The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 41

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140710Chapter: 7
Am I right in guessing you're a real public school Army brat? Nice to know the fandom isn't entirely 13 year old girls from Power Cable, Nebraska. This may be the snarkiest thing I've ever read and you certainly got the gift of making throughly obnoxious characters really likeable. I suppose if I have to be critical your spelling of spells [oops] could use a little work, but other than that top stuff once more. I'll catch up with your current WIP tomorrow, as it's getting late. KUTGW on that and never fall into the trap of loving your character so much you make her all nice and moral. She's much more fun this way.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-10
Reviewid: 135776Chapter: 7
Wonderful. Thank You.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133584Chapter: 7
Alex is such a great character; funny, intelligent, and above all believeable.It's lovely to have a story by someone who knows London, Foyles is a favourite huant of mine. I look forward to Alex's further adventures.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130006Chapter: 7
It's 2:43 AM and I've been reading all of your stories since about midnight. I love them much more than words can ever say! I can't even count the times I've snorted with laughter while reading this. You've created a wonderful character with Alex, who is smart, sarcastic, snarky, and all other real or made-up positive adjectives that begin with 's'. =P You've managed to make me care about a Slytherin! *gasp* haha. The Alex/Ben interaction is priceless, because it's normal, with none of the typical, ridiculus fairytale-come-true nonsense.

I can't wait for another update! Now, though, I must go to bed.

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129883Chapter: 7
I was delighted to see this new chapter, catmeat, and a very good one, too. Charlie's reaction when Alex gets back to the shop is perfect - her Slytherin side must come from him. I like the way you explained Ben's tryst in the shrubbery with Sarah - very clever. And the end of the chapter is very satisfying.

Reviewer: Max ZookDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129792Chapter: 7
[QUOTE]"- and I said some horrible things about you", I continued hastily, trying hard to forget the phrase [I]eleven-toed, inbred wanker[/I].[/QUOTE]

No one writes fluff like you, catmeat! ;)

Reviewer: PaulaDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124457Chapter: 6
I loved Charlie's metamorphasis into Uncle Douglas -"yet another middle-ranking Ministry bureaucrat, probably ex-Ravenclaw, with a family tree as long as your arm and a life-long passion of the Tutshill Tornados". Talking of Ravenclaws, will Alex get to fulfil her ambition and see the inside of the Eyrie before the end of this story? I'm really looking forward to your take on the Yule Ball. Was Stebbins pursuing Fawcett because she had poured something down his dress robes? I hope nothing happened in those rose bushes that Alex would be seriously dischuffed about! Waiting for an update....
Paula

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121150Chapter: 6
Great scheming and original idea. Love the Dursley cameo. I would like to see more about how Alex and Ben became friends and all that.

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114570Chapter: 6
Eeek, many thanks for all that. I'm sorry for the delay with chapter six, but I constantly get sidetracked by other things - at the moment, along with chapter seven, I'm doing a one chapter prequil and a post-hogwarts fic set concurrently with HBP.

Many thanks for the nice things said about Charles. Most people don't bother with Muggle charcters which is a shame, you can have an awful lot of fun with them!. I think of him as a mixture of Indiana Jones (but without the heroism) and Sergant Bilko (but without the honesty.)

Jeott - I've never been to Durham, call that one of those wierd coincidences. Though for a while, it was fun to see Alex's Google ranking was higher than any of the real people with that name. :-)

Reviewer: JerottDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114506Chapter: 6
Loving it, loving it...of course the Cauldron is on Charing Cross next to Foyle's. I never thought of that, but it makes perfect sense. Now, just one question...are you from Durham, or is it pure coincidence that there's a street called Alexandra Sutton Place (or Boulevard, or Street, or something) in downtown Durham?

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114270Chapter: 6
Wonderful chapter, catmeat. Loved this bit in particular:
--- It was hard to say which of us was more embarrassed. Slytherin teaches rigid self-reliance and continuous, low-level paranoia. But that does mean you're a bit off-balance and confused when somebody is genuinely concerned with your wellbeing; it's such a novelty. ---

An excelent summary of the true Slytherin character not the twisted version of Malfoy (we're better than everybody).

There's an excellent combination of original story plus the different POV to keep everybody hanging on your next installment.
I hope to see more soon.

Reviewer: DellaranDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114267Chapter: 6
Thank you for the new chapter!

I've really been looking forward to this update. You write really vivid, lifelike characters, magical and otherwise, and in some ways, I think you may have thought out the relationship between the two worlds maybe even a little better than JKR.

Looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114261Chapter: 6
What a fantastic chapter! It's packed with action and incredibly funny - I loved Alex's take on the hypothetical chimera on the Underground. And I just loved your characterization of Uncle Charles - his gift for fitting in anywhere, his virtuoso lying, his brass knuckles. He's a fun character, but I hope Alex gives him hell when she gets back to his flat.

I'm so pleased Ben was there to help Alex, because after that fight they had, I was afraid their friendship was over. I just hope this truce lasts when Alex hears about him snogging Sarah at the Yule Ball. (Unless they weren't actually snogging...?)

Reviewer: Andrew J.Date: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114257Chapter: 6
Sorry that this isn't much of a review, but I just had to say how excited I was to see that this story had been updated, and the chapter made the wait worth it. I mentioned in a previous review how much I enjoy Alex as a character. I must extend that appreciation to her Uncle Charlie - most HP fanfic authors don't pay much attention to the Muggle world, but you've made written one of the best Muggle OCs I've come across (although he is hardly naive about the magical world in the way that most muggle characters are). I can't wait to read the next installment.

Reviewer: laurieDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114246Chapter: 6
I love this story! I wish I had more substantive comments to make but...you're doing a great job - interesting characters, well written, funny. Just don't stop writing!

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105913Chapter: 5
This has definitely become one of my favorite fics.

The best line in this chapter: "We are the sort of people who would fight to the death for the right cause - but not before checking there was no chance we could simply bribe the enemy to go away and leave us alone."

Will Alex and Ben make up? I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105907Chapter: 5
that was a loong interval-nice to read more-keep writing

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105830Chapter: 5
Loved it so far. Alexandra is so cynicall she's a riot whithout meaning to. I hope she and Ben can patch it up as they seem to be perfect for each other. Rachel and Charles are also very convincing characters. Of course, I did not enjoy her dismissal of Ron (my favorite Weasley) but he probably deserved it.
Update soon!

Reviewer: ElysiaDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102286Chapter: 4
Fantastic stories. I love you OC and hope you update with more adventures.

Ely.

Reviewer: Andrew J.Date: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101822Chapter: 1
Catmeat, I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy your Alex Sutton stories - it's almost criminal that there aren't more reviews here. When I check SQ for updates, I always hope to see your name on the updates list. There are many things to like about your writing - I can only second what another reviewer said to you about considering it as a profession. Alex is a fantastic character because she is both smart and snarky, but very much flawed (and knows it). I also like your treatment of Slytherin: its students aren't all evil Junior Death Eaters, but you don't hide some of the ugly truths about the house and how difficult being a muggle-born Slytherin would be (we don't get to see much of Alex interacting with her own housemates primarily because she has no real friends in Slytherin). Yet she is still very much a Slytherin - her description of the 'Lion Kingdom' was hilarious. The other feature of your fics that really stands out is your strength at describing the settings you use. I've never been to Hong Kong, but your description of it was so vivid that I feel like I learned a bit about the former British colony while reading it.

Even though I am turned off by most things ship-related in fan fiction, I quite enjoyed the beginnings of a romance between Alex and Ben. What was different about this as opposed to most of the 'first kiss' scenarios written in Potter fics is that it had all the awkwardness that you would expect from teenagers, even ones quick witted as Alex.

One thing I'm curious about, though: Was your decision to 'cast' Fawcett and Summers as Alex's friends inspired by the mention in canon of their attept to fool the Goblet of Fire? If so, did you always intend to later use it as a plot device?

Enough rambling from me. I look forward to your next update!

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99026Chapter: 4
Alex is such a great character, catmeat. I love her snarkiness and her temper. Her description of the Gryffindor common room is so funny, and the scene at the portrait hole with Ives was great. You do realy nice job showing how much she cares about Rachel underneath all her complaints about her.

I think you do a very nice job with the twins as well. They're completely IC, but you show beautifully how annoying they would be from the POV of the victims of their pranks. And McGonagall's lecture in the Great Hall is dead on.

And I love the kiss. :) Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: CrCeresDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98863Chapter: 4
Since I've been having fun reading your writing for the last month, I just thought I'd drop in and say so. Yay for fluid and funny work!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98835Chapter: 4
*giggle* I'm sorry, write more Alex, write more NOW! Must be my favorite fanfic character. I'm waiting eagerly for the next installment.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98702Chapter: 4
Great chapter. That's the funniest first kiss scene I've ever read. I also enjoyed Alex punching the Gryffindor prefect. "It seemed like a good idea." LOL. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98672Chapter: 1
Whoa... I know a person named Alix Sutton. Only her's is spelled with an i... Whoa...

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95753Chapter: 3
Wow! Many thanks for all the nice comments. Ivy & Gracie, may I print yours out and put it on the wall of my lab? No, sod it! I'll make it my PC wallpaper! :)

wee-mee, writing this has almost exhausted my knowledge of the antique world. I do know people involved in it and I get the impression the pro's like The Antiques Roadshow, particularily its valuations, for its comedy value.

Brigantia, the Weasley twins don't come off so well because Alex really, really doesn't like them. And she's got good reason, a Slytherin who's shared classes with them since first year will have been on the wrong end of every prank going. They view her as somebody whom it's fun to annoy. She views them as more evidence that the universe has something against her.

Polina said >
>It's as if she's trying to project a very tough exterior in >order to hide some insecurity. Her argument with Ben in chapter >1 really hit home for me, when he made that cutting remark >about her being a Hufflepuff-wanabe Slytherin. Her House >membership sits oddly with her, but I don't suppose she'd ever >admit to regretting that she was put in Slytherin? Alexandra >doesn't seem like a girl that admits to regrets.

I suppse my problem is this character started out when I was reading PoA and started wondering if the unamed Slytherin at the Christmas feast might have an interesting story to tell. So the first fact about her (before she was a her, in fact) was that she was a Slytherin. Since then she has evolved into something other then uberMachiavellian fannon!Slytherin. Of course, I made her a half-blood so her tough-girl attitude is something she would have developed just to survive. I see her as being attracted to Hufflepuff as she sees it as a more relaxed, friendlier house but at the same time she does have a strong perverse pride in being Slytherin (why she wears the broach). I think she's more Slytherin then she likes to admit to herself -the Sorting Hat doesn't make mistakes.

Anyway, thaks again for all the reviews. Chapter 4 is about 80% done and I hope it'll be up before too long.

BTW... If anybody PM'd me and didn't get a reply, sorry but the message seems to have disappeared into the aethar. My control panel says I have 9 messages - 4 in the inbox and 4 in the outbox. The message seems to be there but is unreachable. I emailed Sugarquill but haven't had a response.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94710Chapter: 1
I LOVE THIS CHARACTER!!!!!!! She is priceless, and in many ways sadly I can relate to her...*giggle* Good work with Alexandra, lovin' stories on her.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94469Chapter: 3
Bloody brilliant! Such style, such snarkiness...we're reviewing this for the Review Challenge over at the Pensieve, and we think it's one of the best fanfics we've read in a long time. Do you write professionally? Because you should.

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93468Chapter: 3
i love this story line. i hope you keep going with the underhanded dealings and antique furniture. there's some real potential to get the two mixed up and keep us laughing. by the way, on antiques roadshow, they say it severely reduced the value of a piece of antique furniture if it doesn't have the origonal handles, hardware and finish. you don't care? yeah, me neither.

Reviewer: IseultDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93281Chapter: 3
Funny and refreshingly different from any of the other fan fiction I've read so far. I hope there will be more. The only thing that nearly put me off reading it in the first place was your user name!

Reviewer: DellaranDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93242Chapter: 3
Wow. Can I marry you and have your children? Metaphorically speaking, of course...

I think what I enjoy the most about these stories is that you don't view the magical world through rose-colored lenses. Alexandra isn't in awe of the magical world; she's very real and very pragmatic, and she's quite comfortable moving from one world to the other. She seems a lot more "real" to me than many canon characters because of this. Please keep writing; I'm looking forward to more!

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92990Chapter: 3
I'm really enjoying this. Alex is a great character - prickly, sarcastic, and immensely practical. Looking forward to more...

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92877Chapter: 3
*starts to laugh* The ending is just fantastic; it's not the ending, is it now? Alex is so hilarious; "Also pretty good for back scratching"- about her wand. Heh. I'm glad her sister is in Gryffindor; this ought to make things interesting.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92837Chapter: 3
Another great chapter, catmeat! I love Alex. Her sarcasm is a treat -

"Wizardry lacks the colourful initiation-into-adulthood ceremonies adopted by other inbred tribal societies. So it makes do with the choosing of the first wand at Ollivanders."

- and her character is just so interesting and multi-layered. Her blackmailing the Weasley twins is great. (They don't come across looking so good here, which is well done.) Her relationship with Rachel is well portrayed, both in the rivalry and in her worry about what house Rachel will be in.

And I like the fact that she notes the period of the chair in Ollivanders. Details like this, and the betting pool on the duration of the Hat's song, give your story so much texture.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92415Chapter: 2
I just love Alex; I probably have said this already in my other review; but this story especially is wonderful; the descriptions of Hong Kong right down to her families and her summer job. Curious, though...when will she and Ben be a proper couple? Just kidding. Great story. Keep writing.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90564Chapter: 2
Oh, a great twist! And it's nice to see a Muggle with knowledge of the magical world. I've always found it unbelievable that the wizard and Muggle worlds are completely separate, and the way Charlie found out about magic is very realistic.

It's also nice to see Alex in her Muggle life. Most fanfiction doesn't deal with a Muggle-born's life outside the wizarding world, so this is refreshing. Alex is more than her magical ability. Her knowledge of antiques and the art of dealing is interesting, since I know nothing about that kind of thing, and her relationship with her uncle is great.

More chapters please!

Reviewer: PolinaDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90496Chapter: 2
Really fascinating story. I read "One Day" and enjoyed it, but I must say I like this story better. The amount of detail in each chapter is amazing and admirable. Very well-crafted!

I really liked the depiction of life in Hong Kong in the first chapter, and the revelation in Chapter 2 of Charlie's middleman status between the Muggle and Wizarding World is intruiging.

Your Alexandra is a tough girl, and you write her wry wit very well. But - and this isn't a criticism, but just the way I respond to her character - sometimes it feels very forced. It's as if she's trying to project a very tough exterior in order to hide some insecurity. Her argument with Ben in chapter 1 really hit home for me, when he made that cutting remark about her being a Hufflepuff-wanabe Slytherin. Her House membership sits oddly with her, but I don't suppose she'd ever admit to regretting that she was put in Slytherin? Alexandra doesn't seem like a girl that admits to regrets.

Looking forward to your next chapter. :)

Reviewer: Andy WardDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90400Chapter: 2
Superb. The level of detail about the Muggle clandestine antiques business is wonderful, and from what little I know, totally accurate.
And the new ideas you've introduced - wizard posing as stage magician, taking any enchantments off wizard-owned antiques (to keep Arthur Weasley away?)before selling them on at a vast profit to muggles. More in one chapter of this fic than most authors can manage in a 20 chapter story. Keep going, please. I can't wait to see what you come up with next.

Reviewer: susanDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90360Chapter: 2
I'm soooo glad you continued with this character! I like this! In the universe, but not done 200,000 times already. Keep it up!

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90155Chapter: 1
some more please-i love this heroine-she's definately more interesting than many of the ohter charachters introduced in along time---------update soon

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90084Chapter: 1
Good continuation of the series! I enjoyed the huge amounts of detail in the story, which really gave me an idea of the setting. I also liked the fight she had with Stebbins. I love stories about minor characters so keep updating :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --