The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 42

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137229Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: SheridanDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124599Chapter: 1
Wow!! This is a great story!! I strongly request a sequel possibly? It's fabulous...nice work!

Reviewer: DorianDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105229Chapter: 1
Sweeet, GREAT last line! Finally, someone who realizes how assertive Ginny is. How refreshing! Again: I absolutely love Harry's last line :-) Let's all hope so.

Reviewer: BowserbabeDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94637Chapter: 1
That was awesome! You know, that would be a realy great premise for another h/g story.(hint-hint!!)
Thanks!!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94058Chapter: 1
Great description of the scenery and emotions. Nice ending. Good start to a romance.

Reviewer: whizbeeDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92177Chapter: 1
I just read your story "Sunrise in the Mourning" and...and I just realized what your title actually said...wow, that's really good! Sorry, but I really did just realize that. The connotations are wonderful, and the pun on words too! Anyway, that is a magnificent story. Often times, when people write "missing moments," they don't really fit the story well. One thing I would have liked to see more of in OotP was the way Harry was feeling. JKR didn't let us see more of his grief, but made it a sort of numbness. You let us see into Harry's heart and observe what he is experiencing, so thank you. I am now very annoyed that I didn't discover this story until it was up on the Quill for almost two months.

Also, Ginny was very much in character. None of that old shyness; for example, she is not averse to clapping her hand over his mouth or helping him up off the ground. And even though she reminds him of Mrs. Weasley and Harry is smart enough to realize that he'd do better to just do what she says, this particular character trait in Ginny isn't thrown in the reader's face. Ginny's not antagonistic all of a sudden. It's all in moderation, and you make it funny too: "terrified expression." Hee.

So really, the characterization is perfect, with the one minor exception of Harry's last line. That line is shippiness perfection, and I sighed when I read it, but I don't think Harry would really say that. On the other hand, when you describe how Harry felt after she'd held his hand was wonderful. He was confused because he didn't know what it meant but we did. It was lovely.

Reviewer: KaitDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85177Chapter: 1
Hey Maggie!! I'm so slow on things - I just realized you were here!


Anyway, this story is so great it's unsane. I love how subtle it is. You *know* H/G is the ship, but then again it may not be. Great job! I'm going to expect more now!

~K

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84044Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so good. I really liked it-- the banter was great, the emotions were very real. Spectacular.

Reviewer: SteppsDate: 2004-05-21
Reviewid: 83823Chapter: 1
Wow HG, that was really good! Very nice descriptive work and you really put Harry's feelings right out there. And Ginny's too, though you hid them nicely behind jumpers and help-me-ups and hands-on-hips. How come I didn't know you were writing a fic, huh?!

Stepps

Reviewer: skylarkingDate: 2004-05-21
Reviewid: 83772Chapter: 1
"He considered the question for a moment, and then, for the first time in days, he smiled. “No Ginny, you’re not going to have to wait on me forever,” he answered, and he started after her back to the castle."

just brilliant

Reviewer: Too_Many_SoxDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83754Chapter: 1
AAHHH!!!! The last two paragraphs were perfect!!!! Yay!!!! LOL

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83747Chapter: 1
That's such a sweet moment. You should defiently write a H/G story. I know it would be great.

Reviewer: SabrinaDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83706Chapter: 1
This was wonderful, I love the way you described Harry´s feelings when Ginny tousched his hand!

Reviewer: PaulaDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83670Chapter: 1
Please, please write more!!!!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83637Chapter: 1
OH MY. SO unbelievably, perfectly in character it's CRizAZY. This could definitely have been just snipped right out of the book, except for the ending because, although it was wonderful, I just couldn't see JKR writing something so shippy. I mean, well obviously she'll write a ship, (H/G, of course) but do you know what I mean by shippy? I'm finding I can't really explain it. I guess it's like romantic perfection, which you find a lot in fanfic because people like romance to be perfect. JKR probably realizes that it's not. With this shippiness, Harry realizes that Ginny's question can be interpreted on two levels and, by answering both questions, gives a little clue in doing so. I think without shippiness, the two levels would be there for the readers to see, (or at least all the cool readers like us at the Sugarquill,) but Harry would neither recognize nor acknowledge it. He'd probably just smile and say, "I'm coming." But anyway, I loved it. And I pride myself in seeing the symbolism in the beginning, thank you very much. I get very happy when I catch on to symbolism because it makes me feel smart. I really loved how Harry said practically nothing (so in character) but Ginny seemed to read his mind because she understands him (so in character). My favorite part was Bill's sweater (so in character). It was like, crazy in character madness all the way through. Yayness! Encore, encore!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83634Chapter: 1
OH MY. SO unbelievably, perfectly in character it's CRizAZY. This could definitely have been just snipped right out of the book, except for the ending because, although it was wonderful, I just couldn't see JKR writing something so shippy. I mean, well obviously she'll write a ship, (H/G, of course) but do you know what I mean by shippy? I'm finding I can't really explain it. I guess it's like romantic perfection, which you find a lot in fanfic because people like romance to be perfect. JKR probably realizes that it's not. With this shippiness, Harry realizes that Ginny's question can be interpreted on two levels and, by answering both questions, gives a little clue in doing so. I think without shippiness, the two levels would be there for the readers to see, (or at least all the cool readers like us at the Sugarquill,) but Harry would neither recognize nor acknowledge it. He'd probably just smile and say, "I'm coming." But anyway, I loved it. And I pride myself in seeing the symbolism in the beginning, thank you very much. I get very happy when I catch on to symbolism because it makes me feel smart. I really loved how Harry said practically nothing (so in character) but Ginny seemed to read his mind because she understands him (so in character). My favorite part was Bill's sweater (so in character). It was like, crazy in character madness all the way through. Yayness! Encore, encore!

Reviewer: TalimeekaDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83631Chapter: 1
I love this story. The angst in the beginning, Ginny, Harry, and especially the ending with the double meaning. It was very in character. Lovely!

Reviewer: Kat SoloDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83617Chapter: 1
Very cute. Well written and good characterization. I just love their statements at the end. So very poetic and very Harry/Ginny.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83602Chapter: 1
Yea! Yea! It's wonderful! I love how you nailed Ginny. The descriptions are beautiful and evocative. Great ending.

Reviewer: AuroraDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83596Chapter: 1
This was nicely done. The description was perfect so that I got a feel of what everything looked and felt like, but not so much that it bogged down the story. I especially like the double meaning in the last sentence Harry says. (At least, I *think* you meant it to have a double meaning :P)

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83591Chapter: 1
LOVE the double meaning at the end! Awesome. Great fic. Wonderful imagery.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83589Chapter: 1
Okay. I lasted through ALL of that without squeeing ONCE, until I got to the last paragraph, and then my inner...squeeing thing...just collapsed.

That and I feel like I'm going to cry. Those two are so amazing together.

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83578Chapter: 1
Oh! What a wonderful idea for a story! It was marvelous, very well written. And I love that last line. It has so many ways to interepret it...*giggle*

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83567Chapter: 1
Nice job on the whole story, but I especially liked the ending. It was understated, but more effective because of that understatement. This feels true to how I expect JKR to begin developing Harry and Ginny's relationship.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83563Chapter: 1
Aw, cunning!
Nice little piece, really well written, and not too fluffy or cliched. It felt really natural. Well done!

Reviewer: JorgieDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83557Chapter: 1
I like this missing moment especially the very end and i think that you kept them in charcter

Reviewer: DsneyvoiceDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83541Chapter: 1
That was great! And very in character, I thought. I especially liked the last two lines-a perfect ending.

I'd love to see this from Ginny's p.o.v!

Reviewer: sabrinaDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83537Chapter: 1
Lovely! Very well writen!
I wish JK gives us something like this!!

Reviewer: B.J.Date: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83534Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I love that last part. Love the double meaning you put there.

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83519Chapter: 1
Ooooh. I like! Your Ginny is very on, I like her...definteily not someone to be messed with! Your Harry is very good too, line-in-line with canon Harry - up until the last sentence, I think. Don't get me wrong, I'm a diehard Orange Crush shipper and an H/G writer myself...but the last line struck me as having a bit too many implications a bit too fast (note that I am highly guilty of this sort of thing myself, in my own fiction, so I'm definitely not saying I would have done anything differently if in your shoes). All in all a wonderful story to wake up to. I hope to see more from you in the future!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83469Chapter: 1
*sigh*

unbelievably fluffy and lovely, just the way i like them! keep it up, please!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83449Chapter: 1
Oh...I like the double entendre at the end! I really do hope that the girl gets the boy in the end, that Harry finally comes to his senses and realizes that Ginny's the one for him...

I enjoyed reading your story very much and look forward to reading more of your stories.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83448Chapter: 1
Hey-know me, from UR.net? Hey!

This is a beautiful fic. First off, I love the title. Secondly, I love how everyone (it sounds a bit silly to say that, when there was all of two characters) was in character. Thirdly, I just like this idea for a missing moment. Ginny ROX, doesn't she, because she knows when to tell Harry to stop feeling sorry for himself.

-Linnet, who isn't sure if that made any sense.

Reviewer: Severus' WifeDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83434Chapter: 1
Your first fic here it looks like. Bloody good, if I do say so myself. Short, sweet, to the point, without a lot of drivel and fluff.

Nice job!

Reviewer: LolestherDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83429Chapter: 1
Very Good!!!!!!! I liked it!!!

Reviewer: =)Date: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83425Chapter: 1
I would have expected harry to explode, but the story is still very nice ^_^

Reviewer: CarissaDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83422Chapter: 1
That was really good. Really, really good. I loved the double-meaning of the last lines. (I'm assuming it was intentional?)

Reviewer: IQFDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83411Chapter: 1
Good ending! Actually, all of the story was great, but a very well said close.

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83407Chapter: 1
It's a happy day for H/G shippers! :P I love this, very cute... not too mushy... and the ending is just perfect. Let's hope she doesn't have to!

~Ella

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83403Chapter: 1
<<He considered the question for a moment, and then, for the first time in days, he smiled. “No Ginny, you’re not going to have to wait on me forever,” he answered, and he started after her back to the castle.>>

**sigh** this is lurvely. not too sappy, nice & short; just a simple moment inside a friendship, with the promise of much, much more.

we look forward to reading more from you. (more H/G wouldn't come amiss...)

Reviewer: HallieDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83391Chapter: 1
cute, luv the ending... more than one meaning, eh?

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83384Chapter: 1
Oh, I'm so glad to see your name here. Your story is even better with your beta's input. I really like the "terrifying look" on her face, and the play on words with "waiting."
Can't wait to see more of your work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --