The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Twin Voices
Review(s): 42

Reviewer: HA Ha haDate: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134244Chapter: 1
HA Ha ha

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132892Chapter: 1
Good snippet. I do like your sense of humour

Reviewer: kateDate: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121505Chapter: 1
You really know what makes Ron: sweetly boyish; slightly dumb around the edges, but in the end he demonstrates the kind of sincere, down-to-earth logic that lifts him out of the comic relief mould. Romance figures in his world, but only as an afterthought. Perfect. I liked it a lot.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-12
Reviewid: 116320Chapter: 1
[Ron wanted to bang his head against the wall, except it was lined with glass cases.] Ha!

Very nice, great glimpse into Ron's head. I like that he named his inner doubting voice "Bilius."

Reviewer: Swish and FlickDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115357Chapter: 1
This is such a nice story! It really felt like Ron, your characterisation is great. I also like the double meaning of the title, and the ending line made me laugh out loud! Perhaps Ron *should* listen to Bilius somtimes...

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107897Chapter: 1
I loved this story! I don't think I've read one about Ron learning to feel good - or at least better - about himself in a long time.

I loved the bit of family dynamics between the twins and Ron; it was nice to see that they loved each other under all the teasing. And the interaction between "Ron" and "Bilius" was great - especially at the end!

Great job!

Reviewer: sarahDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95208Chapter: 1
part deux....I have a voice in my head like that. It's not a full concrete "voice" but it's just the part of you that argues with yourself, so I completely understand. It's not being schizo...it's just an brillant mind working.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95207Chapter: 1
This is adorable, I never really thought about this missing moment before. I'm glad you wrote this, I'm on my way out for the night, and now I'm out with a smile :)

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94303Chapter: 1
Having suffered my own "Bilius", I thought this was an interesting touch. I loved the part where he discovered the Special Services to the School Award belonged to him and his realization that his brothers didn't compete with him.

You're very good at these fics with Ron, aren't you? (I've read your fics in the Anthology forum, and make sure to watch out because I'll be reviewing those next!)

Reviewer: alphabetDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94041Chapter: 1
Oh, this one I like! The Weasleys are such a wonderful family, aren't they? It just made me smile with Weasley love. An excellent job.

I also really liked the bit with Lee. Poor Lee--he's a minor character I really enjoy.

Reviewer: MiekeDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93370Chapter: 1
Nice Fic. Although the voice in his head was a little weird but it got the job done! Again, good job on the fic!

Reviewer: PheonixDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92987Chapter: 1
lololol, thats so funny how it ends! i liked Fred and George's letter, it was creative!! this is great and funny!! Continue!!

Reviewer: missbDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92609Chapter: 1
That was a really wonderful ron fic!! :))

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89701Chapter: 1
I enjoyed the letter from Fred and George - I'm not really big on the idea of Ron having a 2nd voice in his head though.

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89121Chapter: 1
that was so nice. i luv Fred and George! and Ron talking to voices in his head! how could it get any funnier? great job!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88607Chapter: 1
Nice story. I'm not sure what to think of Ron hearing a Bilius voice in his head, but I like the rest of the story anyway.

Isn't it wonderful that Ron finally realises that he doesn't *need* to compete with his brothers? Isn't it wonderful and so much like the Ron we love that he completely forgot about his *own* award?

I love the twins' letter, of course. It's so much like them: slightly incoherent but easy to understand anyway. And it's a nice idea to let Fred and George give Ron confidence for the Quidditch match, while they also were one of the reasons that Ron didn't perform so well earlier.

Lovely story.

Reviewer: erkisDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87787Chapter: 1
wow i just LOVE all of these! you really are great! please write TONS more!! i love it all!!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87691Chapter: 1
Brilliantly crafted, and absolutely hilarious! I *adore* this explanation for Ron's new-found courage. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87600Chapter: 1
>>Why have I been competing with my brothers? They haven't been competing with me. <<<

St. Margaret's, you have done it again. Another outstanding story! Perfect characterization of Ron. I can't wait for him to have this revelation in canon. In fact, this story felt so realistic, and Ron was so in character, I felt like I was reading canon.

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87578Chapter: 1
Awww. Lovely story, just like all of your posts on the Anthology. You've got to be one of my most favourite fanfic authors. Cheers!

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85530Chapter: 1
In the words of Ron himself, that was bloody brilliant! I love Ron so much and that piece of writing had me giggling to myself whilst sitting here reading. It's so good to see Ron portrayed in such a positive way, that's what is so fantastic about the Anthology.

Great idea for this piece. I'm so envious of you, you seem to have an endless supply of original ideas for fanfics! I'm happy to see Ron arguing with the Bilius voice in his head - it reassures me that I'm not mad because I have arguments with myself like that all the time (please don't all start thinking I'm mad now!). It was a wonderful idea to compare his positive and negative thoughts to Fred and George's relationship and how that makes them more confident. Fred and George's letter itself had me in hysterics, you are so good at character dialogue.

I'm glad the twins were able to contribute to Ron's confidence and you're absolutely right about his trophy, I'd forgotten about that as well (sorry Ron!).

The very last line about the perfume was genius, this was such a nice, fun piece to read and really put a smile on my face, so thank you.

Reviewer: IrisDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84825Chapter: 1
I love all your stories. They are so well written and they always have a nice message. Please write some more!

Reviewer: skywisejDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84771Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this story. It has to be one of the best I have read! Thanks for a great glimpse into Ron inner thoughts!

Reviewer: AutumnDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84716Chapter: 1
This is lovely St. Margarets!

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84374Chapter: 1
Acutally, Ron isn't schizophrenic, unless this whole world is a dream. Schizophrenia is characterized by delusionary beliefs about the world, maladaptive thought processes, and--

wait, no, must stop. Sorry, it's just funny you mention it when I had an exam on this today. You may have been thinking of multipul personality disorder, becuase Schizophrenics don't think of 'the voices' as themselves... they see them as otherworldly beings. However, now that I'm done intellectually spewing on you-- (I've needed to vent since my huge final last week--) I thought this was extremely good--I love how you used Bilius, and the Runespoor metaphor was ingenius. I am glad you pointed out the Award, people do forget about it. I love how Ron didn't have any idea at first. And I'm so glad that he finally gets it together in the end, re: Brothers, Quidditch, and Hermione. :o) Had Bilius suggested a more suggestive perfume? *grin*

At any rate-- great job, and I hope you learned something. (I joke! I joke!)

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84345Chapter: 1
Very cute. Love the letter from the Twins, and the internal dialogue Ron has with himself is fantastic. Wonderfully done!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84344Chapter: 1
Great little fic. :)
The sarcastic pessimist is also the part of Ron that has Seer qualities? That's a very interesting thought...

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84330Chapter: 1
Hee, I'm a sucker for any story with voices in Ron's head. Yours is particularly novel and fun. I love Ron looking at the Special Services award and forgetting it was his. You've got me imagining Fred and George getting ready to write and conceal this letter - perhaps a follow up story? I also like your touch of Lee hanging around hoping to see the letter from F&G. Very human.

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84329Chapter: 1
Loved this story! It was great to see things from Ron's POV. Nice job.

Reviewer: LouDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84292Chapter: 1
This is great! I love how this works as an example of Ron maturing and growing more self-confident. And the title is perfect -- "twin voices" from Gred and Forge as well as Ron/Bilius. Loved the lines: "Well, it's official-you are schizophrenic." I don't care, Ron said grimly, find me one more of you and I'll have all the rings covered during the match.

Great insights into Ron!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84284Chapter: 1
Great story! I love how Ron talks to Bilius in his head and how he ends up in the trophy room looking at the unique trophy he won as a Second year; none of his brothers received one of those! I like this story because it shows just how much Ron has matured over the years, that he is now ready to let go of the notion that he lives in the shadows of his brothers' achievements. Thanks for capturing Ron so succinctly.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84266Chapter: 1
Very funny fic, so cute. "If you had just listened to me about the perfume."- Totally laughing over that part. You capture Ron's insecurities really well, and show the internal battle nicely. I like how you use the names Ronald and Bilius to differentiate between the two sides. It adds weight to the scene because of the connotations associated with each name, and it makes the fic easier to follow.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84259Chapter: 1
Aww! Finally a happy Weasley story about Ron! I loved the comparison between him and the Runespoor.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84233Chapter: 1
Well done! Alternating F&G's voices in the letter worked beautifully!! Aren't you smart? Such a little and simple thing but so perfect. It mirrored Bilius' voice too which was lovely.

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84232Chapter: 1
Very nice. I liked the letter, you seem to have a fairly good hold of the twins' personalities and their left-handed compliments.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84209Chapter: 1
aha; Bilius makes an appearance! and do we percieve that there are hints of R/H to come? (taking advice from Bilius about perfume...)

this was sweet; we especially like the phrase, "his world tipped on its axis." you show that happening without being all angsty and OOC. this retained a very "Ron" flavor, despite the rare display of introspection.

as usual, you have performed a Difficult Task most admirably!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84201Chapter: 1
How cute! I love how you brought up that Ron's competing with his brothers even though they aren't competing with him--that's an interesting angle, one I've never thought of before. Ron having a "Bilius" side and a "Ron" side is also wonderful! Keep writing.

-Linnet

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84189Chapter: 1
This was GREAT St. Margarets! You gave Ron what everyone wants to give him: the confidence to see that he doesn't have to compete with his brothers. I think we all believe that once he has that, he'll have everything. Beautiful job. And I adore the last bit; I think that it calls for some R/Hr work from you. I know I'd love to see it!

Reviewer: Phoenix's MelodyDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84183Chapter: 1
Lovely and amusing story, St. Margarets, about Ron and his family. It was well written and 'Bilius' was quite amusing. Especially...

"Well, it's official-you are schizophrenic"
I don't care, Ron said grimly, find me one more of you and I'll have all the rings covered during the match.

Yes, Ron would say that. The other part that I thought was quite funny was,

"Yeah," said Bilius, "after you sort out this Quidditch problem, maybe we can finally get around to your nonexistent love life."

'You are not going near my love life,' Ron said firmly.

"If you had just listened to me about the perfume."

'Shut up!'

It makes me wonder what scathing comment 'Bilius' would have made about Ron's gift of perfune. Keep up the good writing!

Reviewer: LotusSriDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84181Chapter: 1
I'm a bit confused ... is there another fic out there about this "Bilius voice?" I only ask because this is such a great premise! Your style is great, I'm really looking forward to your next piece.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84178Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I love hearing Ron argue with himself! I think seeing his own trophy there with those of his brothers was a nice turnig point. Sort of forces Ron to re-evaluate himself. It shows that he has already made accomplishments to distinguish himself.

And I like the twins show of support. They did show support for Ron during OotP. Or at least they didn't ridicule him when he was down. I'm sure that meant alot to Ron!

Great work! As expected!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84177Chapter: 1
This is great. I really like your idea of a "Bilius voice" that tells Ron he is no good. But at the same time, it serves its purpose in other ways. I also like having Gred and Forge write Ron to compliment him directly (for them, at least) for the first time ever. It really makes sense, since they do care about him, just not showing it, usually. They didn't make fun of him after the first awful match, so this is definitely canon-consistent. Yeah, the Special Award for Services to the School from CoS--it's never been brought up again by anyone, and with the events of PoA he must have forgotten it. But now he's realized he is a worthwhile person, that he is talented, and that he doesn't have to compete with his brothers at all. Nicely done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --