The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Bleak Midwinter
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145107Chapter: 1
A truly excellent piece.
Thanks.

Reviewer: LupinslittlesisterDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114672Chapter: 1
Oh WOW.

I am a huge Sirius fan, both in his younger days and his adult, simply for the absolute complexity of his character.

I found this fic because I was looking for fics that featured a good, developed Uncle Alphard (you're the only other person I've found besides myself to really flesh out Alphard). This was absolutely amazing and wonderful.

I love that Sirius's loyalty wavers in the face of the one thing he wants the most. (I also find it ironic, because I think that's why he thought Remus turned spy: the DeathEathers offered him his rights. Here he was basically put in the same theoretical position and nearly did what he accused Remus of doing.) I think it was well done, and to think that Sirius never had any days where he just wanted to chuck it all is unrealistic.

The flashback is wonderful, as well, and I love Uncle Alphard. Mine is substantially different than yours in personality, but one thing that is similar is Alphard's way of seeing Sirius's flaws as well as his strengths. He pushes him, and in that actually gets what's best for Sirius.

Wonderful, wonderful work, and thank you for such a great read!

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108743Chapter: 1
Much much too short if u ask me LOL!! I had to read this one after reading the summer of the phenoix! you are so talented to write sirius so acturate as you do. He's perfect exactly the way JKR does him. Even better in that you write him with more depth, maybe coz in JKR's Harry Potter. Its always in Harry's point of view so we dont know what Sirius is thinking and i think its so much better your way! But i guess the books would be called Sirius Black and the Student of Hogwarts instead. Anyway i loved it, ur writing is the best and you neat all the rest!

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-12-22
Reviewid: 108317Chapter: 1
Every part of this fic is amazing. From the Snape-Black interaction at the beginning, to the way that you've portrayed young Sirius' home and school life, to the ways that his mind works. You've done an awesome job here, and this is an amazing fic. Thank you so much for writing it.

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-10-11
Reviewid: 101084Chapter: 1
Wow, this was one of the best post-OotP Sirius-centric fics I've read. You've got his character down to a T, especially his impulsiveness. Phineas was great, too, he reminded me of Alphard in a way, since they both managed to talk Sirius into doing what was right, all the while keeping a level head.

I'm still rather speechless, but you did a really great job.

*heartwrenched*

Reviewer: jazzypomDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100306Chapter: 1
Wow.
So Snape's a double agent after all, eh? Figures.

But, I understand what you were doing. It would be tempting, because Sirius has suffered for so much for so long...

This was a firecraker of a story - the mood of the house, the faustian deal that Snape offers ; his wealth, his good name, his freedom...the lowest that Sirius had ever been and the fact that when it came down to it, he choose to fight the good fight - again- even though it cost him much more than he could ever think of, when he signed on over fifteen years ago.

I'm going off to have a good cry now.

Reviewer: solarphoenixDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93829Chapter: 1
Ah yes, I picked up on the 'They are the Marauders and They Hunt In A Pack' reference right away. It really is a haunting story isn't it? But onto this lovely piece of fiction. You had me genuinely worried that Sirius was going to go side with the Death Eaters for his freedom. You have a very good grasp on Sirius' character and I'm hoping for more Missing Moments from you.

Keep up the brilliant work.

solarphoenix.

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86563Chapter: 1
This was amazing. One of the best things I've ever read.

Reviewer: anonymousDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85911Chapter: 1
this was amazing. somehow when reading the book, i never really felt how painful it must have been for sirius to be there. but your story really brought it to life for me. thank you! keep writing

Reviewer: kathleen c.Date: 2004-05-30
Reviewid: 85241Chapter: 1
Once again, your writing is beautiful. I really felt like I could feel Sirius's emotions.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84924Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I'm so happy you made a little "sequel"-I've been hoping to see it. An in-depth look at Sirius's character--I love it! "They Are The Marauders, And They Hunt In A Pack" is indeed very intense, and I like that line.

-Linnet

Reviewer: RitournelleDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84859Chapter: 1
Wow.
I, to put it simply, loved this. Positively adored it, actually. You have such a way with words -- creating atmospheres, molding characters (your version of the mysterious uncle Alphard was perfect, really the kind of mentor I imagined Sirius would've needed), weaving thoughts...you do it all exceedingly well. So well, in fact, that I'm starting to appreciate Sirius in a whole new way, finally realizing why everybody seems to love him so much. I liked him well enough from the books, but I never really took the time to think about the difficulties and deceptions he must have experienced -- now, because of your stories (and especially this one), I think I'm finally ready to mourn him properly, and maybe shed a tear or two. I'm horrible, I know, but I never did, back when I first read OotP. I'm a bit ashamed of myself, really.

Oh, and I loved this line: “I see you’re on speaking terms with solitude then.” So very like Snape; perfect. Just like everything else in this story, actually. But I'm starting to repeat myself, so I'll stop.

Great, amazing & terrific piece of fanfiction.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84853Chapter: 1
*sigh* And now he is free, isn't he? Goodness knows what he's up to, I sure don't, but he's no longer between a rock and a hard place.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84817Chapter: 1
Once again, simply wonderful. You captured Sirius extremely well, and the overall writing was great. Thanks for sharing this. :)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84783Chapter: 1
Very good, very powerful.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84744Chapter: 1
Whoa. This is one of the most intense things I have ever read. So typically Snape, to offer Sirius a chance to defect without telling Dumbledore--what a slime. Sirius' memory of his awful vacation was so tragically moving, and I loved Uncle Alphard's intervention. This story is really, really good, and I would love to read and review anything else you write. Keep it up!

Reviewer: MollieDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84741Chapter: 1
Sirius as a Death Eater...I can't say that I'd agree with that, but if were drunk I can definately see him thinking about it...

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84723Chapter: 1
Oh hurray! I was so disappointed when there wouldn't be any more Summer, so this was a great return to your beautiful portrayal of Sirius. I liked Uncle Alphard too!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84684Chapter: 1
That was amazing - a truly brilliant and inspired back story for Sirius' past and the reason behind the gold we know that he received from his uncle.

Fabulous work!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --