The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Hero
Review(s): 34

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134248Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: BradDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120922Chapter: 1
Damn, I love this story! Just checking to see if you've written anything lately (no, alas :-( ). 'Hero' is pretty much perfect, as far as I'm concerned. It would be excellent if you could write something else ... maybe even revelation-of-prophecy related ... please? Never hurts to ask.

Thanks again for 'Hero' and your other stories. Brad.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108949Chapter: 1
OK, so I was ordered to read this story by Brad (see 2 reviews below) so I must first say, 'Thank you, Brad!" And 'DITTO" to everything he said in his reviews. I agree that this is the best prophecy revelation in fanfic: love that it's Ginny who hears it first, love that Harry just blurts it out in the middle of another conversation (very 'Harry'), and especially love Ginny's calm, quiet acceptance---this was a lovely example of saying nothing sometimes really saying everything. Very, very well done. Thank you.

Reviewer: bradDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108698Chapter: 1
This is ridiculous; I've picked up 'Hero' and re-read it another half a dozen times the past week. Pretty much the best, warmest, nicest, most satisfying revelation of the prophecy by Harry that I've ever come across. I wish I could read a hundred slight variations, permutations and extensions on what you've done here. Thank you again!

Reviewer: bradDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108221Chapter: 1
This was excellent; thank you so much! I've been left a bit disappointed with most fics I've read which has Harry revealing the prophecy; I've always felt that there is a LOT of drama and pathos which could be gleaned out of Harry's knowing it to the exclusion of his friends; and then the moment/climax when he reveals it (or when they find out another way).

Your story handled the latter beautifully. I don't quite get the 'hero' segue; Ginny being Harry's confidant, with unwavering concern for Harry - even beyond Ron & Hermione - is great, and follows from OotP, but her sudden reassurance to Harry that he'll "always be her hero" seems a bit -- trite? Incongruous? Artificial? I don't quite understand why she said that to him.

But the rest of the story after that was really excellent; I've re-read it about five times the past two days, it just WORKS. Her reaction, her consoling him, her words to him ("he is nothing" - excellent) and the conclusion. It amazes me sometimes how just a page or two of text can carry such an emotional payload.

I've never found a way on the sugar quill to get e-mailed 'author alerts'; is there one? I need to remember to check up on you from time to time, to see what else you've written!

Thank you for an excellent and very satisfying story. A great addition to the HP jigsaw. Brad.

Reviewer: PadfootsAngelDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95944Chapter: 1
Beautiful and very cute write more soon please ():o)

Reviewer: Avada KedavraDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95788Chapter: 1
aaaawwwww, Ginny is so great! i like it alot!

Avada Kedavra

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95787Chapter: 1
Twas very sweet, and I loved how you portrayed Ginny. Her words just gave me the goosebumps! Also, how Harry didn't have to explain everything, and Ginny still understood and accepted it.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95706Chapter: 1
This was wonderful. So much like Ginny, and Harry too, you did an excellent job at keeping them in character. I love Ginny's confidence in Harry, in the fact that it won't be him.

“I do, Harry, I do. He is… he is nothing. He has nothing inside, nothing but hate. And hate is nothing."

That was a great line.

Reviewer: Nancy FergusonDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95577Chapter: 1
What a nice moment - I really like that. You managed to make it all feel just right - Harry's being annoyed at himself for not really being happy for Ron, Ginny knowing not to push him too much, Harry just blurting out the one thing that's been eating away at him for an entire summer. In fact, Ginny pretty much told him exactly what I (and most other Harry lovers) WANT to tell him now that book 5 is over. Great job!

Reviewer: :)Date: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95541Chapter: 1
Wow. Brilliant. Never stop writing.

Reviewer: PackismithDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95513Chapter: 1
It could happen this way. Lovely story , thanks for canon and for Ginny . Keep writting I will follow you.

Reviewer: BowserbabeDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93924Chapter: 1
That was SO amazing!! It was perfect! Thanks so much!!

Reviewer: RandiDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88171Chapter: 1
This story is incredible! Harry's emotions caught me up in the story. A story about close friends that fit right in with the books. Thank you!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86084Chapter: 1
Very, very sweet. That's very much like Ginny.

Reviewer: FireflashDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85159Chapter: 1
Adorable, absolutely wonderful. Although, if Harry's attitude continues on the track it has been now, he won't be so nice and accepting about Ron's achievements. Let's just hope he mellows a bit.

Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85123Chapter: 1
What a lovely story. Truly beautiful and I absolutely love the idea of Harry telling Ginny first, you have extended the way Harry and Ginny’s relationship was beginning to grow in OotP very credibly. Keep writing!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 85005Chapter: 1
Oh that was well done. Ginny is so sane at times, that's why I love her, and that's why I love *your* Ginny.
I really like this line:
"Her eyes were bright, and her voice, though slightly wavering, had steel behind it. “It won’t be you.”"
With great economy you sum it up--her resolve and optimism as well as her caring nature. Lovely.

Reviewer: estherDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84902Chapter: 1
OOOOOOOO! Very good! I LOVE all your writting!!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84858Chapter: 1
That was great! i was wondering if you could post more, some stories seem as if they couldn't be possible but yours did! (well, I don't think Ron will make captain but other than that super job!)

Reviewer: PooooooocaDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84855Chapter: 1
Glad to be of service. (Wink)

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84833Chapter: 1
Nicely done. I love Ginny's viewpoints on the whole subject, and Harry's eventual acceptance of his role as her Hero. Beautiful.

Reviewer: juanaDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84824Chapter: 1
wow. that made me feel recomforted too!!! excellent as always!!!

Reviewer: Ima Quidditch FanDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84789Chapter: 1
That says it all. Wow, you captured those moments well. Thanks for writing this, it was wonderful!

Reviewer: hollyhockDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84784Chapter: 1
That was beauiful. Well done.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84779Chapter: 1
Great little fabulous moment! Thanks for making my morning!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84762Chapter: 1
This is excellent. The interaction between Ginny and Harry is so simple, and yet so full of care and understanding. She understands Harry better than he does himself, at times, and she can see his strengths more clearly. I like that she did not flip out over the Prophecy, like he imagined Hermione and Ron would. Outstanding job!

Reviewer: mandjDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84721Chapter: 1
i first read this on Phoenixsong and loved it. i am so glad that you posted it here where i actualy know how to review. you capture ginny and harry perfectly. it is wonderful what you say about silence being accepting. i loved reading this the second time just as much as i did the first. good job!

Reviewer: darrel doomvomitDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84705Chapter: 1
this is really raelly great. seriously.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84686Chapter: 1
Lovely piece - I really liked your characterization of Ginny and her absolute certainty that Harry will triumph over Voldie.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84685Chapter: 1
Great job. Both Ginny and Harry felt very IC, and the writing was wonderful. Thanks for sharing this. :)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Twlight MoonDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84679Chapter: 1
Great fic! Is this a one shot? I hope not! ^___^ please continue!

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84677Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Simply Beautiful.

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84676Chapter: 1
Wow! This is great. I love the "silence... accepting" thing, that Ginny was the first one Harry told, and just... everybody was so in character and great! This is a fantastic fic!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --