The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Scars of War
Review(s): 69

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149410Chapter: 2
Very interesting premise. Despite the obvious pseudonym, it actually took me a little while to figure out who Evan Jameson really was. At first I thought alterate reality, but it quickly became apparent that he was Harry.

Some of the characters seem a bit over-dramatic and over-blown, but other than that, it was good. Again, very creative and different. Good work.

Reviewer: KirstenDate: 2005-05-15
Reviewid: 122114Chapter: 2
I agree with Penny on the ending. But forget the ending for now, because I need to rave.

Oh my God. Absolutely wonderful. I ran a search on SQ for H/G and this was the first story that came up. I skipped over it a few times because it sounded as though Harry had died, and I wasn't quite sure how it could be H/G if Harry was dead. I'm glad I finally clicked the link. You are an amazing writer. Have you ever been published? I don't mean that as a compliment, it's a serious question. You are better than JK. HP is addicting, but the writing style isn't that great. Not very descriptive at all. Yours, on the other hand... It reminds me strongly of Tami Hoag. An amazing author if there ever was one. You might possibly even be better than her. If you haven't been published, I'd like to suggest that you look into it.

Um... criticism, criticism. It's hard to criticize work this good. Very hard indeed. I would have expected more of a shocked reaction from the Weasleys. Maybe a few "Oh my God"s and a clatter of a fork here and there.

That being said, I'd like more of it. Not because it doesn't have a great denoument, but because I'm selfish and like the story and want more. ;) At least I'm honest, eh?

Again, wonderful writing. Email me sometime.

Reviewer: KathleenDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118570Chapter: 2
more more more!!! I loved your idea and the story is developing nicely. i hope that you have more for us! (soon please!!)

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117999Chapter: 2
When Ron punched Harry...Oh Em Gee! How great was that?

But really. I loved the story. It was cool...like butter...or penguins...or something.

Reviewer: QuietPurpleStrawberryDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116840Chapter: 2
Wow. keep on wtiting. I can't wait to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: amyDate: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114128Chapter: 1
You know, I’ve seen this story recced before, and never clicked on it because I thought that I remembered reading it before, and not being impressed. What kind of crack was I smoking? I must have read something else about Harry being a popular author, but this wasn’t it. I would have remembered.

I can’t believe how much to fit into two installments! The descriptions are amazing, and the emotions feel very real. Excellent work!

Reviewer: KimDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111164Chapter: 1
this story is good, i like how it starts out, though it was a bit confusing at first I think i got it though. i like how you are making Harry suffering from his guilt, and Ginny came back. So happy because I love Ginny. What will Harry do now?

Reviewer: jolene_xxDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103556Chapter: 2
wow, this is fabulous. i could really imagine it happening.
just one little, tiny quibble though - how could he have been voted most eligible batchelor if nobody knew what he looked like and everybody assumed he mas mad? Not that it matters, well done for this great fic.

Reviewer: elanaDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103190Chapter: 2
I liked this very much. I think it's a very original thing to have harry become an author too. Is he going to continue writing? I hope so, Will he write one fuzzy, happy book? I'm quite curious as to how the little kids will react. please update quickly, for i am impatient!

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100254Chapter: 2
“Sirius promised me, a few days before he was killed, that once the war was over, we’d go fishing. Just me and him, the way fathers and sons were supposed to.” A small, sad smile crept across his face, and Harry began to speak as though he were reliving it for himself, not for her. “I don’t think he knew how to fish or anything, but I had mentioned that a lot of Muggle families did it. That, when I was little, I had always fantasized about a fishing trip with just me and my dad, the way Dudley and Uncle Vernon used to. We wouldn’t do much on the trip—we’d just sit there on the lake and talk about stupid stuff like girls and share stories about the adventures we had with our friends at school and maybe, if we were lucky, we’d catch something…but that wasn’t important. Sirius promised me that he would be there for me when my dad couldn’t, to fulfill his godfatherly duties, but he never got a chance to. So I went alone. I sat on that lake for three weeks straight and just remembered. I remembered everything—every conversation, every adventure, every misadventure I’d had since starting Hogwarts. And I pretended that Sirius and my dad were there, like they were supposed to be. I think that, on some level, they were.”

oh my god, that is so amazingly touching! i dont cry very easily, but i was tearing HARD there. its so sad and happy at the smae time, but in a way just so unhappy, god im repeating myself, its just so amazing! You RULE at writing!!!!!!

Reviewer: MintyDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93503Chapter: 1
Ooh. I certainly hope there will be more than 2 chapters in this story. I like the idea that Harry has sought refuge in the Muggle world. (Not to mention any Harry/Ginny. Happy writing.

Reviewer: KarinDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91334Chapter: 2
That was really good, I'll be waiting for the next chapter=)

Reviewer: Jaleah HedrickDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88979Chapter: 1
Just one thing.. the ending didn't suffice.. No, I didn't like the ending. I don't thing everyone would've reacted so unsuprisedly. I did ike the punching part, though, that sounds more realistic.


(By the way, I uh.. I'm an idiot, really.. But I posted this for the wrong story. It's meant for this story, and I posted it on the comments for Love and Loss.. Stupid, stupid me..)

Reviewer: Jaleah HedrickDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88972Chapter: 1
This is the single greatest peice of work I've ever read! Okay, so maybe not /ever/ read, but it definetly ties up with them!! And this does not rival J.K.'s works, it blows them out of the water.. I /cried/!! I haven't shed a tear in almost a year, and I actually CRIED! I got that into the details of it all.. It's so inspiring, so heart-wrenching, so thrillingly emotional.. this, my fellow.. is /perfection/..

Reviewer: jstur83Date: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81264Chapter: 2
good story my favorite part was the end that was just how it should go and i could really see ron doing just that update soon

Reviewer: fanDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77269Chapter: 1
Write more, Please! I need to hear how this ends!

Reviewer: GraceDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77208Chapter: 2
Great writing, I totally get dragged into the story! I love it!

Reviewer: CatDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75786Chapter: 2
OMG this is such a good story. Are you going to add more to it? You didn't put 'the end' so I guess you are. Please email me with the link when you do.

Reviewer: Whyshould I tell youDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75286Chapter: 1
When I first read the summery, I thought, "Harry probably died!!!! That's horrible! Evan Jameson haunted by someone from his past? Sounds like he's related to harry. maybe Harry got married, and had a kid, and now Evan is seeing his fathers dead body, like a ghost." When I actually read the story, I was crying. It is soooo good. I loved it. It is just to good. Ate you sure you're not J.K. Rowling in disguise.

Reviewer: MimiDate: 2004-03-04
Reviewid: 73143Chapter: 1
I liked the part where Ron and Hermione were arguing about the ghost that was doing card tricks. You know, the part where Hermione says, "You look like you saw a ghost" and, well you get the picture you're the one that wrote it. As a whole, I loved it. If ever I get stuck with writing the characters in character I'll always turn to this fic because it was perfect in terms of characterisation. The whole Ron/Hermione/Ghost thing dounds like something that would actually happen in the books.

Reviewer: WDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68912Chapter: 2
I turn to this fic everytime I need to read something *good*. It's amazing how, even after all this time, the story hasn't lost the slightest bit of intensity or power. You make me wish I could write the way you do. There's honestly no better compliment I can come up with :)

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68114Chapter: 2
You know, I think I love you.
The plot to this is just awesome, you can do so much with it! And your writing is really good as well, Harry and Ginny are in character and everything! Please, please, please continue this story! Whatever you do, don't stop Harry's writing, it just seems natural (and while I'm making wishes, let Debbie find out just who she had dinner with!).

Good luck! Hope to see an update soon!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67883Chapter: 2
the punching thing was strange and kind of random, otherwise great story

Reviewer: The Ultimate OtakuDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66694Chapter: 2
This chapter, I am much closer to crying than I was at the other one.
I am so relieved that Harry came back, that he decided to *sniff* return home! There is so much emotion packed into this story, so much to think about, to read and then get that fuzzy feeling about.
I really like how Harry decided to write his feelings down. That's what writing is a lot: feelings. That is probably while people loved his books so much, too.
I like that Ron and Hermione got married, but still argue, but that you, the author, have made the arguing a good thing rather than bad, because Hermioine and Ron like arguing, lol.
Ron's reaction was, wow. At first it was terrifying, and then, when he grinned, it was hilarious. Ron was very in character. Everyone was, really. This was an incredible fic. I am left very satisfied and fuzzy feeling, and I'm sure I'll definitely re-read and recommend this.
Good luck with more writing; keep up the fabulous work.

Reviewer: The Ultimate OtakuDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66693Chapter: 1
Oh, man.
One word: intense.

I knew at a certain point that Evan was Harry. And I had a feeling the redheaded woman was Ginny. God, this is so...excellent. Such an original idea. Harry is so broken, so afraid of his past. I like that he is a writer. That he is famous and writes about scars is quite ironic. I feel like this review is so inadequate for such an incredible fanfic. I'm in awe. The scene between Ginny and Harry brought me close to tears!
I really can't compliment this fic enough. It's amazing. I'll continue reading, that's for sure.

Reviewer: RhiannonDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63067Chapter: 2
Hey, I love this story, are you going to write anymore???? Anyway, If you do, could you email me at swim_fishy_swim@hotmail.com. It'd be really great if you could have a read of my fanfiction, at http://www.fanfiction.net/read.php?storyid=1606635 Thanks alot (If you do)

Love The Vicious Pixie

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60321Chapter: 2
AAWWW I LOVED IT, IT WAS SO CUTE! YOUR A GREAT WRITER! THAT WAS SUCH A UNIQUE STORY!

Reviewer: RedfiendDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60290Chapter: 2
Wow.

Reviewer: Lauren JohnsonDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58242Chapter: 1
This was a very good story. I felt Ron was particularly well written. The only objection I had was that in the novel, the characters are not particularly emotionally self-aware, except for Hermione (which is why one of my favorite scenes in the story is when Hermione explains what Evan Jameson is feeling--it reminded me of OotP when she explains what Cho is feeling). Thus, when Harry was explaining to Ginny why he came back, I felt that he showed a little more cluefulness than has usually been the case for him. I felt Ginny was out of character, in that I don't think of her as the type who weeps, but the type who gets pissed off. In OotP, she's a pretty astringent character, which is why I think she fully rocks. But actually, I think your story is a most excellent kickass fanfic, and is one of the best I've read on the site, and this is the first review I've ever posted

Reviewer: JetmcnDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50498Chapter: 2
that was so sweet - i loved it!

Reviewer: JesserDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48725Chapter: 2
I don't know what to say but...wow. This is one of the best fanfic I've read. Tears were threatening to fall (some had already fallen) as I read the whole story. Great job, great writing style, too. Keep writing!

Reviewer: NICOLEDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47861Chapter: 2
this story is so good please keep writing

Reviewer: PatsyDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45696Chapter: 2
What a great story!!! The writing is superb, I love it. Please PLEASE write more soon!!!

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43675Chapter: 2
Excellent! Excellent! One of my favorites! I'm saving the link as soon as I get the chance! *tear* wonderful!

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43665Chapter: 1
Whoa...this story is freaky! Well written. *very* orignal...but freaky! Harry, you git! What the hell were you thinking! And where did this writing talent come from?!

Reviewer: PiperDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41991Chapter: 2
This story almost made me cry. It's deeply emotional. Some of Harry's actions seemed a little out of character, but the story was great, nonetheless. Beautiful work. Thank you.

Reviewer: KrystalDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40082Chapter: 1
Wow, what an intense little story! I never used to read Harry Potter fanfiction very often -- it was too hard to sort through all of the junk out there for the few gems. Lately, however, I’ve become more frequent in my searches for a core of good Potter fanfic, and this is certainly one of those gems I’m very glad to have stumbled upon! I love that even trying to hide, Harry made himself famous all over again simply by being so mysterious as an author. It is interesting that even changing his name and lifestyle can’t get him out of the limelight. Poor Harry – you can tell right away that the war has really affected him psychologically, from accidentally writing himself into his story to his reaction to seeing Ginny at his doorstep. There are great moments all throughout the story, and the ending is very satisfying!

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39702Chapter: 1
Your fan fic is one of the best that I have ever read. I have no doubt that someday you will be the next J.K. Rowling. Keep writing!

Reviewer: aslanasheeshDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34827Chapter: 1
this is very good. i cant wait to read more and find out what happeed in Evan/Harry's past....wut is going on?????

Reviewer: nychickDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32748Chapter: 2
This is hands down the most moving, best written Harry-leaves-the-wizarding-world story that I've ever read! Simply brilliant. And the end is *so* Ron... Wonderful job!

Reviewer: The FrogDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32541Chapter: 2
Penny: I don't know if you'll look at this, but if you do, E-MAIL ME! I think you raised an interesting point, and would like to tell you where I was coming from when I wrote the end. I was mad when you left that first review, not because I'm bothered by bad reviews, but because you didn't explain. Thanks for reviewing again! Like I said, mail me. I think it'd be an interesting discussion!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32472Chapter: 2
well ots hard to type around the blur. i've been crying for the longest time. through the most part od the 2 chapters.. the fishing trip. ginny's scar..lily evans james's son...ron punching him in the nose i dunoe wat to say . its is WONDERFUL.. JUST BEAUTIFUL im sorry i am crying too hard to be able to type much more... pleAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEEE keeep at it. hehe i love a good cry..

Reviewer: PennyDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32459Chapter: 1
I read Sugar Quill all week long nonstop, but this story in particular last night didn’t sit well with me. I wrote my first review ever: “lousy ending”, because Harry had disappearred for 9 years after the war, and when Ginny found him and brought him home, the first thing Ron did was punch him and break his nose. I felt that was a horrible thing to do, so that was my instant reaction. But by this morning it had gelled some more, I thought I owed you an explanation. When you think how much grief Harry had to deal with, he had lost the equivalent of 4 parents and a grandparent, and at least 6 friends, and he thought Ginny was dead, the love of his life. It can take years to move past one death alone. Then he did have the guilt, and the knowledge that he was born to suffer that destiny, he never had a choice. I would like to see Ron live 11 years in a cupboard, 16 years with the Dursleys, and then see if he knew how to relate to people. I would like to see Ron see Voldemort every night in his dreams and then I wonder if he could sleep if his head was splitting. I just could not see where it showed any compassion at all to hit someone who had suffered so much. Many stories I have read seem to have all the characters against Harry because he can’t trust them. Ginny is the only one who got it right in this case. She trusted that Harry did love them, how could he show his love for others any more than he had, laying his very life down for them? Just because he didn’t have the words left, after all he’d been through, is not surprising. Haven’t you ever had a run of bad days, and thought to yourself that you’d really like to be alone for a while? Well, Harry had a run of extremely bad days for years and years! Maybe it hurt him too much to be reminded of it all, and he had to allow some time for that pain to lesson. Well, if getting his nose broken first thing is any indication, he was right to stay away. How is he going to trust Ron after that?
Now you know where I'm coming from. Sorry I was so terse, but this really got to me.

Reviewer: PennyDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32375Chapter: 2
Lousy ending.

Reviewer: katDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32335Chapter: 2
that was fantastic! i went through a rainbow of emotions and everything. will there be more?

Reviewer: cadnetDate: 2003-05-02
Reviewid: 30422Chapter: 2
your story is brillent, please continue and I hope soon, i don't know if i can wait

Reviewer: tammyDate: 2003-03-06
Reviewid: 23002Chapter: 1
wow.... this is very intense! T.T poor harry~ and Ginny... wow she's grown up real head strong instead of shy! =D love it!

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22811Chapter: 2
This was a really great story. I got misty-eyed at the end. Thanks!

Reviewer: RockapDate: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22210Chapter: 2
OMG! You HAVE to write more. Not doing so would be a crime becuase not finishing a story like this would be cruel. There's so much more that can be written! Please write more becuase it really shouldn't here.

Reviewer: amythestDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21524Chapter: 2
This is an awsome story. I'm a sucker for post-Hogwarts/Voldemort stories, especially those with angsty/hardened Harry. *sighs* I gave me everything I wanted and more. Thanks a ton. I hope you write another chapter.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20624Chapter: 2
This was the first SQ Fanfic I read... Well... God knows how many fanfics later, this one is still my favorite, though I was very depressed when Sirius and Remus were killed off. GOOD JOB! I've read it twice!2

Reviewer: CRDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19678Chapter: 2
really enjoying the story, keep writing. ;)

Reviewer: surferflirt3Date: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18733Chapter: 2
WOW!!!! This is one of the best...the BEST ive ever read...congrats

Reviewer: Rachel MDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15867Chapter: 1
Wow, very powerful story, made me cry.

Reviewer: tempestadDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15856Chapter: 2
ok, so at the moment i'm slightly obsessed with harry-leaves-the-wizarding-world-then-comes-back-years-later-fics...

there was one i found that i decided was by far the best and none of the others ever seemed quite as good...

well then, you've just broken the record

this is the best ruddy fic i've read in a LONG time... and i read a LOT of fanfics...

never before has a fanfic made me actually get choked up while reading it.. sure i've been impressed by the portrayal of the emotion or thought things were magnificently done.. but never actually had by throat catch and my eyes water...

i've got to hand it to you... the bit where harry was talking about going fishing with sirius was the best couple of paragraphs i've ever read... EVER.

so, just wanted to tell you, this was really magnificent! i absolutely adored it...

Good job.

Reviewer: CrookshanksDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15648Chapter: 2
aww! that was so beautiful! it was funny and sad and happy all in one! ohhhhhhh, i'm gonna read that again tomarrow! the ending was sooooooooooo good! you really are good with mixing emotions and keeping everyone in character. :)

Reviewer: jynxDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15287Chapter: 2
I'm in tears right now. That was simply beautiful. Please, keep writing. I'll keep reading.
~jynx

Reviewer: samDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14741Chapter: 2
omg this is amazing is there ever going to be more! please tell me that there is!

Reviewer: Hannah KirklandDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10603Chapter: 2
This is one of the bes fics I've seen. Very discriptive and very real. There isn't much that could be done to improve it! I hope you can find the time to finish the story to compleat this wonderful begining! Loved it!

Reviewer: RiddlerDate: 2002-11-28
Reviewid: 10488Chapter: 2
Oh, lovely. Stunning, dear, stunning. Please write more.
-Riddler

Reviewer: BrittDate: 2002-11-27
Reviewid: 10303Chapter: 2
That was absolutely fantastic!!!


“Sirius promised me, a few days before he was killed, that once the war was over, we’d go fishing. Just me and him, the way fathers and sons were supposed to.” A small, sad smile crept across his face, and Harry began to speak as though he were reliving it for himself, not for her. “I don’t think he knew how to fish or anything, but I had mentioned that a lot of Muggle families did it. That, when I was little, I had always fantasized about a fishing trip with just me and my dad, the way Dudley and Uncle Vernon used to. We wouldn’t do much on the trip—we’d just sit there on the lake and talk about stupid stuff like girls and share stories about the adventures we had with our friends at school and maybe, if we were lucky, we’d catch something…but that wasn’t important. Sirius promised me that he would be there for me when my dad couldn’t, to fulfill his godfatherly duties, but he never got a chance to. So I went alone. I sat on that lake for three weeks straight and just remembered. I remembered everything—every conversation, every adventure, every misadventure I’d had since starting Hogwarts. And I pretended that Sirius and my dad were there, like they were supposed to be. I think that, on some level, they were.”


that part made me bawl!!!

Reviewer: MegDate: 2002-11-07
Reviewid: 8331Chapter: 2
After I finished reading this all I could think was 'wow' you are an absolutly amazing author! Please keep going!

Reviewer: LumičreDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6556Chapter: 2
Extremely well written. The language is not that of some person who calls themselves a writer, but that of a real author. This story was very beautiful and I enjoyed it—very much.

Reviewer: JennaMaeDate: 2002-10-12
Reviewid: 6068Chapter: 2
Hi! I've read this ages ago but I didn't send in a review. Just thought I'd say this now -- this is such a wonderful fic, with the right amount of angst in it. :) Great job!

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2002-10-06
Reviewid: 5511Chapter: 2
I just stumbled accross this. Um. I'm crying. Whoa. How about that. Are the tabletops in the leaky cauldrom made of linoleum? I'd never noticed, I guess. I hope you have another chapter coming up soon. The start is very interesting. It's definitely not the Harry I know, but of course I know a 15-year old, not a 30-year old. And if Harry and Ginny hav sex as teenagers I'll stop reading JK forever. But still, not a bad start. Good premise. I love the fishing.

Reviewer: Dream travellerDate: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5279Chapter: 2
This is soooo good. It is very touching. Write more!!

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 2886Chapter: 2
......And Im seeing a lacking of MORE! >< More more more?

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 2883Chapter: 1
Woah. This is an awesome story. Very well written. Off to the next chapter then!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-08-09
Reviewid: 1434Chapter: 2
Omigod! That was so good! I still think I'm going to cry. I loved Ron's greeting. Harry definitly deserved it! Omigod, I keep thinking "what about Sirius, Remus, Hagrid, and Dumbledore?", but then I have to remind myself that this is only fan fiction (though one of the best I've ever read) and (hopefully) JKR won't put me through the emotional agony that you have ;-)
I absolutely loved it. I had a strange feeling that Evan was Harry from the beginning, but I wasn't sure. I'd better stop, though it's really hard for me to end my gushing. Keep writing!!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --