The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Difficult Year
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124886Chapter: 2
Stepbrothers Series - Great works. I really liked them

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101887Chapter: 2
Oooooh, he didn't die! I *had* considered the possibility, but I didn't think that just having someone else there would make that much of a difference. Apparently, it did. :) I'm really glad that Tavish lived. You scared me again at the end with Tom's ominous feelings, but fortunately that was nothing. Well, obviously, that was the start of quite a brilliant scene. I think that being able to cry might just cause Tom to take a different road than in canon. I really hope he's not going to turn out evil, because I don't think Rubeus would be able to stand it.

My favourite line:

>>I'm always ahead anyway...but I'm sure Rubeus has all sorts of things he's supposed to be feeding.<<
Characterising both Tom and Rubeus spot-on in one line!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101883Chapter: 1
That's awful. I mean, great chapter, but it's just awful that Tavish is going to die. I knew he would, of course, but it's just horrible to read about Rubeus crying.

I still love the characterisation in this story. Both Rubeus and Tom make so much sense, and I can't wait to see how different their later lives will be. What will happen with the Chamber of Secrets, for one? But that's another story; first I'll have to read chapter 2.

My favourite line of this chapter:

>>Rubeus agreed long-sufferingly that his brother was in ferpect condition and kept right on going.<<
Lovely.

Reviewer: geraDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92331Chapter: 1
nice.. but problem is it's impossible that tom and hagrid are brothers. tom's dad is a muggle and hagrid's dad is a wizard and his mum a giant.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92113Chapter: 2
Good chapter. I liked how you portrayed Tom's deep need for a father. I have this image of LV on the couch with Frued talking about this - "I only knew my father long enough to kill him".

We'll be going back to a bunch of one-handed second years if he passed it off to any of his friends
-Hah!

Looking forward to your Chamber of Secrets story.

Reviewer: MariagonerDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91784Chapter: 2
Ooh, very good continuation of the AU so far. And I wonder... what *would* have happened if Tavish had died? Would Tom have broken down under the pressure of caring for his mother and Tom, and trying to provide for them?

Reviewer: The CorinthianDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91553Chapter: 2
right...forgot about Bilius. Touche. This chapter. Lovely scene with Tom and Tavish at the end. "We're depraved on account of we're deprived" Is that how it works? Hmm...Tom is evil in the real universe because he didn't have a family. Sounds somewhat corny when put that way, but you might be on to something. Or at least it seems reasonable, to some extent. Tom's a nice boy, and though the character is getting nicely detailed, one wonders how he got put into Slytherin in the first place, given that his temperament runs more towards stubborn and proud (ie Gryffindor) rather than ends-justify-the-means ambitious.

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91474Chapter: 2
!!!!!! I don't believe it! He didn't die! That is so cool and amazing!!!!! Wow! That was really good! You got me crying fo a bit (but i am an overly emotionnal person...:p)!! Oh my I can't wait for more... Poor Tom, being all that anxious! I really doubt he'll turn into a crazy psychopath now, not with that kind of protectiveness! You are so good, please post soon! i'm sorry if i don't make sense or if my sentences are weirdly put, I'm kind of very tired so... that's my only excuse! I'm also overwelmth with relief that you didn't kill off Tavish! Get a grip now barb, get a grip! So yeah post soon, I'm off to bed! POst soon!!!!!! Hurry up with that writing there! Come on! Chop Chop!! Yeah, so post soon!

-barb

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91381Chapter: 2
It is lovely, of course! My favorite part is where Tom "squelches" the voice that tells him he is too old for sleeping with his step father. Tom is definitely a leader, no matter what, and I love that you have let him keep that characteristic! It does seem like one that would stick around, anyway... I just love these!

The other scene I love is where Hagrid and Tom are playing chess. There is something so ironic and bittersweet about it; in this AU, they play chess, yet in the book, the only "chess" that Tom would play in life is sacrificing Hagrid on his way to the king's throne (if you want to think about it in that way).

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!! I know you must be tired of seeing it, but I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: TobyDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91380Chapter: 2
*wipes away tear* Hehe, great job you two!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91373Chapter: 2
Wonderful, wonderful chapter. I love Tom coming to terms with his emotions, and your explanation of Tavish's illness was brilliant. Very heart-wrenching and absolutely beautiful. :-)

And yes, that was pretty good as far as updating goes. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91345Chapter: 2
love the story =)

Reviewer: the silent speakerDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91340Chapter: 2
Very interesting. Just one minor note: if Rubeus's bishop could block a check, it must have been on a straight line to the king. If it was on a straight line to the king, a knight taking it couldn't possibly be check much less checkmate.

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90525Chapter: 1
Yey!!! Good job!! I think it's really sad Tom's being beat up! Hmm I wonder what the boys were doing there! Where did they end up deciding to go? Hehe... And Tom's babbling was really funny! I'm ferpectly fine! hehehe!! And including Arthur in there mouhahaha good one! and now tavish is going to die!!! what'll happen to Mary?? or is he not going to die!! That would be awesome!! like Mary finding a lost cure somewhere! I'm really looking forward for the next part!! good job!! please write more soon!!

-barb

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90482Chapter: 1
NOOOO! Tavish can't die! He has to make it!!!!!

Wow, I love Xavier Weasley. I'd love to have him meet Ron-or the twins, for that matter. Well, I know he DOES technically meet Ron, being his Uncle and all, but-I can just see a lot of Ron in him. And I didn't know that Arthur only had two brothers-was that on JK Rowling's official site? I have to go back there...

This is such a lovely story, I can't wait to read the next one. I love how you have their characters work. Hagrid and Riddle are so convincing as brothers, it is almost scary. Update soon!

Reviewer: The CorinthianDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90288Chapter: 1
*Back* Quite an interesting little fic you've got here. I do wonder how much of an AU this is. I would hate to see Tom go evil. And what did that poor Weasley boy do to get named Xavier? Although Ginevra and Percy Ignatius do make you wonder... I like Xavier, though. He works fairly well. Be careful not to make him too much like Ron (he doesn't seem to be having that problem yet, anyway), and I'm sure he'll go far. Is the Johnson related to Angelina? All the British wizards go to Hogwarts...you'd think there would be more alliances (her great-grandmother was friends with mine, etc), but I guess that's what the Muggles are there for. I'd be interested to see Tom's opinion on Muggles. And I wonder who was beating him up - you were careful not to say. One suspects a Malfoy, but it doesn't seem like his style. And you've got me speculating, which I never, ever do. Oh, dear.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90156Chapter: 1
Loved it! Can't wait for the next chapter...

-PQ

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90026Chapter: 1
Yay! Another Hagrid & Tom bit! Another great installment. I loved the bit of foreshadowing at the beginning about learning to take revenge. Very interesting. Still love the interaction between the brothers. . . it's very natural. Oh, the mortification Tom must have felt at being rescued by his younger brother! I can only imagine. Wonderful, and I can't wait to read more!

Oh, and did I mention how much I hate cliffhangers? :-) Update quickly, please.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90019Chapter: 1
I love this series. It's a thought that's never crossed my mind before, but it's so Fitting, this, "what if" that I'm definitly keeping a permant link in my favs list so that I can check in to see when it's updated. Y'all are awesome, I can't wait for more.

Reviewer: kalathetrumpeterDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89963Chapter: 1
Love it ! Keep writing!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89962Chapter: 1
"She can have some of ours," Xavier promised instantly.
-Reminded me of something Ron or Ginny would say.

I like Tom's touchy pride.

I know you can't really change Hagrid's speech pattern without making him seem less hagrid-y, but if he grew up with a mother who didn't have those interesting inflections, wouldn't his speech be a bit closer to Tom's?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --