The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 130

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-04
Reviewid: 141626Chapter: 6
Quite excellent and quite different from most HP fics.
I enjoyed your story. Thank you.

Reviewer: hannah_88Date: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139289Chapter: 6
well *crying my head out* I like the idea to give the dursleys a second chance, it was nice really! I love the essay you did on Harry and Ginny by the way!

Reviewer: sejalDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131608Chapter: 6
very nice...i dont realli have words to describe how i feel about this story but i guess in a sense it gives me a fuzzy feeling...keep going...

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120412Chapter: 6
Very nice. Of course, a little out of character for Dudley to pick Harry up, but very nice. I love it very much.

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118248Chapter: 6
One of the best stories I have ever read. I applaud you greatly on our characterization of Harry!

Reviewer: AlemandeDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118210Chapter: 6
You know the most interesting thing about this story? I read all of it even though I didn't think Petunia or Dudley (or Molly, for that matter) were very close to canon. I think that some of your other reviewers have said that Petunia was too quick to start liking Harry, and I agree. I understand your premise - she's always liked him and tried to suppress it along with her love and grief for Lily, and now that he's suddenly so sick she realizes it and tries to make up for all those years of neglect. Well, it's a nice idea, and it was nicely written, which was why I read it. But you'll forgive me for saying that I don't think it'll happen in canon in a million years. The Petunia I see in canon, even in OoP, is much less emotional, much colder, much more selfish and *much* more bourgeois. We all want Harry to be loved, but I'm pretty sure it won't come from that family - or if so, then never to this extent. Maybe a small comment at the end of Book 7 or something.

You could argue that you were going for a What If, but that still wouldn't explain the rather big difference between Canon!Petunia and the one in your story. It would have convinced me more, perhaps, if Petunia had gone through a longer battle with her own emotions, and also if she had never opened up to Harry entirely. That, paradoxically, is often even more emotional and convincing - when you've got a character who never gives up all of their control, never speaks as openly as Petunia does to Harry, never says "I love you" or anything - but you can feel a whole torrent of emotions under their seemingly reserved exterior. That barrier doesn't have to fall in order to show what's under it. And that, I think, is also one of the main cultural differences between the English and the Americans (as a German, I'm more on the English side)!

I thought I'd let you know about my thoughts, even though they're not 100% positive. I like your style of writing, as I say, although it's sometimes a bit too rationally descriptive, if that makes sense. But I definitely think you could work on characterisation a bit more.

Keep writing!

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118112Chapter: 6
This was very sweet and VERY moving. It would be nice to have Petunia reconciled with Harry, and you have done a very creditable job.

It is unfortunate that J.K. Rowling is probably not going to follow your lead, as she has reported that Dudley (at least) will not be reformed. However, I like what you have done with the idea.

Brilliant job! Thank you for writing this.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: KacieDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118025Chapter: 1
i love this story! it just...it really changed my perspective of the dursleys, even vernon, a lot. i was re-reading OotP the other day and I kept forgetting this isn't real canon lol. I would love it if you continued on, maybe finishing the story, and i'm sure everyone else would too. I love your style!

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117988Chapter: 6
Wow. This is.....wow. I'm lost for words! Not a frequent occurance, rest assured. This is wonderful! I love the way you bring the characters. I never thought that Harry and the Dursleys could ever be close, and that's why I love this fic! I'm so glad I read it!

Reviewer: TheTrishDate: 2005-03-20
Reviewid: 117220Chapter: 6
Wow. This rocks my socks. Seriously well done, I can't wait for it to go on. Aunt Petunia is now my favourite person. Hehe.

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108351Chapter: 6
I can't remember if I reviewed this story the last time I read it. I really enjoyed it both times. I couldn't help feeling that Petunia was just a little too quick to start liking Harry after he started telling her about the Weasleys, but it wasn't really jarring.

I enjoyed Petunia's realization that people in the Wizarding World aren't so very different from "normal" people. Actually, I liked all of her finding out about Harry's life in his other world.

I also liked how at the end Petunia, Harry and Dudley were all looking at the pictures together. I didn't quite understand why realizing how much Harry looked like his father should alarm Dudley so much.

Anyway, good story!

Reviewer: ElizDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108257Chapter: 1
Wonderful story I really enjoyed it! Are they're any stories that u would recommend me reading? I am new here.

Reviewer: DreamerDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106074Chapter: 6
are you going to continue with this story? i really like it. i really hope so... so i hope you update soon, and maby i will see a new story

Reviewer: KatrinaDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105650Chapter: 6
i think that this is a really good piece and that u deserve to be congratulated! (im talking about all 6 chapters) i think u have managed to keep the characters true even while changing them, which i feel is very important. the story was really sweet too!

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101351Chapter: 6
A cute one!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-11
Reviewid: 101072Chapter: 6
Very nice chapter! I like that Petunia tries very hard to undo all the harm she did to Harry when he was younger, like telling the entire neighbourhood that he was a criminal. I also like that Harry and Petunia still can fight, but in a very different way now. Petunia doesn't give up trying to talk to Harry, and Harry gives in -- a very little bit.

And the photograph scene is just brilliant. The characterisation of Dudley, Petunia and Harry is exactly right. I love Dudley's hesitation and Petunia's awkwardness. And I love Harry wondering how on earth he ended up in the living room showing photographs to his relatives. The final bit of the chapter is also very good.

This might just be the best chapter yet. I like it very much. I hope to see more soon!

Reviewer: Margaret CarterDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 101008Chapter: 6
I'm so glad to see a new chapter of this story. I've been waiting a long time. <G> The scene of Harry's showing his photo album to Aunt Petunia and Dudley is delightful, though I do have slight reservations about Dudley's turning almost nice. I enjoy seeing his "reformed" behavior anyway, though.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100773Chapter: 6
yay, new chapter. I liked the way you continue to make Petunia very realistic--how she didn't just go on a Vernon-bashing spree and all.

-PQ

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100619Chapter: 6
This is a truly awesome and touching story! You're detail with everyone's emotions is absolutely stunning! I really felt for all the characters throughout this story, especially in this chapter. And I really liked the last line - "...he would have to get Ron's mother something very nice next Christmas." - that was really funny, but again, touching and heart-warming. Great job on this story!

~Caitlin

Reviewer: EleannaDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100600Chapter: 6
I'm so glad you posted again!

This fic has made me cry in almost every chapter. It's wonderful!

You have made the change in Petunia and Dudley so plausable.

Please keep up the excellent work.

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100582Chapter: 6
Okay, mea culpa. I should have learned by now to put in Author's Notes to explain myself. That's the end of the story, folks. I didn't plan to write any more. I'm flattered that you're waiting for more, but I'm afraid that's all I planned to write.

Reviewer: harryp123Date: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100534Chapter: 6
Good story. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100528Chapter: 6
Wow! That amongst other uneccesary adjectives are all I can say about your story! Its so nice to actually see Petunia as a person. I hope you update soon, and make the story very, very long because I'm enjoying it alot. Thanks again!

Reviewer: KailinDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100516Chapter: 6
What a lovely story! I sure wish this scenario could actually take place. If anybody needs redemption, it has to be the Dursleys.

Thanks for writing.

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97863Chapter: 5
Thank you all for reading! I hope you'll stick around for the next (and final!) chapter, whenever I get around to finishing it. I appreciate your reviews. There's just one question I want to answer, and that is, while it appears more likely that Lily was the younger sister...we really don't know that yet. I probably should have put that in an author's note on the chapter, but I've long thought of Petunia as being Lily's younger sister, and we don't have conclusive proof either way. And until we have conclusive proof...I like to think of Lily as Big Sis. So there you go.

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97761Chapter: 5
One more thing . . . the explanation of the rocking chair that Petunia gave was good--it was very in-character for Petunia. I was just thinking of a different reason, a reason that I think might've actually BEEN Lily's reason:

Lily could've kept the chair in her room, because she knew that Petunia liked it, and wanted Petunia to come visit her in her room, because she loved her sister, and--even if they weren't doing the same thing--wanted to spend time with her.

While I read that last bit, I kept thinking Harry might think of that, but then again, I thought he might not. I mean, he's seen the Weasleys in action, and he knows they love each other and stuff, but on the other, it probably doesn't equate in his mind that his mother and aunt might be the same way.

But yeah, just thought I'd share that.

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97760Chapter: 5
I'm loving this story so far. Just thought I'd point out that Lily was technically the YOUNGER sibling, not the elder. But that's a minor detail, and the story's great anyway, so I'll just leave you to keep writing. :)

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96646Chapter: 5
Yes! please post more soon! your writing style is easy (and addicting) to read, alot like JK's. my only qualm is that petunia seemed to warm up to harry too quickly, although you explained it well.

Reviewer: UnrealityCheckDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96624Chapter: 5
I love this look at Petunia! She has always been an interesting character ... on the one hand overly doting to her son, and then sternly cool to Harry. Here we see the inside of Petunia ... and for the longest time, Harry thinks he is hallucinating. I love how just the two of them talking about his life, and then her thoughts on his father and mother have broken through the barrier that seemed to keep them apart. I thought that this last chapter with Petunia showing Harry the pictures and then talking about how she used to play in the rocking chair, and how Lily held her made her realize how much she missed her sister.

And Harry seems to be realizing that his Aunt is not very different than he is ... shaped by events happening around them ... bearing deep wounds that are unresolved ... holding back grief by denying it and hiding it behind other behavior. The image of Harry holding his Aunt just as his mother used to was extremely poignant. It's a shame that Petunia needs to hide any of this concern from Vernon & Dudley ... of course, it's out of the bag now as far as Dudley is concerned.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96611Chapter: 2
Please continue writing

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96610Chapter: 2
I really, really liked this story more than all of the others Iread and I have no idea why!

Reviewer: Janie McHughDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96567Chapter: 5
wow. you make Ickle DUddlykins sound almost human. I'd like to see where this story goes, so keep it up!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96463Chapter: 5
I'm still wondering where you're going with this story, but in the meantime, I'm enjoying it very much. I like the parts about Harry realising that his hallucination is real best. You also manage to keep Petunia and Dudley very in-character. The only part that might not be entirely in-character is this:

>>"Children are very possessive of their belongings," said Aunt Petunia. "Just because Lily didn't have any use for it, doesn't mean she'd want to let me have it. Perhaps you don't understand that, because you never had anything, and if so, that's my fault, but that's how children are."<<

In the previous chapters, you seemed to make Aunt Petunia talk to Harry only because he was sick, and then she discovered that she actually liked talking to him. But there hasn't been any hint of Petunia being sorry for Harry's miserable childhood. I think that Petunia would either not think about the fact that Harry had been treated badly at all or now be hit by a sudden realisation. But the off-hand comment she made in the part I quoted just doesn't make sense to me.

That's a very little thing, though. Overall, your Petunia is very good. When she talks with Vernon, but also when she talks to Harry and is rather preoccupied. Now Harry feels better, she seems to lose a bit of her interest and that makes a lot of sense. After the crying scene, obviously, things will be entirely different again.

I also liked Dudley much in this chapter. Even if he's not entirely indifferent, when his mother is crying in Harry's arms, he immediately assumes that Harry did something to her. Good characterisation.

Reviewer: mistyDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96447Chapter: 5
PLeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssseeeeeeeeeeeee write more.

Reviewer: pirate smileDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96438Chapter: 5
When I first began reading this story, I don't know what I was expecting but it was definitely not this. (and that is not meant to take a negative connotation) I just adore the fact that you are showing the humanity of Petunia. I think your descriptions and dialogues are brilliant. Keep up the good work! I'll be watching for an update. =)

Reviewer: ryoroowDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96310Chapter: 2
This is brilliant! It is so believable and the insight into the characters is amazing! You are extremely talented, thank you.

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96295Chapter: 5
this is a fantastic fic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

keep up the great work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96197Chapter: 5
Another chapter of one of my favorite WIPs! I'm so glad you updated!

I would never believe it if someone else wrote that Petunia and Dudley suddenly started caring about Harry, but you write it so believably, and you keep them all in character.

my favorite parts:

'She didn't look bored or disinterested so much as tired. Preoccupied. Harry supposed that meant the hallucination was nearing its end and he would soon have to do without her company...' (Harry is cracking me up thinking he is hallucinating, because Aunt Petunia could not possibly have started to care about him.)

'"It looks like warm water suited you all just fine," he said. It struck Harry that he was getting a precious (if fabricated) glimpse into not only the childhood of his mother and aunt, but also the world of little girls, which he had never given much thought before. He wondered if Hermione had ever poured warm water into a cup for another girl before she went to Hogwarts. Were there any families in Ottery St. Catchpole whose daughters had once played tea party with Ginny? What had she done to keep their gatherings safe from the twins' antics?' (When I first read this, I thought that Harry was being too emotional and had had an attack of the warm fuzzies, but I guess he is more emotional when he is sick and his defenses are down.)

Actually I'm really surprised how I'm not weirded out by all of this, but you do write it so well. I can tell you'd really like Aunt Petunia and Dudley to be nice to Harry. He's had such a rotten life in so many ways...

thanks for another great chapter. I can still picture the photo of Lily kissing little Petunia on the cheek...very nice imagery. :o)

Jules

Reviewer: DreamerDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95401Chapter: 4
I REALLY LOVE your story. I think this is the best story I read on sugarquill. I hope you update soon. This story is alot better than the ones I read on fanfiction, fictionpress, and mant others. I think this story is very original. I hope there you will write more stories. I think that Aunt Petunia is a bit OOC but I like her like this better. I think Harry needs to know that some of his blood relatives really cared for him. I hope you update soon.

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94290Chapter: 4
Everyone, thanks for sticking with me so far. I just got Chapter 5 back from my beta today, and I'm going on vacation on Friday, to come back next Wednesday. I probably won't have time to edit the chapter and submit it before I leave. Please hang in there! I love you all!

Reviewer: MeaghanDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93970Chapter: 4
Are you almost done with the next chapter? the suspense is killing me...

Reviewer: samanthaDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93705Chapter: 4
When are you going to post another chapter. I love the story so far. It is fabulous!

Reviewer: MeaghanDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93191Chapter: 4
I want more... are you going to continue or does it end with chap 4... im dying for more.. you should go on!

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92740Chapter: 4
Great chapter - it's wonderful how quickly you update! I especially liked the carol-singing story, and Petunia's lovely dream. Thank you.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92702Chapter: 4
Okay, your SemiDecent!Petunia is growing on me.

Nice chapter. I liked how you did her old memory.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92670Chapter: 4
Great chapter! I'm starting to wonder where you are going with this. It's nice, of course, all those talk, but it seems to be leading up to something I can't see yet. I hope it's coming soon, or the story might get boring.

>>"I'm sure he is," said Aunt Petunia, her pale blue-gray eyes still wide as Professor Trelawney's crystal-gazing orbs.<<
Poor Petunia. She tries so hard to understand the wizarding world, but learning about werewolves might just be a bit much for her.

>>Then he remembered that his brain was playing tricks on him, and she wasn't real. "Yeah, of course I know some other girls."<<
Uh-oh, I wonder what Harry's going to think when he realises he told all those things to the real Aunt Petunia.

The end is sweet. I wonder whether it was a true memory, or that Petunia never held Harry at all. In any case, it's a sweet memory.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92663Chapter: 4
I really enjoyed your story so far! I had been looking to read a story about Harry and Petunia, and yours is perfect. I hope you update soon!

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92645Chapter: 1
You write Petunia with such empathy that it brings tears to my eyes.

Thanks for such an excellent read.

Kizmet

Reviewer: CymbelineDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92604Chapter: 4
I just love this story. My overall problem with Harry (in canon) is that he's so reserved. When he's going about all angry and red in the face, you just want him to speak his mind, and let it all out in a completely honest way. I've been waiting for it to happen, so to find this fic is great. It is simple and sweet, not corny, and just quite endearing overall. Props to you on how in character Harry is. It's spot on :D
Yay for you.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92602Chapter: 4
Red Monster, I've really enjoyed reading this story! Some things that I really loved:
I think it's great you still have Harry thinking he's hallucinating when Aunt Petunia is asking him questions about his life. Putting Aunt Petunia in quotation marks was hilarious!
I also like how you've got Harry describing Hermione as his best friend, but he doesn't like her like -that-.
It's nice Harry is able to talk about girls with someone, but he's right, it does seem like an odd thing for his Aunt Petunia to want to talk about...and Luna? Haha. Now he's hallucinating so much he thinks Luna has appeal!
I love that your James is tone-deaf!
Awwww...I still think that Petunia being nice to Harry would be AU, but you've got a lovely writing style, and you do give everything a plausible reason. Great chapter, and I look forward to more from you!

Jules

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92549Chapter: 4
I didn't want this chapter to end! Please update soon! I usually don't like "NicePetunia" stories. Hope Harry hasn't really been hallucinating though!

Reviewer: MillahDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91681Chapter: 3
That was really good=) I really like the new relationship between Harry and Petunia, it's original and very well written. Keep up the good work=)

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91060Chapter: 3
Thank you all for reading and reviewing! I've just sent Chapter 4 to my betareader, so you all have permission to beat me over the head with plucked chickens if I take too long to edit. Jules, unless you went to school in Greenbelt, MD, USA, I didn't go to school with you. Clarissa Carroll is just a name I made up because it flowed well. Funny about your classmate, though!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 91015Chapter: 3
I just wanted to tell you how much I love your story so far. I had never gotten past the first chapter until today, because I kept getting tired of sitting in front of the computer, so I finally printed it off, and I just love it. Your Petunia is still in character, even though she's being nice. She's come to realize how special her nephew is, and she even thought about her sister without getting angry. Just lovely! I still want to know if you went to the same school as me, since Clarissa Carroll is an unusual name, but you might have made it up, who knows! Anyway, great work, and I look forward to an update!

Jules

Reviewer: Star Eyed UnicornDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90759Chapter: 3
Awwww...That was sooo sweet! *wipes a tear of her eye*

Reviewer: Sofie "sweden"Date: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90412Chapter: 3
it is a great story. and it is easy to read!!! 4 off 5

Reviewer: Margaret CarterDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90277Chapter: 3
It's great to see a new chapter. I enjoy the revelation of another side to Aunt Petunia. I do have one question about the previous chapters: If Harry was almost too weak to move for an entire day, what about the -- uh -- bathroom? He certainly doesn't have one attached to his bedroom.

Reviewer: PolinaDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90264Chapter: 3
Again, brilliant chapter, very believable and sensitively-written. It's interesting to see this vulnerable and sickly Harry from Petunia's point of view. In Book 6 we saw him growing up, between childhood and adulthood, with a huge burden on his shoulders. But when his defenses are down he's just a young, scared boy. I'm glad Aunt Petunia's working up the courage to sit down and talk to Harry. She is indeed "stronger than she looks" (I love the way you slipped that in, by the way!) Looking forward to your next chapter!

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90237Chapter: 1
Guys, I'm really sorry about that underlining. I've resubmitted it for posting. Thanks for putting up with my HTML errors and reviewing anyway.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90191Chapter: 3
What a beautiful, emotional chapter. It's very sad to read about Harry thinking that the nice Aunt Petunia is a fidget of his own imagination, but that he can enjoy it nonetheless. On the other hand, if Harry hadn't been thinking he was hallucinating, he would never had had such a nice talk with Aunt Petunia. And he definitely never would have said that he loved her.

Petunia being afraid of a Howler from Mrs Weasley is kind of funny. Very nice touch.

I also loved Hermione's letter. So typically Hermione! Especially all her good advice. The salmon is also a nice touch.

Great job! However, I suggest that you submit a replacement chapter to Madam Pince (note that it's a replacement in the "comments for your beta reader" box) with an extra </u> at the end of the quote at the beginning. It's really annoying to read an all-underlined chapter.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90169Chapter: 3
This is a great story!! I love to see this side of Petunia and Harry. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: harryp123Date: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90150Chapter: 3
good story and chapters. Can't wait for what more stories comes out.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90136Chapter: 3
I had to copy and paste this onto another program to read because of the underlining, but that's okay. I loved this chapter--nice stories about the Potters, and I also like the idea of a teenage Petunia giving a Look to James. :D

-PQ

Reviewer: jenDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90108Chapter: 3
It's infested with underlining!

Reviewer: FanficfanDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90055Chapter: 3
I decided that I wouldn't pick up any new stories until all the other ones I read were complete BEFORE I started reading this one! I'm stuck though! It's good to FINALLY see the blood connection between Harry and Petunia. Keep writing :)

Reviewer: khatijaDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89945Chapter: 3
its so sweet! cant wait for the next one

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89942Chapter: 3
Again, very nicely done.

Harry would think that hallucinations were the only explanation for Petunia's behavior. I'd have to say I agree with him.

I like your Petunia. You handle her struggles very well. Wouldn't be nice indeed if she turned out to love Harry.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89936Chapter: 2
Hi! I really enjoyed your portrayal of Aunt Petunia as a human being and the talk she had with Harry. I can't wait to hurry on to the next chapter!

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89898Chapter: 3
Well, it was definitly nice to get a different side of Petunia, and to see that someone agrees with me: she may have no choice by to change soon. Rowling had confirmed that someone who is too old to be starting magic, will start magic in book 6 or 7. Petunia is the only one who would actually have an impact.

Reviewer: Kathryn GroverDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89871Chapter: 3
Awww, that's so sweet. I just hope he doesn't die of shock when he realizes his aunt really IS acting like that. Hehehehe.

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89865Chapter: 3
"Most other boys wouldn't be interested in hearing such silly, trivial stories about their mothers, but then, most other boys didn't know what it was like to wait so long to hear their guardians talk about their parents." This is just so ver wonderful and even in this vunerable state Harry is still very in character as is Petunia. Him telling her he loved her kinda took me aback for a sec before my eyes started stinging. Ah, poor Harry.

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89861Chapter: 2
Excuse my while I sob...okay this chapter was wonderful just the thought of stuffy Aunt Petunia sitting next to Harry's bed while the sick boy rambles on about Christmas jumpers and Quidditch is both amusing and heart warming.

Reviewer: julieDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89842Chapter: 3
really good story

Reviewer: EstieDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89117Chapter: 2
It's a terrifyingly small weight for a 5 foot 8 teenager, but then again, most actresses and models who are taller that that tend to survive weighing much less than that, so let's just say that Harry's slightly anorexic.
Love the story, by the way. It really sounds like Aunt Petunia, especially in light of her dementor revelation in OotP.

Reviewer: pickles87Date: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88963Chapter: 2
I LOVE THIS STORY. But I have a feeling that once Harry is better things will go back to the way they were before. oh well. Great Story

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88877Chapter: 2
I'm very much at a loss how to describe the feelings this story raises in me. As a mother, as a reader...

You've managed to draw Petunia with compassion and empathy and still completely keep her in character. I wouldn't have thought it could be done, or done as well as you have.

And Dudley, at least demonstrating that there's an ounce of humanity in him, despite the example he's been given all his life. Well done. Perfectly done. (Oh, great, now you're going to think he's a steak!)

Molly's letter was just right. She's been itching to tell off the Dursleys for years, hasn't she? You gave her a great voice, combining her love for Harry and the scolding she obviously tempered a great deal in her letter.

I wondered, reading the synopsis, how far OOC you were going to take Harry. I really don't see him confiding in Petunia (or anyone else really) when he's in his right mind. That you made him ill and vulnerable made this chapter work for me. He's not talking about himself, of course, he's talking about people and things that he loves.

I look forward to hearing about Lily and Petunia in the next chapter.

Kizmet

Reviewer: yajayraDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88853Chapter: 2
I like it. I can not wait for the next part to be out.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88827Chapter: 2
Oh and by the way, I'm glad this wasn't a "whisked away to the Burrow" story. It's not like Dumbledore would let him leave, especially after all that's happened, so soon! While we all know that that is exactly what is running through Molly's mind.."lemme have him I'll do it right." I'm glad you made the effort to stick to canon. and I like the chapter name!

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88825Chapter: 2
Thanks for the american conversions there at the end, I was a bit lost about the weight, though I know the tempterature scale well enough.(bloody chemistry). Improbable as it may be, I do like the way that this story is going. It's a nice change from all the harry angst stories out there. The way you're developing Petunia is good as well, there's no way in Heck she'd just go "oh thanks so for the wonderful advice, Mrs. Weasley! I'll be sure to do that!" But the weakness towards a sick little boy, and the resistance toward reconciling the family she's learning about with the family she has in her mind, those are believable. I like it! I always kinda wondered why harry never got sick before. Good story!

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88808Chapter: 2
Aw good on Petunia, loved it!

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88779Chapter: 2
Awesome story!! I Love it!! It's too cute! Aw I'm glad Aunt Petunia is being nicer Harry needs a friend right now! Poor Harry all sick! Aw I love this story!! Post some more as soon as you can!!!

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88755Chapter: 2
Erm. I would think Harry would be taller than 5 foot 8...just because he was supposed to have grown "alot" over the fourth year summer. Maybe that's just me Keep on going!

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88740Chapter: 2
Lovely second chapter. I enjoyed Molly's letter - it sounded as though she was seizing the opportunity to say everything she'd been wanting to say for years! - but Petunia's initial angry thoughts on reading it were even better! And the way she deflated when she saw Harry looking so helpless, and the fact that Harry saw it happen - very neatly done. Petunia looking at the jumper was a nice touch too. Needless to say, I'm looking forward to more!

Reviewer: WhimsyDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88733Chapter: 2
This is a fascinating story. I don't usually like reading about the Dursleys, but this is definitely an exception. It is very touching in places, and draws the reader in.

I think you have captured the characters of Harry and Petunia very well. Harry's worries, memories and sense of humour are all intact, and you do a very good job of describing his illness - I hope your own experiences of it weren't nearly so severe! You make Harry's vulnerability very credible. And even Hedwig is well done, especially how she and Petunia interact with a certain reluctance.

But I definitely feel the highlight of your story is the portrayal Petunia. She doesn't just become nice all of a sudden, for no reason. Instead, you carefully explain the motivations behind her actions and attitudes, and you keep her behaviour believable. It is especially interesting to read that Petunia may have treated Harry so badly because she felt herself badly treated by comparison to Lily, or that she is so distrustful of the wizarding world because she feels it makes the Muggle world look so inferior. But best of all is the way that, by finally communicating with her nephew, Petunia begins to find her prejudices being challenged. It is nice to see Harry and Petunia starting to see each other as family.

Also, thanks for taking the time to do the Britpicking - the extra effort is always appreciated. :)

I'll be waiting eagerly for the next chapter!

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88710Chapter: 2
Good story....I like how Harry just rambles on, shows how sick he is.

-Steve

Reviewer: AndreaDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88699Chapter: 2
Wow, Petunia's human. Who'd'a thunk? :) I'm really enjoying this, and can't wait to see how it develops!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88684Chapter: 2
No-Worries Wipe.
-an Aussie invention?

I found Mrs. Weasley's letter a bit hard to swallow. Good advice? sure. In character? well... but I understand it is needed to further the plot of HalfwayDecent!Petunia which would be hard to do if Molly simply took him to the Burrow.

so far so good with Petunia by the way.

Reviewer: PolinaDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88656Chapter: 2
Wow - I haven't been so absorbed by a new, multiple-chapter story for a long time. Great job! Even though your summary is about Harry, I have a feeling that the story is more about Aunt Petunia. Your description of her indignation after receiving Mrs. Weasley's letter is excellent, and her slow but gradual change of heart is surprisingly believable. There's a lot of sensitivity and subtlety in your writing. I'm really looking forward to future chapters!

Reviewer: JenadamsonDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88651Chapter: 2
Wow, that was such a beautiful story. It makes me very grateful that Harry has the Weasleys to look after him. A couple of things that struck me: Petunia's wondering about Hedwig's name (I thought that was brilliant to put it in); Harry's description of Ginny; and Molly's letter (which was so heartfelt and so very Molly). I enjoyed reading this immensely. Jen

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88628Chapter: 2
I'm really enjoying this story! I found your description of how Lily always used to focus on the differences between the magical and non-magical worlds very insightful. If the fantastic differences were all she ever heard, no wonder magical things make her uneasy, jealous, etc. That really makes sense!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88611Chapter: 2
I think this story is excellent.
The way you have handled Petunia's inner emotional struggle is very well done. And in my opinion it is very much in character for her.

I look forward to more installments.

Thank you for writing.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88603Chapter: 2
Wow. This is a very good fic. I wasn't planning to read yet another summer-after-fifth-year fic, but seeing as I didn't have something useful to do anyway, the summary really pulled me in, and this fic already had 38 reviews for two chapters, I did it after all. :)

Your writing is excellent, but the thing I like most is Petunia's characterisation. Many summer-after-fifth-year fics have Petunia being a little nicer to Harry, but mostly that change comes out of nowhere. However, you wrote Petunia, and especially the part with her POV, very much in character. It's very much like her to get angry at Mrs Weasley for telling her how to deal with Harry, and she would have had a heart of stone if she was going to yell to a very sick young boy.

I hope you'll update soon, because the story really interests me, even though I don't know where it's going.

My favourite line:
>>By then, the warm afterglow he'd felt after seeing his reception committee threaten his Muggle relatives had started to wear off, and the sense that he'd rather be anywhere else, including in Madam Puddifoot's Tea Shop with a weeping Cho Chang, began to set in.<<

Reviewer: mandjDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88560Chapter: 2
this is a very interesting peice. i have not read many like it and am looking forward to more of yours. i hope you update soon.

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88556Chapter: 2
This was another great chapter to the story. I like your potrayal of Aunt Petunia. I can't wait for another chapter!!

Reviewer: PepperDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88529Chapter: 2
I really like your portrayal of harry and petunia's relationship. It seems like there's hope for them yet.

Reviewer: Heather / defectusDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88514Chapter: 2
"I hope that's a reasonable estimate for the weight of a skinny 16-year-old boy."

I imagine you were close. I'm a skinny sixteen year old girl and I weigh about 100 pounds.

The first thing I thought while Harry was telling his aunt about the Weasley's was that he seemed to be talking too much for someone who was sick. That was my only criticism--I liked the chapter. I'm glad you updated so soon. Nice work on the chapter and I hope to see the next chapter soon.

Reviewer: FanficfanDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88506Chapter: 2
I'm enjoying your story. Your take on Aunt Petunia is quite interesting. Please keep writing :)

Reviewer: thirdperson potterDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88493Chapter: 2
this tory is amzing i love how aunt petuina really odes care for him dare i say love him? she just cant admit it . i want to see how petuina acts these next chapters. which will pleae be up tomarrow . you ahve know idea how much i want to read it. you know whats going to happen but we dont. well please update for everyones sake. now she knows more about the waslys that someon for surely does love him. even though she wont admit it. update

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88490Chapter: 2
I'm really enjoying this. Most fics where Petunia is shown in a good light go about it in a very unbelievable way, making her the abused housewife longing to be good to Harry but too afraid of Vernon to do so. You definitely stay away from this trap, showing her as both in character and a nice person.

I love your comparison of Harry's view of the wizarding world versus Lily's. Of course Harry would like the normal things he missed out on as a young child, while Lily, who probably had a normal childhood, would be more interested in the extraordinary. It makes a lot of sense that Petunia's jealousy of Lily would stem from the way Lily's talk of the wizarding world made the muggle world, Petunia's world, seem not good enough.

A nice chat like that is exactly what Harry needs right now, so thank you for writing it. :) Keep writing!

~Ella

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88488Chapter: 2
This is very interesting so far - I think you did a terrific job writing Petunia's initial response to Molly's advice. It sounded just like the little voice I think she must have in her head. And I really like how you've written her response to Harry's description of the Weasley family - she seems much more human all of a sudden.

Good job so far!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --