The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Kind Eyes
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-23
Reviewid: 151360Chapter: 1
Hello FernWithy! I'm still here! ^__^ It's amazing to see the type of story you can weave by just using a solid fact, and a whole lot of referencing from the series. While it was never identified, I always thought of Bilius as a Weasley rather than a Prewett. However, I really liked the way that you had Bilius thinking about Fabian and Gideon. Furthermore, his interaction with Molly was very special, as she reverted to his nickname. The little Weasleys were adorable as usual, and you know that I'm a fan of them from LLL. Having his visit occur before Ron was born was very significant to the attribution of the latter's middle name. As for the last part, we were all hoping that Sirius and James would be able to save Bilius, but alas, that isn't how cannon wanted it to be.

Reviewer: Arianna of BellezzaDate: 2006-06-04
Reviewid: 143216Chapter: 1
Wow! That was a great story, wonderfully written. I loved the "Tam Lin" reference at the beginning with Janet at the crossroads and how Bill was transfigured many times.

Reviewer: Pennifold Z. LumosnoxDate: 2005-12-27
Reviewid: 137700Chapter: 1
Applause. A original fic well-written. :)

-Pennilux

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137223Chapter: 1
Excellent You ARE GOOD

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128356Chapter: 1
WIKED!!!!

Reviewer: QemDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121527Chapter: 1
Wow. That was dark. But wonderfully written. I always did wonder what happened to Uncle Billius. I loved how you matched little details together.

Reviewer: Chelsea_EvansDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113749Chapter: 1
Good God was that-- Sirius?? I never thought of him being that Grim as well... I love these little fics of things we never got to see during the time before and between the books.

Reviewer: NARDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109606Chapter: 1
I usually don't read sad stories but this story definitely worths a read. Really good work.

Reviewer: Mandy of the AmoebaDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108736Chapter: 1
Wonderful piece. It's amazing that, in just one short story, you managed to create such a strong character for Bilius and made the reader so sympathetic towards his plight.

Reviewer: kelsyDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106898Chapter: 1
....wow....that was really thought out. brilliant. I always wondered about the whole Bilius-Grim thing. i just ate this right up. well done

Reviewer: aurendelDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98499Chapter: 1
WOW!

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95789Chapter: 1
I actually read this a while ago, but just realized that I never reviewed you. I really loved this story, everything's so deep. The ending was great, who would have thought that Billus only saw James and Sirius? Brilliant~

Reviewer: missbDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92318Chapter: 1
Poor Bilius. :( That was a great story. Loved it all. *sniffs*

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91328Chapter: 1
ooooooooooooooh thats so *sad*!!!!!!!!!!!!!! poor Bilius! Kl 2 no Harry's not the 1st person 2 think Sirius is da Grim!

Reviewer: `StrayaDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91198Chapter: 1
Your HP fan fiction is always SO incredible. I really like how you often choose situations or pickup on plot points that aren't fully explained in the books, working in people and incidents that Harry wasn't alive or present for. I really do think that this is what great fan fiction is all about. I have to say great job with the character of Bilius, even though we only saw his named mentioned once in the books. The personality traits and the life you set him up with were very plausible, and even though I knew how the story had to end, I really found myself hoping that the poor man would make it through alright.

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91121Chapter: 1
I suppose that "lovely" might be an inappropriate description of a story in which the main protagonist falls to death, but it really was lovely.

The metamorphosis of the Grim from a dark, stalking creature to a creature with kind eyes is a lovely one. Knowing that the "Grim" was really Sirius (that's right, isn't it?) gave it that much more emotional impact.

It was also extremely interesting that Sirius-as-Grim would have had a part in inspiring Bilius to break out of his passivity.

Molly and the boys were, as always, a joy. You really have a handle on large family dynamics - in my family we also always fought on the same side in "adventure games" (as we called them) and not until now did it ever strike me as strange that no one played the bad guy.

Ever think about writing a young Weasley boys series a la Little Men?

Anyway, enjoying as always,
Stella

Reviewer: Merry MaudlinDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91108Chapter: 1
Absolutely amazing. Whenever I decide to read fics about minor characters, it always turns out to be worth it. This was really, really well done. It doesn't take alot to make me cry, but you should be flattered nonetheless. :)

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91090Chapter: 1
Another great story - nice plot twists, realistic characters, and all in a couple of pages! If you ever publish under your own name (which I strongly suggest!), I will buy your books!

Reviewer: IpoDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91058Chapter: 1
How positively sad, but exquisitely written. I'd always wondered about Bilius, and now we know why Ron is named after him! Great job.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 91045Chapter: 1
Oh, this was so amazing! I really liked Bilius and felt so badly for him. I love Percy being such a nice older brother to George, you did the Weasley children and Molly very well. I liked how you described the Grim, too. I think I shall be addicted to your stories now. *nods*

Reviewer: ElspethDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90974Chapter: 1
Once again, your piece was great. I enjoyed seeing a younger Weasley family and enjoyed the notion that Sirius was mistaken more than once for the grim.

I hope you haven't given up on the sorting fic, tho. Please go back and post more. It's a really interesting take on the beginings of our older, key players and it would a great disservice to your work if you just let it peter out.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90959Chapter: 1
Aww, poor Bilius. Just out of curiosity - what does he mean by "its time to be one of them again?" Did he come back as Ron or something?

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90827Chapter: 1
Wow. This story was really good, but really sad. You put alot of thought into this story, and it's amazing.

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90808Chapter: 1
when are you going to finish blood in the earth

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90800Chapter: 1
You know, when Bilius thought the Grim looked rather friendly, my first thought was, "This is like the scene in OotP where Harry sees the veil and feels like walking through it and thinks it looks interesting." Anyway, lovely bittersweet fic, the Burrow scene is adorable, Bilius being so sad about his fam,ily is really touching, and the Grim business driving Bilius to distraction so he gets himself killed is tragic irony that'd make Shakespeare jealous. Anybody who makes fun of Ron's middle name deserves any hex he might cast on them!

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90720Chapter: 1
wow... buaiful... and realy realy sad

Reviewer: ShlozDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90705Chapter: 1
Brilliant as usual.

Padfoot playing the Grim again was a beautifully apt, and having the Marauders serve as the bodyguard from the Order was a nice touch.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90700Chapter: 1
James and Sirius were the two men, weren't they? And was it Sirius that Bilius saw it the graveyard?

Anyway, I loved this story, as always, and how it tied the little tidbits of HP together. Great work!

-PQ

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90689Chapter: 1
Excellent job. I very much liked the way that Bilius' self-image and his love for his wife intertwined with his actions. Sirius as the Grim was a good touch, and a lovely tie-in to canon--and Bilius' feelings that the Grim was friendly, though for the wring reasons, lent a poignant touch to his decision to fight. Good job, you!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90684Chapter: 1
Poor Bilius. James and Sirius coming to his rescue were a nice twist, and Sirius as the Grim. And the Weasley boys were just too adorable.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: Sergeant MajoretteDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90676Chapter: 1
Now why was I assuming that Bilius was a Weasley? Anyway, you got several teardrops from me, which makes you a goddess of backstory.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90663Chapter: 1
Well spun! You did a wonderful job turning that story out. I like the way you wove new information into the mix.

I knew the Grim straight off. The line before about the light-haired man was well placed to clue us in. Having Padfoot and Prongs around was a good touch.

Finally, I liked that Bilius was able to resist the Imperious Curse, but not completely. It was a very believable struggle. That realness made it more important to me. And that made the ending more sorrowful. Well done.

Reviewer: Max ZookDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90620Chapter: 1
As always, when I see your name in the new fics list, I know I'm in for a wonderful read.

Ron should be proud of his middle name ...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --