The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 34

Reviewer: grimalkin03Date: 2007-09-27
Reviewid: 149421Chapter: 1
I was very impressed by this. It was ingenious! I loved Friends, but it never would have occurred to me to do something like this. Thank you for brightening my day with it. ;))

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-16
Reviewid: 138584Chapter: 1
I think that I’ve seen less than a dozen episodes of Friends on late night TV and your story was one of them. Key points (besides the cup) were The Netherlands / Never Never Land and six months of pointless sex. I have read other pieces of yours and think you are amazing. This, however, is a wonderful *cough*rip-off*cough* tale.

Reviewer: VeronicaDate: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134422Chapter: 1
This was my favorite Friends episode! Awesome job, it was hilarious!! Still can't stop laughing...

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134134Chapter: 1
Haaaaaa BRILLANT! you mixed up two things I love, plus I remember telling my cousin that when you look at the pairs in Harry Potter, you can take Ron as Ross etc... AND I really do like the thanksgiving-football episode! HA you're great!

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-09-30
Reviewid: 133478Chapter: 1
Hehehe. That's brilliant! I am one of those F.R.I.E.N.D.S fans who knows most of the episodes way too well, and it was so fun to see harry potter combined!

Reviewer: RoxanneDate: 2005-04-07
Reviewid: 118895Chapter: 1
Friends is one of my favorite shows, and the episode you did this one on is probably my favorite. It was hilarious! You did a great job on matching the HP characters to the Friends characters. I loved the "Where did you get that?" "I went really long."

Reviewer: Persephone LunaDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106734Chapter: 1
*Struggling against tears of insane laughter*

Oh- my- god...!!! I LOVE this! Positively priceless! I would give ANYTHING to actually SEE this happen!

*Dies laughing*

Reviewer: y0bbDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97687Chapter: 1
i spat me water onto the keyboard while reading this. excellent stuff your writing *huge grin*

Reviewer: Raven CDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89345Chapter: 1
hahaha! i saw that episode of friends! it was perhaps funnier with these guys though. i especially liked
"I now find you shallow and, um, a dork. Goodbye." it was even funnier with Fleur. i could see her saying that. great idea, great tribute to friends too.
raven

Reviewer: TrinhDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87186Chapter: 1
I remember this one! I love the whole FRIENDS/HP idea. Good on ya, mate. I forgot what the Gellar Trophy looked like though, but the Weasley cup is hilarious. Thanx for the laughs.

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86094Chapter: 1
Oh. My. God. (In true Janice style). I don't think I have ever laughed so hard at a fanfiction in my life! Thank-you SO much for joining together my two favourite things - HP and 'Friends' of course! I am completely blown away by how amazing this was, and suddenly struck by how alike Luna and Phoebe really are...hmmm :) Hooray for British 'Friends' fans!
Fluffy_Rose xxx

Reviewer: DustyDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 86005Chapter: 1
Brilliant!

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85950Chapter: 1
*snicker* This was really great. I love the way Luna and Phoebe are so alike. And Hermione as Rachel was just priceless. Thank you for a very entertaining 15 minutes.

Reviewer: Nicola JonesDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85930Chapter: 1
This was fantastic, I mean really funny, i can almost hear Harry as Chandler - "She picked me!!!" that was really really great, and an awesome idea combining 2 of the best things ever, harry potter and friends. Just awesome!

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85858Chapter: 1
That was brilliant! Once I spit my drink out and once I almost choked on my lasagna. After that I just stopped eating and drinking until I was done. I had planned on putting specifics in the review, but there was just too much. Please write more!

Reviewer: LeogryffDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85846Chapter: 1
I think this was excellent, I'm glad you choose this episode to do its my favourite friends one. I couldn't help myself and ended up reading it all out loud laughing at each of the jokes.

You should do another one, maybe 'the one with all the thanksgivings' or the last ever episode one that was sooooo funny.

Reviewer: jameyzDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85718Chapter: 1
That was hilarious. It cracked me up. I really liked the Hermione "go long" thing and Harry and Neville fighting about Fleur. I don't watch Friends but after reading this, I should see an episode soon. Too bad the last season ended.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85709Chapter: 1
This was great, Ellyse! Thanks for sharing it with us!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85705Chapter: 1
That was AWESOME! You followed the show exactly and they all sounded exactly like Friends!!

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85704Chapter: 1
I don't normally read fan fictions but I love friends sooo much and my friend pointed this one out to me and I just LOVED it!

Reviewer: DDDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85700Chapter: 1
Definitely a well-done adaptation of a great episode, my favourite line had to be Ginny/Monica's:

"We are playing for girls everywhere. Okay, just think of every boy who didn’t ask you to the Yule Ball, every boy who didn’t appreciate a singing Valentine, every boy who stepped away from the Mistletoe…"

Harry makes a surprisingly good Chandler as well.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85699Chapter: 1
Very cute, and a good adaptation. Not an easy one, I would imagine, but I think you handled it well.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85663Chapter: 1
That is one of my favorite episodes of FRIENDS, and I love your parody! You've cured a little bit of my withdrawal after the show ended (aided also by all the show DVD's I own and watch quite often). I think your choices for which characters replaced the FRIENDS cast (it might have seemed odd until I read the story), and I think you adapted the episode to fit the HP world quite well!
Good funny story :o)

thanks!
Jules

Reviewer: JenadamsonDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85653Chapter: 1
LOL. That was great. I love Friends. I love Harry Potter. It's perfect. I'm very amused at the thought of Harry as Chandler, and Ron and Ginny's fights were hilarious. My favorite line had to be: "but girls really dig the cute, round guy." HA! So funny! "The One With All The Football" is one of my favorite episodes. Now you've made it even funnier.

Reviewer: Mrs WeasleyDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85650Chapter: 1
Very funny - you've done a very thorough job adapting this Friends episode, and it works well. I liked the image of Mrs Weasley being fierce and banning Ron and Ginny from playing Quidditch. Please do consider adapting other Friends episodes to feature the Hextet, I think they would be really enjoyable, although don't let it distract you from your original stories, which are excellent too.

Reviewer: SparkleygemDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85648Chapter: 1
OH...MY...GOD!!!!!!!!!!!
I loved this story so much, and i thought the swapping of the f.r.i.e.n.d.s characters for our heroes really worked well. It was hilarious! The idea of Hermione feeling left out in a quidditch match is completely believable and Luna as Pheobe just... works!
As for Ron and Ginny, well, i always thought that it worked, i mean- they ARE Ross and Monica, aren't they? There are so many parallels to draw between Friends and Harry Potter, i'm glad someone did a story about it!
Have you thought about doing more of these little episodes? I always loved the One Where No One's Ready- maybe you could do a spoof of that with a ball at Hogwarts or something. Of course, you probably don't want reuests at this point, so i'll just reiterate- great story!
Sparkleygem xxx

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85628Chapter: 1
(RON flies over to HERMIONE who is reading a book while in the air.)

RON
Where did you get that?

HERMIONE
I went really long.

Loved it!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85620Chapter: 1
That's one of my favorite Friends episodes! And I always wanted someone to do a Friends parody since there are six of them. Yeah, Neville didn't work and sometimes you had to switch around Hermione and Ginny, but it was really cool nonetheless. My favorite part was: "Okay, just think of every boy who didn’t ask you to the Yule Ball, every boy who didn’t appreciate a singing Valentine, every boy who stepped away from the Mistletoe…" So talking about Harry. I also loved the part when Ron and Ginny first say they can't play because their mum says so. I loved it! Very enjoyable.

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85612Chapter: 1
LMAO! I see why you characterized it the way you did (Monica/Ginny and Ross/Ron are siblings, Chandler/Harry has just broken up with someone), but really I see Hermione as more of a Monica, and Ron as more of a Chandler. I don't see Harry as a Ross, but I can hear him uttering some of those Ross lines. I don't know about Neville as a Joey, but really there aren't any Joeys in the Potterverse that I can think of, so it could be anyone.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85610Chapter: 1
Hilarious! That episode works so well. I've been waiting for someone to do a Friends parody. Thanks for making my night!

Reviewer: mandjDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85607Chapter: 1
oh that was wonderful!!!

Reviewer: MEcheDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85597Chapter: 1
character wise I picture Hermione as a Monica; Ron as a Chandler; Harry as Ross and Ginny as Rachel

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85594Chapter: 1
::grins::

that was awesome! Luna makes an excellent Phoebe! It's amazing how everything fits...except for that whole Neville/Joey issue. love it, dearie. :)

so what game were they actually playing? football? (american i mean, not football as in soccer) cause that makes the most sense. Poor Hermione.

fave line?
"FLEUR

Which do I like?



RON

You know, for dating, general merriment, sharing a bowl of frogs’ legs with…



FLEUR

I like Bill. Zat’s actually why I’m here…"

::snorts::

~TPR :D

Reviewer: July31Date: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85586Chapter: 1
awww!! This was soooo funny! Absolutely LOVE Friends, & combined with HArry Potter, it was awesome! Hysterical! Thank you!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --