The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Aberforth's Goat
Review(s): 44

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140351Chapter: 3
(-; (-: <( -: )

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132908Chapter: 3
This was a great deal cleaner than I had always imagined the incident to be but I enjoyed it immensely nonetheless. Great job! I've never read a fic about Aberforth before and I think your portrayal of him is worthy of J.K. herself. He and the clientele of the Hog's Head are exactly as I imagine them to be.

Who's Hester Starkey though?!

Reviewer: ReesesPiecesDate: 2005-06-05
Reviewid: 123322Chapter: 3
Aw, that was wicked, mate! I've always wondered what ol' Aberforth had done what gave us that interesting text: "Inappropriate Charms on a Goat..." That's just delightful. Thank you for your gift.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116585Chapter: 2
[like a great, hairy beam of sunshine.] Ha! Very apt desciption of Hagrid!

[Aberforth looked at the kettle and winced, holding up his hand. “No, no thanks Rube. Never touch the stuff if I can help it.”] Hehehe!

[It was probably one of the herd that old Jigger had bred in the forest, so he could harvest the bezoars that grew in their stomachs.] Very clever way of using HP facts in a story.

The scene with the goat was hilarious, even though I felt really bad for the goat!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116198Chapter: 1
[There were Ashwinder eggs and Billywig stings to be bartered and high-stakes Quidditch pools to throw in on as well, and most business was conducted on the spot, over a game of dominoes and a pint of Brunhilda’s Best Bitter.] I love how you set the scene here and add just the right touches to make it feel so authentic.

[“We have a little saying in America,“ he’d said in a low voice, “’The House always wins. Now, Mr. Dumbledore,”] Hahahaha!! That was too hilarious!

Reviewer: LogicalRavenDate: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114869Chapter: 3
Lovely, a nice ending to one of my all time favorite tales.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114058Chapter: 3
Ivy & Gracie, this story is absolutely delightful! A wonderful concept, so well written! Your gift for dialogue is really enviable, particularly when writing dialects like Hagrid's & Aberforth's. I could hear all of their lines in my head.

I particularly liked the story opening with the descriptions of Hogsmeade and the Hog's Head. You set the scene up beautifully and really invoked the proper mood for the story.

I'll be recommending this story to others for certain.

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113643Chapter: 3
I never imagined a story about grubby Abertforth could be so delightful! I love his voice, very well done. "And I *hit* the ground, and I *roll*"--I can hear him. I do think Hagrid generally says 'ye' not 'you', and I'm rather sad about the goat perishing (we had small ones growing up). The timing is very nice in the story; and I loved the descriptive moments very much--the opening paragraph is great.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113631Chapter: 3
Hee hee... I love it.

It's nice that you finished this story, and I was amused at how Albus got the Hog's Head back for Aberforth - tenpin bowling, ha! The characterisation of Aberforth was a nice contrast to Albus, and it would be very interesting if you explored this friendship between him and Hagrid a little bit more. It was also nice to see how easily he manipulated the media - he and Albus aren't so different after all.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113577Chapter: 3
i&G, of course that was the inappropriate charms on the goat.:P
I laughed throuout the whole story. Dumbledore playing ten pins/bowling, wonder where he learnt it.

Did they break his wand in the end?

Gryfny

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113373Chapter: 3
Wow. :D That was just the perfect ending to a wonderfully fun story. Allow me to say, as a fellow Aberforth-writer, that when you manage to convince Abe to start speaking, he's rarely ever boring - as this chapter well proves.

Congrats on getting it done, and kudos on doing such a marvellous job of it.

And 'Merlin's dangly bits' is a stroke of sheer genius. I'm half-tempted to gack it for my own Abe... :)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113359Chapter: 3
Oh bravo! You finished! And without a seam showing, I might add. You did a wonderful job with Albus's dialouge - he was whimsical and forceful all at the same time. I really liked this line:

<All we can really do is to play where the odds are best, and try to do the things we love. Everything else, we must leave up to chance.>

Very true.

It's great how Aberforth used his story for public relations purposes - which explains why those "inappropriate charms" were so well known!

It was also very clever of you to bring in the information from Albus's Chocolate Frog Card - in the form of ten pen bowling! Excellent job! Don't you all feel great?

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113308Chapter: 3
That was excellent! I laughed so hard. I've been waiting for this to be updated for a long time and it was a great ending. I especially loved the reference to tenpin bowling.

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102276Chapter: 2
LOL! I love it. Not only is the story clever but the writing style itself is lovely- I love your comparisons in particular. Will there be more?

Reviewer: LogicalRavenDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98471Chapter: 2
Hilarious!!! I'm glad I finally gave this story a read.
Inappropriate charms on a goat...this is so creative

Reviewer: EsraDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95142Chapter: 2
What a wonderful style of writing! Lovely poetic prose.
“The air was edgy with the suggestion of frost and somewhere an owl wondered, “who?”
“you would have found yourself face to green door with the Hog’s Head Inn.”

It’s got such a great pace as well. I came across this story when it was first put up and after reading the first paragraph beat a hasty retreat because I knew that if I carried on reading I would get sucked in and carried along, and that was the last thing I wanted in the middle of my exams. I was hoping that there would be a few more chapters by now, but never mind, I see that you’ve been busy creating lots of other tasty looking stories that I’ll have to investigate.

Aberforth’s such an intriguing character and in just a few sentences you’ve brought him so fully to life. I’m also glad that you invented a slightly more innocent version of what the ‘inappropriate charms’ could be. I have to say that my thoughts were of the more, I don’t quite know how to put this delicately, let’s just say they were more of the welsh variety, which always struck me as a rather naughty thing to put in what are essentially books for children.

“Blackmail, Aberforth remembered piously, was against the law.”
““Diminuend…Diminuend…ment?” he finished feebly.”
Oh, I love Aberforth already!

I also love the dialogue “And then, if you can believe it Rube, he says, 'I didn’t come all the way from America to take your pub from you, Mr. Aberforth.' He says to me, 'As much as I admire this fine establishment of yours'--that’s what he called it, a 'fine establishment'--'As much as I admire it, it’s not really what I want.'” Aberforth was gratified to see that Hagrid was hanging, open-mouthed, on every word.” It’s so wonderfully real.

That’s what’s great about this story, it’s so real. I can picture the Hog’s Head and its regulars and Aberforth so perfectly and that’s what I love in stories – when they have a sort of sense of place.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94297Chapter: 2
Ooh, very clever! I love the language, it would be fun to read aloud. The dialogue is excellent as well.

Reviewer: Hermione_the_hobbitDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94003Chapter: 2
The 2nd chapter was also very enjoyable. I've always wondered what the 'inappropriate charms' placed on the goat were. This seems to be a very resonable and funny explanation. Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Hermione_the_hobbitDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93926Chapter: 1
I really like the narrative style of this story. It has a certain quality that makes the story very enjoyable to read. I am also glad someone has written a story about Aberforth. I'm rather curious about this character and I like hearing other people's insights.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92975Chapter: 2
I am trying very hard not to laugh out loud because my boyfriend is sleeping next door, but it's very hard. Great, great story. I hope there is a little more? We've not gotten to "It was all over the newspapers" yet. I loved reading this - thank you!

Reviewer: Midge WoodDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92829Chapter: 2
In a fandom where apparently every character gets the spells right, it's refreshing to see a character get them so wrong. Aberforth is delightfully flawed in this fic. You can understand why he's stuck running a bar and not in one of those fancy Ministry jobs that require an extensive knowledge of magic. Can't wait to see what will happen between him and Albus!

God Bless,
Midge :)

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92752Chapter: 2
Ahhh...ivy and gracie...how much do I love your writing?

You had me laughing myself into a heart attack during "A Very Harry Cliche", swooning in "What Makes You Different", and "How to Kiss a Girl with Glasses" and now I find myself giggling (and I don't giggle) at the plight of poor Aberforth. I honestly don't know if JKR could do much better. You've captured the eccentricity that I believe runs in the Dumbledore family, and developed Aberforth into a very believable character in only two short chapters.

Well done! I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92726Chapter: 2
>>>At his knock the door was thrown open and there was Hagrid, smiling down on him like a great, hairy beam of sunshine.<<<<

Hahaha!!! What a great description of Hagrid. I love how Aberforth was trying to remember the proper words for the spell, but he was too drunk to say them properly.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92676Chapter: 2
Brilliant chapter! It's incredibly funny, and very engaging at the same time. I've waited for a long time for chapter two, and I'm now going to demand chapter 3, because I want to know what will happen next!

Ahem. Right. Review.

I really really love your Aberforth. Especially this paragraph:
>>He hesitated. The Spell for making something bigger, he thought, was Engorgiento. Or was it Gorgimente? He panicked, but only for a moment. Magic was all about mind over matter; most likely it didn’t matter what he said, either way. As long as he knew what he meant the spell should work, he thought.<<

Plot is okay as well (see above plea for chapter 3); writing is good. I don't think I have constructive comments for you today. :) But I do have a few favourite lines:

>>“Haven’ seen ya in a Phoenix's age!” he exclaimed. “C’min, sit yerself down! Fancy a cuppa?” <<
Just have to congratulate you at writing Hagrid's style of speaking so well.

>>“I knowed right then he was talking ’bout the Enchanted Forest,” Aberforth clarified, in case his friend might have forgotten where the local unicorns lived.<<
LOL!

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92661Chapter: 2
Ooh, you wicked, wicked ladies, with your cliffhangers. This is a terribly entertaining story you have here--the very concept causes me to go into giggles, but the story itself is rather serious... a delicious combination.

Reviewer: Midge WoodDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92544Chapter: 1
I'm loving this so far (the "who?" was hillarious)--great writing, you really build up suspence. But the "24" fen in me must snicker that Aberfoth has twenty-four hours (and thirteen minutes) to save his pub. Better call Jack Bauer!

*cough*

God Bless,
Midge ;)

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92535Chapter: 2
How absolutely delightful! Your dialogue between Aberforthe and Hagrid is wonderful. The language is exactly as JK writes. Sheer genius. (can you tell I like it?)

PS-thanks for the mention, I am a severely under recognised creature of the magical community *pout*.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92533Chapter: 2
ivy&Gracie,
Such a *reasonable* accounting of those inappropriate charms on a goat.
Some favorite lines:

<"Hagrid, smiling down on him like a great, hairy beam of sunshine"> Yes, Hagrid is sunny--I had never quite thought of him like that.

<“Haven’ seen ya in a Phoenix's age!” he exclaimed"> Very clever.

<“I knowed right then he was talking ’bout the Enchanted Forest,” Aberforth clarified, in case his friend might have forgotten where the local unicorns lived."> Very droll

"<Blackmail, Aberforth remembered piously, was against the law"> I can see where he and Hagrid would be kindred spirits--esp. whilst drinking.

I liked the ending of this chapter with the stuffed shirt Ministry of Magic letter.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92509Chapter: 2
Yay! Another chapter from ivy & Gracie, my favorite fan-fiction-writing duo!

Aberforth is such an interesting fellow...I can't wait to find out what he does next!

Things of great importance:
'and there was Hagrid, smiling down on him like a great, hairy beam of sunshine.' (seriously though, have I mentioned how great you are at imagery?)
'“No, no thanks Rube...' (I like this nickname as much as I like Mundungus calling Mrs. Figg 'Figgy!')
'Once or twice he wondered if hadn’t seen a lethifold, moving along the ground, cleverly evading his light, blending in with the shadows and sweeping away when he tried to get a closer look. He also suspected he had been followed, at one point, by a nundu. People said nundus didn’t live in Great Britain; ha! That just showed what they knew. And that strange bird with the haunting cries…most likely, it was an augurey. Aberforth tried to remember if hearing an augurey's cry meant he was going to die soon, or merely that it was going to rain.' (nice tie-in to Fantastic Beasts!)
'It didn’t seem right that a man should have to risk his life like this in the course of an honest day’s work. Or an honest night’s work, in this case.' (your Aberforth cracks me up! An honest day's work...he's trying to illegally trade a unicorn!)
'“Ah--Finite! Finite Incantato!” Too late, he remembered he should have said ‘Incantatem.’' (lol...poor guy)
I'm always amazed at how much research goes into really good fan-fiction. One has to know the proper names of spells and creatures...and all sorts of things! Kudos!
I'm so cracking up! Physical humor is sooo funny sometimes! The poor goat!
'It has come to our attention that, between the hours of 10:12 a.m. and 10:23 a.m. this morning, you practiced several inappropriate charms on a goat.' (I knew we'd get to see that letter sometime. wow...you have an awesome imagination! At least Aberforth can read! Hee hee)
'into the clearing stepped his own brother, Albus Dumbledore.' (oooooh, somebody's in trouble! I can't wait to read the dialogue between those two!)

You've have done it again - Great chapter!

Looking forward to the next installment,

Jules

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 91040Chapter: 1
How have I not read this yet???

To quote SHE:
>>>Cruel, cruel, cliff-hanging authors. Needless to say, I loved this. And I am more than keen to see the rest of it. :)<<<

Reviewer: magical muggleDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88358Chapter: 1
Wow! You've pulled me right into the story and there's no coming out until its finished! I love the way you've started this tale. Its such creative writing. You've got me hooked! I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: happydogDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88080Chapter: 1
Good plot bunny! Excellent start. Keep going!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87528Chapter: 1
That was brilliant. I absolutely love your style of writing. Very entertaining and extremely witty! I'm looking forward to your next update.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87337Chapter: 1
>>The publican prided himself on the class of clientele he served; in general, his patrons were salt-of-the-earth folk, witches and wizards who held in common a comfortable, loose interpretation of the laws of the land, and could boast not an untarnished reputation among themselves.<<

asdjfasldkfja;ldfa;ksda

>>There were Ashwinder eggs and Billywig stings to be bartered and high-stakes Quidditch pools to throw in on as well, and most business was conducted on the spot, over a game of dominoes and a pint of Brunhilda’s Best Bitter.<<

Again, a;sldjalkdjf;lskdjs;adlkfja. :)

>>“Abe, yeh can’t give up yer inn!”

“Don’t do it, Abe, it’s not worth it!”<<

*falls off chair laughing*

I'm guessing the unicorn plan falls through, and he resorts to Charming a goat, instead? :D Very funny -- I look forward to seeing this continued.

~Katinka

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84937Chapter: 1
I love this! 'Love how you phrase your times.

Please do more very soon.

Reviewer: zymurgyDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84935Chapter: 1
You have caught my eye. I love your flow of words, your rhythm. You have a great style. Keep it up.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84515Chapter: 1
Ha! Brilliant use of imagery and alliteration in this. Interesting beginning, I can't wait to see where you go with this!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84486Chapter: 1
Yes, wonderful start. This is delightful writing; a dark atmosphere written with a light and witty touch. In a short space you have created a very believable and sympathetic Aberforth (Abe!)rooted in his essential environment. I could smell the spilled beer. (Not sure that's a good thing, actually.) As if that wasn't good enough, you build suspense, and put a timer on it!
More!

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84478Chapter: 1
I love your style! Your description of the Hog's Head and its customers is delightful and pulls the reader right in. The build-up to the chapter's cliff-hanger ending is great. Very well done.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84469Chapter: 1
Ooooh, very intriguing! Poor Aberforth, stupid Aberforth. Why can't he see that House is way too clever for him - and way too sneaky. A proper Slytherin, I'd say.

I really like the set-up of this chapter. The start in second person, making the reader curious about the story. Then poor Aberforth outside the Hog's Head without Hog's Head, making the reader wonder what had happened. Then the highly interesting story about what had happened, and a cliffhangerish end. Very well done!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84461Chapter: 1
Ohhh--showdown at the Hogshead! What atmospheric fun this first chapter was! I love all the time references--were you thinking of High Noon? And where is Grace Kelly if you were? Talk Turkey to me girls! Looking for an update in 24 hours and 13 minutes.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84438Chapter: 1
Too brilliant!! This is perfectly perfect!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84400Chapter: 1
Hehe! I love this set up. I even like the cruel cliffhanger; very clever. I've always wondered about the goat incident, so I'm glad to see that others have thought about it too. I really like your writing style. I especially liked this piece:
"He had been deaf to them all. He was losing, and he never lost. Lady Luck was in his corner now. He could feel her cool breath on his cheek, whispering that this was his moment, that he was going to win it all back in the next hand. He had never been more certain of anything in his life."

Very poetic! Please say that there will be more!

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84384Chapter: 1
It's here! At last, I'm going to find out all about Aberforth's goat!

But, wait - First the inimitable ivy and Gracie enchant me with an opening paragraph that is pure poetry. Then, they make my heart race as they raise the stakes in a game of chance. Then, they make me snort tea out of my nose with a terrible pun - "The House always wins." - splorf!! Then, the make me nod sagely with an erudite reference to obscure canon (Hesper Starkey was a famous potions-making witch - will this be important later?) -

AND THEN THEY GO AND SEE A MAN ABOUT A UNICORN????

Cruel, cruel, cliff-hanging authors. Needless to say, I loved this. And I am more than keen to see the rest of it. :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --