The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 82

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-21
Reviewid: 136112Chapter: 10
Splendid story

Reviewer: Shan KaiyouDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123100Chapter: 10
This is only one of THE MOST HILARIOUS fanfics I have ever read. The whole series. I swear that I laughed out loud more than a dozen times. I really think you should write about Neville or Ron now. I've never laughed at any fanfic so much in my entire fanfic reading career, which is pretty imressive, if I do say so myself. Keep up the fabulous work!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-04-21
Reviewid: 120252Chapter: 10
OH MY GOD I LOVED THAT! I WAS CRACKING UP THE WHOLE WAY! OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD! sorry, it's just so amazing I would kiss you if I could. oh my god I love it! it's the best story I have ever read, including the real Harry Potter. *muah* (i just kissed you) thank you so much for writing it!

Reviewer: Brian TurkDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109209Chapter: 10
Appropriately touching, funny, creepy and a joy to read! That Balin was something else! It is a bit difficult, though, to think of Snape as human, to say nothing of actually falling in love with someone. Thank you for such a wonderful piece of work!

The only thing that bothers me is that it is apparent from canon that Dumbledore can see someone hiding under an Invisibility Cloak, so why can't Voldemort do the same? Isn't it a bit of a stretch to believe that, of the two most powerful wizards in existence, Dumbledore can do this but Voldemort cannot?

Reviewer: LeahDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93053Chapter: 10
OMG!!! You're an excellent writer! This story almost made me cry in some parts, but made me burst out laughing at others. Thank you for being born! LOL

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88437Chapter: 10
I didn't think I would like this series, as I am not a big fan of Snape, but it made me feel more compassionate for him, and heck, he deserves love too. You are a wonderful writer, and I loved your character Veronica, she seemed like the perfect Hufflepuff to me. Keep up the good work, so I can read it. ;)

Reviewer: jamuDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73378Chapter: 10
i just read all three chapters in a row, they were SO GOOD!!! esp. the end of this one-it was so cute! loooved it!

Reviewer: graceDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68729Chapter: 10
Brillient!! It was really good!! I have one question though, why is this titled the 3rd one? I was a little confused when I finished the 2nd and this one was in the middle. I still LOVED the story though, bloody good writing!

Reviewer: Wei_MeiYingDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61910Chapter: 10
God I love this series!!!! It is absolutely priceless. I love how she doesn't try to keep Severus from being his usual nasty self, she just tries to work around it, and this acceptance seems to do more to change him than anything else ever could. I love Veronica. I don't normally like OC, but she is perfect!!!!
Thank you for this wonderful gem of a story and please continue the series. I don't even care if its not OotP compliant!

Reviewer: LouisaDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61765Chapter: 10
Sorry for the inanely stupid request for more chapters before discovering part three of the trilogy!!!! I love your work! Call me a sucker for happy endings and romance if you will! The introduction of the use of love in magic is brilliant, tho not the only one I've noticed in fanfic (After The End for one)! Can't wait for more tales of faculty romance but I doubt much could top that of poor Snape finding the love he deserves!

Regards,
Louisa

Reviewer: AdinaDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 51995Chapter: 10
this was absolutely awesome! thank you so much for writing it!

Reviewer: FayeDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47237Chapter: 10
Wow! ^.^ That was an especially good fanfiction, very well written and with an excellent plot and...ahh I could go on. Something I really liked was how you portrayed Sirius and Lupin. Even though they're only in a few parts of the story you really conveyed the images of their characters very well. I also have to applaud you on Veronica! What an excellent character. You really did a good job; keep it up!

Reviewer: dassDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44509Chapter: 10
that was a good story

Reviewer: KristinDate: 2003-07-25
Reviewid: 43775Chapter: 10
I can describe this story in one word: wow. The story was so good, if i hadnt known better, i would have thought you were J.K. Rowling herself! This had so many twists and turns; and i think we all love it when the bad guy turns good and gets 'hitched'. You certanly have a knack for writing. I cant wait to read more!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42851Chapter: 1
Christina Teresa, I am so very pleased to be writing to you! After I read about you and sugarquill.net in the Contra Costa Times, I just had to see if your stories truly lived up to what my newspaper said. They have. I've really enjoyed reading your For the Love of Hufflepuff series. I must honestly say that part of me scoffs at the idea that Snape could ever be a warm, cuddly guy. And when I take a few moments to step out of your version of Harry's fifth year, it does seem really bizarre and unbelieveable that Snape is in *gasP* love! But it works! You've written this so well that I can read it and not think, "OMG, this is so stupid. Yeah right, Snape all gooey? Bah!" But he still retains much of his nastiness, he doesn't turn into a total teenager, which keeps him believable.
Now, Voldemort was a little different. He did seem a little OOC, because he sounded so, well, human. Like he was a diabolical leader, but one who very weary with his stupid little followers, and couldn't help being sarcastic. It was funny, though. ^_^
You have a very funny sense of humor. I laughed so much while reading FTLOH Part 2.
You also had a great plot going on. I really was not expecting Snape to do the Polyjuice Potion trick. (But who would? Who would think that Snape would voluntarily down a bit of Harry Potter?)
Anyway, thanks for a great story!
~Jennifer

Reviewer: MayLisaDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37783Chapter: 10
Teresa: I just discovered your stories yesterday after reading about HP fan fiction on msnbc.com. I got so involved that I stayed an hour later at work yesterday to finish this one. I have a BIG crush on Alan Rickman, and delighted in picturing him in this role, and in this relationship. You have humanized Snape for me in a BIG way. I love the relationship between Snape and Veronica. They compliment each other so well. They bring out the best in each other. I almost laughed out loud (at work!) at the thought of Snape in Disneyland. You are a terrific writer. I look forward to reading much more of your work.

Reviewer: FleurDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30904Chapter: 10
Well, in honor of Ron Weasley, I have to tell you that this was most definatly "bloody brilliant."

Honestly, this is one of the best Snape stories out there, and Veronica one of the best original characters. Thanks for writing this, I truly loved it.

Fleur

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24971Chapter: 10
I love this story. Snape and Veronica compliment each other perfectly.
One of my favorite lines:
'Severus thought for a moment. "Balloons. Lots of big, colorful balloons. You're a very balloony sort of person."'

I really enjoyed your teaming up of Snape and Harry. I always like well written interactions between those two, and yours was fantastic. And now Severus has a matching scar..awww (*snicker*)

It's been a pleasure to read!

Reviewer: fluciasDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24733Chapter: 1
Very, very good story! I love the way you write and I could actually picture Snape in a different light from the usual a-hole that he seems to be in the official books. I'll keep an eye out for more of your stories! Keep it up.

Reviewer: DeathlyPale&AddictedDate: 2003-02-20
Reviewid: 21195Chapter: 5
Can't stop reading... can not tear eyes away from radiating screen. I know it's all written, but that's all the worse curse you. So much to go and so early in the morning. Aye!

Reviewer: JennleeDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8513Chapter: 10
Hi - I read the three parts of this story some time ago but didn't leave a review at that time.

I wanted to say that this is probably my favorite fiction (well, the set of three parts). It is one of the few stories that I have read more than once. Part 1 was quite intriguing but in such a different way from the rest - the backstory of Snape's conscience, etc, is very well done, but I can see why some people might not really get into it. I enjoyed it and understood it more the second time I read it.

Then the development of Veronica - truly a wonderful character (one of my top 3 favorite OCs ever). Part of part 2 of the story broke my heart - how you portrayed Snape finding out about her past was heartbreaking without being blatent or over the top. I like how Veronica is mixed up and has a lot of troubles, but she's not a victim - or at least at the time of your story she is no longer a victim but has been and is reclaiming her life, with a few stumblings along the way. The relationship with Snape was done so perfectly. I love the humor in the character as well and in your writing overall - tea with Voldemort, snake-faced git, etc, all truly superb.

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2002-09-26
Reviewid: 4786Chapter: 1
i just read your prologue and stories 1, 2, and 3. they were all so wonderful...and you actually got me to really like snape =) that was an awesome plot. all i have to say is "that was bloody brilliant!"

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3167Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 45
(3/22/02 1:28:38 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks Elfir, Yo and Rugi.

You know, the scene with Volde and Vee did take longer than the rest of the chapter, but not because it was gross (I don't know what it says about me, but I'm able to distance myself from the violence fairly easily). I debated for days whether or not to actually show it, and if I did show it, how to do it without making it seem gratuitous. At least we got to see the real Wormtail--what a creep.

Only two more chapters to go!!

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3166Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Rugi Corrino
Registered User
Posts: 30
(3/22/02 11:38:42 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Once again you remind why this is my favorite fanfic. The scene where she loses her finger was so consistent with Veronica's character ("vomit bean boy")! I also like the slightly adversarial attitude Voldemort has toward Balin. Voldemort would never have achieved the power he does by trusting the powerful people around him. And it is a strange kind of protection for her, since Voldemort seems to get a kick out of denying Balin what he wants. Severus's reactions were also dead-on accurate. "I don't blame myself. I blame you," made me wince because it was so justified. I also think that this was the event that would drive him to resign. The patronus was a wonderful way to make a awful situation soothing. And the ending with him calmly planning the kidnapping was so perfectly in line with what Snape would do I could almost see him at his desk.

On another topic, I have always liked Book 1. I love it when you put Miss Robbins in because she acts like the often ignored better half of Severus's soul. It makes sense for her to both love him and accuse him. I think part of the problem with the first book though, is how incredibly painful it is. I was only able to read it once because it effected me so strongly.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3165Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 693
(3/22/02 9:07:01 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
This latest chapter is gripping and tense. I feel for Veronica, but she behaves just as you would expect-she's brave and intent on surviving, even if it's going to be tough. Voldemort is as cruel as ever. Seeing the events from Peter's eyes, though, is the most telling thing of all. He's a rotten person. There's absolutely nothing there to redeem.

Severus' reactions to everything are so in character. I actually found myself feeling the same way he did about Dumbledore, but yet feeling sorry for Dumbledore too. The scene with Veronica's father was pretty intense, and once again, Severus exhibits great courage. No wonder she loves him.

The scenes with the students are also well done. I'm thrilled that Ron finally has the chance to do what he's been wanting to do for the longest time.

But the very final scene in which Severus receives the letter paints his emotions so well. He doesn't fall apart, he just does what he has to do-even with the small amount of tears. It broke my heart. And yes, I'm nervous about his temptation, but deep down inside, I know he's too noble to follow it through. He just has to be.

Once again, you really have a way of making these characters real and consistent. I think everyone should read this story.

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3164Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: The Elfir
Registered User
Posts: 331
(3/22/02 9:03:39 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
*cringe* Finger... sawed off... *wince* That chapter was painful to read. I don't want to imagine what it was like to write...

On the plus side, Severus is going to kidnap Harry Potter! *cheer* And Neville cast a powerful first-year spell I must cling to these parts now or be depressed all morning (you evil, evil woman)

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3163Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 44
(3/22/02 1:00:38 am )
Reply
Re: Veronica!!
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi Rose,

Thanks so much for your nice comments on my story. I'm sending over some e-mosturizer for that dry skin. Veronica is definitely irritating enough to have enemies--all the Slytherins save the Head of House can't stand her. And of course, Lucius Malfoy tried to have her killed. I suppose it would be sort of interesting to have a 'good guy' dislike her...maybe in the sequel (just kidding! There will definitely NOT be a sequel!)


Quote:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Didn't much care for the whole Mrs. Robbins first part thing - I'm not sure you were all that married to it either, since it seemed to fade after awhile.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

I find it so interesting to hear you say that, but I have a feeling you're not the only one who feels that way. I was actually quite surprised that Part One never got much attention, because I feel it's one of the best things that I ever wrote. But that's the funny thing about creative endeavors, isn't it? Some things catch on and some things don't--even if you, the 'artist', think it's something special.

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3162Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Rose
Registered User
Posts: 18
(3/21/02 3:21:51 pm )
Reply
Veronica!!
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Downloaded your story so I could read it in the bathtub -I blame you personally for my dry skin. Didn't much care for the whole Mrs. Robbins first part thing - I'm not sure you were all that married to it either, since it seemed to fade after awhile.

Veronica - I love her! I understand why in your plot that everyone else does too, but surely she's irritating enought to have a few enemies? (Such as the kind that Hermione makes. . .) Other than that - she's strong and weak and is not a great beauty, she wears bad clothes, and I wish I'd come up with her first. Nice job!

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3161Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 329
(3/11/02 10:40:53 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I own the DVD of "Die Hard." Not only for timely doses of Rickman, but because the whole thing is so gorgeously structured - cliches with just a little twist of the knife, working within the claustrophobic atmosphere of a few floors of a building, the perceived vs. the actual goals/personalities of the 'bad guys.' Great movie.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3160Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 43
(3/11/02 10:23:37 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks Juliane, Elfir, Rugi, Julia and Yo!

I suppose I need to credit the director of Die Hard for giving me the idea for Balin's 'classic plan' exchange with Voldemort. On the DVD commentary track, John McTiernan talks about how during the climatic scene of the film when Alan Rickman is holding Bonnie Bedelia with a gun to her head and Bruce Willis has to throw down his weapon, McTiernan was struck by how unoriginal the scene was and decided that the only way to save it was to have the characters recognize that it was a cliché and play with it.

When I came up with the idea of Vee's kidnapping I absolutely groaned at how hackneyed that plot device was and then I thought about what McTiernan did. You can't imagine how hard I was praying that I'd be able to pull it off (just ask Yo and Zsenya about all the whining and crying I did this week—they both deserve Purple Hearts). Even more than great literature, I'm continually influenced and inspired by great film. I have learned so much about scene structure, pacing and characterization from listening to directors talk about their craft—Kurosawa, Capra, Hitchcock, Billie Wilder, Howard Hawks, Quentin Tarantino (I thought this chapter was very Pulp Fiction), David Lean, Spielberg… A font of wonderful ideas that I highly recommend to any aspiring storyteller.


Quote:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm afraid my Slytherin soul does not understand why your Hufflepuff soul needs for him to care. Why is my love not enough for you?" Love that line. Love that whole 'Slytherin soul' vs 'Hufflepuff soul' concept. May quietly steal it some day.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Be my guest, Elfir. As you can see, I steal all the time.

Good luck on your finals, Rugi!

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3159Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 655
(3/11/02 9:01:19 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
First, I think I have to tell you how great it is to see Voldemort having a dry sense of humor. That is such an interesting idea and goes well with his level of intelligence. He also seems very much like a dictator in his desire for total obedience. Putting Balin in his place is exactly what he would do. Can't let the underlings think you're weak.

I also liked the fact that Veronica felt a sense of pride that Voldemort knew her by name. I can see that completely. The rest of that conversation with Severus shows her progress in recovering from the abuse she had. She's a mature woman now and she loves him. The progression of their relationship has felt very natural and very real to me. I especially enjoyed her writing her "married" name--I wish I still had my law school notes. I'm know I practiced my "married" signature a lot.

Great lines: "Don't you think it's a bit cliché—I mean, 'give me the boy or I'll kill the woman you love'? No imagination if you ask me."

Balin wagged a finger. "Never be afraid to fall back on the classics."

I like Veronica's quiet strength and courage. When faced with danger, she was ready to do what she had to do. She was defiant, but not too reckless. She's a wonderful character. I'm worried about her. As I told you in my e-mail, it seems very Mafia to do what Voldemort's about to do. Well, since he can't blow up her car. . .

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3158Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Julia Potter
Registered User
Posts: 25
(3/11/02 8:48:12 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've never read your work until today, I guess the description didn't appeal to me.
Your story is great -- I really like the bits about Balin having no soul, her relationship with Dumbledore. The Grys giving her that note aboutthe badger and the snake was genius.
I'm anxiously awaiting the next part.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3149Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Rugi Corrino
Registered User
Posts: 7
(3/11/02 8:08:10 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I hear you on the midterms front though in my case it is finals that is doing it! But I still selfishly want to keep getting more FLoH so I am going to continue harassing you. Heh heh!
posted on the original SQ by: Rugi Corrino
Registered User
Posts: 7
(3/11/02 8:08:10 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I hear you on the midterms front though in my case it is finals that is doing it! But I still selfishly want to keep getting more FLoH so I am going to continue harassing you. Heh heh!

Voldemort WOULD remove fingers and being captured by him WOULD be a violent experience so you are keeping true to the story. The beginning scene with the giggling and talking was perfect and I liked that you showed that Veronica had grown up a little when she encountered Balin. Past not withstanding there is a difference between a grown woman and a young girl and how they react in a situation. I am so sorry for Severus and Dumbledore is in for a difficult moral dilemma too. It is true that everyone has their Coventrys but I don't see Snape giving up Veronica to die OR giving up Harry. A conundrum

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3148Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: The Elfir
Registered User
Posts: 282
(3/11/02 3:07:57 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Veronica giggling about LV knowing her name was really cute.

I'm afraid my Slytherin soul does not understand why your Hufflepuff soul needs for him to care. Why is my love not enough for you?" Love that line. Love that whole 'Slytherin soul' vs 'Hufflepuff soul' concept. May quietly steal it some day

The whole 'soon' exchange was fun to watch, too.

She's even a vegetarian for gods' sake! I KNOW! Those vegetarians are such dangerous types!

"Oh dear" - Priceless

"You walked right into that one, Rupert," Veronica quipped. I could really hear her voice in my head reading that line. Stupid to taunt your captors, but they know they've won when the Witty Quips end.

Good luck with midterms and use FLOH as a way to releave stress or something. Worked for me before my two tests this morning (writing a fic, though reading yours was a nice diversion too )

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3146Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 328
(3/11/02 3:02:08 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Chris,

Ooh, I'm all shivery after reading that last chapter. People have quoted all of my favorite wonderful lines (the 'stick with the classics' being my absolute favorite). I found it fascinating that Voldy was so upset by Balin having burned the DM into Vee - the obsession over the misuse of his symbol is right in character! And that Balin knew he'd hate it.

I, too, completely buy into the Snape/Vee relationship. Every time they interact, even lovingly, they seem to have this cosmic awareness of all the baggage and problems that they've got between them and it lends a wonderful tenseness to their scenes together (heh - the wriggling comment was so Snapish - loved it).

Tea with Voldemort. Great title, great scene. You've got the psychological train wrecks all in one room, and they're having a party! Their reactions to each other were spot-on, and I was so cheering for Vee when she got all impudent on Voldy and called him Tom. Perfect! Balin, with all his knowledge of Voldemort, never quite zinged him like Vee managed to in the space of seconds. I also loved her initial reaction: "Oh dear!" That is why I love her so - she's got that strain of practicality underneath everything that comes out in emergency situations, and usually in an hysterically funny way.

And HOW COULD YOU!!! How could you end it like that, evil one?

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3145Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 42
(3/11/02 2:16:54 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks Melissa, Erica, R.V. and Katie (who posted her review just as I was writing this ),

I think my Sicilian roots are showing through in this chapter. I hadn't intended it to be so violent, it just sort of spilled out of me.

Incidentally,when you wrote it,did you think Malfoy's anger stemmed from jealousy or from the fact that Balin was belittling him by talking so freely of his wife?

Definitely because Balin was belittling him in front of Voldemort. The only things Malfoy cares about--as I see it--is his feeling of superiority and his respectable face.

One thing though-didn't Dumbledore say that very few people are aware that LV was once T.M.R?

That's very true, but in Part 2 of FtLoH we see that Veronica has access to files and knows things she's not supposed to. I think her knowledge of Volde's true name stems from that. It was indeed a very unwise thing to say as we shall see in the next chapter.

Believe me, I'm writing as fast as I can, but that darned Real Life keeps rearing its ugly head. I'm supposed to be studying for a history midterm right now. I feel like I have a Hermione angel on my right shoulder and a Ron angel on my left--guess who's winning? I never could turn down a cute redhead.

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3144Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 527
(3/11/02 1:49:30 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

You do realise that you need to write the next chapter, like, NOW, don't you? We're waiting with baited breath here! After a cliffie like that...!

OK, now for the proper review-y type bit.

Aww, Snape and Vee. Very sweet, but not so perfect-lovey-dovey that you want to tell them to shut up. More than enough angstyness to make it believeable and cute. And I could not stop sniggering when he told her to stop wriggling.

Your Voldemort is just hysterical. (And another very funny chapter title - Tea With Voldemort. Heh. Did you ever see that film Tea With Mussolini?) There are some fantastic lines here - "When I take my rightful place and rule over the wizarding world," Voldemort said in exasperation, as if he were speaking to an idiot child. and
"Oh dear, a vegetarian," Voldemort replied sarcastically. especially. Better watch out for those broccoli!

The other exchange that really cracked me up was:

"And either way, you'll get your little playmate back," Voldemort added dryly. "Don't you think it's a bit cliché—I mean, 'give me the boy or I'll kill the woman you love'? No imagination if you ask me."
Balin wagged a finger. "Never be afraid to fall back on the classics."

I can just see Fingerwagging!Balin here. Heheh!! And Voldie really, really reminds me of Dr Evil from Austin Powers. I was just waiting for him to break out into 'Just The Two Of us' with Balin.

For some reason the adjective petulant, applied to Voldie, also becomes very amusing. Balin and Lucius - the tension there was spot on. (I hadn't thought that Narcissa might have been one of Balin's 'little Slytherin girls'.)

I also found the explanation as to why Voldie allowed Snape back into the fold even though he'd been a spy once interesting and believeable. I don't think I've seen the idea that Snape was kept on despite possible doubts (which Voldie surely must have) because of Snape's genius at potion-brewing before. Which is odd, because thinking about it it makes a lot of sense.

The last line of that scene was just chilling. Destroying someone's soul....brrr.

You write the Trio absolutely perfectly. You've got their 'voices' down exactly right - Ron's sarcasm and everything. Ron would so try to not let on he was scared (especially in front of Hermione ) and Hermione would totally go into overdrive trying to distract herself.

And I'm so glad Vee and Harry actually proeprly talk! Finally! "It's rather nice not being the only one." Oh, definitely. And they both downplay what they've been through so much - it must be such a relief that there's someone else who understands.

I love Vee drawing love hearts on work by mistake. So very Vee.

And then...yikes. The physical torment she could endure, but the compulsion that went along with it would be her undoing. was very sad and telling.

What presence of mind Vee has! I don't think I'd be able to nearly Avada-Kedavra Balin so quickly. And I loved her thought about not wanting to call him the Snake-faced Git in his presence. Though I think calling him Tom was actually worse for him.

No torture before tea... Though Voldie's obsession with tea becomes quite scary when thought about in conjunction with what he actually does. (Or could do to her - that ending certainly left us hanging.)

And now to the point! When can we have the next part? Pleaaaase?

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3143Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Peasegood
Registered User
Posts: 16
(3/11/02 10:40:03 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Brilliant...again.Actually,I've cut down on reading fanfic for quite awhile.But I just have to check the latest installments of FtLoH.Its one of my favourites.

In Dark Arts research circles, you know you've made it when Voldemort knows who you are.

Never be afraid to fall back on the classics
You did it again.Two more ultra-funny,ultra-cool lines.

The Dark Lord tells me you're married to the lovely Narcissa. She was one of my more…talented students—always so very eager to please. Be sure to give her a long, deep kiss for me, won't you?
Yikes.I think we can add to Melissa Renee's list of people who would sign up to kill Balin.Honestly,the guy just loves being hated.
You wrote Malfoy's reaction to the statement very well.The extreme anger and utter frustration at being unable to express it was vintage Lucius.(reminded be of the CoS Dumbledore-Lucius scene).
Incidentally,when you wrote it,did you think Malfoy's anger stemmed from jealousy or from the fact that Balin was belittling him by talking so freely of his wife?

May I call you Tom?
Rather an unsafe thing to say.I've also felt Voldemort would unhesitatingly kill anyone who would call him by that name.
One thing though-didn't Dumbledore say that very few people are aware that LV was once T.M.R?

Perhaps it is because she was unworthy of receiving it," Balin offered.

"Perhaps it is because you were unworthy of bestowing it," Voldemort shot back angrily.

Witty to the last degree.

I wonder what LV wants with a knife and her right hand.It can't simply be torture.He could use a wand for that.Hmm...
Hurry up with the next installment.

Peasegood a.k.a R.V.Crouch
He who breaks a thing to find out what it is has left the path of wisdom.
Gandalf-LoTR.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3142Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Hedda62
Registered User
Posts: 30
(3/11/02 9:22:27 am )
Reply
Tea before torture
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Absolutely. Always do it that way myself.

Great chapter. Loved "May I call you Tom?" even if she regretted it. Write quickly; need to find out what happens next!
--Erica

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3141Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 450
(2/26/02 5:31:39 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah, I think it'd have seemed a little out of place there - but I'm totally looking forward to seeing it when it turns up later.

And yup, I went to Prague. It was gorgeous, and the fact that everything is so cheap for Brits in the Czech Republic (thanks to the exchange rate) means we might have, um, overindulged. I had a fantastic time - and I read Kafka on the street where he lived, so I get to feel all cultured and stuff now.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3140Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Melissa Renee
Registered User
Posts: 7
(2/26/02 12:58:59 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I think For the Love of a Hufflepuff is quickly becoming my favorite fic. The way you deal with the characters really makes them three-dimensional.

Balin is a great bad guy (though I would like to request a horrific death for him, there's plenty of people who would sign up to do it; Wormtail, Snape, Veronica's father (even though he's a Hufflepuff I can see it under the right circumstances), Dumbledore, Veronica herself, all the other girls Balin abused, Isela, Voldie, the list goes on.) And the part with the scones was great, and afterward when Wormtail heard what 'that snake faced git' said about him really hit me.

I also like how you portray Snape. He may not be the nicest to his students but he is honorable. He doesn't take advantage of Veronica, even when she's the one making advances. The fact that he did that really made me believe that he does love her and that their relationship has a future.

Also how much did Dumbledore know about what Balin was doing to Veronica? His reaction reminded me of a paper I wrote last year in my religion class on why innocent people are allowed to suffer (its because God is just and cannot punish the wicked unless they act wicked, and He can't just stop them in their tracks without taking away our free will.) Though I hope Veronica realizes how wonderful she is, marries dear Severous (who deserves some happiness in his life) and remains DADA teacher.

Anyways, I don't respond very often but thank you for all the work you put into your story!

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3139Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 41
(2/25/02 11:47:58 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks Rugi and Katie (hey Katie, I heard you were in Prauge!).

The weirdest thing about dealing with a soulless being like Balin, is trying to figure out how he feels (if that's even the right word) about things. I see Balin as being not terribly introspective and very much 'in the moment'. Volde's 'restraint' about the Tube attack is more of him feeling threatened. Balin is really the only guy around who is a credible rival for Voldemort's position, but I don't see Balin as being interested in that. He's more of a murder, rape and pillage for fun and profit kind of guy. I don't see him being much interested in taking over Volde's empire--too many headaches that would spoil his fun. Right now, I'm trying to figure out how he 'feels' about Veronica and what the nature of his bond with her is.

it'd be interesting to have Vee and Harry actually talk about what it's like to have that kind of bond to someone who's hurt you so deeply. While they've kind of made-up, a serious talk is in order there, I think.

I agree completely. That was going to be a part of the talk they had in this chapter, but it didn't seem like the right time. I imagine you'll see it soon.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3138Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 443
(2/25/02 3:30:36 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

This probably proves how weird I am, but the title of this chapter cracked me up. I got this vision of Balin and Voldie as old gaffers sitting around reminiscing, and the scones and Voldie's cup of tea added to that. I also found Wormtail's annoyance that Balin wasn't losing his hair funny too (and believable). But then, the baddies in this chapter are quite funny - Voldie's 'Really? I would have thought that your concubine's incessant screaming would have kept you up. I enjoy screaming as much as the next Dark wizard, but not when I'm trying to sleep' is hilarious. (And it fits right in with Voldie as we've seen him in canon.)

Hmm. Maybe I'm just easily amused.

It's quite weird to see Voldie as being the voice of 'reason' and restraint, telling Balin that he (heh, wrote 'she' then, I wonder what Balin would say about that!) shouldn't have set Picadilly Circus tube station on fire. Although it did seem that Voldie's being set up as a Soulless One, hence the calling-Balin-'friend' thing. (The scene with Veronica explaining about Soulless Ones also explained Balin getting it on with Isela - though that does make sense anyway. And I do like that Vee is a writer too!)

The idea of 'bonds' between people is quite a big thing in canon, so it's presence in FtLoH makes a lot of sense and also ties it in with canon even more. I wonder what will happen with Vee's 'bond' to Balin in the future. And it'd be interesting to have Vee and Harry actually talk about what it's like to have that kind of bond to someone who's hurt you so deeply. While they've kind of made-up, a serious talk is in order there, I think.

Sev trying to prove himself was handled really well. I can just see Veronica trying not to giggle as he looks at the Wtch Weekly cover. Also, it makes a lot of sense that Sev would try and 'prove' he cares for Vee by buying her stuff - even though all he needs to do is say the words (which I hope he realises now - aww). I liked how Veronica was uncomfortable with Snape just buying her stuff, but not to the point of seeming overly stubborn and ridiculous (if that makes any sense at all, I do hope it does). The contrast between Veronica and Narcissa (who is delightfully cold, haughty and bitchy) was great too. I love Veronica's reactions to her as well.
And 'I thought I'd splurge and buy a new toothbrush as well' made me laugh, although it was probably not intentional.

And the last two scenes just made me want the next chapter even more! Now that's what I call unfair.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3137Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Rugi Corrino
Registered User
Posts: 4
(2/25/02 1:03:45 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am more and more fascinated by the lack of a soul idea. I agree with you though that Voldemort has one, but it is evil and corrupted. I also enjoyed the scene in the clothing store, you never allow yourself to create tension between your main characters through easy routes like pride or silly bickering and I like that because it makes them seem real. I never find either Snape's or Veronica's reactions to events unreasonable or untrue to the people they are.
Balin is terrifying! Makes my skin crawl. Let me leave it there.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3136Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 40
(2/25/02 12:49:31 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks everybody for the kind reviews. You know, as pleased as I am with the way Veronica is turning out, I absolutely adore Balin. That guy crax me up (and yes, that does makes me worry about myself a little). I know I've said this before, but I have always wanted to create a character like that and I am having so much fun doing it. I'm glad you like the way I do Volde too. As far as Volde and the Soulless Ones idea is concerned, I actually see him as having a soul. Just a feeling I have.

Re: the blackberry scones...I have to admit, they're actually my favorite kind (especially with clotted cream--a heart attack never tasted so yummy). A little private giggle; just seeing if you were paying attention.

Sev doesn’t like rollercoasters? How funny. Vee should take him to an American amusement park some day.

LOL! Considering that Vee is almost a Disney character herself, I can totally see her dragging him to EuroDisney (or trying to) . Can you see Sev in mouse ears??

Re: the robe shop...I agonized over how Vee should react to Sev's offer of an expensive gift. Part of me was tempted to have her refuse, but then I thought of how silly it is for people to be so reluctant to accept material possessions from people they love, when they'll take valuable things like time, patience and love without a thought.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3135Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Peasegood
Registered User
Posts: 11
(2/25/02 10:21:04 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
A great portrayal of Snape.I really enjoy the way you write Voldemort as well.He’s been so intensely evil,yet you’ve given him some really humorous lines.
‘I enjoy screaming as much as the next Dark Wizard,but not when I‘m trying to sleep.’
That sounds utterly cool.
What I love about your writing is that its packed with chilly scenes and characters but never ceases to be funny.
I’ve said it before(at the Pensieve)-Balin is one of the most unique characters I’ve come across in fanfic.The story becomes more spell-binding(if that’s possible)when he enters the scenes.
Your concept of the ‘Soulless ones’ was interesting.Incidentally,I was wondering if you consider LV in that category.
Everyone is saying it and I’ll say it too-Keep it coming.

Peasegood a.k.a RVCrouch
He who breaks a thing to find out what it is has left the path of wisdom-Gandalf.LoTR

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3134Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 305
(2/25/02 8:28:52 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
This chapter moved so fast! All of the interconnecting relationships you portray, and the deepening of a few, were most intriguing! It was beautifully written – tight and intense.

“Nagini had hissed so pitifully at the creatures” -- poor Nagini! I really do feel sorry for her.

The blackberry scone reference was creepy. Are they Balin’s favorites, and is that how Veronica came to like them so much? Goes to show just how much he’s shaped her life.

Sev doesn’t like rollercoasters? How funny. Vee should take him to an American amusement park some day.

The scene in the dress shop was wonderful. The way Sev and Veronica are slowly bringing each other to pride in themselves is very touching, as is the fact that they trust (and care for) each other enough to let the other do it. I don’t know many authors who would let their character so graciously accept Severus’ gifts – there would be lots of pride-laden refusals – and Veronica’s complete trust in people she loves and her willlingness to see and accept offerings made out of love are part of what make Veronica so compelling.

“The words and the way he uttered them with that deep, sonorous voice of his sent a pleasant chill down Veronica's spine, but she couldn't take advantage of his offer.” Ahem. Are we just talking cloaks, here?

You’re making me nervous for Severus. Between Balin and Voldy, he’s stuck in a difficult place. Balin is kind of growing on me, darn his bratty soulless self.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3133Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 605
(2/23/02 8:43:14 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Once again, can I say I love the fact that I share a name with your character, Isela. I would never pull off being bad like her or look that good. (Darn it!).

My favorite line in this chapter is "I enjoy screaming as much as the next Dark wizard, but not when I'm trying to sleep." You've given Voldemort a sense of humor. I must say along those lines that for a nice person, you do evil very well. I had to laugh at the way Voldemort was concerned that Balin would out-bad guy him. I also laughed at Voldie wanting "lovely blackberry scones." I guess even the Dark Lord has to eat!

When Severus goes to her office, I can tell he's about to panic he's so worried about her. I liked the fact that she was calm. That was an interesting twist. During their shopping excursion you begin to see Severus exhibit what I think of as instinctive mating behavior. He takes her to the bank. This way she knows he's got the means to take care of her. I know that if his parents were the cold, rich types, he was probably given things rather than love, so he is trying to show affection by buying her things. When he says she can have anything she wants, I almost fainted. I mean picture Alan Rickman saying that! His sweet declaration was wonderful.

Narcissa was exactly as I expected her to be. She was really awful. The best thing, though, was that Veronica freaked out at the idea of marriage.

The talk with Harry was so heart-rending. First, the idea that a sociopath has no soul is really interesting. It sure seems that way from what I've seen in my job. Second, she gave him information in a way that wouldn't overwhelm him, and then reassured him.

I am truly worried for Severus and Veronica now. Balin would have to be that observant! Great chapter.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3132Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 427
(2/12/02 7:02:37 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Heh, you read my mind with the Valley Girl jokes thing.

Mancunian is both an adjective an a noun - the same goes for all other regional 'nicknames' as far as I know. For example, my friend Kate would be able to say that she is a cockney, and that she has a cockney accent. However it gets a bit odd when you get to Manchester (as with so many things, heh), as most Mancs would probably say they had a 'Manchester accent', although 'Mancunian accent' is used too.

Incidentally, it's incredibly cool that Vee is a Manc. Any missing prepositions are definitely forgiven.

As far as I remember, Barbie only ever got funky with GI Joe in my world. Joe was the one who suggested the tatoo.

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3131Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 37
(2/12/02 4:58:34 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Um, one thing I noticed here was that 'can't make it Saturday' is actually an Americanism - Brits would put an 'on' between the it and the Saturday. Though its not a hard-and-fast rule, and I'm majorly impressed by how British this fic feels otherwise.

Aaahhh!! Oh well. Being a native Californian from the San Fernando Valley, no less (no Valley Girl jokes pleeze), I suppose I was bound to slip up eventually, despite all those years of Dr. Who and British comedy on PBS. And to think I was so proud of myself for sticking in 'garden shed' after watching Ground Forces on BBC America (we call them tool sheds). Hopefully, a missing preposition will be the worst of my mistakes in this story.

And I love Vee's parents (and how Mancunian you make them speak!)

Thanks! What a nice compliment, especially coming from a native. Does that make up for the missing 'on'? Oh, and thanks for the weather report!

I have a question: is 'Mancunian' just an adjective or is it a noun too? Would you call yourself 'a Mancunian'? Just curious.

I love your version of the Doll Wars. I just remember making Ken and Barbie get funky in the back of her camper (frequently). I love the attempt at Barbie tattooing, too. LOL!

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3130Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 423
(2/12/02 1:12:25 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

You write the students just as well as you write teachers! (I consider that very unfair, heh.) " I noticed," Neville said irritably.' is such a sweet line (I am a softie when it comes to Neville, and it makes a lot of sense that he'd have a thing for Veronica) and I adore the oh-so-subtle R/H. Like ' Harry waited for Ron to make some snide comment about Hermione dolling herself up for Viktor Krum for the Yule Ball the previous year' - so funny, and very JKR-ish, especially the way that it's mixed in with Harry's fears and pity for what, as a victim himself, he can imagine she's gone through.

Draco again gave me chills, especially about how he approves of what Balin's done (although I am wondering whether he has any real idea what that actually is). I hate to think what Lucius might ' do about them'.

The breakfast scene was wonderfully uncomfotable - it's so great that they're not all perfect lovey-dovey straight away. That happens a *lot* in bad fics, and I do like being proved right that this is anything but a bad fic. And it's rather sweet how much they communicate without speaking, and a testament to how well you write.

Veronica putting on a cheerful front to the world is so sad, and very realistic, as is her anxiety about her relationship with Snape. Things are never going to magically become OK, even in the Potterverse, and you're shown that excellently. And oh, her thought that Balin didn't make her hide her feelings is just heartbreaking. Poor Vee, and again, it's such a great example of victim behaviours. And I really hope she talks to Harry soon.

Um, one thing I noticed here was that 'can't make it Saturday' is actually an Americanism - Brits would put an 'on' between the it and the Saturday. Though its not a hard-and-fast rule, and I'm majorly impressed by how British this fic feels otherwise.

'Irksome little overachiever' is *so* how Snape sees Hermione. Perfect. And seeing Snape worried for Vee is sweet - now he does have someone to get a heartfelt letter from. And eep, the last line about what was Balin waiting for was dark forshadowing at its best and incredibly creepy.

' He tried to yell, 'I'm going to get you for this, woman!', but it came out as a strangled and decidedly unmanly cry' made me laugh. I love all the little funny moments you put in, even when the fic is getting so dark. And I love Vee's parents (and how Mancunian you make them speak!) - her dad is so nice.

The Doll Wars made me laugh too - one of my friends and I used to have Doll Wars! Though in ours, the Barbies all beat up the Kens and Sindys. Heh. (We also tried to give our barbies tatoos, only the felt tip pen wouldn't stay on the plastic, even though it was great for dying the dolls' hair.)

The racoon-eyes is a geat touch - it's one of those little details that makes a scene come alive, I think, and just makes me so sorry for poor Vee. And the whole conversation in the shed is incredible. I don't think there's really any other word for it.

Sheeeeeeeeeeesh what an ending to this chapter!!! The contrast of the announcer and the horror walking the station....the incredibly visual descriptions of the Dementors... ('Grey scabbed skulls' and 'shapeless gaping mouths' - eugh. I share Harry's horror at even the idea of the Dementors, and their mouths are the worst bit - that and the dead hands.) And you can just feel the panic as the people find they can't get out - they're being burned alive and they can't get out...and the line about the burning flesh. I don't think I'm quite over reading that last bit.

You have serious talent.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3129Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 36
(2/12/02 12:58:30 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks everybody for your nice comments on this chapter and the story in general!

Elfir, sorry to hear you were underwhelmed (I'll try not to cry ), but I'll tell you that this was the single most difficult chapter for me to write in the entire saga.

I wish that I could have just let Severus and Vee be thrilled at this new aspect of their relationship and move onto the next action-packed event (those are so much easier to write), but my characters wouldn't let me do it. Particularly, Veronica's feelings had to be dealt with. Believe me, I was incredibly uncomfortable about focusing on her problems so much (just ask my poor beta-readers), but as Zsenya told me (hope she doesn't mind me quoting her here):

I think you have Veronica well enough developed that she will force you to do right by her.


And she did just that. Hang in with me and the story. I promise lots of action-packed fun in the subsequent chapters.

And my apologies to anyone who has to use the London Underground in the near future after reading this chapter.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3128Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 286
(2/12/02 10:52:38 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Harry knew Ron had never forgiven Snape for washing his hair, thus robbing him of a prime source of insults. <coffeespew> Chris, you’ve got some of the funniest lines in all of fanfic.

Brrr….I like your chilly Draco.

I love the way you’re keeping the relationship between Snape and Veronica on such a tentative level – this is a new experience for both of them, and I’m so glad they aren’t acting like seasoned veterans in the throes of a well-choreographed grand passion. The scene at breakfast is so telling, with both of them half regretting the things they’ve done, even though they really, really wanted to do them (the Rosmerta touch was wonderfully sweet), yet Severus is comfortable enough with her to read the letter from her parents over her shoulder. This mess with Balin has truly bonded them.

“Yesterday, Severus had been Veronica's main source of comfort and safety. Today, he made her palms sweat.” Fantastic opening sentence! Fantastic. And the rest of the paragraph was, too. The restraint Snape shows, set off by the way he sort of traps her against the wall and fingers her hairclip is, for some reason I can’t quite fathom, breathtakingly sensual. Perhaps it is because he must tower over her physically, and his desire for her, and the power he could use on her, is so evident – yet what he says conveys something entirely different. Fascinating.

I never thought about Veronica’s parents, and what they would think of Severus. Hee! What a shock – their daughter dating the Slythiest of them all! The bit with the wards was hilarious (except to Sev, of course). Ooh, what a burden Mr. Stanley has put on Sev, whether he realizes it or not.

The scene in the shed made sense to me. Vee has never before voiced what has happened to her in such a direct way, and I’m guessing she’s able to here, because she’s in her parents house. The place she feels most secure. I’m glad this issue finally got aired out between them – it’s been a source of tension for quite a while now, and since they’ve both finally acknowedged it, they can try to move on with their relationship and to fight Balin.

I liked the mix of Balin and the Tube announcements – I thought the contrast of the horrifying and the banal was done beautifully, especially the way it all starts with the glimpse of a leg. And talk about a horrible demise – your last memories are of public transportation! Eek!

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3127Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 574
(2/12/02 10:15:38 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Okay, you hit on one of my biggest fears-dying in a fire. That last scene with Balin was really scary, and made more so by the touches you added to make it seem like the real underground station.

There were quite a few things that made a big impact on me. First of all, Veronica's nervousness at their relationship. How could someone who had been victimized as she has been just wake up one day and be fine? I like the fact that you're not afraid to show her wounds-and his too for that matter. Their discussion in the shed gave us a little ray of hope.

I really liked her parents. Her dad was a wonderful person. I also enjoyed their visit into her room. Snape's struggle with his pre-programmed snobbiness is good. He can't learn to be a good guy overnight! The Doll Wars are my favorite thing. I think my brother would be sorry that he didn't do that to me if he read this!

At the beginning, I was chilled at Harry's thoughts about Balin. I hope Veronica talks to him about it more.

Great chapter.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3125Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: The Elfir
Registered User
Posts: 189
(2/12/02 9:24:24 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
The scene with Balin would have been really really scarry except for "Please mind the gap" and the rest. I can picture that scene so much better with the nice little Brittish broadcasted instructions
More good character development all around, but somehow I was... underwhelmed by this chapter. I guess because it seems to be between events and the previous few have been packed full of big happenings.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3124Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Lillith Dulcinea
Registered User
Posts: 1
(2/10/02 12:45:03 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
quite remarkable, this story is. I'm quite excited to see what happens next I just hope no one else dies... call me paranoid, but since the end of Goblet of Fire and the rather nasty rumours going on about the fifth book, I'm growing increasingly more protective of characters I like!
Keep up the good work... I'm captivated.

--Lillith

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3123Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: sunsethill
Registered User
Posts: 6
(1/30/02 8:01:58 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Christina,

Thanks for your reply. I appreciate your perspective on the difficulties which would be experienced by Snape and Dumbledore. I'm sure decisions like this may need to be made in war--actually I think Churchill did make such a decision by allowing Coventry to be bombed so that Hitler would not know that the British had the secret of Enigma.

I would like to think that Dumbledore would have been clever enough to figure out a way to get Balin away from Hogworts on some errand sooner than several months after he knew what was going on with Veronica. But, I see that the decision on how vital it was to keep Snape as a spy would be very hard. I begin to worry about what it does to a person to murder in order to prevent more murders, which I think you are starting to address. It seems to me that would be kind of like whether good wizards should use the unforgiveable curses in order to fight bad wizards? I'll be looking forward to how you and Rowling continue to deal with these issues.

Liz

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3122Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: KateAnguaPotter
Registered User
Posts: 2
(1/30/02 5:47:03 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
quietly addicted to For The Love Of Hufflepuff. loved the point about 'spares'. also love the idea of Snape giggling...
Kate-anxiously-awaiting-the-next-installment.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3121Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 35
(1/28/02 10:28:49 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for your kind praise, Liz. I appreciate your criticisms as well, though I would like to explain why I wrote Dumbledore and Snape the Spy the way that I did.

Regarding my portrayal of Dumbledore... Even though many of my readers feel that I've shown him to have flaws, I personally don't see what he did, or rather didn't do, about Balin's abuse of Veronica as a flaw or even a bad decision on his part. He has a very difficult job, which sometimes requires him to make painful decisions. I hope that my portrayal of Balin has shown him to be as bad as Voldemort in his own way and almost as powerful. Perhaps Dumbledore could have done away with Balin on school grounds, but I don't see how he could of done it without endangering other children. Balin would not have gone quietly. Dumbledore made the only decision he could have under the circumstances.

Now on to Snape... I realize that in most other pieces of fanfic, the Spy Snape is portrayed as being trusted by Voldemort without having to do anything particularly evil. I don't think this is very realistic. Death Eaters kill. That's what they do. In order for Snape to fit in and be trusted, he logically would have to kill too. Dumbledore not being a stupid man, would realize this as well. I felt that to go along with the established Good Guy Spy shtick would be dishonest.

I hope that clears things up a bit.

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3120Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: sunsethill
Registered User
Posts: 5
(1/28/02 7:17:42 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I want to add my praise for the excellence of your writing, although parts are definitely creepier than I usually like to read. I agree that your Snape and Veronica are very well realized characters, but I must admit to having problems with your portrayal of Dumbledore. I don't see Rowling's Dumbledore as being able to let Balin abuse Veronica for months (although you try to explain that, I think he would have found a way to protect her and get Balin much sooner--after all he is the greatest wizard of the time ) and I don't personally see Dumbledore allowing Snape to believe he must develop a potion that will kill numerous people just to keep his inside access to Voldemort.

That said, I look forward to the rest of the story, especially if Balin gets his quickly!

Liz

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3119Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 34
(1/27/02 11:53:25 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks gang. I'm glad I was able to finish this chapter before my flu set in. I just wish I could express my thanks for your nice comments more coherently.

Balin is the one OC bad guy who makes me really, really want to commit whup-ass. Anybody who sits on some poor girl's chest and drops lice on her deserves the worst that can get handed out to him!

LOL! Can you say 'whup-ass' on SQ?? Never fear, some serious ass-whuppin' will be had soon. You know, sometimes I worry myself with the sick stuff I come up with. I think Zsenya (my lovely beta-reader) is a little afraid of me.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3118Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 272
(1/27/02 12:53:31 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balin is the one OC bad guy who makes me really, really want to commit whup-ass. Anybody who sits on some poor girl's chest and drops lice on her deserves the worst that can get handed out to him!

The dream is utterly creepy, so much so that Veronica's reaction is absolutely believable. I like how her personality changes under the Calming Potion. It was actually kind of creepy in its own way - she's always cheerful, but has tension underlying it, and in this scene that goes away completely. And poor girl - to run into Filch first thing after a nightmare!

Her matter-of-factness in talking about her undesirability was so heartbreaking.

Snape's conciousness of loving Veronica is so well portrayed - the little things he thinks about at odd moments, and especially his belief in her belief in his ability to be and do other than what he is and is doing. (did that make sense? Does to me, but then I've had too much coffee). And I love how you bring out the pettiness of evil through Voldy.

The ending scene was wonderful - I love Neville! and the thought of Severus giving anybody fashion advice has me ROTFL.

Wonderful! I just love this story, and am always looking for the next bit.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3117Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 382
(1/27/02 9:20:59 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

What a chapter!

The scene with Voldemort and the Death Eaters was really well done - the idea of the Double is gruesome and, I think, something that might turn up in canon. Voldemort in a good mood is horrible. You can just *see* him petting Nagini, and "No matter how many times I see it, I never tire of it." made me shudder. I'm getting slightly worried about what exactly Voldie's planning to do with the potion Snape's making, though.

Isela was also her usual charming self in this chapter. (Grrr.) The line "Pity you'll never know how much" was great - ain't that the truth!

I really liked Severus' thoughts through this. The way he couldn't stop thinking about what veronica said was sweet, and the fact he'd only offer to poison Harry when he knew Voldemort would say no was a really great touch. Sev might not be able to stand Harry, but he wouldn't actually do anything to him. Also the fact that seeing Pettigrew annoyed him because it reminded him that Sirius was innocent seemed spot-on. I'm always impressed by the way you manage to keep Snape so true to canon and still make him so...nice.

The scene in Veronica's room was lovely. Aww. That is why they 'work' so well together.

The dream was just horrible. Poor, poor Vee! That has got to be among the creepiest, nastiest things I've ever read. No wonder she panicked at hearing the ****ard was out of Azkaban. (Her reaction to that, BTW, was done amazingly well. Yolanda's right, this story really could be used to illustate victim behaviours.)

And Vee's retelling of the dream....oh, it was heartbreaking. "Just what he always used to say." She's got such a naturally warm and bubbly personality that the horror's she's gone through don't make themselves known that much, so when you realise how bad it's actually been for her it's always a bit of a shock. And to hear her talk about it so matter-of-factly...

Veronica taking Snape's refusal as evidence that Balin had been right was so sad! I really wanted to just tell her, "He loves you too! Don't believe a word Balin says!" And her lashing out at Dumbledore was also spot on. (And, now I think about it, the fact they both get mad at Dumbledore is something she and Snape have in common.)

And Harry would totally understand what it was like to be a target, to have delt with evil and not be over the experience. I wonder, does he also realise that Vee's a bit resentful that he is a 'special case' who must be protected?

Hermione going to Snape (and whispering) is also perfectly in character. And I loved Snape's little sarcastic thoughts.

However, my favourite scene (big suprise) was the one in the Infirmary. All I can really say is "AWWW!"

- Katie, who now has a stupid grin on her face, because that last scene was totally adorable. (And it's about time, heh.)

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3116Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 531
(1/26/02 10:02:00 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
One of the elements of your story that has delighted an old married person like me is the true friendship you've allowed Severus and Veronica to build. Even he has learned to give her what she needs-not what he wants, but what is best for her. That, and the honesty between them would make their relationship very successful in the long term--and believe me, that kind of honesty and giving is not easy. I knew Snape had it in him. Thanks for allowing him to be himself and yet find that part of himself.

I enjoyed seeing him so uncertain of himself at the beginning of the chapter. Love is so hard at the beginning. Good inner dialogue.

You did a great job with Voldemort. The grotesque picture of him petting Nagini is very powerful. I liked the "Give him a Double." Something tells me that is not what the rat pack had in mind. Voldemort never lets you forget who is boss. The way he treated Snape was perfect. And Isela-what a you know what she is.

Veronica's insecurities about Severus were all the more heartbreaking because we know what happened to her in the past. I think we could use your story to teach a class on victim behaviors. The "acting out" scene really just broke my heart, as did her description of the dream and the matter-of-fact way she talked about her bruises. Severus was wonderful--and he is that way in canon when the chips are down.

The dream was beyond frightening. I was very creeped out. ***Shudder***

Harry was so sweet and empathetic. He, of all people, knows what it's like to be a target. You worked Hermione's sensitivity in well. She would go talk to Snape.

The kiss was so sweet and just so natural. You made me very happy with that.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3115Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 32
(1/20/02 5:37:53 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks Katie (Erica and RJ too). I always appreciate your comments whenever you have a chance to make them.

Who's Clarence Sibbery? Is he just to make up numbers or will we meet him properly?

Ol' Clarence is a just a vague figment of my imagination so far. Though I have the rest of the story roughly outlined, even I don't know exactly what's going to happen (which makes it so much fun). We may indeed see more of him. I do want to give Euphemia a chance to frighten people again, so I'm sure we'll see more of her. BTW, she's named for a gal I work with, though her character is actually based on my mother. Yeah, she scares me too (I mean that in a good way, Mom).

The bit with Veronica and Moody was great. The real Moody really is nice. And yet another awww moment when Sevvie tries to shield Veronica from him!

As much as I love the whole Moody bit, my absolute favorite moment of the whole chapter is when Severus tries to shield her from him. It made me go 'awww' too.

Veronica's such a good teacher. She knows exactly what'll help Harry and what'll make him feel a bit better. But what on earth did she do?

That was just a little Dark Arts spell Vee picked up in one of her books. Since I hope to bring that spell back in a future chapter, I'll keep the details a secret for now.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3114Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 345
(1/19/02 4:37:33 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, I loved that chapter (there's a suprise), and figured I'd jsut go through all my favourite things about it. I'm sorry again for not reviewing earlier - meh, it's irritating when life gets in the way of fanfic.

I really liked the bit before the meeting begins. It fits in exactly with my impression of Sevvie. Although he is a good guy, it's natural that he'd sometimes get a bit irritated with Dumbeldore for not being the one putting himself on the line. And that would only be increased by the fact that Snape's feeling guilty as well as worried about Veronica (aww), and Dumbledore's seemlingly not appreciating what Snape's actually doing.

Euphemia is a great name for a great character. I know I wouldn't want to meet her down a dark alley. Though no matter what else she might be, she certainly has guts! And I can just see the scene when Veronica crashes into her.

I loved the line 'Gods, I missed you' is what he wanted to say, but it came out as, "You just hit the new Minister of Magic in the eye with your broom." Too funny and so, so adorable. And making people go 'aww!' at Severus ain't an easy task.

Who's Clarence Sibbery? Is he just to make up numbers or will we meet him properly?

The bit with Veronica and Moody was great. The real Moody really is nice. And yet another awww moment when Sevvie tries to shield Veronica from him! (And is our Sevvie getting jealous? I think he is. Especially with all that handholding - so cute! )

The meeting itself was done very well - the explanation of Voldemort's action wasn't one I'd have thought of, I don't think, but now you mention it it does make perfect sense. I found myself going 'of course!'

Oh dear lord, Veronica and Sirius! Feeding him a meat pie! Veronica is a natural animal person (even if she's not so good with plants, heh) and Sirius-the-Marauder would take advantage of that. Hee! And Remus being snarky is always good.

And I can't believe that I've been 'awww!'ing s much in this chapter. Severus being mightily jealous is sweet, and "Well, hypothetically, if you had to choose, would you choose me or them?" just summed it up. Awww! It's official - I am complete sap. I confess to being shushed for shrieking 'OMG!' at the "you're wrong. I love you." bit.

Veronica's such a good teacher. She knows exactly what'll help Harry and what'll make him feel a bit better. But what on earth did she do?

- Katie, who really needs to stop reading fics at 3am

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3113Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: RJ Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 86
(1/16/02 7:54:17 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Let me echo Erica's sentiments (as well as thanking her for recommending this fic to me) and say that I'm really enjoying this too. You put a fresh and interesting twist on a lot of things that could otherwise be cliches, and if I were any more coherent I would go into more detail, but I'm not, so I'm afraid you'll just have to take my word for it.

Anyway, I'm eager to find out what happens next!

-- RJA

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3112Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Hedda62
Registered User
Posts: 23
(1/16/02 5:55:50 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Just had to write, finally, and say how much I'm enjoying this. Your writing improves all the time, your characters are well-sketched, and the story has a lovely sense of fun underlying the desperation of the situation. I really like the idea of Snape having a friend. In fact, I'd really like Veronica to be one of *my* friends.

Great Moody, Black and Lupin in the last chapter. I loved when she gave Padfoot the meat pie.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3111Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 30
(1/16/02 2:47:00 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa - Hufflepuff 3 - Boxing Day
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks again Yo, Juliane, rebbecagrace...(and Murasaki for LB'S)

Truth be told I was very nervous about this chapter (the big meeting especially--it was the last thing I wrote), so I'm very glad it turned out as well as it did.

Juliane, one of my favorite lines is the Remus one you quoted. It still cracks me up. I had the Moody/Veronica bit in my mind for *ages*, I'm glad I finally had the chance to use it. I don't see Euphemia having a huge part, but she will figure in the rest of the story and we may learn some interesting things about her.

As far as Dumbledore and Severus are concerned, I figure if a person has any humanity at all inside them (and I've always believed that Severus does), being forced to commit evil acts 'for the good of the wizarding world' would have to eat away at you. Though I believe that Severus willingly agreed to be a spy, it's only natural for him to feel resentful (especially when he sees 'good guys' like Remus, Sirius and Harry who are never asked to compromise their principles, as far as we've seen anyway) and to direct some of it at the most convenient target--Dumbledore. Poor Severus, being literally pulled between two good, honorable people he cares deeply about. It'll be interesting to see how exactly it plays out.

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3110Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 257
(1/16/02 12:36:02 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
This chapter was the best yet! Euphemia is a *great* character ("Sit down, old man" -- to Dumbledore! -- yikes). Tension pours off the page during the meeting scene, and you managed to write in all the weird vibes between the people present - I was especially touched by Veronica's fear of Moody, and his understanding response.

One of the reasons I enjoy your writing so much is that it is so *immediate.* I often forget about Veronica's Dark Mark, because she refuses to let it rule her life - her loving, cheerful personality is intact, and so infectious that it comes as a shock when the issue of her DM comes up.

Dumbledore's irritation with Sev at the beginning of the chapter was great - and I like the way you give their relationship a touch of ambiguity. A bit of tension is so much more interesting than blind replacement-father worship on the part of Sev, and blind benevolent-forgiveness by Dumbledore. This also adds weight to the scene near the end when Veronica calls into question his need to join Voldy. She's showing him the possibility of other paths to redemption (what would D. think of that conversation, I wonder?)

Veronica's interaction with Sirius was hilarious, but the line that really made me teeter on the edge of my chair was:

"I don't hate anybody," Lupin said with good-natured superiority.

Bwaaaah!

Waiting for more!

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3109Chapter: 10
poated on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 504
(1/16/02 10:19:14 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
You've got another hit on your hands. That Euphemia is great. She reminds me of my one of my former bosses. The interaction between Severus and Veronica is wonderful yet again. Let's not forget the cute interlude with Sirius. He's such a dog!! I also like her discussion with Harry. It's a little scary, but good. Her heart is certainly in the right place. I have to run to work or I would say more. Everyone should just read it!

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3108Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: rebeccagrace
The Queen of Wishful Thinking
Posts: 174
(1/11/02 4:13:45 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh Dear! I have not reviewed you in ages. I really need to catch up with this story, as it is one of my favorites here on SQ. You are terribly brilliant, you know! I adore your writing style. Now I'm off to catch up, then I'll be back to review.




rebeccagrace
The Queen of Wishful Thinking
Posts: 175
(1/11/02 4:23:06 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ahh...that was fab. Perfect, actually. Now I remember why your story is on my faves list. This chapter was so...surreal that I just had this goose-bumpy feeling all through it. I cannot wait to read more. Wonderful!

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3107Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 301
(1/4/02 6:31:33 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Her? Wow, what a piece of info to give away to make sure everyone just dies of anticipation.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3106Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 27
(1/4/02 2:00:46 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks everybody for the nice reviews. I'm really glad I brought Miss Robbins back. Of all the characters in this story, she's the most like me (it's that 15 years as an RN that does it *groan*). The scene with her and Fudge was definitely art imitating life.

I'm worried about Vee's parents, too. I hope nothing terrible happens to them (I can hear Professor Balin laughing evilly in the background ). Well, keep thinking good thoughts and maybe everything will work out all right.

I'm especially looking forward to writing for Voldemort and his inner circle. And though I don't plan on making this story about the political machinations of the MOM, it will be interesting to meet the new Minister of Magic. I hope you like her.

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3105Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 247
(1/4/02 12:42:27 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I *heart* Miss Norris! I really do. The way you make each murder that happens really count and not just there to be there is great (my sentence structure is off this morning, do forgive me). I'm so glad you had Cedric make an appearance - I'm in the middle of re-reading GoF and the more I think about him the more upsetting his death is, and the way Snape really looks at him for the first time is wrenching. (and Miss Norris has excellent taste in patients).

My favorite line from this part:

"If Snape hadn't been in shock, he would really be enjoying this."

Heh! I bet he would've. I did.

As briefly as Veronica's parents appeared, you made them vivid enough to care for - and worry about.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3104Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 472
(1/4/02 12:37:31 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am so glad you gave Peter Pettigrew the desires of a normal man. I like seeing him be a person-even if he is a disgusting person. I'm glad Isela's back. The elf he confronted had a great name--Twanky. I liked Peter's slick and clever way of dealing with things. He may be nothing to look at, but he has some grey matter in his head.

The dream sequence was great. It played out like a real dream. Snape telling Cedric that he was missed. Oh boy, that was wonderful. Veronica's child-like behavior was so endearing, even if it was a dream. I enjoyed watching his responses to her. He's got it bad. That makes me happy! The whole dream makes me believe that there's hope for him yet.

Wow!! Voldemort certainly made a big splash -- and doing it on Christmas is a great touch. I'm curious as to how the government will handle the Muggles. (Dont' hit me).

It just keeps getting better and better. I'm glad I get previews.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3103Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: Hecate1102
Registered User
Posts: 116
(1/3/02 11:14:15 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm with soupytwist in worrying about Veronica's parents!

I liked this chapter a lot, especially the bit with the house-elf (Twanky! what a name!) and the way Miss Robbins puts paid to Fudge when he's behaving like a spoiled child in the ward. And Isela's little rat-bondage episode -- very funny.

I'll be particularly interested to see the implications of the DE's killing Muggle MPs (and families). And to find out who will become Minister of Magic now that Fudge has shrugged off this mortal coil.

Hecate

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3102Chapter: 10
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 299
(1/3/02 10:50:07 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cool, I'm the first to review Part 3!

Yet again, that was completely and utterly awesome. I love how you've managed to make Snape so likeable while staying true to canon. I loved the bit in the ward when he tells Cedric he's missed and then Miss Robbins says that that's the first time she's heard Snape say something nice - it really illustrates the changes Snape's gone through. As does Snape's thought about Veronica making him feel that maybe he is ultimately redeemable. Awwww. Those two are just adorable. ( See how this story's pretty much forced me into a Snape/Veronica shipper? )

And I had to feel a bit sorry for Miss Robbins, having to put up with Fudge! Though his death is going to set off a whole lot more, that I'm anxiously awaiting. Who'll be MM after him? Why did Voldemort (or, directly, Peter - grrr, giving rats a bad name) use Snape's potion on Fudge when Fudge didn't believe Voldie was back? What's Voldie's plan? What's going to happen? (Not, you know, that I'm impatiently waiting for the next chapter or anything.)

I'm really, really scared by that final line though. I hate even the idea of Balin out of prison... *shudder* I've got all my fingers and toes crossed that nothing happens to Veronica's family, but can't help thinking that that line is foreshadowing of the worst kind.

Reviewer: Alia MerasDate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2478Chapter: 10
That was bloody brilliant!

Reviewer: Christina TeresaDate: 2002-08-12
Reviewid: 1749Chapter: 10
Thank you so much Genny for all your nice reviews. I'm so glad you enjoyed this story. It was a blast to write (well, at least most of the time).

Michelle, it seems like chapter 9 is there now. Thank you so much for pointing out the problem.

Christina

Reviewer: GennyDate: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1670Chapter: 10
I have officially became your number one fan. All I can see is... Perfect!!! Humour, Romance, Suspence, Action all rolled into one. I'm suprised Dumbledore didn't let Ron and Hermione go though. It was still typical Dumble dore. Great side of Snape. Brilliant Pure brilliant having him fall in love with a hufflepuff. He should of put Draco under the imperious curse and gave him a polyjuice potion. Let him get kissed by a dementor. He deserves it!!!!

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 582Chapter: 9
Where is Chapter 9? I read the whole story, but the most important part is missing! Please fix!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --