The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Tea Leaves
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124884Chapter: 1
Stepbrothers Series - Great works. I really liked them

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101753Chapter: 1
Wow, great story. It starts with the opening line already. I've rarely seen an opening line that grabbed my attention like that. Furthermore, the concept of this story is highly interesting, and your characters are well fleshed out and acting very naturally. I'm going to read the next story in the series right away.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100626Chapter: 1
Well, I finally decided to start reading this series. You two have a delightful writing style.

Reviewer: The CorinthianDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88090Chapter: 1
No, I haven't gone away. I finished Moon and Stone (somewhat tardily...it was VERY good, though, and you don't need me to tell you that. Nicely handled all th way through, especially the epilogue). Then I read this. It too is excellent. Where did you find the question? And, more importantly, the answer? Or did you come up with it yourselves? I like it - very in character (even down to Hagrid's speech, which I sure couldn't write), very inventive. And it looks like there will be more...oh, good!

Reviewer: AliyaDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87904Chapter: 1
This is so neat! I never thought of this before, and it's a very interesting storyline. You've really made your characters so realistic and really come alive, instead of just being flat characters. I love it!

-PQ

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87593Chapter: 1
Glad to see this one up here. :)

Nice work on the accents. I also love how you've done little Tom. But by far I enjoy Mary the most. A very nice OC you've got here, intelligent and with some fire. Great job.


Kate

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87573Chapter: 1
What an interesting concept! I would never have imagined them being together, but it does kind of make sense, and your storytelling ability moves things along quite nicely. Great characterization of Tom, showing his uncanny intelligence at such an early age, as well as of Hagrid (the younger) and his fascination with animals. Tavish's job certainly explains some quirks his son has!

""Well, after all," Mary returned, absolutely deadpan, "no one's is.""
Fantastic. Love the interaction between them, and this exchange shows so much about both of their characters.


"Tavish brushed dark hair back from her temple. "And it's nigh as lovely as my bride -- so I'll thank him kindly and say I'm glad of your family's approval.""
*sigh* How romantic. Enough to make any girl swoon. :-)

Wonderful, wonderful work, and I can't wait to see more of this!

Reviewer: SilmelasDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87571Chapter: 1
Awwwww... This is probably one of the weirdest pairings I've ever heard of, but it's so sweet! I love fluffy romance. You have to wonder what's going to happen with Tom and such. I love this. You manage to take a totally off-the-wall pairing and turn it into something beautiful, with very real, human characters. 'Tis amazing.

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87564Chapter: 1
YEY!!!!!!! I couldn't belive I saw your name in the story section again! And boy was I happy to see it! You just made my day you girls! Once again the story is really well written... I really like the idea of Mary and Tavish together! And Hagrid as a baby is just adorable! And Tom is really cute! and protective and oh! and he probably wouldn't trun bad with having his mother, tavish and hagrid around! yey for that! So now I'm just going to wait for more! hope you'll post soon!

barb

Reviewer: Luisa BlackDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87549Chapter: 1
This is awesome. Am impatient for next bit, but impatient in general, so...

Reviewer: mrrobertsIIIDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87547Chapter: 1
Echidne was a half-woman, half-monster who gave birth to six other monsters (quick google lookup)
-great name choice

Excellent idea for an AU especially given the history in canon between the two kids.

Your Tavish Hagrid will always be what I picture him to be until JKR states otherwise.

Delilah Malfoy
-looks like a good character. Any more plans for her?

Loved your beginning with the description of the shop along with all the various plants.

Reviewer: WendyDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87530Chapter: 1
Wow! I'm quite excited by this, it's a very interesting idea and you write it so well. I can't wait to see how it turns out. I'm also so glad that you haven't had all of Tom, Hagrid and Mary's problems go away in this AU. A precoscious but not entirely abandoned and evil Tom will be very intersting, well, is already, I should say.

This had such a lovely feel to it. It was easy-going, not at all rushed and really adorable and funny at times. Loved this
<Tom chewed on his lower lip as he stared at the Thing solemnly. Mummy wouldn't have put him on the floor with a vicious creature... would she?>
I almost fell off my chair laughing.
Anyway, loved it, can't wait for more!

Reviewer: AdiDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87476Chapter: 1
Hey!

Loved the story. I'm quite a fan of AUs, as it happens...

Anyway, I like the concept. I've never actually thought what would have happened had Tom Marvolo Riddle grown up in a different environment... A lot of pain could be avoided completely, were this to go in a certain direction... Plus, Hagrid and Tom are going to grow up being pretty close, I'd guess. A lot of potential for a story there. I look forward to the rest of the series. You *did* say this was a series of sorts, right?

Anyway, little Tom is adorable. Quite a lot to say about a broom ride, huh? Awww...

So... Any chance Tom's *not* going to turn into a murdering psychopath in this universe? *grin* Just had to ask, you see.

Right, so, as always, excellent writing. I look forward to your next piece. Keep writing!

TTFN
Adi

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87413Chapter: 1
Well done! I like your version of Mary Riddle; I didn't always see her as so sweet. Are you going to do more with this? Maybe you could elaborate on what caused her to fall in love with Tom, and even why she had named her son after the man who left her.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --