their readings was perfectly in character - Dumbledore's reversal of the situation on the student was a brilliant move; he'd absolutely do that. And thank you for writing a Slytherin who isn't running about trying to curse everyone to death. Sometimes ambition isn't filled with corruption. Sometimes. I thought McGonagall's aversion to the cards was really funny: especially liked that she had to wrestle with herself over which was more important, helping a student or saving herself from years of misty reminders from Sybill. Her choice was the one I would expect from a decent Deputy Headmistress and Gryffindor alum. And Snape... nice. Really nice. Making the girl who read his cards his top Potions student was what made it believable; I think he'd do a lot for a person who understood the beauty of Potions, the way that he does. And I was with her - that reading was scary and awful. I loved that he told her she probably really had the Gift, and that it wasn't usually a pleasant experience. Chilling.

Mostly, I appreciated the fact that these were three original (though they felt perfectly canon) seventh years, from different houses, who were friends and real *people*. I can see them as Hogwarts upperclassmen, and it's nice to see out-of-house trios finding each other in that strange world of divided tables and banners and common rooms. I really enjoyed this story, and look forward to reading your others.

Reviewer: YenDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 112Chapter: 4
(Originally posted 12/18/01 6:56:21 am)

Review for "Fortune Favors the Bold" from me, OC allergic patient. <g> I like it, and this time, I read through and finished it. I stumbled across FFtB at FF.net last September, I think. Back then, I read several lines, met your original character, Roderick Haviland and stopped reading. (sweats) I know. I know. (shame-faced) I'm a bad reader.

First off! Writing style. Seldes-san writes direct style. That's my impression of the way you tell the story. Straight to the point with no detours. The direct method is effective in this sort of story where a lot of information is presented. Not only must Haviland, Myers and Summerlee do readings for Dumbledore, McGonagall and Snape, they must pass on the meanings of the tarot cards to readers in a manner which is understandable and easy to visualize. (your OCs have very nice names, by the way)

(highlights easy to visualize & sweats again) I have to confess though I found it hard to picture the cards. (isn't a tarot enthusiast) I did get an idea of what they look like though when I went to the tarot site you mentioned. The dragon deck looks very very cool.

There is only one other story I can remember right now where someone did a tarot reading. It was in a Star Trek novel, "The Lost Years." The author's OC did a tarot reading for Spock. In this story though, I didn't have trouble visualizing the cards. That's because the point of view during the reading was from Dr. McCoy, and he knows very little about tarot. He described each card as he saw them... (thinks) I better read through that scene again. Maybe I imagined he described them. I do remember I could picture the cards in that book while I found it hard to see your cards in my head.

I know very little tarot.

I was scared when I found out that you actually took readings for the characters. (shivers) It's not that I dislike fortune-telling the way McGonagall does. Rather, I'm very superstitious about those sort of things. I actually believe that tarot works, and that is why I will probably never acquire a set of tarot cards. (was tempted though when I went to the tarot site)

Because I am afraid I might get the you-know-what card, I know I will never allow myself to be read.

(stares at the time) I think this review took me about the same time it took me to read your story. (sheepish grin) Zsenya is right. "Fortune Favors the Bold" is something good. I'm sorry I didn't read it properly the first time.

Reviewer: SadaSteelDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 11Chapter: 4
(Originally posted 1/8/02 12:06:20 am)

Spirit Quest:

I am really enjoying this so far. You are including research and knowledge from another culture without tokenizing it. I can't wait to see what the spirit quest has in store for Draco and Malfoy.

Reviewer: Mae CreevyDate: 2002-07-23
Reviewid: 10Chapter: 4
(Originally posted 12/23/01 8:03:15)

I absolutely loved "Fortune Favors the Bold" And I believe I own the Dragon Deck that was used in the first reading.

Reviewer: majiklmoon (posted 12/5/01 11:09:24 am )Date: 2002-07-23
Reviewid: 3Chapter: 4
I just read "Fortunes Favor the Bold" and I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it both as a HP fan and as a tarot reader.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --