The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Black Sheep
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-08-04
Reviewid: 144630Chapter: 1
Birgit, I do think you did a good job getting into Petunia's mind and emotions, and her head is not a happy one to possess.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135514Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122849Chapter: 1
Wow. That was a beautiful, touching snippet. You feel so sorry for Petunia, in her eyes, her parents have gone against everything they taught her to do. Must read your other stuff now!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114998Chapter: 1
This is good. I liked the idea of Petunia sensing a double standard- their uncle is a freak, but Lily isn't. It explains where she got the freak idea from in the first place and I felt quite sorry for her in her bewilderment at why her parents hadn't lived up to their past principles. The characterisation of Petunia was excellent- I can just imagine her Petunia listening in on her parents conversations. You captured completely the repellant Petunia we know and yet still gave pathos and depth to the character. Wonderful writing, keep it up (and ignore stupid flamers. If there's anyone I pity it's people who use reviews to pursue their pathetic personal vendetta's.)

Reviewer: Representative for the What Were They Thinking thrDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114981Chapter: 1
I am green with envy, my mouth is dropped from shock. A fanfic idea I wish I had - why didn't it enter my thoughts?

So I will insult, making you feel bad. It's how I deal with my issues - for I am truly mad!

Petunia is a mushroom, Lily is a chair. Mrs. Evans is a cauldron bottom, and her husband has no hair.

This whole fanfic is nonsense, it's not even art. Please take my noble advice - for I'm so sweet and smart!

Reviewer: dinka kartinkaDate: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114930Chapter: 1
Hi Birgit,

What a lovely little one-shot this is! I've reviewed it before but I feel like I should remind you again how wonderful it is.

I especially like your characterization of Petunia. I love the way you demonstrated how nosy she is, and how resentful and jealous she is of her sister (and probably everyone else she knows.)

It is also very sad... Petunia ended up losing her sister as well...

You know, sometimes I'm amazed at how rude she is! Reminds me of some... COUGHreviewersCOUGH.


Don't worry. They can't write a story 1/87th as well as you can.

Keep up the great work!

Dinka

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109405Chapter: 1
Wow. Good introspections. Have I mentioned to you that I'm bad at reviewing?

Reviewer: MercedesDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109357Chapter: 1
I like it, I really like it.

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106931Chapter: 1
Dag Birgit !

I saw your message on the forum but I couldn't answer it (don't know whether it's a problem with the forum or only my computer that has decided to drive me crazy - it wouldn't be the first time ! *sigh*). Anyway, I'll try again later.

I liked this story very much, just like the others. Sincerely, I think you're a great story-teller. Not only you have very good ideas but you write them in a way that make them particularly pleasant to read.

I made sure to have my lunch ready to be eaten before starting to read, this time, so you haven't kept me hungry like yesterday (lol). Only I felt like crying when I read "she would miss her little sister" because I'm missing mine so much (she works at Disneyland Resort Paris since March and I can see her only for a few days every month, which is not enough to us who were so close - just like twins, in spite of the eleven months that separate us).

Sorry I talk too much about myself. But about your stories there's only one thing that really has to be said: I love them !

Tot ziens.

Cybčle.

Reviewer: dinka kartinkaDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98161Chapter: 1
Hi Birgit,

That was a very sad story. I liked the way you explained Petunia's resentment for Lily, and what caused her to stop speaking to her. I also liked the way you demonstrated Petunia's nosiness from childhood. Your characterization was wonderful.

The story was very sad though, because you made me feel Petunia so well, that it broke my heart to see the estrangement of two sisters for nothing... it is all very unfortunate, and hopefully we'll see some kind of change in Petunia in the future.

Great job! :)

Dinka

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94310Chapter: 1
Interesting... You write her in the way canon has built so far, but you added bits and bits of your own to the fic. Uncle Charles is intriguing and now I want to know more about him. Petunia's resolution is quite... pathetic, if I may say, but I do feel pity for her being in an empty house by herself with all her family gone. *sigh*

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91163Chapter: 1
After reading your story, my writers block on how I could make Petunia look after Lily got her letter has gone away. I've finally figured it out. Your story was a great help!

Reviewer: RitaanimagusDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90146Chapter: 1
Sad, in a good way. The part about Uncle Charles was interesting, but now I'm curious what he did that was so wrong. I'd be interested in a companion story from Lily's parents pov. I like your repetitive writing style in this piece. I'm looking forward to more stories from you!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89068Chapter: 1
What a great story! I've been meaning to read this ever since I saw it on the recently updated list, but just now managed it. I really like how you've characterized Petunia as a young girl and as a young woman. It seems perfectly in character for Petunia to have spied and eavesdropped on her parents so that she knew secrets about neighbors and relatives when she was a young girl. It nearly brought a tear to my own eye when you wrote of Petunia sobbing for her lost family! Is this story going to have more to it? I hope so! I'd like to see your idea of Petunia meeting Vernon and that James Potter. I admire your writing very much!

Jules :o)

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88687Chapter: 1
Very interesting beginning. I'm eager to find out where you're going with this, and exactly what happened in the backstory to cause Petunia such pain about wizards. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88592Chapter: 1
How sad--and yet such an understandable description of Petunia. Her iron will, her nosiness, her playing-by-the-rules brand of protectionism are all there--and add up to someone she didn't set out to be. A lovely examination of her character.

Reviewer: Kee0Date: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88575Chapter: 1
Oh, good story ! I love your work, you write very well :)

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88492Chapter: 1
Your use of a family black sheep is a very good idea - it provides a plausible explaination for Petunia's attitude towards magic and her behaviour towards Lily and Harry.

Nice work!

oybolshoi

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --