The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120480Chapter: 1
I liked this. I knew Sirius couldn't be alive so it really wrenched my heart everytime Harry got his hopes up.... but I'm glad you still managed to give the story a positive conclusion. I rather felt that the story could have been elaborated on a little more though. More about Harry's thoughts on the realisation Sirius wasn't coming back, before his decision to focus on the goodness of life, perhaps more about his search for the dog, his vigil that night by the window.....
Don't get me wrong conciseness is a wonderful quality for a writer to have, but I really think this story would have been even more moving for a little more developement.
One thing I did love however was the dialogue between Mrs Figg and Mundungus- and Harry trying to shake Dung off. Nicely characterised ;)

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115283Chapter: 1
Short n Nice

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109105Chapter: 1
I wanted to read this story mainly 'cos it reminded me eerily of this little comic I drew once where Harry mysteriously gets a present, containing a T-shirt that says "My godfather went to heaven and all I got was this T-shirt." Sometimes we need to either laugh or cry, and I *sniff* don't know which we're meant to do. *sniff* Harry needs to learn to enjoy life, instead of... fighting it!

Reviewer: BURGANDIDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108542Chapter: 1
Not bad.
'Ve seen better. Oh who am I kidden? IT WAS GREAT!

Reviewer: BurgandiDate: 2004-12-12
Reviewid: 107549Chapter: 1
I.............LOVE...............IT!

Reviewer: oDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106399Chapter: 1
o

Reviewer: fDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106392Chapter: 1
f

Reviewer: Tracy McIntyre and Burgandi Rakoska (again!)Date: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106378Chapter: 1
YOU ARE THE BEST WRITER EVER!____Burgandi
GREAT JOB!______TRACY

Reviewer: BurgandiDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106276Chapter: 1
I was wondering if I could print a copy for my best friend. Please let me know right away.
Many thanks
Burgandi K. Rakoska

Reviewer: Burgandi Rakoska(again)Date: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106272Chapter: 1
I'm still very tuched and amazed at the great and wonderfull story I have just read. You're one of the best writers on the Sugar Quill. Congrats!

Reviewer: Burgandi RakoskaDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106271Chapter: 1
I think this is the greatest story that I have ever read on the Sugar Quill. And I've read about 200! This story isn't about some gushy Ron/Hermione or Harry/Ginny story but a story that reminds us all that even though Sirius has died, he still wants Harry to have a great live!

Reviewer: spooky foxbabeDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106223Chapter: 1
aww...so sad! but really good. personally, i think sirius should still be alive, but that's just me. (and probably a couple million other people out there too.) anyways, keep up the good work! ;-)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92023Chapter: 1
A great lesson at the end of a short and sweet fic. Harry's grades were spot on.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89848Chapter: 1
Loved it! You had me going there, with the dog. Great job!

PQ

Reviewer: TheGreenWolfDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89743Chapter: 1
This was an excellent little story. I enjoyed it a lot. :D

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89684Chapter: 1
Nice little one shot, though I noticed a couple of slight spelling/grammar errors in the story. Great idea, and I really enjoy the message you are conveying here. I can definitely see Sirius buying Harry something completely frivolous and fun months in advance and hoarding it like a kid waiting for Christmas.

Reviewer: i'm nobodyDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89559Chapter: 1
this was just....aw....all happy and sad at the same time. Great job.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89357Chapter: 1
The conclusion of this story is fantastic! You've summed up what really needs to be said in one concise paragraph and had Harry mature in the process. Well done! Thanks for an enjoyable story.

Reviewer: NemoDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89316Chapter: 1
I like!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89291Chapter: 1
I enjoyed your story and it's theme. There were just a couple mistakes, such as the following where I think you left out the word "see". "But, ‘Dung, did you him?” Harry whispered, excitedly." Do keep writing!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --