The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Moment of Peace
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: Sad and AngryDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131500Chapter: 1
*sob sob* Poor Harry he had such GREAT parents and now they're gone b/c of freakin Voldemort!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123859Chapter: 1
You say you're not sure whether the song is appropriate? Did you know, the song was originally "Hey Julian", and Lennon thought it up humming an impromptu lullaby to his baby son, Julian Lennon? I was sure you knew, in fact I was humming it as I clicked on the link! :) Cheers!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110336Chapter: 1
nice - - more?

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97176Chapter: 1
*sob* poor harry..poor james.....so sad...*sob*

Reviewer: guestDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94265Chapter: 1
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH! That was so cute! but it made me cry to know that they would never have those special moments again! :( But it was very well written! keep up the good work! :D

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90157Chapter: 1
Darling Britt, just read your piece and absolutely loved it. Something different for you and it's just beautifully written! The song COMPLETELY fits. Really, it does, especially the part where Peter's changed. Just lovely. Can't wait to get back in action with our SAS girls!

-Ch

Reviewer: RaneDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89043Chapter: 1
Wow! That was really good...such a sweet story. It made for a very nice read; is there anything else you should be submitting? : p

Reviewer: SherDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88929Chapter: 1
Wow! Just wow! I'm not a regular fic reader, but I am SO glad I read this one. Your descriptions and imagery are so poetic and beautiful. I love how the words just flow. This was such a sweet and touching story. I love the James/baby Harry connection. The Beatles tie in was simply genius! Good idea! I love the different lyrics used throughout the story, each fitting what was currently going on. Well done! Major Kudos, my dear! Write more! I demand you! ;)

Reviewer: Blue LoverDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87768Chapter: 1
wow! very well written...i liked it a lot. the beatles are amazing!...and so is your writing! i can't believe that this was your first fan fic! I commend you!!! write more!!!

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87678Chapter: 1
I LOVED it. "Hey Jude" is an amazing song, of course, so that made me enjoy it even more. You wrote a beautiful story, a nice little look into a time of peace for James, and that's something that we don't really even get to think a lot about in canon. I can't wait to see more of your work!

Reviewer: GreenWolfDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87649Chapter: 1
That was such a touching story. I enjoyed it a lot. :D

Reviewer: ManiDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87585Chapter: 1
awwww! pronglet! that's so cute!!!!!

Reviewer: maggieDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87576Chapter: 1
this was great! Really loved it. It was a bit distracting with the beta-corrections, I'm guessing they weren't supposed to be there.
maggie

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87575Chapter: 1
Very, very sweet and very well done. I love your use of imagery throughout, especially this passage:

"He had moments like this more and more often lately-moments where things seemed to pause, and all thoughts and words fled beyond his grasp, like droplets of water slipping through his fingers. All except one. The midday sun streaming through the high windows reflected off the copper crown of her hair, mesmerizing him."

Beautiful. Also really liked the flashbacks in here. It gave a nice, dreamlike quality to the story.

My only complaint is the changes (I am assuming your Beta suggested them) in red and the notes at the end of some of the passages. It distracts a bit from the story, and this is too beautiful to have distractions.

Fantastic job.

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87504Chapter: 1
This was short, but very sweet. I'm a sucker for Baby!Harry stories, but such stories almost always have Lily and Harry. It's a refreshing change to see James interacting with his baby son, for once, and reflecting about fatherhood. And as a Beatles fanatic, any story that involves the Fab Four is fab itself, in my book!

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87503Chapter: 1
WOW!!! WOW!!! WOW!!! that was amazing!!! I loved how you did that!!! it was...WOW!! I'm gonna start to cry!! *Sob*

~Esther

P.S. THE BEATLES RULE!!! I love your choice of song!! it was perrrrrrfect!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87468Chapter: 1
Adorable. I love baby-Harry stories!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87437Chapter: 1
This was a great story, especially for your first fanfic. I liked how you incorporated the song into the fic. Hey Jude is my favorite Beatles song :o)
"He moved to sink down in the battered, old rocking chair he and Lily had inherited from his parentsí house and cradled Harry in his arms, rocking gently. For that moment, there was no war raging beyond these walls, no dark wizards, no looming threat. There was only a father and his son and one of those rare moments of peace." (I love that...it's such a beautiful image of father and son!) You've a gift for writing; keep it up!

Jules

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87435Chapter: 1
I liked this fic, it was very sweet and touching. I loved that you used a song by the Beatles as well, as they are awesome. Much applause to you.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --