The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Discoveries
Review(s): 143

Reviewer: Meucci WarlockDate: 2006-03-04
Reviewid: 140523Chapter: 6
So... my vague comments that I noticed mistakes in the last work did not satisfy me. I've made notes as I read, this time.

Anne's comment very near the end (about ten lines) missing a word. (ch 1)

in=it for the tag game... 3/4s through ch 5

Early in ch 5 - "clean breast of it"

I loved this... can't wait to see what happens next. Theo's going to have to move into the open soon... Looks like you're pretty much going to trash my Saturday afternoon. ;)

Theo's awesome. Of course he'd use bigger, more grandiose words when he's unsettled... it seems perfect for his character. I suspect it's a tactic he's honed for many years now. And so cleverly insightful of the simple Terry to point it out (in her own not-so-subtle manner). Heh.

Thanks for the read; I'm off to locate the next installment.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138282Chapter: 6
A very nice continuation. Thank you.

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2005-12-29
Reviewid: 137767Chapter: 1
k

Reviewer: loveandheartbrokenDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129504Chapter: 1
you're my idol!

Reviewer: NingDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126721Chapter: 6
That was a wonderful read - thanks so much for it. One of the ways in which I rate a fic is on how well it expands on the universe JKR set up, and this series does it amazingly, particularly in terms of house relations - everything gets so much more complex, and we no longer view Gryffindors as the heroes throughout (which I often do when reading canon). In fact I'm beginning to see them as somewhat <i>fundamentalist</i> in their views - hoho. Though that doesn't make them any less loveable.
And I especially loved how the Trio is portrayed from an outsiders' POV - hilarious and beautifully accurate at the same time. I can FEEL how much fun you had writing it. :) "Theo suddenly realised exactly why Ron Weasley glowered at any male who talked to Hermione Granger for more than three seconds." You have <i>no idea</i> how much I love that line. :)))

Reviewer: KelseyDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126626Chapter: 6
I have just finished this story after reading the two previous stories concerning Theo and Anne. I love them! The story seems so believable, and it's so interesting to hear from a Death Eater's son's point of view, especially since he opposed Voldemort.

Anyways, I'm off to read the following stories... I'm very excited. :)

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124922Chapter: 6
Aw! That was way too cute. I love Terry in this--I think she's one of my favorite OCs ever (well, she's at top with Anne, at any rate). Thank you so, so much for Theo and Anne.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121745Chapter: 6
Lovely, just lovely.

I could actually feel the butterflies in my stomach and the tension and the hopes and fears of Anne and Theo right before they kissed, as though it were happening to me.

Excellent work.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-08
Reviewid: 121609Chapter: 6
It's been a very long time since I last visited your author page to read part of your series, but I'm very glad I finally found time to continue reading. This story is a great continuation to the previous ones.

Romance / fluff is not exactly my favourite genre, but if I have to read it anyway, I like it if two people get together because they understand each other very well and can talk with each other in a way they can't talk with other people. That's what happened with Anne and Theo, and I'm happy with that.

You did a brilliant job writing Terra in this story. You've written her very vividly and very realistically. The way she behaves, the way she talks, the things she does and says, it all contributes to one vivid picture of this charming but annoying character. Very well done.

Another really interesting thing in this story is Theo joining the DA and realising that he can't stay neutral forever. I like that very much. I also liked getting an outsider's view of Harry. Harry was acting very in character when Theo asked him about the DA, and I also liked Theo admitting later that Harry was not just arrogant, but very good. Everything you said about Harry here was spot-on and highly interesting.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119196Chapter: 6
Okay, so I'm re-reading as a way to avoid homework. Just skimming through, really, and I came across this:

" I am going to tie her up and leave her to the Thestrals. "

Now that you've posted Disavowals, I realized the irony of this statement. Was that intentional? Or had this been written before you decided to leave Theo in the forest with the Thestrals in Disavowals?

Reviewer: Rebecca Erin ConnollyDate: 2005-04-10
Reviewid: 119171Chapter: 6
This is fantastic. Wonderful.

Wanted to wait until I'd read them all, but couldn't resist.

Kudos.

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2005-04-07
Reviewid: 118952Chapter: 6
**sighs** Well, for my poignant, constructive review--

This is the best developed relationship and kiss (or non-kiss) I've read in fanfic ;)

Off to Distinctions!

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2005-04-07
Reviewid: 118932Chapter: 2
"Potter, have you been listening?! In case you haven’t noticed, I am not Malfoy! I don’t want to be a Death Eater, I don’t want to go around killing Muggle-borns, and I am not my father!"

I never realized until that moment just how much Theo and Harry could potentially have in common in canon.

I wish I was able to write more constructive, poignant reviews but instead I'll state this has been fantastic to read.

Reviewer: IssyDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118823Chapter: 6
This whole series is AMAZING.

I think the highlight of Discoveries for me was Terry Fairleigh, whom I found an absolutely delightful character. You captured the eleven-year-old-girl-ness of her perfectly - her inquistive nature, her ability to be in all the wrong places at all the wrong times. She's a great character, and I hope to see more of her. I particularly liked her line about Gryffindors having the curiosity of cats, the courage of lions and the common sense of budgies - though I suppose Professor McGonagall really deserves the credit!

You really brought Theodore out of his shell in this one - his internal struggles were really well portrayed. I particularly enjoyed the conversation with his dad and the way he recounts to Anne afterwards: it was really poignant and touching. While the Anne/Theo relationship may have moved just a little bit fast towards the end, I really enjoyed the development of their awkward friendship into quiet adoration and eventually romance - you established it really well not only in this story, but in the series as a whole.

Looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

Reviewer: PolestarDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114383Chapter: 6
Another wonderful story about Anne and Theodore. I loved this one, too. You've created a nice tension and growing affection between Anne and Theo in these stories, so that it's really engaging without being too mushy. I liked the way they finally "got together". Your characters and their interactions feel very real. And the relationship between Theo and Terry is very charming, too.

Reviewer: jkDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110269Chapter: 6
*sigh*
i love this chapter...it's so sweet...
makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.
i'm in a very mushy, lovey-dovey mood today.
can you tell?
well, i'm off to read more fics!
bye.

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104792Chapter: 6
"I do think you have an unholy fascination with this swamp"

Oh my- that line just completely made my evening. You are a phenomenal writer!

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104789Chapter: 3
I really liked:
"I told them thank-you but I wasn't... we weren't... you know." Theo was looking uncomfortable, but no more than she was. That relaxed her a bit. "Then they both patted me on the shoulder and said they quite understood."

-and-

Hmmm. Tango. Theo. I like that idea.


Oh my... I really love this series. It's fantastic. I'll never be able to look at Theodore Nott the same way and I'm sure I'll always wonder where Anne is in the books as well.

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103632Chapter: 6
I'm grinning like an idiot right now. They've finally got together. The tension you've put them into, what with the war and obligations to families, is very realistic, and it serves to be an obstacle much better than things such as jealousy would.

Reviewer: ElspethDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101452Chapter: 3
Alright, this is getting quite ridiculous. I've sat here all day and read everything up until this point. It's really good and as I've remarked once before, I don't usually tend to go for this bit of fic. So I'm off to rejoin the living but I'm sure I'll finish the rest soon enough.

Keep posting!

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98544Chapter: 6
I just wanted to thank you for a really wonderful story. I think I may have reviewed this before, and I'm pretty sure that this is the only story I've ever reviewed on SugarQuill - and I've read a lot of them.

I'm not sure what it is that makes me want to comment on your writing; I think it's something about the quietness of it, the calm way you write, and the way you manage to insert so many emotions into a story without any overboard angst - it's all quiet, in the way Anne is, the way real relationships are, and it's just so gratifying to see a story like this that I know I'm going to come back and read it again, several times. There's so much sadness in it, but somehow it's still a feel-good story, with real emotions and real friendship.

What I really love about the stories, I guess, is that there is no unneeded drama in them. I mean, there's drama, of course, but it stems from what is happening around them - the war, and Theo's double life - and it's not forced at all. It's just a story about two people trying to live in a life full of chaos, and I don't think I'm getting this across properly, but the point is that YOU get your words across exactly the way they should be, and that's why I'm sitting here writing several paragraphs when all I really mean to say is thank you - for sharing your writing, and giving me, and your other readers, several hours of living in Anne and Theo's world.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98426Chapter: 6
A satisfying end to a wonderful trilogy! **sigh**

Theodore's "emotional arc" was so well-done. It's great that you didn't tie up all the loose ends in "happily-ever-after" fashion, since that's not the way it's all going to turn out, at this point. It's enough that he and Anne have each other, and that he's chosen a side. We like the little proofs that he's gaining courage; the reference to the chair by the Slytherin fireside, slightly turned away from the others is a nice touch of symbolism.

A very nice romance that is so much more than fluff!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98055Chapter: 6
This story is excellent, Elsha! Below are three of my favourite bits:

“Luck was so…changeable. Take, for example, the luck that had led Terry to come looking for Anne on Saturday. That had been more than irritating. He was still trying to come up with a suitable method of execution. Judging by a stray comment of Anne's at the DA meeting, so was she.”

“Now," he began "you are going to go to the Hospital Wing. You are not going to fall afoul of any more incongruous geographical features along the way." Terry giggled. "You are going to take this—" he Summoned one of the flowers with a wave of his wand "–and when lessons have finished you can go to the library and find out what it is. And in the future, you are going to leave near-death incidents to more senior members of your House who have the requisite experience in such matters." He handed her the flower. "Now scoot."”
Terry frowned up at him. "You sound like Anne."
He eyed her warningly, and she rolled her eyes. "I’m going, I’m going!"

“Theo, for the hundredth time, contemplated the infinite possibilities of murder.
"Do you know why so many Gryffindors get into trouble?"
"Professor McGonagall said it was because we've all got the curiosity of cats, the courage of lions, and the common sense of budgies." Terry giggled. "Does that mean yes? 'Cause I saw her on Sunday and she didn't pay attention to anything I said, she kept staring out the window and smiling."
Theo liked the smile Terry was probably talking about. He'd liked it a lot on Saturday when it had been directed at him. He fixed Terry with a glare.
"As you have previously indicated you are not averse to this turn of events, I strongly suggest you cease to discuss it."
"Did you know you use more big words when you get angry? Okay, I know, you think I'm annoying, I'm going now, bye!" His expression must have been more intimidating than he'd thought, because she headed for the door. Theo almost felt guilty.
Almost.”

Keep on writing!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Rebecca JJDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97785Chapter: 6
This is adorable. ^____^ I love your Theo and Anne.
Great Slytherin/Hufflepuff interaction. I loved to see Theo gradually realize where he needs to stand, and to see her willing to be loyal to him. ^_^
I cheered out loud when he went up and asked Harry if he could join the DA. WhoooHOO!
Great stuff. I look forward to more of their story.

Reviewer: jkDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97768Chapter: 6
aaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i LOVE this chapter-
i LOVE this STORY!
i finally found a computer that lets me r&r!
this is the happiest day of my life!
wwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!
okay, luv ya, love the chapter, i'm SO printing it!
bye-bye

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97752Chapter: 6
*Loved Theo's gradually becoming nicer to Terry in this one! Waiting for the next!*

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97492Chapter: 1
I must add another review because I forgot to mention this earlier: I am so excited that Terry finally gets to play cello! I play cello myself. Are we going to see a cello, flute, piano trio any time soon? Do those even exist? :)

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97359Chapter: 6
Makes me sad to see this ending, though the promise of more keeps the sadness at bay. You've done an incredible job on the whole story.

Reviewer: CardenDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97151Chapter: 6
Your stories are amazing! I read all three of them, then waited for this last chapter to come out to leave a review. You built up both Theo's and Anne's characters wonderfully! Their backgrounds and interactions are so believable! You've made Theo VERY (and I mean VERY) likeable, and yet still very Slytherin-y! (Where can I find a guy like Theo? Man, I am so jealous of Anne! And yet, I like her a lot too!)

Kudos and Round of applause to you!!! (Standing ovation will now commence!)

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97144Chapter: 6
Hurry with the next!!!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97123Chapter: 6
OHHHHHHH what a wonderful chapter cant wait for the next one or the next story =)

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97099Chapter: 1
Thank you so much for writing this series. You've done a great job at moving Theodore from prejudice to acceptance, and doing so realistically. Anne is likable without ever becoming a Mary Sue. I look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: TuiDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97067Chapter: 6
Have I mentioned I LOVE THIS CHAPTER?

I LOVE THIS CHAPTER. YES I DO. YES. YES. YES.

Swamp scene, 'cello scene.. w00t!

<i>"Now," he began "you are going to go to the Hospital Wing. You are not going to fall afoul of any more incongruous geographical features along the way." Terry giggled. "You are going to take this—" he Summoned one of the flowers with a wave of his wand "–and when lessons have finished you can go to the library and find out what it is. And in the future, you are going to leave near-death incidents to more senior members of your House who have the requisite experience in such matters." He handed her the flower. "Now scoot."</i>

incongruous geographical features? I have to find a way to use that in conversation. :p

<i>Theo was late to dinner, that night. Anne found him and Terry covered with dust from head to toe, laboriously tuning an instrument that didn’t seem to have been used for half a century at least. She laughed and told Theo to hold still while she brushed the dust out of his hair. He grinned at her, and ruffled her fair bob just for the look on her face. </i>

*sigh*

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97030Chapter: 6
I think that I can give an intelligent review now, at least more than just "Yes! Good Job! I'm so happy!"

I want to commend you for not being gratuitous! They may be teenagers but their still children. The part I really like is all the help Theo gave Terry. Good for him! I also really like the fact that Anne has short hair, for some reason. I guess it's because she's not the typical female lead.

Reviewer: Death EaterDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 96973Chapter: 6
Finally! Some romance! I've been reading all of your Anne and Theo stories and these two are really cute together! Keep up the good work!
~Death Eater/QueenEvita

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 96965Chapter: 6
Anne and Theo's kiss was perfect! Thanks for writing this--it's definitely one of my favorite 'series'. Can't wait for Distinctions!

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: RosieDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96893Chapter: 6
OMG!!!!!!!! This was really really beautifully written and I loved it. They finally kissed! Hurrah! I'm going to spend the rest of the day bouncing around my house cheerfully... and I also really liked the scenes where Theo *bonds* with Terry, first pulling her out of the swamp and then finding her a 'cello. (Although I was also concerned with scrolling down and looking for the part where Anne comes back.) I can't wait for the one-shots!

Reviewer: AnocheraDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96871Chapter: 1
this is amazing... this is the first decent slytherin turned good fic i have read. please please publish distinctions soon...

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96865Chapter: 6
sweet, sweet, sweet! How you do manipulate us! I love it. Very satisfying, but still. . . longing for more, and looking forward to the "horribly long fic."

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96862Chapter: 6
Thanks for the great fic. You did a wonderful job with the classic boy meets girl story - nothing graphic and great tension between the two.

I though it was cute how you had Terry in the swamp after her mentioning and Theo's idea to toss her in.

Looking forward to your next.

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96841Chapter: 6
I must just say this:

I am in awe of you and your wonderful writing.

There, now it's out in the open :) I've been meaning to review so many times (and I think I may have for one of the previous chapters) and now it's come to the end, I think now may be the time to do so. So, I will stop rambling and actually review.

I love your writing (as you've probably already guessed). I love your characters, and I was praying for Anne and Theo to get together, and you portrayed it perfectly, staying true to the characters, and not making it overly fluffy and covered in sickeningly sweet gloopy stuff. I also love your writing style - it flows in a way I will never, ever achieve in my own writing, and for that I should be jealous, but I'm not, because I love your work so much. I love the little details, my favourite in this chapter being: "Professor McGonagall said it was because we've all got the curiosity of cats, the courage of lions, and the common sense of budgies." Classic! And exactly what I would imagine her to say.
Now, I've probably bored you with my overly long, rambling excuse for a review, but I'll just finish by saying that I cannot wait for the one-shots, and I'm sure 'Disavowals', although I'm not entirely sure what it means, will brighten up an autumn full of schoolwork and stress.
Elsha, I am your fan :)
Fluffy_Rose xxx

Reviewer: ShlozDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96835Chapter: 6
I guess we can call this *payoff*... :P

Beautiful work, Elsha. I'm enjoying your Nott/Fairleigh chronicles immensely, and I can't wait for the next installment in their adventures.

I assume you made this year short to avoid getting into canon snarls. Since you hint that "Disavowals" will be a big one, do you intend to create your personal version of the final year? Good luck!

Too bad we didn't get any looks at Anne's Hufflepuff group, adn their take at the later developments. It might be nice to at least have her mention it. I mean, Terry noticed the "new Anne" on their periodic visits, you would think that Gabby and the bunch would have noticed something different, too.

Reviewer: LoraDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96805Chapter: 6
Yay! But then, awww- it's over? Well, it was a very fun read. I can't help looking forward to your fics now. You've got me hooked on your Theo and Anne narratives. They are very well-written. Give yourself a pat on the back. Your characterization is especially impressive. it's neat how you manage to reveal a whole chunk of personality through a simple exchange of dialogue. Excellent work!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96787Chapter: 6
Took them long enough. I was squealing throughout this chapter. But I really do fear for them. I will look forward to the next story with much anticipation. Please write more soon!

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96779Chapter: 6
This was such a lovely ending, Elsha. Thanks. :)

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96772Chapter: 6
Long is gooooood! We are hooked! You could write about the color of Theo's socks and we'd eat it up!
(I clearly need to go to sleep.)

It's funny, as much as I'm all in favor of kissin' under the willows and as much as the tension between Anne and Theo is central to this story, I think it's the Theo-Terry interactions that I most enjoy in this chapter, probably because they're a little less expected than the kissing scene, which makes them that much more interesting. (Which is not to say your story is formulaic in any way, but obviously it's understood that the willow scene must occur in some form. I wasn't sure where exactly Terry would fit when she first burst on the scene.)

~Canopus

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96748Chapter: 6
Yes! So good! I'm very happy!

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96575Chapter: 5
I've just finished reading the last of what you've written of 'Discoveries', and I just wanted to tell you that I think it's been a really wonderful read so far. You've really developed Anne's and Theo's relationship in a way that few fanfic writers do in their stories -- you haven't rushed them at all, just let them grow closer at their own pace, and that's a really beautiful thing about this story. I love seeing their friendship grow in little, subtle ways, as they move from "Yours" to "Love" in signing their letters, and as they start getting more comfortable with physical contact...

And I love seeing how worried Theo is about Anne: when he persuades her to join the DA, and when he looks through the Daily Prophet to look for attacks in Essex... it's all written with no undue angst or emotion - it's just simple, unembellished, and very true of the relationship they have.

I can't wait for the next chapter. Thank you - for what has been, so far, a wonderful read.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95973Chapter: 5
as always loved the chapter cant wait for the next update

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95972Chapter: 5
I really don't have much to say that's "critical", I just wanted to leave a review saying that I really, really enjoy this story and will be quite sad when it comes to a conclusion.

-Steve

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95873Chapter: 5
*sigh* so wonderful...I like your new adaptions of this. Theo's question about his mother's beliefs broke my heart. Bit of an odd answer he got, though. Sounds like Adrienne wasn't quite so sold on zapping people as the rest of them, even if she 'knew we were right'...I believe that's how you had her written originally, as well? 'I don't want to know the details' type attitude?

"After that there's a one-shot, and then&#8230;depends on time. "
*splutter* You mean TWO one-shots, don't you?? Don't you??? You promised us fluff, girl! I've been very polite and patient in my haunting of ffn because I know you are very busy and debating takes up a lot of time, but you aren't going to DENY us our fluff in the end, are you? *breathe, breathe*

Okay, and here's a quick lingo question. A plunger is something I use in a toilet. What on earth is a coffee plunger?

Canopus

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95841Chapter: 5
I had to read all these stories in one swell foop. It was compulsive! I've been thinking about this story all day at work, as well (done wonders for my projects, I'm sure). I've been pondering, wondering -- and worrying! -- about Theo's attempts to balance all the things he loves even though two of the three greatest are mutually exclusive: his father and Anne.

Your characterization is very strong, solid and centered. What we see of mainstream Canon Characters (Harry, etc.) is in-character, as well. I'm quite impressed. I'm going to be eagerly awaiting updates, you know. Prepare to be pestered :)

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95827Chapter: 5
I love Terry in this chapter! I'm very glad that Theo was so thoguhtful as to get her a little something for Christmas. I wish we saw more of Theo and Anne together though. I was alittle surprised that Theo's family thought he was so passionately with them, and discussed LV as openly to each other as they did, but it gave good depth to Theo. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95695Chapter: 5
<<Theo had sent a very thoughtful and very pretty present, as well as a pack - a small pack - of sugar quills for Terry. (The recipient had said "You're bloody joking!" when informed who the present was from, earning herself a severe reprimand from her mother.) The accompanying note had read "Snape will gut you if you eat them in class, but Binns won't notice. Merry Christmas, Theo.>>

And I forgot to add that I LOVED this part. ;-)

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95682Chapter: 5
Elsha, thanks for updating so quickly. I'm awaiting the new material about as eagerly as I did updates to R. J. Anderson's Darkness and Light trilogy--and that's saying a lot. You have made Theo and Anne so real. I really felt for Theo in this chapter.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95643Chapter: 5
I think this was my favorite chapter so far--I loved seeing the interaction between Theo and his family--especially his dad. It makes me sad, for some reason.

-PQ

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95593Chapter: 5
Love this. Especially Terry's card to Theo. :)

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95198Chapter: 4
Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love this... I want more... I love Theodore Nott... I love Anne, too... Thank you, thank you, thank you, update!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 95006Chapter: 4
Good luck with the debate championships!

I think this is my favorite chapter so far. Terry is just too adorable. Interaction between Anne and Theo is perfect, as always.

-PQ

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94870Chapter: 4
*Sweet sorrow* thats all i have to say. awesomely awesome :D

Reviewer: sharonDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94840Chapter: 4
i love this story. the characters are just wonderful. please update soon soon soon!!! theo's responses to terry and his slight change of attitude about her are perfect, and i love terry - she's so damnably blunt and tactless, very much an eleven year old. and anne is just wonderful too, i really hope she isn't getting too embarassed by her housemates' comments about her and theo's "relationship." i wish they would get a clue already and just get together, but i know that it would be a disaster for theo if anyone finds out. i hope zacharias is not a complete idiot, and doesn't let it slip in front of malfoy or anyone else that theo is in the DA - he's such a git it would be something he might do, however inadvertantly he might do it. great story and update update update:):):)

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94786Chapter: 4
Awesome job so far. And just what I predicted, too! When Theo was wondering how he could sign up for "those against the Dark Lord," I practically shouted, "Join the DA!" Way to go and keep it up. Can't wait to read more!! <><

Reviewer: THeodoreDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94756Chapter: 1
PLease as soon as possible continu the stiry. This is the best story I have ever read. I can't to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94752Chapter: 4
Since I read the whole story on ff.net a while ago, I've been quite unfair to you in terms of reviews. I really should have reviewed at least a couple of times here, but... there you have it. I already knew the story, so I skipped it. Anyway, I'll make up for it now by saying that I truly enjoyed the whole Anne-Theo series. It takes a good understanding of your characters to be able to move them along with a light touch, so that it doesn't seem artificial. My only criticism is that, by trying to convey all the confusion and hesitancy of your characters with amputated dialogue, you're also confusing the reader. Sometimes it's tough to figure out what Theo or Anne were going to say when they stop in mid-phrase. And it happens often enough that it's hard to overlook.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94655Chapter: 4
Great to see some Chamber of Secrets references and how Theo has changed from that year to this one. Terry is a good way to have them explore more issues from a different point of view. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94648Chapter: 3
I liked how it was the Hufflepuffs who were the most suspicious and protective of Anne. Lovely tension at the end of this chapter.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94646Chapter: 2
Nice tense scene with Theo and Harry--both show their snarky sides, but also their decency. I also like Terry and how she is a foil for Anne.

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94575Chapter: 4
Well I stand corrected!! This one is so much better than the letters. I like the choices that Theo is making and he is so very multi-deminsional and well written. I have to confess that I didn't like Ann at all when you started writing her--I felt she took entirely tooooo much abuse from Theo--but she is comming along so well. Terry has to grow on me but the chat in the Library was just what Theo needed. The interplay between him and the DA is absolutly wonderful very in character(let me correct myself I am not entirely sure that Harry would relent that quickly and I kind of wonder if Hermionie would not have wanted to be more helpful in recruiting him but I can follow him going to Harry first)

Keep up the good work

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94555Chapter: 4
I like how you have the relationship between Anne and Theo growing closer and deeper in a believable way - not too fast. Terry is a good addition in that I like how she forces more out of Theo than Anne.

Maybe someone else could
-I wonder if you will ever have Snape and Theo have an open and honest talk. Perhaps when it comes out that Theo is in the DA?

Reviewer: CinnitiDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94544Chapter: 1
I really like this story about Theodore Nott amd Anne. I personally think it is the best story in sugar quill. I really hope the writer continues the story. ITs very interesting and enticing.

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94534Chapter: 4
I'm enjoying this way too much for my own good... :)

"They&#8217;re a nuisance, sometimes, but they believe in you, so you end up doing things just so they won&#8217;t stop believing. And then you end up being what they believe you are."
- Beautiful...

Keep up the wonderful work!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94517Chapter: 4
You're teasing us. I know it.

Wonderful chapter.

Reviewer: Kaji!Date: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94500Chapter: 4
I've been reading this series since the beginning and I have fallen in love with your characterizations of Theo, Terry and Anne. But mostly Theo and Anne. Your story is fantastic and I can hardly wait for the next chapter. ^_^

And good luck at nationals for debate! I went for the NFL in May--it's wonderful. Like an ulcer, in a good way.

Thank you for sharing this lovely story. ^_^

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94483Chapter: 4
Yea! This was great! I'm glad you're back! I read all three stories a couple of times in the last month, and I think that you are doing a great job at characterizing Theodore and Anne and Theresa. I'm glad that Theo and Anne's relationship is progressing so well and not too fast.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94482Chapter: 4
This chapter was definitely worth the wait. It's great to see Theo and Terry moving toward a truce, but it's really great to see Theo's view of Terry changing. I love the way his character is growing.

More please! :)

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94465Chapter: 4
Yep, still great. Not that I expected to change my mind, or anything. I won't wax poetic about this one again, but I just wanted to add this one random thought that jumped out on this read. I love Terry's definition of 'ages ago.' You do *such* a good job of making her eleven.
Good luck with your debate!
Canopus

Reviewer: MelDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93546Chapter: 1
I'm not sure if I commented on your works before. I wish I was more capable student of English to give you proper feed-back. I love your sentence structure, it's so ordered and fairly short yet it somehow manages to give away the entire feeling of the scene "He could have sworn he heard Anne giggle, except that Anne did not giggle." One little sentence that just has so much in it. I love that about your writing you don't seem to really have any wasted space everything seems to have a purpose, which is of course only one reason I keep reading it.

I usually positively loath stories with minor characters and/or inserted but your story makes them so very real that they are almost tangible people. I would be day dreaming and wonder suddenly "I wonder how Anne and Theo are going?" Well not quite but I do feel the need to 'catch up' if you will. Which I'm hoping you are able to do soon, no pushing just patiently waiting..with torch and pitchfork

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92844Chapter: 3
Oh Lord, you kill me every time there's a new chapter and I miss it, which always happens. But wow, no sexual tension heeeere!

There's something about this story that I don't ever want to share it with everyone else. My friends are always nagging for good stories, but this one I keep, it's too good to shout out about on the hilltops. I guess I just like it too much to share it with people who treat fan fiction like dirt.

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92151Chapter: 3
I loe this story!! The characters are all very much as they are in "real Harry Potter life" and I can't wait for an update. This is quickly becoming one of my favorite stories:)

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91833Chapter: 3
Simply fantastic. The way you word things come out just as good as Theo's and Anne's music. Please continue with the next installment! Thanks!

Kit Black
:}

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90966Chapter: 3
fantastic chapter i love how this story is going please update soon

Reviewer: TabeaDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90953Chapter: 1
Just a short review to say: I LOVE THIS STORY! :D
I'm so glad you continued it.

Reviewer: JessiDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90708Chapter: 3
i was just wondering - is your story here exactly the same on fanfiction.net? Because in there, you mentioned both his parents. write more

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90704Chapter: 3
Write more or else. Soon. I hate cliffhangers! (And I love this story)

Reviewer: StaceyDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90703Chapter: 3
This is adorable. I want you to know that yours are the best stories that I've read on Sugarquill. I think that the way they act around each other is so cute. Keep up the good work! (and if you don't write a story after Discoveries I'll pester you with email until you do - just kidding!) Seriously, it's great.

Reviewer: CGDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90606Chapter: 3
ARGH!! They're as bad as Ron and Hermione- sorry, I take that back, Ron and Hermione had FIVE YEARS so I'm more inclined to forgive Theo and Anne:) Thanks for another great chapter- looking forward to the next one AS SOON AS POSSI- okay okay, I'll stop badgering you;)

Reviewer: Mrs WeasleyDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90603Chapter: 3
I just wanted to say that I have been following this story avidly. I love Anne and Theo and the way you have been handling the development of their relationship. I also love how the other characters i.e. the members of the DA, are all acting so very in-character. Can't wait for the next part!

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90561Chapter: 3
I just love this story, Elsha. Anne and Theo's relationship is so sweet. I love Theo's reaction when Harry meet's Anne, and the way he immediately thinks of Ron and Hermione. It's perfect.

Does the DA agree to keep quiet about Theo being there? You didn't mention it.

Reviewer: CarrieDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90557Chapter: 3
Oh, please update soon! I've just read Distractions and Discussions, and now this, and I love it. Your characterization of Theo is just wonderful. I'd also like to commend you for wanting to match Theo's situation with what JKR's said about him - that's an attention to detail that some writers might skip completely, especially if their stories were already finished. So kudos to you for that. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90534Chapter: 3
Oh, that last line just killed me! I read all three bits just this evening, in one sit-down, and I am absolutely entranced with this story! Yet again you leave me with plenty on my mind. I shall think speedy thoughts at you - I don't want to wait till the end of July!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90409Chapter: 3
Thanks for the fast update. This was an absolutely wonderful chapter.

Reviewer: kassioDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90408Chapter: 3
Great story! I do hope Theo will be safe and he won't get into to much trouble with his own house, but getting in trouble seems very likley. I just do hope that he will be able to sort it out.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90401Chapter: 3
I anticipate your updates more than any other fanfiction. This story is amazing. The characters are incredibly real and very likeable. You give them a lot of depth, but still manage to keep them teenage. I find the current interaction between Theo and Terry to be hilarious, though at the same time annoying because I want them to get along for Anne's sake. But I guess that's how I should feel as a reader. And I'm sure underneath it all they can tolerate eachother, even like eachother, they just have to get over themselves first.

And I'm squealing at the developing romance between Anne and Theo. The denial is so sweet. Oh, I just love them both!

Please update soon, because I am a desperate soul with nothing to do during summer break except give ranting reviews at four in the morning!

Reviewer: mandjDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90370Chapter: 3
oh i love this story! i am really glad that you seem to stick to conversations with anne and theo for most of the chapters. i am glad that you didnt try to write the entire DA meeting, for anne and theo are far more interesting. i loved the last line about dancing around each other, at least anne knows what is going on. another fantastic chapter, thank you for updating so soon (feel free to do it again, wink) great great job!!!

Reviewer: OrangeDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90369Chapter: 3
Arghh!!! That's not going to tide me over! I must admit, I was hopeful after reading your author's notes that this chapter *would* keep me for a little while (you know, a kiss to build a dream on and such), but oh, the tension you've left us with instead! It calls for reviews full of exclamation marks!

That said, my favorite line: "It hit Theo’s dark hair at just the right angle to give him a halo she knew he didn’t deserve." Loved the play of light in the History of Magic scene and this one, and also the idea that the changing pathways of Hogwarts allow for very different favorite routes to and fro. Interesting to see the reactions of the others at the DA meeting, though it seems like there was a lot more talking going on than the tidbits Theo and Anne talk about. And Haywood -- what's her story?

My other favorite line: "Theo suddenly realised exactly why Ron Weasley glowered at any male who talked to Hermione Granger for more than three seconds. It wasn’t logic, it was a reflex, and reflexes wanted to take Anne’s hand. Or put his arm around her shoulders. Or something." Love Theo's sudden recognition of his own behavior as being like Ron's...and Anne, why did you say that there wasn't anything to dance around?!?! Now dear author Elsha is going to make us wait an entire MONTH for more...but perhaps said dear author will be writing many chapters on a twisted holiday which involves placating desperate readers.

No. Enjoy yourself. Relax and have fun and get inspired to write more and more and more...

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90345Chapter: 3
It is wonderful, of course! I must admit, though, I read through your reviews once in an effort to get this story out of my mind, and found out about your fanfiction site. So now I've read those. Still, I can't wait to finish reading it here. I can see your little changes and everything really looks good. I'm always glad to see your name on the latest fictions! Keep up the wonderful writing, and thank you... and hurry! :D

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90263Chapter: 2
Awww...poor Theo. I'm constantly impressed with these characters - they are deeper and realer than any others I've seen in the fanfic world. Theo is just marvellous, but I'd keep an eye on Anne; I can see this really nice balance you have dropping over to a stream of consciousness for Theo, and then morphing into a teen angst junior death eater story, and that would be criminal. No, wait, that's just hypothetical. You write too well for that to happen. And you've, of course, got the canon characters down properly. Harry from the other side is excellent, and I never realized that he had power equivalent to Malfoy's. Good point - this is why we need Slytherins. And I love the italics that end all the chapters - so dry, so funny. Nowhere else would Theo sound sheepish, I think.

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90220Chapter: 2
I've been following this series from the start and I think this is the best so far.
OK, I don't think it's canon that Zacharius is boastful, just cynical, mistrustful and a bit of a twit. Even so, the one-line about him had be sniggering for about five minutes!

The Harry/Theodore scene is excellent and rings true for both characters.

Looking forward to chapter 3

Reviewer: AdrienneDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90135Chapter: 2
Ooo, I really like this. PLEASE keep writing, your version of Theo is a wonderful character.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90056Chapter: 2
I am grinning my head off. Go Theo! Go Theo!

Sorry...I'm a little into this story. But great job on this chapter! You did a marvelous job of portraying Theo's feelings during the exchange with Harry. Absolutely perfect!

And I'm also growing to love Terry. I hope you'll continue to develop her character, and I pity Theo if he can't properly explain himself to her!

-PQ

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --