The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109935Chapter: 1
Nice. More tales please.

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2005-01-01
Reviewid: 109433Chapter: 2
"What?" she asked blankly.
"Nothing. You have your mother's nose, that's all."
He trotted down the stairs, hands in his pockets, whistling brightly. Ginny stood at the doorway of the small bedroom, watching him disappear down the long, narrow stairway. Good lord, she thought. That boy runs hot and cold.
She walked toward the stairs and found herself fighting a smile.

That was hilarious!! I love it. Will this be a Tonks/Remus fic too? I hope so. Keep up the great work and update soon!!
~Alicia~

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105254Chapter: 1
Oy, just thought I'd read and review :) I thought I'd let you in on what I wrote for my fanfic review database, which I hardly ever share word for word: An extremely promising first story for this author. There were only a few things that seemed out of context - Having Hermione still be at home while everyone else was at Grimmauld, Sirius having the time to write such a long introspective letter and especially Sirius telling Harry to go for Ginny in his goodbye letter. Other than these few things the argument between Snape and Lupin was absolute gold and some of Sirius lines in the letter were spot on. Cheers!

Reviewer: BowserbabeDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101269Chapter: 1
That was so good! Please do more fics! You have an excellent style of writing!

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101237Chapter: 2
omg that is os cute awwwwwwwwwwwwww!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101125Chapter: 2
"Good lord, she thought. That boy runs hot and cold. "

*giggles* Priceless! Love this story, can't wait for the next chapter!

-PQ

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-10-11
Reviewid: 101054Chapter: 2
Fin? Hmm ... thought there would be more ...

Reviewer: AdisonDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100656Chapter: 1
Okay, the letter-thing:

My beta agrees with you, and in retrospect (annoying thing) you're both right. It's not very IC or even all that logical that the letter was written, but it *could* happen. And it doesn't change the fact that it was fun to write. I just didn't take it too seriously. I figure fanfiction authors are allowed a bit more "that's ridiculous" room than JKR is. Actually, I was going to remove it after talking to Lady Narcissa about it, but I spent quite a bit of time writing it out and decided, as improbable as it is, it stayed in because I liked it. Purely selfish reasons, but then, it is my story.

I promise Sirius will be more IC if I ever write him again.

Thank you for the feedback! :o)

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100653Chapter: 2
You capture the characters quite well, but I think the idea of Sirius leaving a rather long letter for Harry "just in case" is a bit farfetched. He would have been just as frantic to save Harry, at the time, as Harry himself was to save him. Hardly time for introspection, jokes, and last wishes. And really a big stretch to imagine Sirius writing love advice to Harry in a note that he presumably only had time to dash off. Even if he did have the time - while eprhaps waiting for the otehr Order members to assemble - his state of mind would have been of terrible fear for Harry's life - not for his love life.

Reviewer: PamrDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91579Chapter: 1
I really like this story. Your writing style is excellent and I felt myself getting pulled into it. I do hope you'll continue.

I was really creeped out over Kreacher hanging himself but it felt like a just end for an evil little monster. I don't care if he was brainwashed, he was still an evil, slimy thing. I couldn't believe everyone was to nice to him in OotP. Speaking of being brainwashed, I think Hermione is rubbing off on people - ha!

Pamr

Reviewer: Llewella d'ambreDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90471Chapter: 1
The first Summer-After-Fifth-Year story I've read yet, and it was wonderful! You seem to have captured a lot of great feelings - I love the use of dialogue, it really sets all the characters into themselves (wonderful characterizations!). Really looking forward to the next addition!

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90280Chapter: 1
This is definitely holding my interest so far. I'm looking forward to updates so keep up the good work.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90213Chapter: 1
I like this, especially the dialogue. In particular, the exchange between Lupin and Snape is dead on, and Ron and Ginny's casual mention of the Snot Sucker messing up Mr. Weasley's sinuses is great.

A couple of nitpicks: the summer after GoF, the Order sent a ton of people to guard Harry. It doesn't make sense to send only one this summer. And I don't think Harry would try to talk rationally to Kreacher after Sirius's death. I think he'd react more the way Ron does.

Otherwise, though, I think this is very like canon. I look forward to chapter two.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90194Chapter: 1
Well, I suppose if my life was that messed up and my world got upended like that and I was alone all of a sudden and then I found a hanged house-elf one morning when I went to take a shower and I was living in a house with a racist portrait that hates me, I'd probably be a trainwreck too. Poor ol' Lupin. Anyway, CONTINUE! Or maybe I'd better not read more, I love everyone in the Order to bits and it's rather depressing to read about them all being so off.

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90171Chapter: 1
WONDERFUL!!!

You have a very good grasp of the characters!
Write more soon!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90159Chapter: 1
Ron's catching on, isn't he?

Wonderful start...I'd love to see more soon.

-PQ

Reviewer: lizzyDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90130Chapter: 1
i really enjoyed reading this chapter. You have really thought about what the characters are feeling and the atmosphere and you can see this in your writing. well done I can't wait to read more =)

Reviewer: DobbysKnobblySoxDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90070Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading this. You've written it in a style that is very well-paced, and your characterization and power of description is very well done. I like how you've made Harry's character in this fic, it is just how I imagine JKR will do in the next book, angry, but still retaining some of his old personality.
The emotional responses in all the characters was well done - I particularly liked the part where Harry got angry about Kreacher's death, and how Ron reacts to him.
I can't wait to read the next part of this story! keep up the good work

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90045Chapter: 1
Great start! I think your characterisation is very canon. Ron wants to help, but he doesn't know exactly what to do, but Ginny gives him the straight talking-to he needs like she did in the book. Go Ginny! My heart broke for Remus. If there'd ever be a time for him to cry, it'd be alone and in the kitchen after a transformation. =( Oh, and I love the double meaning of your title!

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89923Chapter: 1
i like the story so far but i dont think that harry would ever forgive kreacher please update fast this story promises to be really good from the way that you are keeping every one I.C.
p.s.
tonks being able to damage the painting sounds farfetched if that could have happened i think that sirious or molly would have done it in book 5
p.p.s.
if you are going to delve into the sixth year i would think that neville & luna would be a bigger part of h/r/hr/g's daily live after what all of them shared

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89921Chapter: 1
i like the story so far but i dont think that harry would ever forgive kreacher please update fast this story promises to be really good from the way that you are keeping every one I.C.
p.s.
tonks being able to damage the painting sounds farfetched if that could have happened i think that sirious or molly would have done it in book 5

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89905Chapter: 1
I like where this is going! I'm not sure I could see Kreacher hanging himself, as he does still have Narcissa Malfoy, but it was still an interesting twist. I think you have Ginny written perfectly.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89904Chapter: 1
great first chapter. nice interaction between harry, ron & ginny; very IC. good idea to have Kreacher off himself--we think it's entirely feasible! and we're glad to see some of our favorite ships on the horizon! nice little touches of R/T, R/H & H/G--not too obvious, but there all the same. just one question: it seems a little facile to have ginny allowed to sleep in the boys' room. why isn't she in Tonks' room? anyway, we too were disappointed when we looked for Ch. 2 and there wasn't one! we'll be on the lookout for it in the future.

Reviewer: EmeraDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89892Chapter: 1
Wow, you really had me going and I suffered horrible disappointment when I tried to get to chapter 2 and found it missing. *grin* Keep writing, my friend!

Reviewer: CAGBDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89851Chapter: 1
I can tell it's going to be an interesting (in a good way) story. Can't wait for the other chapters.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89829Chapter: 1
Very, very good! This might be the most in character post-OotP fanfic I've ever read! Kudos! I'll be on the lookout for updates, because I want to know what happens next! My favorite line: 'I know you." Ginny turned around and left the room; a dangerous silence filled the space she’d left.' Ginny's never left a room in a huff before, but who's to say she wouldn't now? And she DOES know Harry! Yay! :o)

Jules

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --