The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Beautiful Morning
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141299Chapter: 1
Really Good. Too bad its so short

Reviewer: CoralDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101326Chapter: 1
LOL!! My dad used to wake us up with that too . . . oh the joys of childhood, so far removed . . .
I loved this story. I love this universe. I think I would like to live in this universe.

Reviewer: bongoDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94596Chapter: 1
Whoa. That is just freaky. My grandfather did the exact same thing. I mean, singing Oh What A Beautiful Morning at the top of his lungs, really badly, every morning. The one from "Oklahoma", right? And I thought my family was the only one unfortunate enough to have a relation like that... ^_^
Great story by the way. I love absolutely everything you've written about Abby and Sirius! This is like my fifth time reading all your stuff over again.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89508Chapter: 1
This is impossible. In Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix, Sirius Black falls through the veil in the Department of Mistories at the Ministry of Magic, which was, of course, fatal.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87400Chapter: 1
Read this when it was up on FF, but just enjoyed reading through it again today. Sigh...

This is such a lovely and realistic portrait of a family - I think the fact that it rings so true to the characters is what gives it that warm endearing quality. I also love thinking of Sirius & Abby together like this.

And Gavin's future is exciting...I would love to see more stories about these kids.

Reviewer: FluffyRoseDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86090Chapter: 1
I think I read this a while back on fanfiction.net, and I'm so glad it's finally up here :) I love this little vignette - it's a perfect continuation of the 'Interwoven' series, and it just seems so...right. All the characters (especially Sirius) are very beliveable, and Abby is true to how you've always portrayed her. And, of course, your writing flows effortlessly, with just the right touch of humour and *coughs* suggestion ;) Bring on Sirius' adolescent thoughts! :)
Fluffy_Rose xxx

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85941Chapter: 1
I would love to see more of this household. You have a nice plot set up where Gavin can learn about his heritage and struggle with his dreams and so forth.

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85925Chapter: 1
god. i miss sirius.

Reviewer: Mirax_TerrikDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85918Chapter: 1
Yay! That was so fun! I read the old version your story a while ago. I can't say that I remember the differences, but I still absolutely love it! I love your descriptions of the Black children. It made me smile, but I also felt a little sad when I realized for the umpteenth time that it's not possible for Sirius to have kids... Oh well, I guess I'll go live happily in the world of AU fics for a while... ^_^ Thanks for sharing your story!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85901Chapter: 1
Lovelylovelylovely! I adore reading about Sirius being alive, well and happy, and I adore Abby, period.

I also adore their kids. Gavin being a Weaver -- that's going to teach quite a few people about gender stereotyping! And I love Cara's name. If you don't mind, I'm going to pretend you named her after me ;) Great job!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85888Chapter: 1
Cute! I loved the Interwoven series, and hope to see more of these little aside stories.

-Linnet

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85877Chapter: 1
Sigh, I love this. I know I left a review on ff.net, but I have to say again how much I enjoyed this. I think we should send this to JKR and maybe she'll rethink the whole "Sirius-is-dead" thing. This was a lovely snapshot of a close-knit, caring family. I love how Abby and Sirius are still able to make-out like teenagers even though they have 4 children. I like how you made a *boy* the potential Weaver (you can't leave us hanging!). I love how you describe Abby's grip "like a grindylow" (you always incorporate HP lingo so effortlessly into the story so it sounds completely of the HP world). And you write the child-parent interaction very well, especially the "Mum where is everything?" interuptions. Glad to see this on the Quill, it's always a pleasure to see what's going on in the Loomis household!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85832Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Great twist on making Gavin a weaver instead of one of the daughters. I agree completely, it would have been a shame for this not to have been posted, and I am so glad you decided to share. I would, of course, love to see more. . .

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85826Chapter: 1
Thanks so much forposting this! It was like a visit with an old friend. I can picture Abby and Sirius having a family like this.

I like the vitality of both characters. You let each love and each be annoyed in turn with their kids.

Nice!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85810Chapter: 1
This is a sweet interlude, and a real treat for those of us who like the chemistry of Abby and Sirius together.

Catherine

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85790Chapter: 1
i think it was a fabulous story and im glad that in your story he has lived on cause i was very upset that he died in the real series and if i had even half the writing talent that you have i would write a alternate ending to book five where he didnt dye and he lived on happily ever after

Reviewer: margoDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85784Chapter: 1
I'm liking this cool little fic! You're definately my favourite writer on the sugarquill! Hope to read more of your stories soon *margo* :-D
P.S... wasn't The Prisoner of Azkaban movie great?!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85783Chapter: 1
Thank you for a very delightful visit to the Abbyverse! It's a pleasure to see Sirus and Abby a contented married couple. (Abby's philosophy about teaching her children self-sufficiency made me grin, I do the same thing when they wake up and want breakfast too early on weekends.)

Gavin's a Weaver? That's so cool!

Reviewer: BreenDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85780Chapter: 1
lovely! You don't know how excited I was to see your name on the recent fics section. (as I'm sitting here trying NOT to write my music paper :)) I love your "Interwoven" universe and I enjoy that you let Alchmilla borrow Abby for ToT. Two of my favorite stories fitting together nicely, what could be better? :) You guys should collab. :) ToT from Sirius' veiw. :) Anyways, you rock! :)

Reviewer: Laura JeanDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85757Chapter: 1
Let me just say that it makes me a sad sad woman to think that canon-Sirius won't get to experience any of the joy your Sirius has been given. I love him and Abby and I hope you can keep writing their story, even if it doesn't fit in cannon.

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85753Chapter: 1
I'll bet my last Sickle that Helga Hufflepuff was a Weaver. I'll bet it.
*smiles happily* This is so sweet and an utter delight. Does the name 'Gavin' have any significance? I get the feeling you picked it for a reason -- not just because it sounds nice. :-)
Loved it.
All his fault, yep.
~Q

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85748Chapter: 1
This was fabulous. It's so nice to read about a happier and aliver Sirius. Not to mention the fact that Abby is my favorite Sirius-Love-Interest OC.

I loved the way you set this up with the children's yelled questions interupting their parents' attempt for a romantic interlude.

Though my favorit line was this:

Im teaching them self-sufficiency,

That line is practically a quote from my mother. Anytime the kids in my family complained about her not doing something for us (packing our lunches, laundry, etc.) her response was always that she was teaching us self-sufficency. And now that I've moved into my own apartment I'm almost to the point where I'll admit to her that I'm greatful for it.

Anyways, I was glad to see others suffering from that line, even if they are fictional.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85744Chapter: 1
Oh, could we please have an AU of Sirius and Harry taking the children fishing? Please??????? That just sounds so wonderful!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --