The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: An Affair to Forget
Review(s): 88

Reviewer: Moon GoddessDate: 2006-11-01
Reviewid: 146035Chapter: 1
What a delight! I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Snape in such a pickle. And it is perfectly in character for Lockhart to be so oblivious and so enamored with himself that he can't believe that anyone else - male or female wouldn't also be.

Two things popped into my mind that might have tweaked it a lttle bit more IMHO. First, instead of explaining Lockhart's attraction to Snape by his "smarts" I think playing off of the steorotype of good girl falling for bad guy because he is dangerous would have been fun. Lockhart could have asked him about being a Death Eater, etc. Then Lockhart could have tried to make himself seem "dangerous/mysterious" by telling Snape that he wasn't as innocent as he seemed but had a few tricks up his own sleeve. That would have forshadowed what we eventually learn about Lockhart and tied it all together nicely.

Reviewer: fableheartDate: 2006-08-04
Reviewid: 144627Chapter: 1
u r t3h br1ll14n7 roflamo zomg th1s flix r0xrs wtf u r s0 funnee y4y

Okay, sorry. I was inspired by your crazy/madcap awesomeness at everything and his wife's daughter-in-law (twice removed). Brilliance.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140367Chapter: 1
You are mental. And anyone who does not read your work is the poorer for it.

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138469Chapter: 1
*snort* Fantastical! You truly do have a way with words and descriptions.

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134902Chapter: 1
What a delightful story! It is certainly refreshing to see male/male relationships explored in a context without sex. I very much enjoyed the light, crisp humor. And I very much like that it very vaguely (and I guess logically) sets up Remus's appointment in the next year. So Dumbledore, that.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134653Chapter: 1
I still love you. You're still a fabulous writer person. Rock on!

Reviewer: AebhelDate: 2005-09-23
Reviewid: 133068Chapter: 1
.....
........
.............

Oh, dear God. That was absolutely hilarious. And it would neatly add yet one more reason to the list of Why Severus Does Not Like Remus.

Thanks for the laugh...I needed it. Although it is your fault that my roomates are looking at me like I'm a lunatic.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131761Chapter: 1
poor Lupin! man, it's been a long time since i've read anything with Lockhart in it... I miss hime, one of the funniest charactars in the whole book! and with Snape?!? I'm half laughing and half gagging! Love it ti a tee!

Reviewer: Crikkita and CopperBeechDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131641Chapter: 1
I (Crikkita) just read this out loud to my housemate (CopperBeech), and we both laughed out loud. That was so much fun! Snape was so delightfully surly, and Lockhart was so amusingly self-absorbed. Yay!

CopperBeech is still chuckling about the ending, by the way. :-)

Reviewer: anbieDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129018Chapter: 1
Once again, I present to you my box of shiny sharp objects:

“The difference between your time and mine, Lockhart, is that mine is important. Yours is merely inconvenient.” <-- so Snape-ish XD

Dear Lockhart,


I hate you. Die.


Sincerely,


Severus S. Snape

*snickers*



From: Severus lost what little patience he had. “YOU BLITHERING IMBECILE!” he shouted. “I DO NOT LIKE YOU! I DO NOT LIKE MEN! I AM SEXUALLY ATTRACTED TO WOMEN!” Professors Vector and Sinistra turned to look at him. He snapped his head in their direction. “You heard me!”

Blithering bitch-boy to...

“Oh, Lock—Gilderoy,” said Severus, wanting to bite his own tongue off, “I can lie to you no longer. You have seen through my mask of blind, unrelenting hatred, into the soft... erm... softness within.Though you have... have... bewitched my mind and ensnared my senses, I fear that I cannot... act upon these feelings.” Really sell it now, he thought. “My heart belongs to another, and I must remain loyal to him.”

... a calm love fool in all of 30 seconds, yes folks you too can keep ahold of you r anger for only..$5.99 a day..

right. just sorta (sorta being the key word XD)turned into a prosac comercial before my eyes. XD

so basically in my extremely twisted way, I'm trying to say, marvelous work old chap.

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126484Chapter: 1
Thanks for the laugh. I needed one today. I would have liked to see more reaction from Vector and Sinestra though.

Reviewer: AnaxandraDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 124991Chapter: 1
AKWARD! Bloody akward, your majesty

Reviewer: SnorkackCatcherDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 123949Chapter: 1
Entertaingly funny, nice wrinkle at the end.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2005-05-22
Reviewid: 122603Chapter: 1
Every time I see the summary for this story, I think it's a serious one and skip over it...then, when I've read everything else you've written and am getting desperate, I open it and go "OH YEAH! THIS story!"

*facepalm* This is so freaking hilarious. It never fails to send me into gales of hysterical laughter, cursing my stupidity. I love it. Your brilliance knows no bounds. Damn you.

Reviewer: CamryDate: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120384Chapter: 1
I can't breathe for laughing. This is one of the funniest ficlets I've ever read. Bravo on keeping Snape and Lockhart so in character through such an extreme situation.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111778Chapter: 1
ERLACK! ERLACK A PONGOES!!!!!
Snape and ... Remus?
I suppose it's better than snape and lockheart, now that I think about it.
Hmmm.
But, still,
Erack! Smashing story,
with love from Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: ButterfliesDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109859Chapter: 1
Oh how I love Snape in a foul mood!

He used words like, “ensnare” and “bewitch” and “Lockhart, I will have your skull as a salad bowl.”

Bloody brilliant

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2005-01-01
Reviewid: 109429Chapter: 1
Hilarious!!!! You portrayed Lockhart exactly as i imagined him to be. Such a perfect explaination of why Lupin was picked as the DADA teacher. after reading this, i realise i'm totally a huge fan of Snape and Dumbledore! Can we have a Sequel??!! please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: LeslieDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107841Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I really love your fics; they're extremely funny without taking themselves too seriously. Yet you still manage to have accurate characterization.

Little things like your description of the particular shade of pink of the valentine make your work really fun. Lastly, thank you sooooooooooo much for actually paying attention to grammer and spelling.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106042Chapter: 1
HAHAHAH!!! it's so funny!!!!! while others might find the puns cliched, i really liked them. i also LOVED snape's 1st letter to lockhart: "i hate you. die." the simplicity of it is both brilliant and hilarious. dumbledore's conversation with snape was also great in its simplicity.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105105Chapter: 1
Hahaaaa, perfect. I love your portrayal of Snape.

Reviewer: KarriDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104752Chapter: 1
eeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww...........

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103766Chapter: 1
Don't think I've laughed so much since...uhh...since the last time you posted. You're one of the few people who actually know what to do with Gilderoy Lockhart, and the results are astounding.

Reviewer: Green EyesDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103133Chapter: 1
Very giglle worthy fic that I found through the Nifflers. I enjoyed Snapes utter bewilderment at Lockheart's crush and how he tried to deter him but failed. Nicely written.

Reviewer: QueenCDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102530Chapter: 1
Oh. My. Muggle. God. This was brilliant! I just loved it!

As a Snupin shipper, the ending had me grinning from ear to ear. But, aside from that, your portrayel of Severus was wonderful. It had me chuckling the entire time. And even though I cannot STAND Gilderoy Lockheart, I still completely enjoyed this fic.

Wonderful job!

*applauds*

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100285Chapter: 1
omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg...
THAT IS SO DAMN FUNNI!!!!!!!!! i wuz laffing for like, ever, and i held it with alot of difficulty! I LOVE you writing, Jack!!!

Goldfish

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100228Chapter: 1
Fantastic! Loved it! Great ending - just perfect.

Keep up the good work!
Lauren

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99639Chapter: 1
*dies laughing!* Hysterical! I thought for a minute there that Snape was going to say Albus was his True Love, but Remus is even better! Wouldn't Severus just DIE to know he was the reason Albus got back in touch? :)

Reviewer: FionaDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99415Chapter: 1
My god, this was hilarious. Congratulations on your Niffle on Fictionalley, by the way, it was well-earned.

Reviewer: Daphne23Date: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99372Chapter: 1
This was wonderful. And Lockhart was perfectly in-character, which worries me slightly. The first paragraph was particularly excellent; what a good way of putting things. I loved this:
'Severus did not use words like “fancy.” He used words like, “ensnare” and “bewitch” and “Lockhart, I will have your skull as a salad bowl.”'
It seemed a little strained that Snape would start pretending to like Lockhart simply to get rid of him, but it worked in the context of this fic, even if perhaps not completely in-character. I only found a few nitpicks; 'Then he simply through the whole letter in the fire of the staffroom.' (I think you meant 'threw'). There seems to be a word missing here: 'his hatred towards the man, Lockhart, in a flourish of pink'.
However, I only mention these because it's a shame to have the flow of something this funny and well-written broken up by a few typos.

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99359Chapter: 1
I read this after the fic was Niffled on FAP. The thought of Snape/Lockhart pairing is not anything that I would ever have considered. Heck, the thought of Snape/anyone (including himself) is not something I want to ever consider. Because, well...I'd prefer to think of him as a monk and totally celibate. Otherwise it gives me the heebeejeebies.

With that being said, I thought your fic was incredibly funny. Lockhart was just as annoying here as he is in canon.

That must have been incredibly fun for you to write. I also really liked some of the lines that you wrote regarding Snape and not liking the word "fancy." Spot on.

And it was a very nice ending with bringing up Remus Lupin's name. Nice humorous twist at the end.

Very nice.

Athena

Reviewer: Cheesy MonkeyDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98748Chapter: 1
OMFG! That was hilarious! *bursts out laughing* Geez, the whole thing... It was really good! And especially liked Snape's letter:

"Dear Lockhart,
I hate you. Die.
Sincerely,
Severus S. Snape"

*cracks up* Simple, yet eloquent. I really like this idea of how Remus came to Hogwarts.. Tee hee. Anyways, I'll leave you be now. -The Cheese

Reviewer: Cheesy MonkeyDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98747Chapter: 1
OMFG! That was hilarious! *bursts out laughing* Geez, the whole thing... It was really good! And especially liked Snape's letter:

"Dear Lockhart,
I hate you. Die.
Sincerely,
Severus S. Snape"

*cracks up* Simple, yet eloquent. I really like this idea of how Remus came to Hogwarts.. Tee hee. Anyways, I'll leave you be now. -The Cheese

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98391Chapter: 1
HILARIOUS! Good heavens, that made me laugh! Spiffing job - really a funny way to get Remus's name into Dumbledore's head. Polite applause and cookies all around!

Reviewer: KPhoebeDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98387Chapter: 1
This was so cute! I particularly loved this line:

<i>Severus looked over his response to Lockhart's valentine, and removed the word “Dear.”</i>

Nice fic!

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97914Chapter: 1
If metaphors and similes were desserts, yours would be cheesecake. Assuming that one likes cheesecake, of course.

Reviewer: AbbaDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95068Chapter: 1
"The conversation, which had gone downhill from the beginning, became vertical."

Brilliant!

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94097Chapter: 1
"It was a bit like church and state. Either did well enough left alone, but the combination of the two tended to result in trouble, chaos, and, in extreme cases, fire being set to people."- What a way to begin! :0) You really do have quite a way with words.

&#8220;Lockhart, I will have your skull as a salad bowl.&#8221; -This line made me giggle like an idiot. I have no idea why, but in the context I was able to completely invision Snape sitting there, eating breakfast, thinking exactly that.

As always, another wonderful job. I really enjoyed reading this and I can't wait to see what you come up with next.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92800Chapter: 1
Oh, what a tangled web we weave! And meanwhile Lupin is just minding his own business, attempting to fix a large bite in his kitchen table, when he gets a sudden creepy kind of feeling, as though he has become unknowingly part of some plot to deal with an unwanted admirer... WAIT! Jack Ichijouji, you nasty thing! That is a filthy and scurrilous thing to imply about poor ol' Lupin!

Reviewer: KoreyDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87474Chapter: 1
This was adorable. Absolutely brilliant. I was cracking up. "Dear Lockheart, I hate you. Die. Sincerely, Severus S. Snape." Hee. Very very cute.

Reviewer: FayDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87147Chapter: 1
*hugs him* Thanks for being such a funny writer. All your stories have me actually laughing aloud!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86845Chapter: 1
I love it! "more effort seemed to have been put into the signature than the letter itself" You captured Lockharts massive head perfectly. Remus is a lucky man.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86599Chapter: 1
This is absolutely hi-LAR-ious, as well as a perfectly plausible (okay, so maybe not "perfectly" <wink, wink>) explanation for why Dumbledore might have contacted Lupin. :P

>>Dear Lockhart,

I hate you. Die.

Sincerely,

Severus S. Snape<<

Bwah-hah-hah! Well done, indeed.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86572Chapter: 1
So utterly perfectly ironic!

Of course, my favourite lines include the "salad bowl" one; the "church and state" thought; the "vertical" one; Snape's "poison pen" letter (sorry, couldn't resist);

**“The difference between your time and mine, Lockhart, is that mine is important. Yours is merely inconvenient.”

**The signature had more curves and curls than a tangled Slinky. (great simile here)

**“Dumbledore, the man *fancies* me! Fire him!” - makes me wonder how he'd react to anybody else fancying him :P

**Severus’ face tried to express many different levels of frustration.

**With his luck, Lockhart would think that Severus was simply playing hard-to-get, while he was really trying to play impossible-to-get-because-I-like-women-and-hate-you.

**“Burn. In. Hell.”

**“You're very smart, you know, I like that in a potential match.” - roflmaofgaghagfg *wipes tears*

**He vaguely wondered how much trouble he'd get into for murdering the Defense Against the Dark Arts professor. Probably more than it was worth. - definitely, considering this is Lockhart

**“I can lie to you no longer. You have seen through my mask of blind, unrelenting hatred, into the soft... erm... softness within.Though you have... have... bewitched my mind and ensnared my senses, I fear that I cannot... act upon these feelings.” - *cries with laughter*

My only criticism: Dumbledore would not say "candy". Dumbledore would say "sweet." Thank-you for a wonderful story. :)

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: scgDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86568Chapter: 1
Each story gets funnier. You're obviously brilliant, and I am not because I LOL at work when I read:

"I hate you. Die"

In fact, I'm still snickering over it. Excellent as always!

Reviewer: ArianaEvansDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86474Chapter: 1
This is definitely the most hilarious fanfic I've ever read!! Poor, poor Professor Lockhart...

Keep writing parodies; I love them!!

~ArianaEvans

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86412Chapter: 1
Hilarious! OMG! I almost choked. Poor Snape

Reviewer: basilDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86380Chapter: 1
'Severus did not use words like “fancy.” He used words like, “ensnare” and “bewitch” and “Lockhart, I will have your skull as a salad bowl.”'

Brilliant, brilliant, as ever. :)

*snickers quietly to herself* Thanks :D

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86340Chapter: 1
This is the second time I've read your story, and I laughed just as much. Others have quoted some of your brilliant lines, all of which had me in stitches, but another of my favorites is this: Burn. In. Hell.

The Jolly Rancher was a nice touch too. Somehow it's so wrong, it makes the whole following scene with Dumbledore funnier.

Simply brilliant. :)

Reviewer: elphieDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84267Chapter: 1
Mwahahahaha. I love your snape. I laughed my butt off.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84242Chapter: 1
A hilarious little story, in spite of - or perhaps because of - its improbabilities. Your portrayal of Snape cracked me up.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84210Chapter: 1
pah-hahahahahaha! how do you come up with this stuff?

in the words of Rupert Grint-Ron, "you're a little scary. you know that don't you? brilliant, but scary..."

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84200Chapter: 1
Hilarity. The thought of Snape even having any kind of extended conversation with Lockhart is enough to bring on laughter, but Snape putting on affection for Lupin - now, that's the stuff that genius is made of. Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84161Chapter: 1
::dies laughing::

::convulses on the floor::

......

Jack, I've come back from the dead to tell you that not only are you hilarious, you're utterly insane as well. I'm a little bit afraid of the strange workings of your mind. :)

But not too afraid to tell you that this was hilarious and that you are fantabuluous and a lot more awesome than I think you shall ever realize. :)

feel free to get a swelled head, you deserve it.

::climbs back into grave to convulse a little more::

~TPR
PS ::snickers:::

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84144Chapter: 1
Dude....
You write the best stories EVER!

Reviewer: DillybeanDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84138Chapter: 1
That was the best! Very very very very funny. Good job! I liked Severus' letter to Lockhart the best...Lockhart, I hate you. Die. LOL!

Reviewer: RomulusDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84137Chapter: 1
Great as usual! I especially loved Severus' letter to Lockhart.

Reviewer: maidenjediDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84125Chapter: 1
Well done, Jack! This had me rolling for an hour. Snape was perfect, and Lockhart was *sly*.

And Dumbledore, especially at the very end, was perfect.

Again I say, well done!

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84108Chapter: 1
lol! This is GREAT! PERFECT! lol! Brilliant, and everybody is totally IC, especially... well, everybody!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84107Chapter: 1
Simply priceless! I am laughing so hard, or at least I would be if it wasn't midnight. Really, this is hilarious! I've got to add it to my favorites.

-Linnet

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84095Chapter: 1
ROTFLMAO! I haven't laughed that hard in a very long time, thank you!

Reviewer: Sergeant MajoretteDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84092Chapter: 1
That made me giggle. I love a good non sequitur.

Reviewer: EstieDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84073Chapter: 1
Jack, you should write books. And I mean, NOW!
That was hilarious. Just great. By making Snape even nastier, you have made him completely lovable. No wonder Lockhart fancies him...

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84055Chapter: 1
Oh, that was just perfect! I'm sailing the GL/SS ship from now on with its salad bowls for skulls and a jolly roger as a flag. I've never felt so sorry for Snape--hope the eye twitch calms down soon. Such a good paradoy of all the crazy ship fics out there!

Reviewer: PhoenixWingsDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84052Chapter: 1
And now for my real review:

I've always loved the dynamic between Snape and Lockhart, both in canon and in fanon (well, not all fanon). You portray it perfectly...down to Lockhart's hysterically failed attempts at the seduction of everything that moves and Severus' extremely short temper.

As always, your word choices and the way you turn your phrases send me into fits of laughter, usually earning strange looks from the people around me. Including my cats.

This is yet another great fic by you - well done.

Reviewer: PhoenixWingsDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84048Chapter: 1
>It was more than merely pink; it seemed to radiate some sort of internal pinkness beyond its color.

*clamps her hands firmly over her mouth* I will not giggle. I have giggled in every single review I've left for you, and, damn it, I am NOT giggling. No matter how amusing and interesting that fiction just was, I won't do it.

*giggles*

Damn you, Jack! DAMN YOU!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84040Chapter: 1
I love your writing. You've got what it takes to be a first-class humorist.

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84034Chapter: 1
Haha, very funny. My new favorite words will definitely have some relationship with 'skull' and 'salad bowl'. Quite reminiscent of Hannibal, I think. I love that movie. When he's on the plane, at the end, with the little kid... at any rate. Just when you think you've heard of any and every possible pairing, here's another one. I'm just glad it made me giggle, not gag. Great job. :o)

By the way, did you get my second email? I've been having a spot of trouble with people receiving things-- i.e. getting one email out of 3 five weeks later, not receiving things at all, etc. Just wondering, I had seen it when I was cleaning out my folders.

Again, great story...

Reviewer: anna MDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84019Chapter: 1
This is too funny!! I really enjoyed it- particularly the letter and the skull-as-a-salad-bowl comment. Great job!

Reviewer: BowDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84007Chapter: 1
This is one of the funniest fics I've read in a long time. Well done!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84004Chapter: 1
LOLOLOL! i love it when snape's the nastiest bloke around. especially to lockhart. good thing lockhart later loses his memory. . . . .

Reviewer: eca celliDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83999Chapter: 1
Jack,

I hate you like Severus hates Lockhart.

*huggles*

-Erica

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83989Chapter: 1
Funny. Great characterization of Snape and Lockhart.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83984Chapter: 1
Oh dear that story was hysterical! You've earned me some very weird looks in the computer room. I love it!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83981Chapter: 1
Once again, you've written something so wickedly funny that I can't stop laughing...BUt I'll try long enough to compliment you especially on Snape's snapishness, and on all your brilliant lines, which are too many to repeat, so I'll just settle for my favorites...

"Severus stared at the valentine. That’s what it had to be; nothing else could be so pink. It was more than merely pink; it seemed to radiate some sort of internal pinkness beyond its color"
"Severus did not use words like “fancy.” He used words like, “ensnare” and “bewitch” and “Lockhart, I will have your skull as a salad bowl.”"
"Dear Lockhart,

I hate you. Die.

Sincerely,

Severus S. Snape"

“I can lie to you no longer. You have seen through my mask of blind, unrelenting hatred, into the soft... erm... softness within"
The list goes on...Also, I can just see him eating cinnamon rolls, eggs and bacon - yum!

Reviewer: MelisandeDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83980Chapter: 1
Jack, has anyone ever told you just how wicked you are;-)?
This had me in fits. I especially loved this line:
"Severus stared at the valentine. That’s what it had to be; nothing else could be so pink. It was more than merely pink; it seemed to radiate some sort of internal pinkness beyond its color."

Other favourite quotes:
"The conversation, which had gone downhill from the beginning, became vertical."
"Lockhart looked crestfallen, which was something to see in a man that was almost entirely crest."
"It was a bit like church and state. Either did well enough left alone, but the combination of the two tended to result in trouble, chaos, and, in extreme cases, fire being set to people."

It's getting harder and harder to decide which of your stories I like best. Confuse me some more - keep them coming!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83975Chapter: 1
Glorious fun!!

"Severus quickly cycled through a list of men he knew that were approximately his age and had never been in the employ of the Dark Lord.

It was a short list."

Oh that, and then the twist at the end. Love it!!

Reviewer: mosyluDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83971Chapter: 1
I'm in hysterics. Paroxysms. If I die of lack of oxygen, it will be all your fault, and thank you.

I love your language. There's just something in the way you turn a phrase that makes what's initially a funny situation downright hilarious.

"Not that he was anti-social per se, but he simply did not get on with society. It was a bit like church and state. Either did well enough left alone, but the combination of the two tended to result in trouble, chaos, and, in extreme cases, fire being set to people."

"The conversation, which had gone downhill from the beginning, became vertical."

"Lockhart looked crestfallen, which was something to see in a man that was almost entirely crest."

*muffled snort*

Thanks again for the whoops, giggles, and the waking-up of my housemates. :) I've read all your stuff, and really should have reviewed some of it. If I never do, just remember that I do love it.

Reviewer: watergobletDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83970Chapter: 1
Jack old boy you've done it again! Wonderfully entertaining, as always I love to read your work.

Reviewer: Ms. SnufflesDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83969Chapter: 1
Simply brilliant! Poor Severus... :)

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83964Chapter: 1
Hilarious! So utterly absurd, I couldn't stop laughing.

Reviewer: RichDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83963Chapter: 1
OMG.....So politically incorrect....You actually had me sympathizing w/Snape...

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83959Chapter: 1
I laughed out loud several times; I especially loved the "I hate you. Die." letter. Very fun! My only complaint is that I wish the summary hadn't given away the twist. Not that I guessed how Lupin would be used, but I was distracted wondering how he was supposed to figure into it. I wish his "surprise appearance," so to speak, could have been a complete surprise.

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83956Chapter: 1
LOL.

Poor Snape. First to have Lockhart of all people after him and then to be the indirect cause of Dumbledore's hiring of Remus Lupin!

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83947Chapter: 1
LOL! Snape turning Lockhart's head into a salad bowl is quite an image. Loved it!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83944Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Both Lockhart and Snape are so in character that this works really well. I could see this taking place behind teh pages of canon! And the ending is too good. What a wonderful way to segue to Remus Lupin, DADA professor!

Great job, as always!

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83933Chapter: 1
Great as usual!! I look forward to your next.

Reviewer: GeorgiaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83932Chapter: 1
That was very funny! I loved it, I love all your stories....Please keep up the great work.

Georgia. :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --