The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Banding Together
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-25
Reviewid: 151371Chapter: 1
Your sixties fics are just so cool! It's amazing what can be done with just a little bit of cannon. You really excel at this genre of Gen. Every time I read your stories, I always have Harry Potter wiki open. Benjy Fenwick! All we know is that he was a member of the First Order of the Phoenix and he died fighting. While Moody never said which Houses the members belonged too, it's safe to say that the bulk consists of Gryffindor. In Tonks' Sorting, we see her observing that a lot of people in Gryffindor ended up dying or sad after the war.

Ted is so wonderful to take the initiative to gather all the Muggle-Born together. Luckily he had Gryffindor Andi to support him. Your writing is so rich even when it's not directly involved with the story, like the references with Gilderoy and Charms.

Reviewer: bradDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141037Chapter: 1
Very enjoyable. Doubly so since it draws on the same people and relationships that you established in your 'Of a Sort' for Ted's era. If I can't read new chapters of 'Of a Sort' this was the next best thing!

I'm curious as to the nature of Andi's 'look' that Ted observed. If it wasn't fear, what was it? Shame - as she starts considering betraying her family? Fear of reprisals from the pure bloods? I'd really like to know - I'll check out the other comments for this story after I've posted my own.

Gilderoy being a firm friend of Ted's was a surprise - I tend to think of him as all-bad, no redeeming qualities. But I guess there must have been something there, if Ted and Andi were firm - and equal - friends with him. Certainly he's a coward, but he does seem to - otherwise - support them in what they're doing.

Good little story. I've shied away from some of your not-Harry's-year stuff here, but I'll have to snoop around and see if, in particular, you have more work with deals with Ted and Andi and co, other than this tale and the Of a Sort chapters. Thanks for what you've done so far, it really is very interesting and fun to read!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137046Chapter: 1
Really quite good

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134506Chapter: 1
Lockhart...a RAVENCLAW??? Bwahahahahah!!! (Aside from that, it was a very good story!)

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115615Chapter: 1
Any possibility we here more about M.U.D.S.? Maybe after Shifts is completed or in between, perhaps?

Reviewer: just meDate: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115262Chapter: 1
Professor Fernwithy, you write my very favorite Harry Potter fan-stories, and this one's joined the list. I've never been a huge fan of the pre-Harry Hogwarts fic, just because so much of it is... well, at my age, I feel kind of creepy reading about teenager orgies. But your stories read like canon, and actually add to my enjoyment of my favorite characters. Brava!

Thanks to this story, I have a new fic wish. I really, really wish you'd write a story that explains how Ted and Andi's friend Gilderoy (who I *can* totally see accidentally removing someone's bones) grew up to be the guy who tried to destroy Ron's and Harry's minds.

Reviewer: NARDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109613Chapter: 1
Wow, don't you want to do something with this Benjy guy when the Marauders arrive at Hogwarts? James and Sirius would certanly approve his views and support him in hexing Slytherins :-)

Reviewer: Mrs's_Norris's_MouseDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105576Chapter: 1
Well done :)

Reviewer: Matilda BagginsDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99973Chapter: 1
Nice. I particularly love Andi's bold organization of the MUDS and Ted's leadership and people skills guiding the purpose of the coalition. Also, I think here you have really captured Bella's prejudices and Andi's conflicted feelings about the issue of Muggle-born incorporation into wizarding society. On the one hand, she's grown up being taught that Bella is right, but on the other hand, she strongly disagrees with Bella's methods and feels that many of her ideas are wrong. Overall, this fic was fun and interesting. Thanks for adding to your "Of A Sort" universe.

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91838Chapter: 1
I love how you wrote this. I couldn't help crack a smile at MUDS and how the Muggle-borns made up a defense squad. At first I was afraid it was going to war, but you wrote this very nicely. I can actually see it happening.

This actually reminds me of nerds/geeks banding together in a way. You know how those High School sterotypes have the geeks/nerds pushed around? This reminds me of some of them creating a defense squad of their own. Although in some cases it was more like revenge, but let's not get into that.

I also found it rather strange Lockhart was friends with Ted. But then again, I suppose I'm just biased about future Lockhart.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91523Chapter: 1
FernWithy, I really enjoyed this. I like being able to see what goes on in people's minds, as well as what lies behind events that have taken place. This gave me a lot to think about...
:-)

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90186Chapter: 1
wow................... grweat story

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89193Chapter: 1
Oh, Fern! That was a fun one. Granted Benjy's a little on the militant side, and I do understand why even if it's a little disturbing, but mostly that was a great piece of mudblood pride. MUDS!! LOL. I do enjoy your Andi and Ted.
Canopus

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88665Chapter: 1
It was a bit confusing... Maybe it was just me... but I got a wee bit confused on who was saying what... er... But it was still good...

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88210Chapter: 1
Awww...the MUDS!!!! That's too cute!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: RaeDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88129Chapter: 1
Wonderful story! really touching and sweet. i love Ted in this, he's so level headed and fair

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88101Chapter: 1
Love Gilderoy. The characters are all good, though they lack some of the characterization we get in the ones about Tonks. Maybe it would help to pin down Andi's character - at the moment she's a little fuzzy.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88075Chapter: 1
sounds like this is going to be interesting =)

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88043Chapter: 1
Are you going to keep going with this? Because I think it would make a great story. I've always found Ted Tonks and Andromeda Black to be very interesting to think about. Maybe you could even tie a little bit of the Marauders into the story. A Hogwarts war against Lucius Malfoy and Co. sounds great!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 88010Chapter: 1
Very nice job! I like the way you've built the backstory up from a few incidents to the formation of MUDS. I think making Ted a reluctant leader was a great move. His authority/heroism becomes much stronger that way!

Perhaps the best part is the motivation you give Bella and Company. Not just slimy gitts for nothing. They see a way of life disappearing. Seems reminiscent of the Boers in South Africa. Or the whites in 50's/60's America. And because anyone could feel that way, the evil is worse. It is not the evil of Voldemort. It is what might be inside anyone. Very scary. And a good villain makes a good hero (or three).

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87983Chapter: 1
Ah... interesting. More please

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87961Chapter: 1
Lots to think about here! I am struck by the parallels between the moment in wizarding history that you've chosen to show, and today's current political climate. Ted Tonks just wants everyone to get along--he forges alliances between the houses, routinely seeks the common ground, brushes off personal insults as if they are meaningless, makes friends with whomever he chooses regardless of lineage. He wishes the whole issue of pureblood vs. muggles (and muggle-borns) would just go away, and everyone would just get along. But it's an era where people are polarizing themselves, and the moderates may not be allowed to stay moderate for much longer. I'm sorry to have to admit that Benjy is right, there is "something going on with them," and they won't be beaten just by defending oneself. But Ted is right too--that the enemy isn't the wizarding world as a whole, and they all need to hang together.

I like the fact that Andromeda speaks for her relatives. They ARE her relatives, and she can't hate them ALL the time. Whether or not she condones their hateful behavior, she understands their perspective as only an insider can. It complicates her--and them--to good effect.

I'm curious to see the whole "it" that has begun. Forerunner of Order of the Phoenix? And if so, then what will Dumbledore's Army grow into?

Reviewer: HallieDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87959Chapter: 1
I love Ted. I say it again - I love Ted! And Andi. Fenwick is a wee bit over zealous, but I love what you've done with the Muggle-borns. Fighting back is the way to go, guys. Sort of like Ghandi! Peaceful protest! YAY!
Okay, that's enough gushing! Just wanted to leave a review so you knew I'd read this.
:)
Hallie

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87941Chapter: 1
Very good. Makes me wonder why something like this isn't in canon. I like your hotheaded Benjy Fenwick. Any further plans for him?

Your Lockhart seems to be a close cousin of Luna's.

The chapter is listed as "default" but I would really appreciate a chapter 2.

Reviewer: Sergeant MajoretteDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87935Chapter: 1
please, ma'm, we'd like some more...

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87934Chapter: 1
Fernwithy, this is wonderful! Are you going to do some sort of follow up on this? I love these sorts of fics. I especially liked the MUDS thing. Quite amusing, and somehow something ironic to throw in the Slytherin gang's faces.

-Pineapple Queen

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --