The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Black in Me
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-23
Reviewid: 136225Chapter: 1
Enjoyed

Reviewer: vixDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97188Chapter: 1
i love your story can you continue please

Reviewer: Olive HornbyDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87797Chapter: 1
I like your take on Andromeda. Torn between her upbringing and the life she's chosen, she's a three-dimensional and somewhat confused character, just as someone in her position probably really would be. Your descriptions of her interactions with Tonks were delightful, from the realization that she nags her daughter to the toys she gives Tonks that end up abandoned and unused. Andromeda's initial conflicts with her in-laws was very realistic, and the image of her crying on their doorstep and asking for help was heartbreaking. Your Ted is just the kind of relaxed, accepting person that your sometimes uptight and confused Andromeda needs.

Your story flows very nicely, though in a couple places you used exlamation points for emphasis where you didn't need to. Andromeda's view of Bellatrix seems a little simplistic; given Andromeda's own struggle with her upbringing it seems she might have a little bit more insight into Bellatrix, but that's just my opinion obviously... it would be interesting to see a story where Andromeda slowly comes to this conclusion as I doubt she always felt that way. Anyway, I enjoyed the story and hope to see more from you!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87221Chapter: 1
Very interesting story. I never thought much about how Andromeda, raised as a true Black, would cope with living in a "normal" way with people like Ted, but apparently, you did. :)

I loved the little details you described, about the mess Ted always made, and about Nymphadora wanting to grow her ears big enough to fly, and about Andromeda going to Ted's parents to ask how to give a baby a bath. I also like it how you put references to Andromeda's background all through the story.

Of course, the very best part is: "Wotcher, Mum." :D

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-06-14
Reviewid: 87028Chapter: 1
This was SO sweet. I love Andromeda fics, and even though we don't know much about her character, I feel like you've done her perfectly.

Reviewer: KacieDate: 2004-06-14
Reviewid: 87010Chapter: 1
I really really liked this. You characterized Andromeda just right. You gave her a personality Jo, unfortunately, didn't do for the right reasons. awesome! :)

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86975Chapter: 1
Great story! I love your characterization of Andromeda. I liked that you showed that she has a lot of the Black influence, but that she tries to fight it when it matters.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86858Chapter: 1
Just lovely! I loved the bit about the dumbo ears. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-06-11
Reviewid: 86732Chapter: 1
what a nice little outtake i enjoyed that

Reviewer: Moon GoddessDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86649Chapter: 1
Seems really believable. I'm glad to get some depth to Andromeda. I especially liked your discriptions of Tonks as a child. They added details that made the story more real.

Reviewer: wm_lawDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86630Chapter: 1
That was really wonderful.

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86570Chapter: 1
Interesting characterization of Andromeda and a look at the Tonks family, and a great ending. My only criticism is a minor writing style note -- there's a bit of overuse of exclamation points. Most of the time they didn't seem necessary to get across the impact of the line.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86562Chapter: 1
Beautifully done. I love your portrayal of Andromeda. Her working through years of Black Training to be accepted and accepting of the rest of the world is much more realistic than her simply accepting everything off the bat. Wonderful, wonderful work!

Reviewer: shooting starDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86539Chapter: 1
oh, that was lovely, I loved how she woke and said "wotcher mum" thank you ^-^

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86533Chapter: 1
Oh wow, I don't know what to say. This is like reading my own thoughts (although your Andromeda is tougher than mine). Thank you so much for writing from her POV. Andromeda's the character who fascinates me the most, perhaps because we know so little about her, and I'm always delighted to come across others who feel the same, as you obviously do. This is brilliantly written, so honest and believable, and I love the glimpses of Tonks as a child; also the fact that her hair has gone back to 'normal' since Bellatrix hurt her - I'm sure that's right. This whole 'my sister killed my cousin and tried to kill my daughter' part is just agonising, isn't it? I can't begin to imagine how Andromeda must have felt, but I have her meeting Harry and they find that they can help each other deal with it all. Do you think they'll ever meet? - I'm just longing for it to happen in Book 6 and trusting that JK didn't mention Andromeda for no reason.

Sorry for the long ramble, but you've got me where it hurts with this and I could go on about Andromeda ad infinitum! Please feel free to get in touch if you'd like to - you can see from my email address that I'm serious!

Thank you for a wonderful story.

Reviewer: WendyDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86532Chapter: 1
Wow!
That was incredible how completely you were able to convey a character we've never actually seen.

Everything was perfect and logical. I believed every word entirely. I never realised how inadequate my idea of Andromeda was until now. I think I imagined her as a second-rate female version of Sirius, which I am very ashamed of now that you've made me realise that she cn be so interesting and complex.
Thankyou! Thankyou! Thankyou!

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86530Chapter: 1
wow.. grat astroy and bliveable- I like the deals about the hair and her tryign to over come her arotcaticness. And abouty being angertyy sicne hant come to her

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86508Chapter: 1
Aww... that was really, really sweet. Poor Andromeda.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86499Chapter: 1
Absolutely lovely! I felt the emotions. Your descriptions are exactly enough to color the story and envelope the reader. Great read!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --