The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Selecting Prefects
Review(s): 36

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-08-03
Reviewid: 144625Chapter: 1
The part where he says:
"Very well then," Dumbledore said, "I believe that concludes this meeting. I expect to see you all at the next one in...," he glanced at his watch, "two hours."

is HILARIOUS!

Reviewer: PrettypixieDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140414Chapter: 1
Love it! Very well written.

Reviewer: Katie BiliusDate: 2005-12-29
Reviewid: 137778Chapter: 1
My own theory of why they picked Malfoy was to distract him from any other things that might get him into trouble or to burden him with the Prefect duty so he doesn't have time to do bad things (for the DE. Great Story!!

Reviewer: PrettyPixieDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137431Chapter: 1
I love it!! I cant find one thing wrong with it!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-10
Reviewid: 135773Chapter: 1
Nice.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116798Chapter: 1
Very nicely written. I like the bickering between Snape and Mcgonagal quite nicely. And the reason you picked for the reason why they picked Malfoy is my favorite theory about that.

I especially liked the fact that you guessed about the barman being Dumbledore's brother when there were only a few hints. By know Jo has "practically" confirmed it.

(I see your point about Ron and his bravery.)

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112123Chapter: 1
Very Good, I loved how you captured the tension between Prof. Mcgonagall an Snape. Awsome.

Reviewer: SJSDate: 2004-12-12
Reviewid: 107573Chapter: 1
Nice arguement. That does make sense. Though for some reason I'm not sure of, I wish they had considered Dean Thomas along with Ron.

Reviewer: MicheDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105427Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. It was interesting to read you insight into the professor's lives, and they were totally in character.

Reviewer: ~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrongDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93891Chapter: 1
i like the two hours comment. thats funny. i like the story, its good!

~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrong

Reviewer: MiekeDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93369Chapter: 1
I like it!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 93025Chapter: 1
Very clever about Draco! That could very well be why he was chosen prefect! If that's not it than I don't know what is. Nice job!

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88864Chapter: 1
really good! i love Snape's determination to make Malfoy a prefect. its so like him! great story!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-06-11
Reviewid: 86723Chapter: 1
Really good! I think you've written the professors very well.

Reviewer: Serena WronskiDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84553Chapter: 1
I really love it. Its so well written and has the characters perfectly portrayed. I can just imagine tiny little Professor Flitwick being flustered with Malfoy as a prefect. Lovely. Very lovely.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84510Chapter: 1
thanks for this great little Missing Moment. It's reassuring to understand why Snape chose Malfoy. Also liked his little jab to McGonagall about MWPP.

nice job keeping everyone in character too!

Reviewer: Not AliceDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84472Chapter: 1
Good job on making this story believable, its not very original as most of the points in the story you made were obvious to other readers, but this short story flows nicely.

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84431Chapter: 1
Wow, this story is awesome! It's short, but nonetheless wonderful. I liked how you showed how each Head of House chose their Prefects, and I loved the conflict between Snape and McGonagall! wOOt! I also really liked how you incorperated Dumbledore refusing Harry's position as being Prefect - it seemed to fit really well with OotP. Overall, awesome job!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84296Chapter: 1
cute story, I do have to say that you've written McGonagall PERFECTLY.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83733Chapter: 1
What an interesting and original idea!
Your professors are in character, and the whole thing is quite believable, as well as fun to read. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: sabrinaDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83707Chapter: 1
Finally I have a minute to review this story. As I told you before I am really hooked by your story. I usually read the new chapters in high speed because I want to know what happens next. With this one was different. I read it slowly chewing every word. The way you wrote it is PERFECT!
While I was reading Order of the Phoenix I keep asking me why Draco was made a prefect. I usually thought that JK needed him on that role because he is the bad gay and Harry is the good gay. Draco was needed for the Inquisitorial Squad etc. I never imagined that it could be related to the Death Eaters, Snape and Lucious Malfoy.! It just fits in canon perfectly well.
I really admire your work; I hope you will update revelations soon.
This is the bests story there is to calm my anxiety until book 6 is released.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83626Chapter: 1
Good missing moment. You really capture the staff dynamics, especially between Snape and McGonagall. I like how you show the teachers honestly discussing the students.

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83481Chapter: 1
Very good. I like your writing style. You have interesting, powerful descriptions that really set the scene. Please keep it up!

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83381Chapter: 1
I haven't finished yet, I just wanted to say that I am SO glad I'm not the only one who thought the guy at the Hog's Head was Dumbledore's brother. Now I'm going back to finish. Good so far.

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83367Chapter: 1
Good story and interesting take on how Ron and Draco were chosen Prefect. I'm not sure if I agree with how it came about, though Ron's selection in your story is probably pretty accurate. I can't decide about Draco though. Nicely written.d

Reviewer: Too_Many_SoxDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83335Chapter: 1
Woow. I don't know what it was about it, but I really liked it.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83303Chapter: 1
Wow, awesome job. I really like all the teacher interactions we see here, especially Snape and McGonagall. Snape's subtle jab at James and Sirius was a nice touch, because certainly from his point of view they were worse (though not from mine). I've come to think recently that Snape favors Malfoy for the very reasons you cited, so I'm glad you made that connection with his getting the badge. I like that Sprout and Flitwick were against Malfoy being a prefect too, because if not for his being a Malfoy he certainly would not have become one. Nicely done!

Reviewer: SABRINADate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83285Chapter: 1
Hi Cendrillon, I am having a very busy day so I will read this fic tonight.
Do you go into the forums? Which one?
Sabrina

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83268Chapter: 1
nicely done - good reasoning behind all the choices, especially with Snape. I especially liked his comment about bullies and how he remembered some Gryffindors who were worse than Malfoy. That was a great way to subtly work in some of the information we get from book 5.

Reviewer: ...Date: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83258Chapter: 1
Reasonably well written - however, you must take some things into consideration.

Work on dialogue and speech/rhythm patterns. Take a line of Minerva's: "Harry does well in most of his classes and he has shown a great deal of responsibility. Look at all that he accomplished this year." - I don't think you have captured the way she would talk to Snape here. The last sentence, for example, would be more convincing if you had her say, "Let me remind you, Severus, of all that he has accomplished this year," or "I would ask you, Severus, to cast your mind back to all that he has accomplished this year."

'After so many years of peace, the chaos inherently linked with Lord Voldemort was back and affecting even a job as seemingly simple as selecting prefects.' - As this is, I feel, the main purpose of the story, I do not think you should have made it quite so explicit, but rather either said it rather more subtly or not have said it at all.

Reviewer: LilaDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83255Chapter: 1
This is a good story. I just, in a way, wish that Ron had never been made prefect. Knowing that he didn't "deserve" it (straight from Dumbledore's mouth!) hurts my heart. I can't wait to read more from you.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83232Chapter: 1
Nice story! I'm especially in awe of the start, in which you display excellent writing. Of course, I also like the part after that, with Snape and McGonagall bickering, and the occiasional calm intervention of Flitwick and Sprout.

Actually, I never thought of this reason why Malfoy was made a Prefect. But after reading this, it makes much sense. Thanks for sharing this!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83220Chapter: 1
This is a very good story, and one about a topic I hadn't seen treated before. Your handling of the Professors is great, but I particularly liked your McGonagall.

Once again, you have proved to be an awesome writer. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83189Chapter: 1
That was an interesting point of view on prefect choices. I agree that Snape would be unlikely to approve or/like having either Harry or Ron as Prefect. Suggesting that Theodore Nott was a better choice appears to fit in with the new information on JKR's site. (Congrats on that).

Reviewer: ShinaLarisDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83188Chapter: 1
This is truly an original idea. I agree with every reasons you've written in the fic of whether who should and should not become prefects. Great fic!

Reviewer: CareyDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83187Chapter: 1
This was brilliantly written, and I'm extremely glad that Ron was made prefect in the books. I love this story about how the boys were chosen. I can't wait to read the next chapter of Revelations. Keep up your wonderful writing! ~*Carey*~

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --