The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 91

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138917Chapter: 1
So funny. Your songs make me smile. It's all good - but the chorus is especially brilliant!

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133853Chapter: 1
Hey! Thats really good!! Scanned beautifully. Ginny's verse was my favourite! Great Job keep it up!

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133274Chapter: 1
Tres bein!It is very rare when I get to here a song fic this one rocked!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124898Chapter: 1
Funny, Thanks

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-06-05
Reviewid: 123329Chapter: 1
How sweet! And it's so true about Harry. Wonderful work!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111613Chapter: 1
Hey, this has to do with Hermione's comment on Harry's 'saving people thing' , right?
Oh man, I'm so observant.
Excellence. I was singing the whole time. Really. That's just the way I am. Heh.
Love,
Angie.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106053Chapter: 1
Perfect. Really is perfect at capturing it. The perfect words.

Emma

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104151Chapter: 1
That was good! It really did sum up Harry- how he just runs to save people, as if by instinct... although it has got him into trouble at times. I especially liked Nevilles part:
"He'll stand up for a giant
Who's already eight feet tall "
lol. Very Neville.

Reviewer: AuroraDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100084Chapter: 1
Holy Sh&^% Barbara, you are a genius! This opera is a work of brilliance! I just got around to reading from the link on the GB. I am awed.

Reviewer: Mistress_GenariDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99419Chapter: 1
Major. MAJOR! buffy the vampire slayer musical flash back type thing, and i've never even seen that episode of that show..so yeah...

but it was still cool, and awesome, and all other good things :)

Reviewer: Emily C.Date: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99174Chapter: 1
Hi, you emailed me your info so I'd know it for filk related stuff, but due to an unfortunate accident (aka, my computer dying) I lost it. Could you please, please, Please send it again? This time, I'm making a hard copy, lol.
Thanks,
Emily.

Reviewer: JuleDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98296Chapter: 1
I liked Nevilles part the best.

Reviewer: Daniel the LobsterDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98121Chapter: 1
Bravo, Bravo. Encour. It would be awesome if you could write out the tune, but even without it, It's fun to make up your own.
DtL

Reviewer: Daniel the LobsterDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98120Chapter: 1
Bravo, Bravo. Encour. It would be awesome if you could write out the tune, but even without it, It's fun to make up your own.
DtL

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97846Chapter: 1
^^ What can I say, it's quite good. Not my favorite of your works, but still excellent.

Reviewer: PussyKatDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97821Chapter: 1
Lol, I loved that very much indeed! Very impressive. Amusing but you know it's all true, too. Particularly appealing to me as I am a die-hard fan of Harry's, so it's interesting to see all these points of view on him. I particularly liked it when Neville sang "He'll stand up for a giant who's already eight feet tall". I don't know, that line really struck a chord in me.
The rhythm and rhyming were perfect as well, keep up the great work!

*Blows out the candle*
Blessed Be,
PK

P.S: I have that chorus going round my head now, it'll be there all day.

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97818Chapter: 1
this was really great. i love their opinions on Harry

Reviewer: Emily C.Date: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97657Chapter: 1
This fits a sort of music known as Filk. Filk is often parody, but is also original fan music from different Genres, such as Sci-Fi or Fantasy. There are many wonderful and moving Filks out there, and I feel this is an excellent example of what those sort of Filks are like. GaFilk.org is a Filk Con in Atlanta. I'd like to know if I could possibly show some of your stuff to some friends of mine at the filk, and perhaps we could sing it, with proper credit being given, of course. Please Email me, I won't do anything without your permission, but your songs are so accurate and moving, they really should be shared.
Thanks, Emily.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94134Chapter: 1
Wow! You've really captured perfectly both Harry and the way his friends feel about him. I'm impressed! You have a good sense of rhythm, too--good job.

Reviewer: JeanDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94085Chapter: 1
Great song! Have you written music to go with it yet? ;) I can't wait to read the next one! *wink, wink, nudge nudge*

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93597Chapter: 1
You explained harry perfectly

Reviewer: green meanieDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93579Chapter: 1
you are a rhyme master i am in complete awe of of you!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93524Chapter: 1
You made me cry. <blows nose>

Reviewer: LorienDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92011Chapter: 1
This is a beautiful poem. It describes Harry just perfectly!

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 92004Chapter: 1
That was really funny! I especially liked Neville's!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91987Chapter: 1
Intriguing style and one I haven't seen used in fanfic before. It works beautifully though. Reminiscent of a Greek Chorus, it conveys a very real feeling of (for lack of a better word) drama to the piece. Your words are absolutely fitting and the images they bring forth are great. I can picture exactly how this would be played, as well as the boy they are singing about. Very well done!

Reviewer: dorsanaDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91930Chapter: 1
Wow!!!

Reviewer: DeeDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91923Chapter: 1
Oh my... this song is just so touching. It really depicts how Harry really is. If anybody doesn't understand why Harry is just the way he is... this is the answer for it. I love it! My favourite part, "He'll avoid your eyes and shrug / With that funny look of his" Very Harry. You know him very welk. Great job!

Reviewer: hello!!Date: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91716Chapter: 1
I usually dont like to read stuff like this, but yours is something that i applaud.i really liked it alot, and think this describes harry VERY well.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91698Chapter: 1
I love this! It's really great. The rhyming isn't cheesy, and yet it's sincere- something that a lot of authors have trouble with. I also really like how the final parts sung in the chorus match up exactly with who's singing them- and they all still fit in at the beginning, and throughout the whole song. You should write more of these, you're good at it!

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91654Chapter: 1
Wow, that was really something. They all seem to have Harry pegged. Good job.

Reviewer: Gypsy GirlDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91597Chapter: 1
Was that supposed to make me cry or laugh? cuz it was the latter... lol, but maybe i'm being insensitive.. ;-)

luved it, that was great. your songs are amazing! this was much cheerier than the sirius-song!

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91354Chapter: 1
awww...that was sweet. everyone was perfectly in character. it was a cute little tune. EVERYONE LOVES HARRY!!!!!!!!!! great job! made me smile!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: i love it <:-)Date: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91315Chapter: 1
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!<:-)

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91261Chapter: 1
I've nothing to say except that it's beautiful! You've captured all that describing Harry.

Reviewer: RaneDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90879Chapter: 1
That was really sweet: a nice, quick feel-good read! I'm feeling a bit bad right now though, because I've just seen the new psting suggestions above the fields and I really don't have much constructive to say... oops. I guess the only thing is that it would've been kind of cool if you could've had a couple additional verses; it ended a tad abruptly - no big deal though.

Very nice work!

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90207Chapter: 1
That's brilliant!!

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89046Chapter: 1
like the song - made me smile

Reviewer: quackDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 89033Chapter: 1
yeah, and i have something to add:

GO GINNY!!!!!!! YAY!!

Reviewer: MarielleDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87881Chapter: 1
this is a cool poem!

Reviewer: Daniel A. Thompson Jr.Date: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87349Chapter: 1
Wow! You capture the essence of Harry, whrough the eyes of people who love him, and although Harry himself might deny it, you have captured him very well.
You really need to write and post more often; like maybe one or two a day? :-}

Reviewer: EchoDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86332Chapter: 1
So cute!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86083Chapter: 1
Absolutely incredible song!!!

Reviewer: Too_Many_SoxDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85851Chapter: 1
I read this originally when it first came out and it actually made me tear up. I didn't review it then because I was busy but I thought I should come back and say that this is REALLY REALLY good. Thank you for writing something that explains Harry (and his friends' love for him) so beautifully.

Reviewer: dhvaniDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84637Chapter: 1
It's beautiful. It's amazing how perfectly you've picturised Harry and that too through a song. I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to your other works.

Reviewer: caliDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84620Chapter: 1
i liked it!!!!!it was bloody brilliant!!! i like poems and stuff but this was kewl!and it made harry look really good lol

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84600Chapter: 1
this is sooo cute! and i just imagined the kids singing it with bad voices and i started laughing. :)

Reviewer: RinoaDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84598Chapter: 1
<3 I love it! It's funny but oh-so true. I love that you made it rhyme so well =D

Reviewer: brettDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84566Chapter: 1
this isn't the first time that i have read this. but i just wanted to say that i totaly enjoy it everytime. i think its a reald good piece of writing. hopeyou write more

Reviewer: MaddyjDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84471Chapter: 1
This is so true, and I can just hear their voices in unison. Beautiful.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84459Chapter: 1
That's so sweet! *sniff* Don't we all love Harry?

Thanks!

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84452Chapter: 1
I LIKED IT!! What's the tune?

Reviewer: PravdaDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84404Chapter: 1
Back again. Your stuff is still wonderful... and I'm still wondering WHY YOU AREN'T ON THE PROFESSORS BOOKSHELF YET!!!! You're way too good to be a nameless nobody... but the thing is, you AREN'T a nobody! Do you know how many people came back and read this too when they saw your name on the update list because they remembered how great Afterwards was?! You are very very worthy. Great job.

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84378Chapter: 1
that was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: B.J.Date: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84368Chapter: 1
Haha! That was great! Bloody brilliant!

Reviewer: g sDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84359Chapter: 1
When I saw Ron singing I almost ran away
But thankfully I didn't - as you guessed, I stayed
And, gosh, I'm glad I did 'cos by the end, you see
I was grinning just like a happy augurey
(And that's pretty rare!)
Well done. Harry to a tee. (Er- sorry about the song!)

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84357Chapter: 1
For good or bad, huh? Anyway, you have a rare talent for making wince-free poetry. Not many people can do that with rhyming poetry.

Reviewer: mandjDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84353Chapter: 1
I loved this, it was wonderful, good job!

Reviewer: EmeraldDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84352Chapter: 1
This is really good. It's create and, even though the point is to explain that there's no explaining Harry it explains him well.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84349Chapter: 1
Ooooo! Gave me chills and brought a lump to my throat! You've got Harry exactly. Very good indeed!

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84336Chapter: 1
You did it again! A moving, perfect song, without being annoying or make me think 'O get over it already!' Wonderful!
I thought of something: I must be your biggest fan.

Reviewer: ThestralDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84333Chapter: 1
Hahahaha, I LOVE IT!!!!!I've already made up a tune in my head, and I'm humming it, driving poeple crazy!!!! Are you R/H? If you are, do a song on how Ron feels about Hermionie. Something about she's always in the library.....

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84319Chapter: 1
Normally, I avoid all song-fics. However, this caught my attention, and I like it. Sometimes, scantion is a problem, but not horribly so.

I like what you've done. Good work.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: amandaKDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84318Chapter: 1
This real tells about Harry. Good job!!!!

Reviewer: cesaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84316Chapter: 1
I really liked this. I typically don't read these fics (song fics, poetry, whatnot), but for some reason yours drew me to it and I'm glad. I might even print it and hang it by my desk (hmm, a benefit to a short piece). Good job!

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84312Chapter: 1
Awwww!! I LOVE these stories!! They're so great! This one was awesome! I loved it! You do such a great job with them!! I LOVED it!!!

Reviewer: romeeDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84307Chapter: 1
beautiful again...only this time the song/poem is a bit happier :D I really really like it!!!!

Reviewer: TiaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84305Chapter: 1
GREAT!! This things are so true, Harry is Harry. I liked Neville's chapter: 'Harry will stand up for you, when you can't stand up for yourself'. Beatiful. :D And chorus is great too.. 'He'll avoid your eyes and shrug, With that funny look of his'.. Cutee... :D

Reviewer: CilerDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84303Chapter: 1
Sounds lovely, planning to add music ?

Reviewer: ErikaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84300Chapter: 1
*claps loudly*

This is very good. I can here it so clearly in my head. And I think that it gives an accurate description of Harry,

Bravo!

Reviewer: LouDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84290Chapter: 1
Love it! Are you a professional songwriter? If not, you could've fooled me. You get to the essence of Harry -- his selfless, automatic heroism -- and I love it that by the end of the song the chorus is reflecting a little bit about each singer's personality. Wonderful stuff!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84289Chapter: 1
Oooh! Brilliant! Really, a great song, because it is So accurate. I can sort of see them, a la Buffy the musical, sort of standing around in the same dim room, maybe talking to each other, maybe not, the angle turning so each of them has their face highlighted when it's their turn, and the camera pulls back for the chorus. V. Cool, V. Good.

Reviewer: SierraDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84286Chapter: 1
So cool. That is the only thing in fandom I'v ever read twice. Thanks for this cool song fic and keep at it.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84285Chapter: 1
Oh, that was simply wonderful. I read your other song and adored it (saved it to my computer, in fact) and I'm definitely adding this to the collection. I can't decide which verses I like best--they're all too good. I hope to see many, many more of these from you!

-Linnet

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84277Chapter: 1
Good follow up to your first fic. i think that one was a bit better, because it was so sad and moving, but this was really good too. Keep up the great work! I'd love to read more of these.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84270Chapter: 1
Another terrific song! You've pegged Harry well and have capture him exactly as the others see him! I really enjoyed reading your verses.

Reviewer: AnnaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84263Chapter: 1
You are so good at rhyming, and also at expressing yourself, and it's hard to do both at once. I love it!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84258Chapter: 1
darling...this just about sums up harry. its so cool. and the ... forget it. its just way cool. errr.. one question.. what song is this based upon ?

Reviewer: Olivia WoodDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84256Chapter: 1
Cute. :)

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84229Chapter: 1
Very impressive...Great Job!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84227Chapter: 1
AW! That was so good!

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84219Chapter: 1
Oh. My. Merlin. This was just as awesome as the last one, and it describes everything just as well. I don't understand how you can take these words, and form them into something so beautiful that truly makes sense and describes everything so wonderfully! Merlin, it's crazy! (As in a good way.)

I really love your songs - they're so beautiful - and I'm glad to know that you wrote another one! Keep writing - you do such a fabulous job!

Kudos,
Caitlin

Reviewer: AiramieDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84218Chapter: 1
When I saw your name under the "update list" I clicked immediately because I remembered your first piece....and this is so good! I especially love Nevilles and yes....I cried again......*sobs*
More soon please! I love how you add another person to the chorus each time...thats so cool! I imagined a tune for this as well...your songs just have great natural rhythm!
Airamie

Reviewer: Lady MayDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84207Chapter: 1
Ahh, when I saw your name again on the recent posts list, I immediately clicked on it because I knew it had to be good. You've earned a special place in my heart with Afterwards. I'm never going to forget your name (which is oober cool, btw). You're great at these songs and such and you can make such natural rhymes! Both of your song things you've posted so far are beautiful... THIS one didn't make me cry, but it did make me feel all achey and touched. It's lovely. You're an awesome song-writer or poem-writer or whatever you call these things you do, and I'm keeping watch for later works! Keep writing please, because you rock and your stuff is really great. It sort of gets to me, you know? Great work.

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84203Chapter: 1
: )

Is this to an existing song?

I' d say Hermione's is the weakest of the verses, but the others are great, especially the Hagrid analogy and Neville's, which is very poetic.

Reviewer: fluffy goldfishDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84197Chapter: 1
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! that is sooo good!!

Reviewer: DerDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84190Chapter: 1
Very, very cute! Usually I hate songfics but you did an excellent job with this!

Reviewer: star seekerDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84176Chapter: 1
Ooh, wonderful song!

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84171Chapter: 1
LOVE! Fabulous work; where most people fail to even make a point in HP songs or poems, you soar to success. I like the work with the chorus a lot, giving each character an appropriate line to sing.
"He'll avoid your eyes and shrug
With that funny look of his
There's no explaining Harry
It's just the way he is."
Wonderful!

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84170Chapter: 1
Keep writing Barbara! You really are good!

This is just a suggestion, but maybe you could do a romantic one next? A sonnet between Ron and Hermione? It's just a suggestion, I'm sure whatever you decided to do next will be as excellent as these two have been.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84168Chapter: 1
Cute and heartfelt. I like it! :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --