The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: I Hear Him Laughing
Review(s): 64

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-20
Reviewid: 151347Chapter: 1
I've never really thought much about gen, because fanfic-wise, I was always about romance, romance, romance. But the way that you put these two characters to share a missing moment from PoA... that was incredible! Ginny gathering the courage to talk to Prof Lupin, Remus realizing with horror that Ginny was "that student", losing a "friend". I never thought that these two would have that in common. Great job!

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140832Chapter: 1
Once again....you've written such a powerful piece! I think I'll be up all night reading your stories! Oh, this story told me why Ginny loves Remus so much in shifts and Shades....the guy really was born to teacher....I wish he was my teacher! :(

Loved it, as usual!

krumfan

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2005-12-31
Reviewid: 137845Chapter: 1
I really love this story. A perfectly captured missing moment, that totally works with what we know happened in canon and that also really adds something extra. The voices are spot on, all the little details are wonderful. There are so many things I like about this story that focusing on just one or two doesn't do it justice. I'm in awe.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137047Chapter: 1
Excellent

Reviewer: EmerikaDate: 2005-11-19
Reviewid: 136042Chapter: 1
WoW! Poor Gin.... I feel so bad for her.

Reviewer: SnorkackCatcherDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133991Chapter: 1
A very nice little piece. Remus seems just absolutely spot on here in the kindness he shows to Ginny, and the good advice he gives her - he seems to be a natural at this sort of thing, as we saw in the books with (e.g.) Harry and Molly. Ginny too seems drawn just right for her second year; you can see the guts and the ability as well as the nervousness - and it was an interesting and probably correct point to make that she did show her strength by managing to fight Riddle off for nearly a year. Nice to see, because stories showing how she coped with the immediate aftermath of CoS aren't that common.

Reviewer: MosyluDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129460Chapter: 1
Came here from the fanfic quotes thread. I love this story. Very Ginny, still in recovery, and very very Remus. I do love the way you write Remus.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-04-10
Reviewid: 119122Chapter: 1
This was absolutely delightful. Great work!

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118608Chapter: 1
Spooky. Very, very, spooky. Well done, f.w!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114645Chapter: 1
This is good. I really liked how you showed the connexions between Lupin and Ginny- the Secrets the friends who betrayed them.. Ginny was very in character, and Lupin to of couse and I really liked the ending line- it made me shiver. The only part I didn't like was part of the dialogue

<"Did you ever share a secret?"

"Once."

"What was it?"

"Well, it wouldn't be a secret if I just told it, now would it?"

"Oh. I shouldn't have pried.">

It just seemed a bit contrived to me, this part. It would've worked just fine IMHO if you had left it at what Lupin said about sharing secrets being a relief- and possibly having Ginny look at him curiously or something. It would've been enough to make the connection. Other than that I think this story was "practically perfect in every way". Keep writing!

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113941Chapter: 1
I loved it. You really showed the understanding and sympathy Remus has for someone with troubles. Please write more, oh, hey, a suggestion, poa from Remus's point of view.
Snuffles

Reviewer: YmaDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113138Chapter: 1
This was very good. I loved the atmosphere and the emotion within it. Perhaps not the most brilliant work I've ever read, but it was pretty darn godo. I was especially impressed with your Remus, the dialoge was excellently done, it really sounded a lot like him at times, and the same is true of Ginny. The actual story was neat and inteligent and the allogarites passed between Ginny and Sirius were wonderful.
Good stuff.

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112202Chapter: 1
lupin knows whats up between ginny and harry... cause he's all wise and stuff. i really like that he just tells ginny to stay away from dementors instead of encouraging her to "take on her fears" or something. it's good to be afraid! keeps you alive!
and thestrals make everything better.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110642Chapter: 1
That was a nice one shot. I really enjoyed it. I can definitely see Ginny going to Lupin at after that, and him refusing to teach her, but wanting to help her out anyway. :) Nice job!

Reviewer: DenaliDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110504Chapter: 1
So after reading "Shifts" I thought to myself "Self, you have to read more of this fan-tab-ulous writer's stuff". So I did. This story is wonderfully creepy, really. That last line gave me shivers ..."another ghost walk, on two feet or four" *Shudders*
FANTASTIC!!!

Reviewer: LyannieDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109028Chapter: 1
I loved this little moment, especially the part about the loosing a friend that wasn't really there. Very well done.

Reviewer: tigermouseDate: 2004-12-13
Reviewid: 107685Chapter: 1
Wow. That was really beautiful. Ginny was perfect! Just the right mix of shyness and talkativeness, childish yet mature. And Remus balances humor, kindness and sound advice with a skill admirable in anyone, let alone someone who has every excuse to be bitter and self-pitying.

And I thaught the reference to the Thestral at the end was chilling. Just another reminder that Remus Lupin knows more than most about death.

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101524Chapter: 1
Every time someone comes up with a new missing moment I am delighted. And this is a SIGNIFICANT missing moment. Well done and well developed. Terrific insight into Lupin's mind.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95942Chapter: 1
The moment I love most in this story is when Lupin acknowledges that Ginny saw Tom as a friend and he identifies with her as someone who feels betrayed by a friend. That is so powerful - and you've written the whole scene so beautifully.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92066Chapter: 1
>>"No," he said. "She's the daughter of friends of mine. That's a very old picture. She's twenty-one now. Which is a profoundly frightening thought. Would you like some tea?"<<

Nice nod to your other R/T works. :)

>>"He told me that a first year student had--" Remus stopped. "Oh, my Lord. You were the student."

She nodded. "It was me. He got inside my mind."

"And you got him out."<<

I am profoundly envious of how you are able to paint these scenes and convey the dynamics therein. ;) You had me gasping along with Remus, even though I already knew Ginny's past.

>>"Did you ever share a secret?"

"Once."<<

Ahh...so much meaning in those short sentences.

>>"Every time you hear that laughter, I want you to remember that you're not just a girl who was possessed by Tom Riddle; you're also a girl who fought him tooth and nail, who didn't end up letting him hurt anyone, and who tried her best to banish him. Who figured all of it out on her own, according to Dumbledore, and at great cost."<<

Wonderful, wonderful paragraph. And a truly wonderful fic. Remus' measured delivery and overall characterization is just spot-on.

~Katinka

Reviewer: mzdeepDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91224Chapter: 1
wow. this is a great work of writing. i cried. ha haha.
keep up the GREAT work!!

~MZDEEP

Reviewer: katieDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91171Chapter: 1
oooooo very good write more plz!

Reviewer: nooneyaknowDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 91018Chapter: 1
really good. cute, but not too cute. I love how Professor lupin gets the hint that Ginny likes Harry. Cute!

Reviewer: AzaeliaDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88335Chapter: 1
Wow. I love this! You've hit Lupin and Ginny spot-on, the characterizations are just perfect! Excellent, as usual. I have to beg you to write more about Lupin, he's a wonderful character and you write him so well! So... Please?
:) Azaelia

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88207Chapter: 1
I can't get enough of stories with wise, parental portrayals of Lupin, and your stories never fail to live up to my expectations. Great job!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: NancyDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88164Chapter: 1
Ooooo very good!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88150Chapter: 1
How nice to see two of my favorite characters together. I really liked the parallels with the betrayals.

Lupin was his sensible self in not teaching Ginny the Patronus Charm. So many writers would have given in to that temptation--to make Ginny "super witch," able to keep up with Harry. Great job!

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88132Chapter: 1
I love your stories about Lupin. They hit all the right notes. I'd wondered if Ginny ever talked to him about Tom Riddle and why the Dementor on the train affected her (although not as badly as Harry). Thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88130Chapter: 1
[Remus smiled. "Give him--er, them--time] *snert*

[Somewhere in the gloom, another ghost walked, on two feet or four, and as a Dementor's shadow glided near the castle's gate, Remus Lupin thought he heard a whisper of laughter.] Oooh, very chilling ending.

Great parellels between Tom Riddle and Sirius, especially the laughing. Your Remus is so much like how I picture him; kind and understanding, yet still authoratative. This is an excellent piece and you've really created a "Remus" universe with this and some of your other pieces. Great work!

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88126Chapter: 1
One of my favorite authors. Period.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88104Chapter: 1
This is a marvellous one-shot. Very sensitive and thoughtful, which is to be expected, considering how well you write Remus. I thought that Ginny's shyness was perfect, given that she is talking to an adult she doesn't know very well about a very painful experience because of something to do with Harry. I liked Remus's desire to touch her shoulder, but holding himself back because of the teacher-student relationship: it paves the way for his treatment of Harry. I liked the way he managed to comfort Ginny, and their little discussion of Harry was priceless. Here are some of my favourite lines.

>>Sirius himself, if Remus remembered correctly, was just out of the frame. - Very symbolic, especially considering the context of the story.

>>"She's the daughter of friends of mine. That's a very old picture. She's twenty-one now. Which is a profoundly frightening thought. Would you like some tea?" - I think it's the "tea" comment which makes me laugh.

>>"I understand. Sharing a secret or two can be a real relief."

"Did you ever share a secret?"

"Once."

"What was it?"

"Well, it wouldn't be a secret if I just told it, now would it?" - Great change from poignancy to humour.


>>"Every time you hear that laughter, I want you to remember that you're not just a girl who was possessed by Tom Riddle; you're also a girl who fought him tooth and nail, who didn't end up letting him hurt anyone, and who tried her best to banish him. Who figured all of it out on her own, according to Dumbledore, and at great cost."

"What cost?"

"You lost a friend."

"Maybe. But he wasn't a real friend."

"That's what hurts most. I know something about that." - Very sad but good.

>>Somewhere in the gloom, another ghost walked, on two feet or four, and as a Dementor's shadow glided near the castle's gate, Remus Lupin thought he heard a whisper of laughter. - Poor Remus, just as haunted by the past.

I love the parallels between Remus and Ginny.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88092Chapter: 1
Love it. But then, I love all your stories, so why should this be any different? The writing, as always, is excellent, as is the concept and the characterization of a very real, very comforting Remus Lupin. And, of course, always, a Tonks cameo. Speaking of which...are we going to get another one of those soonish?

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88081Chapter: 1
Yet another superb story... I love how you can make them so real :)

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88071Chapter: 1
Fantastic. I can't even think to write a better comment, because everyone has already touched on the points I would bring out. Suffice it to say, I loved it. :o)

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88065Chapter: 1
we're reviewing for next week's Review Challenge over at the Pensieve, and we're so glad we didn't miss this one!

<<"Not very pretty though. Ha-- Boys don't think so, anyway."
Remus smiled. "Give him--er, them--time. Boys are a stupid lot, you know. I can say that with some authority, having been one.">>

You've given Remus a perfect gentle sense of humor; it sounds just like him. This is a great little moment; we can almost see his office, little Ginny cringing miserably in the chair, the biscuit tin...and a little hint of R/T never goes amiss either ;).

Very nice.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88054Chapter: 1
JK--
Thanks!

"have you written anything which includes any further information on that aspect of your characterisation?"

Yup. In the last chapter of "Lines of Descent," he is present for the death of someone he loves.

Reviewer: JKDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88049Chapter: 1
Wow! Great work, Fern. I've never thought about this, and it is, of course, totally believeable in canon.

This is at the same time very sweet and charming and melancholy and chilling. You fit a great deal of meaning into what is said, so that while Ginny doesn't understand what Remus is saying or feeling to the full extent, the reader does. That is very skilfull and adds marvellous depth to the piece.

The echoes of melancholy and darkness throughout the piece are poignant, and the ending is chilling. I am curious that Remus can see the Thestrals ... have you written anything which includes any further information on that aspect of your characterisation?

The characters were spot on: Ginny with her shyness and insecurity, and Remus with his kindness and willingness to help.

Excellent work!

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88044Chapter: 1
This was a nice story, and exactly the sort of thing Professor Lupin would do.

"what Remus remembered most clearly was Dumbledore saying that it was their luck that "certain parties" had foolishly mistaken youth for weakness, and that the student had fought Riddle's possession with every resource she'd had available to her. At one point, she had even attempted to destroy the diary that had been used as an instrument of possession, a feat many adult witches would have been incapable of. In the end, it had finally broken her, but that had been after months."

I really like that, and I like seeing it in fanfic. Ginny gets maligned too much, not here at the SQ, but across the fandom in general. Your words are a true and direct counter to the words of Ginny-haters everywhere. Good job!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88033Chapter: 1
Very nice. I think I read this on your L/J, but I wanted to leave a review. I think the paralells you draw between Ginny and Remus are very powerful. It must be bad for Remus to be near a Dementor. And I like that you've drawn Ginny's fear as relationship related. I think that makes her warmer. And it makes Tom Riddle more evil. Similar to the evil in your MUDS story, Tom is the betrayal of friendship. He listened, learned and turned. Anyone could fall to that.

Good work!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88032Chapter: 1
I thought this was the best and most realistic missing moment story I've ever read! If I've read a better one, I don't remember it now, so that's saying something! I think something like this must have happened, or if Ginny would have gone to Lupin, he would have done and said just what you had him do and say. I thought you nailed both Ginny's and Lupin's personalities perfectly! It breaks my heart that Lupin was so sad himself and still had time to help out those like Ginny and Harry, and I particularly loved this bit: '"Not very pretty though. Ha-- Boys don't think so, anyway." Remus smiled. "Give him--er, them--time. Boys are a stupid lot, you know. I can say that with some authority, having been one." That earned him a half-hearted laugh. "Why is that?" "It's one of life's great mysteries."'

Great work!

Jules

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88022Chapter: 1
Thanks, Firebolt909! I was doing other things and hadn't checked all the stories in the queue for a few days... I had no idea what had become of this one!

Anyway, Megan pointed out, "As we've been told by JK herself, Ginny was never shy except in Harry's presence. She was always a chatterbox otherwise."

I think that in this instance, two things are going on--first, she's being preyed on by Dementors during her second year (well, being constantly exposed to them, anyway), so a lot of the diary stuff is going to be crowding her brain and making her not entirely her own bubbly self. The other thing is that this probably *is* Harry-related in her mind--what she knows is that this particular teacher is one who has a close relationship with Harry, and it is based on a Harry-related bit of knowledge in her mind. And of course, she's also approaching an adult she doesn't know very well and telling him something very personal. I try to have her establish her nature by "prying," but that's not what she's there for. I think she'd have hesitated quite awhile before trying to get help.

Either that, or she has a little crush on Lupin as well. ;)

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87997Chapter: 1
What an awesome story. I love the characterizations, Post-CoS!Ginny is very good. Lupin's thoughts on Sirius are interesting too, and I did notice the care you put into pointing out Lupin's Teacher-Student physicality conflicts, just as he was tentative to touch Harry in PoA. Great job. :o)

Reviewer: Firebolt909Date: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87994Chapter: 1
Oh, and since some of you were wondering when I actually will get around to finishing up my stories, I'll see about doing something within the near future (whenever that might be). After seeing the absolute literary rape showing in theatres, also known as "Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, I've decided that if Steve Kloves can write bad-fanfic, then I shouldn't have much of a problem with it either, LOL!

Seriously, I'll try to see if I can rekindle some sort of HP fanfic bug...thanks everyone for asking!

Reviewer: Firebolt909Date: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87993Chapter: 1
While this is an excellent story, I sadly cannot take credit for it. Fernwithy is listed just above my author name in the listing, so it's probably just a simple upload error that got it placed under my name. I've had someone email the admins here to let them know about the mistake, so hopefully it'll soon be corrected.

Sorry about the mix-up! :-)

Paula/Firebolt909

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87990Chapter: 1
I liked this. It's an interesting thought, and very well-written. Both Ginny and Lupin were very good!

Reviewer: Star Eyed UnicornDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87989Chapter: 1
Oh! And if you like Ginny/Harry fanfics with humor in them, go check Jeconais' "This means war!" in Fanfiction.net. I'm telling you, you will just LOVE it! It is great!

Reviewer: Star Eyed UnicornDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87986Chapter: 1
...Wow! is all I am going to say...
^__~

Reviewer: JaneDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87984Chapter: 1
That was very good. I can understand why Ginny would have wanted to learn the Patronus after what happened to her. Your Lupin sounds just right, too. He's wise but not at all patronizing. (Get it, not patron -izing? haha, Sorry.)

Reviewer: ChaoticKDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87982Chapter: 1
Happy Dancing! Happy Dancing! - Soo good to see you again!

Great piece - love your Ginny, as always.

Reviewer: TournesolDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87970Chapter: 1
Very nice short story! You portrayed Ginny in a very realistic way: not weak (like most authors write her character), but not excessively strong either, which shows that you've managed to keep in mind that she's only a second year, and that she's not Harry :)
The scene was really well written, and the characterization was excellent. Great job!

Reviewer: GridleyDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87962Chapter: 1
You're alive! And back with a vengance, too. While I'm generally a fan of a stronger Ginny, I agree that it probably took quite a while to get over her second year, and Remus is a very likely choice as someone to help her. Very nicely done.

Is it too much to hope for updates on The Captain as well?

In any case, welcome back, and well done.

Reviewer: B.JDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87958Chapter: 1
wonderful missing moment. a good read. very touching.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87952Chapter: 1
Hmm. As we've been told by JK herself, Ginny was never shy except in Harry's presence. She was always a chatterbox otherwise. So I think you exaggerated with her extremely over-cautious approach to Lupin. Afterwards, the conversation was believable - she would be reluctant to discuss the diary - and overall I liked the parallels between Lupin's and Ginny's disillusions with people they used to trust.

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87951Chapter: 1
oooooooooooooo great.... I loved the ending and I loved the way she talks about loseing a frind she though she trusted to some one elce who lost a feind he thoug h he trusted

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87946Chapter: 1
Wow, I love it! The characterisation of both Ginny and Remus is perfect. I had a bit of a sniffle reading this because it was so sweet and hopeful, just what I needed while I'm couped up studying with the exam blues!

Kate

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87943Chapter: 1
I'm pretty sure this is a FernWithy story, perhaps because I think I read an earlier draft of this on her weblog. But anyway...I really like your interpretation of Remus as a teacher. Many people seem to think of Remus Lupin primarily as a "Marauder", someone with ties to Harry's father, but he is presented to us first as a Hogwarts Professor, and a good one at that. Your idea that Dumbledore hired Remus at least partly in the hope that Sirius would try to contact him is intriguing,and would explain in part why Remus doesn't bother telling Dumbledore about Sirius being an Animagus, etc. And your comparison of what Ginny thinks about Tom Riddle, and what Remus thinks about Sirius when he thinks he is guilty, is also very insightful, almost chillingly so. Liked the Tonks cameo!

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87942Chapter: 1
I really wish you would update your other stories!!! you are such a great writer!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87940Chapter: 1
This was good. It shows a deepness to Ginny's character. But my main reason for posting is not this but The Scar. It was really good; I just finished it and reviewed there, but could you finish it please? You're a talented writer and I would like more!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87932Chapter: 1
Not totally sure I grasped the last line...but that's okay. Oh, by the way, did Firebolt909 write this story, or did Fernwithy?

Whoever wrote it (I'm inclined to think it's Fernwithy because her name's under the title, and the mention of Dora =)) it's fabulous.

"What cost?"




"You lost a friend."

"Maybe. But he wasn't a real friend."

"That's what hurts most. I know something about that."

Made me all sniffy. You've got both Remus and Ginny down perfectly...I really especially love your Remus. And Ginny seems very true to CoS!Ginny...you've done something to her that makes her just exude timidity. Great job!

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87926Chapter: 1
Whoops. Wait a minute. Under the title it says "by FernWithy" but the author ID is Firebolt909. Who wrote this story?

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87925Chapter: 1
Well done Fern.

I always look forward to when your byline pops up under Latest Fics.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87923Chapter: 1
Ooh.... that was really good (especially with PoA being out), though I think Remus should've given Ginny lessons. The endingwasa a bit creepy, though!

Reviewer: SabrielDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87917Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful story. I love how you portrayed the relationship between teacher and student. I especially loved "give him-er, them-time", and how you managed to balance perfectly humor and serious-ness. Hmm...I wonder who he saw die.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87912Chapter: 1
Excellent job showing how badly Ginny was affected by the dementors. I really like how Remus was able to help her, without doing the Patronus charm. Their interaction is very well portrayed, and I like how you brought in his thoughts about Sirius not being a real friend (or so he thought) to tie in with Riddle. Nicely done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --