The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2005-11-10
Reviewid: 135785Chapter: 1
Rediscovered this fic after someone mentioned it on the forums... and wow. It's gotten more beautiful in the time I have been away from it.

I don't know if you got your Snape right - how could we know? We know so little about the man, really - but he feels so real.. It feels like this is how Snape *could* have been, had he chosen to. This is how he could be now, if that is what he *has* chosen. It feels true to the ear, true to the heart.

I think what I love about this most is that it shows me a Snape who I am *wishing* and *wishing* is the true Snape of canon.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134396Chapter: 1
Most Excellent

Reviewer: monDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128412Chapter: 1
This is wonderful. Reasonably sad but oddly tranquil. Nice piece.

Reviewer: jmacleveDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125637Chapter: 1
Thanks for writing this -- I've always thought there was more to Snape than JKR will let Harry acknowledge.

It really moved me.

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109556Chapter: 1
So I've just read Adantino, and I'm just writting again to let you know that well... I like this fic even more, knowing the story behind it. Again, I love it, you're absolutely wicked... it's one of my favourite fics ever, just the title itself makes me shiver.
Your fan,
Abigail

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109359Chapter: 1
That was way too good. It would be sufficient to say: it's wonderful, perfectly written and too touching, too mature, too heart-breaking... but, without a doubt, it's also Snape and everything that comes with him. I think you've made a wonderful approach at Sirius' and Snape's relationship, a wonderful approach to the side of that relationship that continues to be a mistery to us all... it's different, but it's still them... do you get my point?
I really, really, really liked it, I think there's nothing more sincere to say than that.

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107159Chapter: 1
I think I like this fic a little better than Andantino, but I'm not really sure why. It's sad, but it has this tiny spark of hope that is very compelling. Thanks for writing it!

Reviewer: PCVDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87889Chapter: 1
Very well written.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86140Chapter: 1
Amazing.

I cannot find words--your Snape is *perfect*. This is simply amazing, touching--believable. I like the one bond between them, the one thing that they both know and love. I also adore the way Snape sees him: he can hate him and yet pity him, and understand Sirius in ways that perhaps even his friends will not. You've done a wonderful job, and I can't wait to read more from you.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-05-30
Reviewid: 85254Chapter: 1
Incredible. Very moving, I loved Snape’s sudden insight into Black and the bit where he said he was glad Sirius didn't get Kissed. The music connection was very effective. It made me want to cry.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84997Chapter: 1
Very nice, very thoughtful.

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84943Chapter: 1
This is brilliant and beautiful! Begining with:
"Do I miss him? Not a bit. ... Do I mourn him? Undeniably."

The insights into character are amazing! The exquisit pain...
"He had forgotten why."


Please write more pieces.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84926Chapter: 1
Mincot is fabulous, isn't she? And you are too--that was too magnificent for words. I'm saving this, definitely. Great job, I'd love to see more of these sorts of pieces from you.

-Linnet

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84840Chapter: 1
Unbelievably beautiful. Wow. . . I honestly can't even come up with the words right now. Truly, truly an excellent piece.

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84835Chapter: 1
Canopus, this is stunning. You've found Snape's thoughts and felings about Sirius so beautifully- this is one os the rare times Snape is shown as a person and not a sneering caricature.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84805Chapter: 1
While I am not familiar with Mincot's stories (something to be soon rectified) I have to say that this piece works beautifully on its own. Insightful and evocative. I really enjoyed looking inside Snape's mind and his realization of exactly what Sirius had been through was wonderfully written.

Thanks for sharing this.

Reviewer: MaglorDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84772Chapter: 1
A wonderful story. Excellent portrayal of Snape, and his assessment that Sirius hadn't forgotten how to play but *why* says more about Sirius's mental condition in OotP than a lengthy analysis. The atmosphere at Grimmauld Place is spot on, too. Thank you for this story!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84765Chapter: 1
What a lovely story. I always wanted to see more of this tale, and I'm so glad you continued on with the weaving Mincot started.

'Perhaps one day he would find music in himself once again; then his fingers would slowly reawaken and remember how of their own accord. Perhaps I...' - Aha, yes. Perhaps indeed, Severus. Perhaps with time.

I really enjoyed Severus' internal 'voice'. It sounds right for him, complete with a certain level of histrionics. :-)

And I'm thrilled he's writing music again! There is definitely more hope than he thinks, if he can do that.

Many thanks for the story!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84761Chapter: 1
This is really good! An impressive bit of detente between Severus and Sirius. Requiem for the Enemy who Chose Right, indeed--Snape's shame at his own past failings comes across very clearly, and I like that for an instant he can understand what Sirius has gone through. Well done!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84752Chapter: 1
Beautiful and poignant. You do a masterful job of portraying the complexities of this relationship.

>>And for that brief moment I understood Sirius Black. As he had looked inside of me that day in the practice room, his words allowed me a glimpse into him. He wasn't referring to the mechanics of fingering or the discipline of scales, mind and muscles working together. He had not forgotten how to play.

He had forgotten why.<<

*sniff sniff sniff*

That you manage to achieve such depth in this short piece is quite an achievement, especially since you do so without trivializing or simplifying the characters and their shared history. I feel as though I know both of them just a little bit better. :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84747Chapter: 1
Yolanda hit it on the head--you write both Snape and SIrius with such insight, especially their unspoken and only half-acknowledged understanding of each other. I am so honored that you liked my stories enough to create such an amazing piece in its own right. Thank you for sharing!

Reviewer: MollieDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84734Chapter: 1
Wow... This is incredible. The way you wrote Snape and Sirius' characters fit what JKR wrote almost perfectly. And I love how Snape is feeling some sort of mourning for Sirius. Please continue to write more fics like this, I really enjoyed this one.

Reviewer: mandjDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84727Chapter: 1
WOW!!! that was so...so...wow. great job, the bitterness yet understanding was wonderful

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84675Chapter: 1
This is really lovely--well, your writing is lovely, the subject matter is sad and painful. I've read Mincot's stories, so I understood the context. You just broke my heart with your (Severus's) insight that Sirius had not forgotten how to play, but why. Severus's further musings on why it was good that Sirius had been rescued really touched me too. Thanks for a great story.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --