The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Runner Beans
Review(s): 50

Reviewer: sothenwefellDate: 2006-04-17
Reviewid: 141995Chapter: 1
I have to say, I love your Petunia. I've never quite bought the ubiquitious "Petunia and Lily have always hated each other" bit... I like how you show the strength and sad deterioration of their relationship. This is a fabulous story. (Have I mentioned? I love your Sirius, too.)

Reviewer: wonderwolfDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141041Chapter: 1
Amazing... Wow.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140379Chapter: 1
Wow. Intense, wow.

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136589Chapter: 1
This calls for a sequel, or a post-script or something--where she finds out SB is Harry's godfather in book 4, where Harry comes home and SB has been killed, where Dumbledore comes and tells Harry he's inherited everything from Sirius. You did a wonderful job of showing an interaction between Sirius and Petunia that I never imagined existed. My only little nitpick is that Dudley is only one month older than Harry, not three.

Reviewer: Glowing ToadstoolDate: 2005-09-23
Reviewid: 133065Chapter: 1
Lovely, lovely! You truly did do a fantastic job on creating a feasible reason for Petunia's dislike toward Harry. He represents, as someone else said, betrayal and also the magical world, which of course was a big loss to Petunia. Loss of her sister and parents. Nicely done. This story makes me feel bad for Sirius even more though. Poor misunderstood guy who went to jail for nothing. :\

Reviewer: QemDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126219Chapter: 1
Nice, I liked the details in this fic. =)

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-02-09
Reviewid: 113246Chapter: 1
I had just finished reading your essay, and noticed this (I have the worst time connecting author names to the stories). I really should have reviewed long before this, considering this is (at least) the fifth time I've read it. I've always loved this story, even back in the day before I hung around here actively. I just really love the whole thing and I can't pick out exactly what I love about this story. I seriously apologise for not having read this earlier.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112834Chapter: 1
Wonderful story! I loved your characterization of Sirius in particular, and Lily. If anything Petunia seemed a little too nice at times, but it is good to see her more human side for once. I loved your little hints about future events too
< Itís difficult, but we are giving him double feedings to keep his strength up. >
Ah, Petunia, not entirely a good idea! Still a very intersting story that explained so well the divergence between the paths of these two so different sisters. Well done!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109605Chapter: 1
Inredible. Really well thought-out and creative. Yea!!!!

Reviewer: Chelsea_EvansDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99948Chapter: 1
That was amazing. It helps you umderstand so much, why Dudley's fat, why Petunia knows about Azkaban, and that's just the tip of the iceburg. Also why Petunia is horrible to Harry, because for one thing he represents a betrayal. Wish you continued it to when he came home and started talking about Sirius...

Reviewer: puddleduckDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99432Chapter: 1
Absolutely excellent fic. I was completely glued to the screen.

- puddleduck

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99370Chapter: 1
Beautiful! It's great to see such insight into Petunia's character. I love the way Sirius treats her, and your portrayal of her as someone who isn't a villain.

Reviewer: LyYyDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99198Chapter: 1
wow. ok I think it's realy good. The only problem is that I dont think Sirius and Petunia would have a relationship like that. I love how you went from present time to flashbacks. It's really awesome.

LyYy

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98727Chapter: 1
Very nicely written and thought out. I've never read anything quite like this, and I look forward to reading your other works.

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98477Chapter: 1
This was really cool. I had never really thought of Petunia's perspective on all of these events. You write Petunia really well, and I like how you have Petunia as the olest. It makes a little bit more sense. Great job.

Reviewer: ViatrixDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98056Chapter: 1
Very creative and moving. Well done, thank you!

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95238Chapter: 1
Great story. I liked your different twist on Petunia. You can see how Petunia would love and hate Harry. Great job.

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94024Chapter: 1
I have a lump in my throat right now, because of you. Do you realize how powerful this story is? I never quite understood Petunia but... somehow you made me. I could understand her resentment toward Harry and why she feared being with wizards and witches. It wasn't just because of vanity, but she was also living in fear.

I'm adding this to my 'Something to Think About' file, which is a file where all fics that change the way I think about the books are put in.

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89048Chapter: 1
never thought about it that way. wow. powerful stuff. so does Harry ever tell Petunia that Sirius was innocent? please write more!!!

Reviewer: Joe SlayerDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88899Chapter: 1
That was amazing! Whoever wrote that has a wonderful knowledge of the books and the personalities of all the characters.

Fabulous!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88093Chapter: 1
I really like your story.

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87633Chapter: 1
Ooooooh. *shivers* Excellent job mixing the canon with your creation. Sirius talking about the Fidelius Charm nearly made me cry! What a good explanation for Petunia's actions!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87621Chapter: 1
Wow, I just happened on this in my first foray here, and was floored by this story. Gave me chills, it was so good. I've been rather snobbish about fanfic in general, having had rather BAD experiences reading fanfic from some of my other favorite genres, but happened on here on a whim at work, and this was the first story I read. Most impressed, both with your premise and point of view, and the creativity of the subject. Rare is it that anyone considers Petunia's point of view or her experiences with Lily's friends, or even her feelings on her sister. And I think some of the conjectures you have made and the creativity you've done it with is admirable, and happily not out of left field. I'm most impressed.

I hope you delve into these ideas a little more, perhaps more from Petunia's point of view, ect. Well done, well written, I enjoyed it.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87490Chapter: 1
amazing. All I can say is amazing. I loved reading this. Petunia is such a mystery and this would be a very good excuse for how she acts. Not just because she doesn't like magical people but because of all those other things. That was very strong. I like how you went back and forth through time. I often have wondred why Petunia married Vernon. It still puzzles me. Great story write more it was awesome!

Reviewer: a readerDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87392Chapter: 1
that was really good. Can you write a continuation?

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87382Chapter: 1
Wonderful, wonderful story. Many people (myself included) have assumed that the break in Petunia's and Lily's relationship ocurred very early on, but this version of events explains much of the conversation at the beginning of OotP, as well as putting a whole new twist on Petunia's character. Brilliantly written!

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87331Chapter: 1
Nundu,
Petunia has never been an easy character to tackle; I think partly because she reacts *so* violently to mention of her sister's family that we feel she must have some reason to do so. And OotP added dramatically to her complexity in a very few lines--clearly she's had more contact with the wizarding world in the past than we imagined before.
You've really risen to the challenge here. You weave a backstory for Petunia that is both sensitive and compelling. Sirius is used with considerable finesse--both as an excuse to tell the story in the first place, and as a 'human contact,' giving Petunia someone in the WW to interact with on a personal level. He is definitely in character (especially as JKR describes him on her website), but you never let his flirtation actually turn shippy, which would ring false, I believe.
My question is, will there be more?
I ask this not to nag in typical reviewer style (though I do that as well), but because I wonder how Petunia reacts to Harry's relationship with Sirius in GoF and OotP. I mean, assuming she knows him as well as she does in your story, there's no way she's going to buy Harry's line about writing to his escaped convict godfather, who will turn them all into bats. She knows about the betrayal, and she knows Sirius *as a person* so she isn't going to write their friendship off as some deviant wizarding quirk of behavior. She's too close for that. What does she imagine is happening there? Would you consider answering these questions?

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2004-06-14
Reviewid: 87023Chapter: 1
Wonderfully written. The transitions from the past to present were perfect. You presented Petunia as a real person and the whole way you got inside her mind and gave us reasons for why she does certain things was great. Pet and Sirius... very very interesting. I loved her point of view for POA. Keep up the great work! I'll be sure to read you next story.

Reviewer: JanellDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86822Chapter: 1
I believe that is the first time I have ever sympathized with Petunia! Very nicely done! The worst part was knowing how she would end up. I found myself begging for everything to turn out alright even though I knew it couldnít. I can't wait to see what you write next!

Reviewer: nooneyaknowDate: 2004-06-11
Reviewid: 86753Chapter: 1
oh dear... i love this. i almost started crying. was there some kind of luv connection going on between Sirius and 'Pet?' this really explains why Petunia hates Harry so, and to what happened to her parents. I was really beginning to wonder... keep writing! i definately won't forget this when th knew books come out.

Good Luck! ;)

Reviewer: BeatriceDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86687Chapter: 1
Wow, this story was awesome. Great insight into Petunia's mind. The would-be romance between her and Sirius was cute, too. Is there going to be any more?

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86629Chapter: 1
omg i havent read a sugar quill story in soooo long! yours is the first after months and it blew me away. i came looking for something good, and i found something better. this is excellent, keep writing

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86597Chapter: 1
really amazing. i wish this was the real Petunia because then i could be assured that she is human. Thanks for writing this.

Reviewer: ShriyaDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86310Chapter: 1
As I started the beginning of this fic, I never thought it was really possible, but you actually, honest to God, made it believable. This whole odd relationship with Sirius and Petunia actually worked, and even more, you made Petunia more involved with the wizarding world. You make excuses for Petunia, but they are plausible reasons for why she hates the wizarding world so much- not just dislike, but loathing. Great job!

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86064Chapter: 1
This is wonderful! Such a great grasp of the characters. VERY interesting storyline.

Delightful.

Please add more!

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86063Chapter: 1
Sirius? And Petunia? Never would have thought about it. You've done a fantastic piece, interweaving the events of the past and the events of the present, and I just adore your writing. Incredibly tragic and sad, yet still has tinges of happy moments. Fantastic job. Keep writing.

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85958Chapter: 1
Many interesting ideas, particularly her relationship with Sirius. I bet he was a rouge like that. . .
It makes me want to hunt her down and shake her and tell her he didn't do it. Betray them, that is.
The bit about do you trust him implicitly?/I trust him with my life
is a bit un-nerving, though, because it reminds me of how Dumbledore talked about Hagrid and I don't want to think about Hagrid ever truly disappointing him.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85942Chapter: 1
This is really an excellent story. You've gotten into Petunia's mind very well. I'm not so convinced from my reading of the books that Lily and Petunia would be even as close as you make them out to be, but it's your story and it fits very well with your characterization.

Reviewer: Amanda (Panda)Date: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85886Chapter: 1
Wow! That was a GREAT story!!!! Ya'll should read it!!!!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85885Chapter: 1
I loved this! Sirius was perfect, and I've never seen a story with him and Petunia interacting before. Great work!

-Linnet

Reviewer: hermionegranger909Date: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85862Chapter: 1
WOW. I love this fic so much. It really makes me think about Peutinia having a good side to her. It was sad too to think about how she might have felt when Sirius escaped really and great and detailed fic.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85856Chapter: 1
Very, VERY well written! I hadn't even imagined the possibility that Petunia actually knew who Sirius Black was and might be terrified that he had escaped in book 3! Excellent story... Thank you!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85850Chapter: 1
This was a great read - a very believable take on events as Petunia might have seen and experienced them. I liked the detail about Dudley being a preemie and that his parents were giving him double feedings to "help him catch up." That was very clever.

Good job!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85848Chapter: 1
Woah! That story was awesome, I felt like it really happened, like I was reading JKs work! I loved it!

Reviewer: SabrielDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85839Chapter: 1
Great story!! I love your interpratation of a teenage Petunia, and how you made her interact with Sirius. The flashbacks really added to your story. I love how you made Petunia seem like a kind and caring-even if she's rather uptight-person. She definitly seemed real. I hope that there is hope of redemption for Petunia. Keep up the great work!! ^.^

Reviewer: anna MDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85825Chapter: 1
Awesome! Dudley was a preemie...heh...
It's interesting to think that Petunia was once affectionate towards Harry. And I wish Harry would open that darn photo album to see if Petunia is in the wedding photo- she may very well have known Sirius.
Good job going from past to present so easily, and connecting the events like you did. We don't have a lot to work with in PoA as far as Petunia's reaction goes, and you did a great job building a story around it.

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85823Chapter: 1
I liked it... mostly. It nicely expands Petunia's character and gives good reasons
for her attitude to Harry.

The idea of the plot to trap Voldemort seems to be an unecessary complication.
Basically you seem to be saying that the Order knew Wormtail was close
to Voldemort but though he was a double agent, when in truth, he
was a triple agent working for Voldemort all along.

It also seems odd that Sirius would drag her round to see her parents bodies.

Quibbles aside, I still liked it.

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85778Chapter: 1
somehow-petunia doesn't seem very true to canon-nor does sirius black ,and the hint which tries to redeem wormtail-doesn't work--

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85760Chapter: 1
Absolutely fascinating. You show Petunia as a real person who loved her sister but hated her abnormality. Most people assume that since she hates magic she hated her sister, but I disagree. The idea of Sirius Black trying to court Petunia is funny at the same time as intriguing. Write more stories, please!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85758Chapter: 1
Wow, this is really good. I like that Petunia knew Sirius fairly well, and had a good idea of what was going on with the anti-Voldemort struggle. That's something I always wondered about, and it's very plausible that she knows much more than she lets on. Great job mixing her memories in with present events, and showing her fear of Sirius after he has broken out. Nicely done! I'd be interested in reading anything else you write.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --