The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115335Chapter: 1
Hmm thoughts of a drunk hmm

Reviewer: Evil WombatDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98039Chapter: 1
Oooh! Very very good! It was short, but powerful--and just what I wanted to read right now, so thanks! I really like Dudley and Vernon's view of magic in this fic. When I read about the Dursley's hatred of all things magical in canon, I've always thought they were absolutly stupid. I mean, yes, magic is strange, but there's no reason for child abuse, and all the over-over-OVER-reactions (Please is the magic word--come on!). But you're take on it makes sense. I can see how Dudley would envy Harry even as he detests everything about the wizarding world--and his totally WRONG ideas about the wizarding world were great. I'm really pleased with this fic, I must say. Bravo! I hope to see more of your writing in the near future!

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89044Chapter: 1
Wow! brilliantly done, luuurve Big D's pissed PoV! write more, please!

Reviewer: The Dreaming TrumpeterDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85945Chapter: 1
I like this a lot! I gives an interesting look into what must be going on in Dudly's mind.

Reviewer: SeluneDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84834Chapter: 1
this was chilling. HTer'ssomeoen to keep in midn, if voldemrot ever coes across this boy he coudl make great use of Dudley's feelings.

Reviewer: NormDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84110Chapter: 1
This is a pretty good story. I think it certainly captures the jealousy and anger that Dudley may have after the Dementor attack. Having grown up listening to what Vernon has to say about the Potters' death and Harry, I can see him consumed by these feelings.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84102Chapter: 1
Wonderful...the most realistic Dudley I've seen, apart from canon. I don't know what to say but absolutely perfect...congrats for getting into SQ! I hope to see more work from you here.

-Linnet

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84099Chapter: 1
Very nice, I liked the realistic characterization and the truthful thought process. His father drinks and brandy under stress... what will Dudley do? Of course.

Very good, I liked this a lot.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84090Chapter: 1
Oh, I do hope you are going to write more. You've done a great job of getting into Dudley's head, and you actually make his thoughts seem - reasonable - coming from him. The idea that he sees Harry moving toward "autonomy and privilege" would be shocking to Harry, but I can see how Dudley sees that. Can you see Dudley and Snape crying into their scotch together? Nice work.

Reviewer: scruffyDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83992Chapter: 1
A very interesting take. One can see his parents influence on him. This could make for a very interesting summer for Harry if you would follow the story to his fifth/sixth year summer.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83991Chapter: 1
Wow, this was really good; you had us feel sorry for poor Dudley.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83983Chapter: 1
Seeing inside the depths of Dudley's mind...a chilling experience! This was brilliantly written, and shows very realistically how Dudley views Harry. It was a fascinating story.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83976Chapter: 1
I do believe Dudley is jealous as well as vindictive. This is a terrific study of Dudley's psyche and reaction to the Dementor attack. You have captured the essence of this character and really brought him to life. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83953Chapter: 1
Wow. I really enjoyed this story. You did an excellent job delving into Dudley's mind. I liked the idea that Dudley is jealous of Harry and feels that anything Harry gets is something that should be his.

I hope to read more of your work.

Melissa

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83941Chapter: 1
Wow. I've never read a Dudley story before, but this was amazing. Very realisitic portrayal of Dudley's feelings towards Harry, and magic, and the dementors. I feel I understand him much better from having read this, and actually feel quite sorry for him now. Great job on getting that through my thick skull. I'll be glad to read any more stories you write!

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83936Chapter: 1
AWESOME story!! I love your writing style, very descriptive. I look forward to more stories from you.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83926Chapter: 1
Wow. I like this - while I'd like Harry and Dudley to come to terms with each other, I think your depiction of the situation is far more realistic. I also like your portrayal of Dudley and his point of view. I feel like I've come to a better understanding of his character, something I haven't been able to do with very many fanfictions that try to explore Dudley's personality. Thanks for writing this!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --