The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Say It With Socks
Review(s): 101

Reviewer: bookishDate: 2008-09-28
Reviewid: 151126Chapter: 1
I've read this story before, but I don't think that I left a review the first time. I really enjoyed this story on its own, as well as where it fits into the Wallpaper Universe. You wrote Ron and Hermione together SO WELL. You captured what R/Hr shippers see in them as both a couple and as best friends. (I ship both H/G and R/Hr.) Also, I really enjoyed how you depicted depression, and the way that Ron helped and took care of Hermione was wonderful. Thank you for writing this and sharing it with us.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145125Chapter: 1
I enjoyed reading this - the idea of the ice around Hermione's heart was really interesting. I loved the canteen. The characterisation was very good in hindsight, even if it is harder to buy mature!Ron after HBP!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-06-16
Reviewid: 143463Chapter: 1
ok, Hermione's summer info, looked into. hhehehe i'm sure that the three Hermiones in the world are sighing happily at readign this. it's lovely. i loved the discription of the teashop. back to red is the heart!! yay!

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2006-01-23
Reviewid: 138826Chapter: 1
This is so wonderful, so light and warm and perfect. A beautiful friendship story, and as the Mistress of Fluff, you manage to make this adorable and wonderful without being cheezy. Very, very, sweet. Also, I loved the richness and details you put into it. Reading this is like drinking real, good, thick hot chocolate!

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-11-18
Reviewid: 135996Chapter: 1
I just can't get over how beautiful this is. It made me smile happily and tearily the first time I read it, and has exactly the same effect on me every time I re-read it. This is without doubt one of my favourite fics anywhere - it's just perfect.

Reviewer: Seedy BeaDate: 2005-11-17
Reviewid: 135950Chapter: 1
This is PRETTY good. But write a sequel. A FLUFFY one. there is a severe lack of snogging, in this one.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132890Chapter: 1
Quirt enjoyable. Thanks.

Reviewer: Pokey1984Date: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131712Chapter: 1
I thought this was a really sweet story, the kind that leave you with warm fuzzy feelings. I really liked that the portrait was still trying to help people, I always feel like the portraits are ignored in so many stories.

I can't think of anything else intelligent to say, so we'll just stick with "I really like this story."

-Pokey1984

Reviewer: Brie Cheese EaterDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130292Chapter: 1
Oh! What a wonderful story! Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :)

Reviewer: auroraziazanDate: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126070Chapter: 1
One of my friends suggested you. I'm not normally a big Ron/Hermione fan, but this was way cute (and I have a sock fetish). I'm glad I read it.

Reviewer: Marina AvalonDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125912Chapter: 1
Hello!

I was directed to this fic via the Good Ship at FAP and I have to say I loved it! Very sweet, heartwarming and realistic. I especially loved the conversation between Ron and the painting of the Healer:

The portrait inclined his head. "Good luck, young man-your lady friend, she has quite a champion in you." Then he added kindly, "I'm sure she will overlook the spattergroit."

That line was perfect, very humorous, and it intertwines the fic with canon, which is always positive in fics.

My only criticism would be that Ron and Hermione were a bit too "adult" for their ages. They were Ron and Hermione, but more like 7th year R/H or even post-Hogwarts R/H. Ron was a bit too calm and collected about "romance" stuff. He would probably be more nervous. You have Ron's nurturing side spot on though. And I loved how Hermione gave Ron conjuring tips automatically, very Hermione and very R/H.

All around an excellent fic, I hope you write more R/H!

Reviewer: kateDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121369Chapter: 1
Lovely old motherly Ron. That was really nice.

Reviewer: PeishanDate: 2005-04-07
Reviewid: 118897Chapter: 1
This story is just beautiful.

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115307Chapter: 1
That was a really nice read. I like the way you've developed on the little things the books mention, such as the spattergoit painting. Not so sure I believe you on the authors note; i've suffered depression for as long as I can remember, unrelenting. Must start looking for a Ron-analogue

Reviewer: Jolene_xxDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113058Chapter: 1
I think you captured Ron and Hermione very well although we see sides of them that we don't see very often (mostly because they wont stop fighting!). You showed that Hermione does have some vulnerabilities, that she always looks towards books, that perhaps she's lonely without her parents. Of the three of them I think she is the one most likely to suffere from melancholia. And Ron does have a gentle side and a 'Weasly wisdom' from being from such a large, caring familly. This is a fic I'll be thinking about for a while. Thanks.

Reviewer: Tweak McFreakDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 111007Chapter: 1
How heartwarming! I sure could use a Ron.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107906Chapter: 1
*incoherent squeal* I love this story so much. I was so sad over what happened to Ron and Hermione in the latter part of OotP and this story made me feel so much better. I hope JKR has something like this happen between them in canon. We don't really need to see that, I guess, but it would be nice if they learned even "off-screen" that they could rely on each other.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-12-13
Reviewid: 107675Chapter: 1
[The hospital teashop was one of those dismal places, which tried hard to be cheerful. The baskets of artificial flowers on the tables were horribly garish, the piped in music sounded like a cross between a Fwooper and an Augurey. Even the pictures of the sunny domestic scenes looked a little strained. Hermione thought the puppies gamboling on the green lawn looked tired-like they just wanted to take a nap instead of having to wag their tails for the patients.] Great description, especially of the puppies. I also loved Ron's commentary on the place.

[Hermione had always been reminded of a tawny lion, lying in the bright African heat whenever she saw Ron lolling like that. At first she thought it was a lazy stance, but now she was more inclined to think of it as saving energy, because there was power there-ready to pounce when the time came.] Great description, very vivid.

Incredibly sweet, I liked the bit about the socks. Very clever the malady affecting Hermione. It makes a lot of sense and there's something very...magical about the area around the heart freezing. The dialogue between Ron and Hermione was very good for the most part, although it sounded a bit more "adult" than their usual tones. I did like how Hermione gave Ron advice about how to perfect his conjuring; very Hermione-like and it flowed very nicely with the dialogue. Good job!

Reviewer: AndeeDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107246Chapter: 1
I loved it!! Keep writing!!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105493Chapter: 1
St Margarets, I just realised that I never reviewed this story (which I love)!

One of my favourite bits was:

“Ron watched the flames roar, and then die down again. I should have given her a hug she knew was from me, he thought. Still he didn't feel the least bit guilty about the white lie he had told her. Of course Mum would have wanted Hermione to have a hug. She just didn't say that in their Floo conversation.”

A great R/H friendship story that borders on romance- after all, friendship is the base for a meaningful relationship. This story always brightens my day!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: pavonisDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103063Chapter: 1
Not often you see a fic about depression that is a) accurate b)sensible and c) heartwarming. Very nicely done.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102486Chapter: 1
Having struggled with clinical depression since I was twelve, this story moved me deeply. My family and friends always told me that I had to be strong in myself and couldn't rely on anyone else for comfort, that I had to learn to be happy even without people around to boost me up. They are right. You can't heal if all your healing comes from outside. But when that cold takes over, sometimes you need someone else to thaw you out before you can begin to heal.

It's a long and agonizing journey, but depression can be overcome. I add my voice to others' here. If you are depressed, it will end eventually. I know it doesn't seem like it right now, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel and you will reach it. To those of you who know someone like this, go out of your way to help. We notice. A friendly phone call, a hug, even a special smile that says, "I know. I care. Hang in there. I love you." You might not see a difference, but it's there. Gradually those smiles will build up and we learn to smile again ourselves. That's when true healing begins.

Reviewer: J TaylorDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101172Chapter: 1
This is the best short story I have read about Ron and Hermione. It is very sweet and totally fits their personalities...great job!!

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2004-10-11
Reviewid: 101027Chapter: 1
This is the first time I've read anything by the famous St. Margarets! (Who is made even cooler by the fact your birthday is this month, right?) I was really... well, the people who make posts about your fics are RIGHT! It was really good-- I almost started to cry, too. And I love the ending. Excellent!

~Brittney

Reviewer: dragongirlgDate: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100805Chapter: 1
Wow! What a great symbolic story...I love how you play out the process of healing depression through Ron and Hermione. Yes, I do wish I had a Ron and that I could be a Ron. This story was so inspiring - just informing that us that things CAN get better. As for Ron and Hermione's characters - they were great. Ron was the steady, loyal, subtly insightful teenage boy - I love how you didn't make him some stupid buffoon. Hermione was, well, Hermione - intelligent, searching for logical answers - but not quite understanding emotion. This part was great:
***She felt the familiar impatience of going around in circles; this wasn't solving her problem. "But if I know this, why do I feel so sad?" she asked irritably.

"Knowing something doesn't keep you from feeling." Ron raised his eyebrows. "Why shouldn't you feel sad when sad things happen? There's no law that says you have to be happy all the time."

"It's just-" She looked at him with big eyes. "I feel-like I'm doing something wrong to feel this way." Then she added with vehemence, "I shouldn't feel this way."

"Since when could you control time and the outcome of everything?" he asked with equal vehemence. "You're a powerful witch, Hermione-but even you can't prevent life from happening. You have to let some of this go."***
I just love this part - exploring Hermione's view and Ron's view - Ron having this kind of knowledge, this wisdom, this almost common-sense knowledge of life, while Hermione's frustrated that she can't find it in a book - showing her flaw, and her realizing this flaw. It's wonderful.

This was such a beautiful, accurate, realistic story - Hermione and Ron are real, multifaceted and complicated teenagers, and in character with canon. The subject, too - I'm so glad I read this story - working out depression, seeing it solved. It makes me feel so much better.

Excellent writing!

Reviewer: livDate: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100791Chapter: 1
It's very sweet and Nice. I think ther arn't enough person who think of Departement of mysteries consequences for Ron and Mione.
I really like your point of view.

Liv

Reviewer: coatDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100635Chapter: 1
Oh, excellent! I saw it niffled on FAP, and I just had to read! It's a shame you say you won't write any more R/Hr fics, because this was just the cutest thing ever. :)

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100473Chapter: 1
Very well written! Loved many parts of it, like the curse freezing her heart...creative ;) And the cold tears part was awesome. It was a TAD cheesy (to me, only) at the end, but then, what R/H fics aren't. I noticed that in most places, you used hyphens (-) instead of dashes (--) which got confusing around some of the parts, like "But what I don't understand is why if my Time-Turner bought Sirius more time-why did he have so little of it afterwards?" Time-Turner is correct, but it would have been easier to understand "...bought Sirius more time--why did he have..." etc.

Reviewer: AnnDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100237Chapter: 1
What a dear story! Not icky poo fluffy sweet, but caring and kind. It does give warmth.

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99994Chapter: 1
AAWWWWWWWW! OH my gosh, I loved this! So sweet! And well written too. You are a good writer.

Reviewer: SlamphistDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99403Chapter: 1
I came over from siye to get the backstory on hermione's summer, and discovered one of the most wonderfully touching stories I've ever read. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98236Chapter: 1
Aah. I feel all warm and fuzzy. I need socks. And a Ron.
I liked this fic. It's an interesting thought, to think what kind of curse hit Hermione - and this one is certainly foul enough for a Death Eather. The cure was nice too, and I loved how your characters were in character.
Oh, and do I detect a hint of anti-H/Hrism? "I don't care for anything pumpkin" - very nice!

Reviewer: Kiki CabouDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97308Chapter: 1
Aww! This was so sweet and very well written. I really liked it. Great job! :D

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96947Chapter: 1
I feel so much better now. It's as reading this makes me feel like I've just had Ron himself cheer me up. :) Which is good, because everybody in the world needs a Ron sometimes. Thank you for providing that.

Reviewer: PazaDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96681Chapter: 1
That was beautiful, I love it!
Wonderful story. So well written, lovely plot. (The Healer in the picture made me laugh - again!)
It was adorable. Ron and Hermione were perfect, and very like the characters in the original Harry Potter books, in my opinion, if I may say.
Keep it up! (Please!)

Reviewer: vickyleeDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96621Chapter: 1
Wow! This was so good, it made me cry. You should write more Ron& Hermione in the future. :) :) :)

Reviewer: mellafeDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96547Chapter: 1
awwww, i got a little warm in my heart. This was so sweet, I loved it. :P

Reviewer: pirate smileDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96441Chapter: 1
oh my, you are my favorite author here. All of your stories are so real and I can get caught up in them after the first few sentences. Your use of dialogue and imagery is superb! ::sigh:: I DO wish i could have a Ron =). Keep up the great work! ((maybe you will write another ron/hermione story. well, a girl can dream cant she?)) I'll be looking forward to your other stories! <3

Reviewer: LawesaDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96279Chapter: 1
Sequel! Sequel! Sequel! "I'm sure she will overlook the spatergroit" *snorts in amusement*

Reviewer: ReeDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95528Chapter: 1
Oh! That was an absolutely beautiful story! So Ron, and so Hermione and so, well, *perfect*. Not icky sweet at all--just a solid friendship story with a hint of romance.

The Healer was wonderful! "I'm sure she will overlook the spattergroit." LOL! Great job!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94352Chapter: 1
Oh, that was beautiful! I feel like crying, but in a nice way. It was so good to read a Ron/Hermione which didn't end in a major kiss fest! You depicted them beautifully, and I'll add my pleas to the others wanting more of them!! Thank you so much.

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94300Chapter: 1
You don't know how happy I was to find a R/Hr friendship fic. I always thought "friendship first" and I'm a sucker for fluffy ones like this one. I love the orange socks thing. Actually, I wouldn't mind buying some...

You're a rather talented writer, St. Margarets. I love the Weasley Wisdom and it makes me feel all nice and fuzzy.

This is being added to my favorites folder.

By the way, to answer your question, Ron and Hermione are very good. You understood their bond beautifully.

Heh, I'm very tempted to print the story out now.

Reviewer: wmlawDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94070Chapter: 1
That was lovely.

Reviewer: RitaDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93951Chapter: 1
Thank you very much. I've been having problems with depression for awhile now, and your story touched me. Thanks for a bit of hope!

Reviewer: Becky G.Date: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93890Chapter: 1
I was just re-reading this for the sixth time or so and I realized that this is probably my favorite fanfic ever. Ever. It's just amazing. Thank you!

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93645Chapter: 1
<i>Hermione had gone back in time with the Time Turner, she had stopped time when she was petrified, but she had never been inside of time. It was as if she was poised in mid-flight in a bell jar with warm swirls of orange, and red and gold all around. The gold was beautiful and warm and good.</i>

Awwww! :) That's just beautiful imagery. This whole fic was lovely. I love seeing these two as friends first and foremost, whether or not there's anything romantic coming later. Thanks for showing both of them dealing with the events of the DoM.

Reviewer: EsraDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93197Chapter: 1
“I promise to never write another R/H story as long as I live”
Oh dear, I do hope you don’t really mean that. This was a really lovely piece of interaction between Ron and Hermione and gave a very real insight into their friendship.

The following lines capture Ron and Hermione particularly well for me:
“Part of the full St. Mungo's experience, he thought sourly as his stomach growled” – a very in-character piece of Ron humour.

"Did you eat breakfast today?" He was looming over her with a disapproving look.
She hated that look. "What business is it of yours?" she snapped.
"I'll take that as a 'no,'" he said, giving her the book back. "Find us a table, ok?"

"Hermione, you're skin and bones," he said impatiently. "And don't get all huffy," he said, noticing her frown.
Again, very in-character, showing Ron’s rather maternal side which surfaces occasionally in the books and the no nonsense approach that he takes, which Hermione makes a show of being disgruntled by but, I think, really quite enjoys.

Her shoulders dropped and she took a deep breath. "So where do I put all this-the bin?"
"Evanesco is good. Vanishing Cabinet is better. The best choice would be to stick it up old Bellatrix's-"
"--Ron!"
"Or You-know-who's, or Umbridge"s, or Malfoy's," he continued as if he hadn't heard her. "Really, there are so many possibilities."
Again, great interaction and a good example of Ron’s sense of humour, which as you say always seems to raise a smile from Hermione. Also an example of the way in which Ron skillfully maintains the balance of talking about, and dealing with, Hermione's problems but doen't allow the discussion to become too morose and heavy.

“I don't care for anything pumpkin," Hermione replied.” – Ha!

“Hermione had always been reminded of a tawny lion, lying in the bright African heat whenever she saw Ron lolling like that. At first she thought it was a lazy stance, but now she was more inclined to think of it as saving energy, because there was power there-ready to pounce when the time came.” – this is a wonderful image and so apt, there is a real power and vitality within Ron but combined with a steadiness which we saw more of in OotP and which you have developed very well here.

I also particularly liked the added details about the hospital, especially the development of the Healer portrait; “Ron was relieved to see the spattergroit portrait was busy telling a man how he could rid himself of halitosis. ("A Freezing Charm and twelve sticks of mint thrice daily.")” – that was a great line, and the bit towards the end about overlooking his spattergroit was hilarious.

Right, I’m going to restrain myself from quoting all of the other parts that I liked because otherwise I’m going to end up writing a long rambling beast of a review.

Now for the nitpicky bits:
“"I've been practicing now that they've lifted the ban on underage magic. And like Fred and George told me, it's best to learn to conjure what you need whilst in bed” – I had always assumed that conjuring was quite advanced magic, but there’s nothing for me to base that opinion on and starting with small, practical items is a realistic way to go about it and I especially like Fred and George’s pragmatic, if lazy(!), advice.

“For Christmas he was going to give Hermione socks-orange.” – it might have made it easier to read if there had been a space after the dashes when used as a pause in speaking, otherwise it looks as though the two words are linked.

Otherwise it was pretty near perfect, just the right touch of humour and a deeper showing of care and affection and it was lovely to see a well developed piece showing the strong friendship between Ron and Hermione, which is sometimes overlooked in the rush for romance.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93183Chapter: 1
Aww, I really liked this! You did such a good job illustrating the relationship between Ron and Hermione. You captured the occasionally awkwardness and the deep caring that shows up even between the best of friends. This story clearly showed that Ron and Hermione's relationship is currently undefined and that they both have feelings for eachother. I would love if you continued this!
Liz

Reviewer: bradDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93086Chapter: 1
Very nice. One thought - could you have written a line or two where Ron
thanks the portrait for his advice? Just an idea. Lovely story, thank you.

Reviewer: clumsy maniacDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93084Chapter: 1
Hooray! This is just so great, I love it. Someone once told me they thought orange was an abrasive colour, and I agreed, but now I know for sure orange is the colour of a big warm hug. Also I just wanted to add this link, due to your author's note:
http://www.beyondblue.org.au/

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92662Chapter: 1
This may not be the right place for this review (given your obvious 'ship choice) but I'm glad to see a R/Hr story on this site. It feels sometimes like The Good Ship R/Hr has been beached and that the Great-Big-Honking (but Good) Ship H/G has taken over. No offense to H/G...I like them, too, but all the R/Hr sites that I go to, of late, have nothing but H/G stories.

Anyway, this is an excellent story. You've captured the characters very well. The ice-cold tears are a good addition to the story--that's something I never would have been able to come up with.

Sorry for the crazed review. I just miss my R/Hr. I'll go back to lurking now.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92351Chapter: 1
That made me cry, seriously. Not while I was reading it, but I finished it up, sat a few seconds, and then cried. *sniffle* It's crappy weather here, and I was feeling sad. That was just what I needed. I think I want to go out and buy some warm fuzzy orange socks right now, though. Middle of summer, you'd think it'd be warm here, huh?

Reviewer: leftsockarchiveDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91946Chapter: 1
That was lovely. Your idea of Hermione being frozen around the heart was a very good one, and I liked how both she and Ron had to face their healing process. They're definitely growing up, and your portrayal of them showed that. It was warm without being saccharine. Thanks for writing a beautiful story.

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90709Chapter: 1
This was delightful! Thank you for writting it!

You made them all very real and have a nice grasp of character.

Please write more soon.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90625Chapter: 1
Ok, I haven't reviewed in ages due to an insuppressible tendency to ramble, but this just can't be ignored. Your story really touched me, it was just so perfect, every word was just exquisite, and reading it, I was just swept up into their world and... I don't know what to say, I'm actually speechless! I mean bowled over, on the verge of tears (and I don’t cry. Full stop), feeling wonderful inside, but also desperately sad that I don't have my own Ron to help me the way Hermione does. I can't believe you're not a R/H writer - you capture them perfectly, and I'm so so SO disappointed that you say you'll never write them again, I want to beg, hell, I *will* beg you to reconsider! This was just... ugh, I'm completely incoherent right now, I'm really sorry! I wish I could express how this made me feel, but I just feel clumsy with the words, and I don't want to spoil what you've done! Maybe I’ll write a proper review when my brain’s not in such a mess, but I just had to tell you right away how glad I am that I read this. You have no worries re: characterisation or understanding of the relationship, this was just beautiful to read. You seem to have a real love of the characters too, which is so important when you’re writing. You’ve picked up on exactly the traits that will be coming out in them at this point – Hermione’s tendency to shy away from something as illogical (that’s not quite the right word…) as depression, and the desperate need to understand it the only way she knows how – by looking in books, and Ron’s deeply caring nature, his humour and his ability to see things straight when Hermione’s in a tizzy. The interactions between the two were spot-on, and the hint of romance was just right for the situation they were in. Anything more would have seemed contrived given how shaken-up and confused they will be feeling after Book 5, but you can still see that they really care for and rely on each other. It’s so wonderful to read a fic about two characters who you love and feel that they were portrayed exactly as you think they should have been. Anyway, suffice to say that I’m in awe of your writing, and very taken by this story :) If you write this well about a couple who aren’t the main focus of your attention, I’m tempted to read your H/G stuff, even though I’m not a massive fan! Thank you thank you thank you, and well done and just, wow!

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89123Chapter: 1
AWWW! Ron taking care of Hermione. it's so sweet! the characters are perfect! great job!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88912Chapter: 1
Nice fic- very sweet. But I especially have to compliment you on your author's note at the end- sensitive and a wonderful addition to the the story.

Reviewer: KathyDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88679Chapter: 1
I really loved this fic. Made me feel warm and fuzzy inside :)

Reviewer: LenaDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88669Chapter: 1
This was really good. Very sweet and comforting.

Reviewer: heartseaDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88587Chapter: 1
this was light and heartwarming, and was an impressive take on ron and hermione. i particularly enjoyed their hug and the smooth flow of the plot. their conversation lacked a little liveliness, though. even if the mood was melancholy, it could have been worked on with punctuation in the right places, to add a tiny bit of dramatic flair.

keep up your exceptionally good work; a piece such as this is hard to come by and this is definitely one of my favourites!

Reviewer: Dina C.Date: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88520Chapter: 1
Wow! Just loved this! Loved Sensitive!Ron and his conjuring. :) Best line was his about wouldn't Umbridge be jealous of their art collecton. Having worked in a hospital, I had to agree!

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88041Chapter: 1
I've read all of your fanfictions so far and I'm really impressed at how well you write and explain things. I love how well your stories flow. They just...make sense and it seems like these stories could be the real thing. The way you explain all the emotions of Harry, Ginny, Ron and Hermione in their difficult situations is amazing. I'd never be able to write so well. I give you a lot of credit and a lot more respect. Keep writing, I'm loving every story!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87948Chapter: 1
I read half of this earlier today and after much difficulty (for I had gotten offline without knowing your name or the stories name!) I searched long and hard so I could read the rest and was very pleased! It was short sweet and well written!!! I trully enjoyed it.

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87697Chapter: 1
I'm crying...sniffle. I need a Ron! Okay, we all need Ronald Weasley. Thank you for a truly charming fic.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87604Chapter: 1
You are my favorite fic writer- hands down, bar none.

You shouldn't stay away from R/H stories- you write them as well as H/G! I love how you include little tidbits from FBaWtFT. I can definitely see Ron acting like the nurturer he is - and being happy about it - very shortly. I also love that it was Hermione who was so affected. It shows her vulnerability. She is not quite all 'girl power'. :) Wonderful!

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87603Chapter: 1
You are my favorite fic writer- hands down, bar none.

You shouldn't stay away from R/H stories- you write them as well as H/G! I love how you include little tidbits from FBaWtFT. I can definitely see Ron acting like the nurturer he is - and being happy about it - very shortly. I also love that it was Hermione who was so affected. It shows her vulnerability. She is not quite all 'girl power'. :) Wonderful!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87463Chapter: 1
The portrait inclined his head. "Good luck, young man-your lady friend, she has quite a champion in you." Then he added kindly, "I'm sure she will overlook the spattergroit."

Hilarious. And what a warm, fuzzy story as well! *heeheehee...orange socks indeed*

:)
Senna

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 85994Chapter: 1
This was excellent! Please do write more Ron/Hermione because you do it well. Not only is your style of writing quite beautiful but I think you have the essence of their relationship down very well. Plus I love the way you write Ron. :D

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85533Chapter: 1
That was truly magical. That was the third time I'd read it and it was just as emotive and just as touching as it was the very first time O read it. I wasn't going to say much in this review because I rattled on for so long about how much I enjoyed 'Say it with Socks' before, but I have to say again how much I love this piece. It is *so* Ron and Hermione and such a fantastic piece of writing. There are so many parts of it that I love.

I think my overall favourite part is the conversation in the tea shop. It's the way they work together to come up with an explanation for the DoM. It really illustrates how well Ron and Hermione are able to work as a team, which they are, they just argue a lot too! I'm glad that part is from Hermione's PoV because it's good to see how she's reluctant to believe that Ron's right, that she can't possibly find answers in her book, but then she takes what he says and produces some answers about time and death and accepts his mollycoddling of her. It ends perfectly with her complimenting him, I really love the last line of that paragraph, when she watches Ron's ears turn red.

Your author note at the end highlighted how I felt when I read the hug part and Ron's conversation with the portrait. His concern and admiration for Hermione is so evident in what he says to the portrait, yet despite the seriousness of what they are discussing, there is still an element of humour there and that is so true of Ron. I can't tell you how much I enjoy your portrayal of him, you understand all of his good qualities and make them shine through in some way or the other, but he's still Ron - he's still shudders at girls crying and he's still a joker.

I have one criticism to make and that isn't even about the fic itself, it's about the author note at the beginning. You promised never to write another R/Hr fic again. That disappointed me because in my opinion, you write about them wonderfully, you have a great understanding of their relationship. I really enjoyed reading this.

I hope you were proud with the finished product because I think it is one of the greatest R/Hr fics I've ever read.

Nic xx

Reviewer: SBunsDate: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85339Chapter: 1
I loved this story so much. The end just warmed my heart, especially when Ron and Hermione hugged. It really helped me because my sister is going through a depression and this story made me realize that I need to be better for her. Thank you so much. I'll do a Ron and get her some socks. lol. Keep on writing!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84982Chapter: 1
I’ve never commented on a story before, but seeing as how I'm sitting at work crying (in a good way!) over yours, I felt I had to. You have really connected deeply with how a depressed person can feel and with what help they need. To be honest, your characterization of Ron and Hermione isn’t how I see them in canon. (Ron just doesn’t strike me as having that level of maturity yet.) On the other hand, it’s not a great stretch to see this sort of exchange between them sometime in the future. That said, the story flows wonderfully smoothly and does a great job conveying its message. I'm inspired to read the rest of your work. :)

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84929Chapter: 1
"Hermione had always been reminded of a tawny lion, lying in the bright African heat whenever she saw Ron lolling like that. At first she thought it was a lazy stance, but now she was more inclined to think of it as saving energy, because there was power there-ready to pounce when the time came."

Wonderful line, and so Ron! This is a beautiful piece of writing--keep it up!

-Linnet

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84907Chapter: 1
Great fic, I love how you portray their friendship. The fic is especially great to read after spending time on debate threads at other sides. You have a very interesting take on their friendship, one that really shows that they are friends and love each other. Very in character for both of them. I loved the orange socks and hispital cafeteria scene and Ron's mothering of Hermione.

Reviewer: BasilMDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84885Chapter: 1
Wow. I think you are officially my new favorite. This was so well done, a nice mix of intellectual & warm & fuzzy, very fitting for R/H I think, and Ron was just great.

TIME in literature is a bit of an academic obsession for me, so it was so exciting to see someone else express their perception of it in a story--and so well!

Dasein! I loved it!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84873Chapter: 1
PART 2
more lines I liked :o):
"As she helped herself to more toast from his plate, she thought about what a warm color orange was, and how she always associated it with Ron. It must be because of the Chudley Cannons, she thought. Or maybe that Weasley hair." (I like this line for several reasons...one is that Hermione taking toast from Ron's plate reminds me of Ginny taking a bite of chocolate from Harry's egg in OotP, but I also like Hermione feeling warmth from orange!)
"How he wished he could kiss her awake-that would certainly warm him up." (this seems slightly OOC for Ron...perhaps if he blushed after thinking this, it would be better...I just can't see him thinking about kissing Hermione so calmly, but I wish he would, just the same!)
"Another friend, whom we both love, has a horrible task to complete, and there's a war on, and a whole lot of other stuff." (I like 'whom we BOTH love'...it puts Ron and Hermione as one unit)
"The portrait inclined his head. "Good luck, young man-your lady friend, she has quite a champion in you." Then he added kindly, "I'm sure she will overlook the spattergroit." (hee hee)
"Hermione had always been reminded of a tawny lion, lying in the bright African heat whenever she saw Ron lolling like that. At first she thought it was a lazy stance, but now she was more inclined to think of it as saving energy, because there was power there-ready to pounce when the time came." (what a great description of Ron!)
"The gold was beautiful and warm and good." (beautiful)

that was a great R/H story, St. Margarets...I loved how Ron enveloped Hermione in a hug...those are the best kinds!

Jules

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84865Chapter: 1
I love it. I've never read Ron and Hermione so in character, and I absolutely loved the speculation on the Department of Mysteries. So, all in all, I think you've accomplished all the things fanfiction should accomplish - better understanding of the characters, better understanding of the series as a whole, good plot, and capturing really fun moments. Thanks so much for sharing this with us.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84863Chapter: 1
Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. I loved every part of this story, particularly this line --

No," he said in a steady voice. "My thoughts are my own. They always have been."

The way you quietly developed Ron's steadiness from what we glimpsed in OotP was wonderful, as was the way he carefully supported Hermione. The discussion with the Healer about humours and tears was wonderful, and so was Hermione seeing Ron in colours, seeing him as a lion. He *is* very vivid, very alive, and she *is* attracted to him. Speaking of which..

"I don't care for anything pumpkin," Hermione replied.

HA! I loved it. To conclude this gushing review, here are a few more of my favourite lines.

"Evanesco is good. Vanishing Cabinet is better. The best choice would be to stick it up old Bellatrix's-"

"--Ron!"

"Or You-know-who's, or Umbridge"s, or Malfoy's," he continued as if he hadn't heard her. "Really, there are so many possibilities." - So true, Ron.

"I'm sure she will overlook the spattergroit." - *kills herself laughing* Great to have this after such a serious and sensitive discussion, lightens you up.

"I do think you have the most practical beginners repertoire of conjured items I've ever seen." - So nice, a great compliment but very Hermione.

He laughed, imagining what Snape would say if he told him an empty piece of parchment proved he had been listening in class. - I'd like to see Snape's face myself!

I like this best of all your stories except for "The Wildest, Slimmest Chances". That still remains my favourite. I love your Ron, I really do, and I hope we get to see more of him in Book VI.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: RitournelleDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84841Chapter: 1
I don't know if I'm looking into this too deeply, but --

"I don't care for anything pumpkin," Hermione replied.

Priceless :)

And why shouldn't you ever write R/H stories again? I thought this one was quite good. I especially liked the bit where they discuss the rooms they encountered in the Department of Mysteries -- I never really looked at it this way, the whole 'these things have to be experienced to be understood'. Really, really interesting.

Reviewer: MissBrooke06Date: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84811Chapter: 1
It's very tragic that you say will never write another R/H fanfic because it was so damn cute. I loved it. Very sweet... I love these one-shots that make you want so bad for them to figure it out but it's just perfect that they aren't together yet.
I'm not sure that made any sense so I will just finish by saying it was great.

Reviewer: Katherine S-DDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84806Chapter: 1
Hey!

Wow, you've done a very admirable job on this story. Very accurate characters without being the stereotypes! It was a delight to read, i'm glad to read a nice, friendly, warm story that didn't have to include definate romance. It wasn't far-fetched like alot of H/R fics end up being. Great job writing a very good story that's true to canon!

Love from Katherine

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84804Chapter: 1
Hey St. Margarets!
I've enjoyed your H/G stories so much, that I'm sure you've done a wonderful job with R/H.
These are some lines I love:
"He headed for the fireplaces to Floo back to the Burrow. He was hungry for breakfast." (that's so Ron...ok, I've been treated, now onto more important things...like breakfast!)
"She closed her book without bothering to mark her place, and smoothed her hands over the cover." (I like this line because you are showing that Hermione would usually have marked her place, but she didn't...like JKR saying Ginny did something unblushingly)
"Then he noticed the title of her book: The Department of Mysteries Explained." (oh, that makes me sad...thinking of poor Hermione still trying to find all the answers in books...)
"she said in the same matter-of-fact tone she always used when talking about her family." (you are very good at subtleties like this...you don't have to come out and say that Hermione has trouble relating to her parents now as a witch, but just to say that she talks about them matter-of-factly shows that she has come to terms with it)
"Ron was relieved to see the spattergroit portrait was busy telling a man how he could rid himself of halitosis. ("A Freezing Charm and twelve sticks of mint thrice daily.")" (heh)
"Hermione stole a glance at Ron. He looked incongruously big and healthy and oh so familiar."
"The hospital teashop was one of those dismal places, which tried hard to be cheerful." (I've spent a lot of time wandering around hospitals through the years, and this statement is VERY true)
"Ron looked around. "Nice place. Umbridge must be jealous of their art collection."" (hee hee)
"She took a sip. It was dark and hot and sweet, and for some reason it seemed more potent than the potion she had to drink downstairs. Maybe Ron was on to something." (ha, not that she'd ever tell him he was right!)
"He absently stirred his tea for a moment, thinking. "Maybe they can't be explained because the only way to understand these mysteries is to experience them."
Hermione leaned closer, finally talking about what had haunted her all these weeks. "Are you saying that these mysteries go beyond the scope of books, beyond the scope of what intelligence can absorb?" (man, how I love your Ron...you've given him just a hint more intuitiveness, which seems exactly right after the experience they all had...great job!)
""Evanesco is good. Vanishing Cabinet is better. The best choice would be to stick it up old Bellatrix's-"
"--Ron!"
"Or You-know-who's, or Umbridge"s, or Malfoy's," he continued as if he hadn't heard her. "Really, there are so many possibilities."
She had to smile, for the first time in days.
(hee hee, so very R/H)
""I'll take that as a compliment too."
"Good-that's the way I meant it," she said, enjoying the sight of Ron's ears turning red."
"Hermione had never considered herself ticklish, had never been overly sensitive to touch, but the shocking warmth of his hand on her foot sent a tremor up her spine." (Hermione, dear, that's not just the warmth...it's RON!)
""I've been practicing now that they've lifted the ban on underage magic. And like Fred and George told me, it's best to learn to conjure what you need whilst in bed. That way you don't have to get up in the middle of the night. So I can conjure socks, pillows, tissues, and glasses of water." (I like the way that F&G helped Ron and I also like your explanation of the lift on the ban on underage magic...)
This was just PART 1 of my review...my sister has to use my computer, so I'll be back!
It's nice how you've depicted Ron as very compassionate towards Hermione. They bicker all the time, but once Ron sees that she needs him, he can be strong for her...sigh...

Jules

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84803Chapter: 1
nice-fluffy-but nice. pls keep writing

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84791Chapter: 1
Fabulous little story you've got here... a delight to read all the way through. I've wondered a few times whether the injuries both Ron and Hermione experienced would lead to anything further. Your take on it was most interesting, as are your characterizations. Thanks for sharing!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84790Chapter: 1
**silent moment of homage** You've done it yet again! Most people can't write heart-to-heart dialogue and still make characters like Harry and Ron stay true-to-life... We think you've done that, and beautifully. We always look for your name on the new postings. And one more word.... in our family, we tell our nearest and dearest "hold my foot to show me you love me." Only real affection cradles someone else's bare foot! Three cheers for the good ship R/H!! (Now if you'd just write a SS/OC...) **ivy gives Gracie a disgusted look. "Really, you are SO pedestrian, my dear."**

Reviewer: LesaDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84782Chapter: 1
This was a really lovely story. Thanks for posting it.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84781Chapter: 1
That was an amazing story. I think your description of depression was very sensitive and accurate, and Ron was a wonderful character throughout. Brilliant!

Reviewer: ElenoreDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84780Chapter: 1
Very nice! You should write more R/Hr. I guess you don't really like them too much, though, and are only exercising them for your H/G stories, which is really too bad. Oh, well. I enjoyed this one! =)

Reviewer: WendyDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84777Chapter: 1
This is a lovely little story - heartwarming. (or tear-warming perhaps?)

I think the thing that really stood out for me was your lovely use of colour to describe a feeling. It was not at all cliched or sentimental and the rationalisation of it fitted brilliantly with Hermione's mindset. A lovely moment.

It was all very good and I can't see why on earth you wouldn't want to do another R/Hr. This is a great story in it's own right regardless of any future H/G planned.

Bravo!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84768Chapter: 1
First improvement: remove the first sentence of the end note. The note is very deep and makes a fitting end for the story, but the apology spoils it.

Can't think of anything else to improve. You've hit Hermione dead on, and you've hit a more mature Ron dead on too. We don't know for sure if Ron is this way now (thanks to Harry being completely self-absorbed through OotP), but he might be.

I also really like your idea of Hermione's ailment, and your handling of the healer in the image.

Reviewer: mandjDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84758Chapter: 1
awww that was so sweet! I loved it, i have always loved Ron, thank you for putting him in such a wonderful light.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84750Chapter: 1
I LOVED it! Ohh, you did a wonderful job with the characters! It fit well into the book, and they moved slowly- not too fast, just the right speed- it was wonderful! I love reading your work, St. Margaret, and I can't wait to read some more!

Reviewer: ShinaLarisDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84745Chapter: 1
I love this fic! Ron's so sweet... You really shouldn't have made that promise, you know, St. Margarets, because now I've lost the opportunity of nagging you for more R/Hr stories.

Umm, since you ask for a bit of constructive criticism, I hope you don't mind if I put in some. Over all, the story and the plot is very good, but I notice a few grammar mistakes here and there. Nothing that can't be fixed easily, of course. Also, I don't think that's how Ron's voice would sound. It just sounds a bit too... sophisticate for Ron. It sounds a bit more like Hermione than Ron.

Anyway, great story! I've really enjoyed it!

Reviewer: whizbeeDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84742Chapter: 1
St. Margaret's, I absolutely adore your stories. This one is so good because it explores the friendshiip that is the basis of their romantic feelings for each other. You do it *so* well because you still show the presence of the romantic feelings, but don't let it overpower the story as a whole, or take away from the importance of their friendship.

Reviewer: Rogue13Date: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84735Chapter: 1
Excellent chapter! This is really good, it's sort of describe Hermione's feelings about life. Life is not just about reading, it's about experiencing it as it is. All is left now is a sequel to this chapter, if that's possible, explore their character much more deeply, singly or together.
You know, I hope that Emma Watson would also be reading this chapter, it really does help a bit in understanding of herself. I have a feeling, that Hermione's character and personality is somewhat a bit like hers. Anyway, that's a thought... :)
Keep on writing...

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84729Chapter: 1
Lovely. I really enjoyed this. I think you did a good job showing their friendship developing into something else. Lots of nice symbolism -which one expects from the Master!

Nice work!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84725Chapter: 1
This is great. I think Ron seems a bit more sensitive than he has been portrayed in canon so far, but as he seems to be improving in this regard, I can accept it. I like that Hermione had to realize books couldn't solve everything--it's not for nothing that JKR had her buried in a book pile just before Dolohov cursed her. I liked it when she snapped at him that her heart wasn't frozen--she must have thought he was implying she couldn't feel love. Also interesting what you said about depression--certainly true. Excellent work, and I'll be looking forward to your next story!

Reviewer: caitlinDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84722Chapter: 1
I resisted against this story, but you relented and I found myself as much as a fan as your trio of Harry/Ginny stories...In the beginning, I was doubting your characterizations, but eventually I got it. I think this Ron and this Hermione are where Rowling's are heading.

The "pumpkin" joke was hilarious. I've read many of your posts on the symbolism contained within HP, and I adore that I can see your own inclusions of certain things that one has to read deeply in to get.

Oh, and please don't promise you won't write another Ron/Hermione. You did wonderfully.

- Caitlin

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84696Chapter: 1
I think this is your best yet! I think it's because you make Harry and Ginny interact more maturely than I think they would, and in this story Ron and Hermione also interact maturely, but I think it fits. Especially given the circumstances. And I caught the symbolism! I caught it! So proud. Why are you assuring us you won't do R/H again? It's not assuring! I want more!

Reviewer: KathyDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84689Chapter: 1
This is so lovely. You are such a good writer--and you have tremendous output! How like Ron to be relieved that he knew the crying was coming...keep up the excellent work. =)

Reviewer: YeopDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84681Chapter: 1
Awwww...... A really good read- Ron's definitely growing up, and you were able to capture his characterization quite well. Nice use of colors, too, to describe various "auras" of those who need healing. Go you!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --