The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Where the Light is
Review(s): 291

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140594Chapter: 15
Absolutely Wonderful. May you to be blessed with a Lolly.
Question please. Your spelling is mixed between British & American. In an early chapter (4?), in a single sentence, you had both defense and defence. Enlightenment ?

Reviewer: jessiebas2Date: 2005-12-04
Reviewid: 136739Chapter: 15
I enjoyed this story a lot! Fred & George were wonderful, and Lolly was such a character! Lupin and Tonks was very sweet as well, and I just loved the whole story.

Reviewer: XDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130364Chapter: 15
I loved it as soon as you seperated Fred and George. You actually used the twins as 2 totally different people insted of interchangeable "Freorge" or "Geored". I also loved Lolly, she is amazing! I love that she loves Snape, who could? yet we do.
I loved how you handled the werewolf thing, great transformation aftermath.
Keep up the good work

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128294Chapter: 15
Such a fun, funny story! And nicely plotted - all the plotlines tie in nicely. Ainsley is great for George, and I love the R/T. But I think this story is most unique because of the marvelous Lolly. Who'd have thought all Snape needed was the love of a good house-elf?

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126937Chapter: 15
Before Book 6 is released, I'm in a mad rush to catch up and finish several stories that I've been following during the past year. I enjoyed your last chapters, especially the interaction between Snape and Lollie. I love how Lollie manipulates Snape. She's a most delightful and clever character.

I do agree that your last chapter seems rushed, but I appreciate that you have wrapped up your story before the release of Book 6 and not left your readers hanging. Congratulations on finishing your first novels. Please be sure to keep us updated!

Reviewer: aylaDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123602Chapter: 15
I loved your stories. Keep up the wonderful work and I'm looking forward to more :D:D:D !!!

Reviewer: amandaDate: 2005-06-05
Reviewid: 123323Chapter: 15
I really really really liked this story. I'm not so keen on the Tonks and Lupin togetherness but at the same time I am. You wrote all these love scenes without cheesiness and I really appreciated that. And I just love Lolly! This is one of the best fanfics I have read. Great Job!

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122874Chapter: 15
Oh, this was such a great feel-good story. I'm sorry it's over, but enjoyed it a lot.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-05-26
Reviewid: 122720Chapter: 15
**blush** you caught us on the LOTR thing! We never thought of the time difference btwn our fic and a RL movie. Also, some have mentioned that the last chapter seemed rushed and a bit of an abrupt ending, and we apologize, while admitting that it might be the tiniest bit true. In RL both of us have finally finished our first novels, and we confess that toward the very end, that's where our best efforts went. And isn't that as it should be? The greatest thing that fanfic has done for both of us is that it made us far better RL writers than we were before. Thank you all so much for your reviews and your support!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-25
Reviewid: 122700Chapter: 15
i&G, this was a perfect ending to the story. Of course I wouldn't have minded if it was longer but this was awesomly great.

---And she does make the most divine scones. I don't know how we ever got through a staff tea without her."----LOL

I must have mentioned at least 87 times how much I like the idea behind the "mini-wands".

How old is the LOTR movie trilogy?

Reviewer: KristineDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122657Chapter: 15
I really wish you would have told us what happened with Ms. Delainey! Oh well, more for the imagination I suppose. Also, since this is all occuring before the year 2000, wouldn't LOTR not have come out into movie theaters yet?

Reviewer: Avid&aDate: 2005-05-22
Reviewid: 122583Chapter: 1
This is, quite possibly, the most enjoyable epic fanfiction I have read on Halrry Potter. And considering the millions of Potter fanfics...
Good Job!

Reviewer: a_is_for_amyDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122450Chapter: 15
I've really enjoyed this story! I can't recall whether or not I've reviewed it before, because I usually read each chapter off-line, and tend to forget to review (I know, that's bad!). Your OCs are very believable and likeable. The back story was interesting and fed out to the reader in a way that made it complex, yet not overbearing, and left me wanting more.

The romance between Tonks and Remus was adorable, and the glimpses into Snape and his motivations was interesting and entertaining.

I would like to know what became of Malanotte and Ainsley's father, and Percy and such...maybe you're planning a sequel? That would be splendid! If you do, I promise to make more of an effort to review after each chapter.

Thanks again for a great read!

Reviewer: K HuntersDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122436Chapter: 15
Well, this has been one of my most beloved stories on the SQ. And so, of course I am upset that it is finished. I cannot help be think that the final chapter felt rushed. And please, please, continue in some way Snape and Sarah. I long for a nice Snape fic and this one almost satisfied me on that criteris.

Otherwise, I have adored this story, especially the weaving in of so mant character's stories.

Am awaiting with baited breath for your next accomplishment!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122421Chapter: 15
Noooooo! Not the final chapter! :weeps:

I've really enjoyed this story so much, the way you intertwined the three separate plots and brought them all to a satisfying conclusion. I am very happy Remus and Tonks are finally together, you developed their relationship so slowly and believably. And I'm very pleased Malanotte finally got his comeuppance - berk. ¬.¬ Lolly is my new favourite OC. I would like some tips from her on how to look after people. Please? ^^

I'll be re-reading this one over and over again,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: DonDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122414Chapter: 15
Bravo!! I love the wrap ups! Lolly had me laughing aloud!! And I like Fred saving George and the verbal give adn take there. Very well done. You have a knack for balancing the storylines and their progressions. I have enjoyed every bit of this!! Thanks!

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122394Chapter: 15
nice wrap up, except for Percy. He's still dangling, poor boy. And Snape got just what he deserved: Lolly!

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122390Chapter: 14
Yeah! it happened. You write a marvellous Remus Tonks first kiss! Thank you for letting me share it! It may take me awhile to wipe the grin off my face.

Reviewer: MarchpaneDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122389Chapter: 15
Great ending! I loved the way in which the George/Ainsley and Remus/Tonks situations were resolved, and Lolly and Snape's interactions are hilarious. It'd be nice to know more about Snape and Ms. Delainey... I hope there's a sequel!

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122388Chapter: 13
Percy and pent up family tension with Fred(and I agree with Percy--Charlie should stop him from picking up unhealthy habits.); Remus and Tonks and pent up sexual tension, building tension between Harry and Ginny--tense--good, but tense chapter.

Reviewer: kelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122386Chapter: 12
Perfect choice of musice for Tonks--I'd definately go to S.L. to seduce Lupin if it were me. ;)

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122384Chapter: 15
Wait, that's the end? NO! There will be a sequel right?

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122380Chapter: 9
Poor George--Lucky Katie. And that was nice what he did for Anne. I wonder when we'll figure out her mystery?

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122379Chapter: 8
I just love epistolary chapters. Well done.

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122377Chapter: 7
I've read this before, but I wanted to back up a bit now that I'm catching up. Delicious Remus Tonks butterflies starting. Favorite line: She smiled mistily. "Do you remember it, Arthur? Young love...."

Arthur turned her around and took her in his arms. "And what's wrong with old love, Molly Prewett?"

Molly leaned her head against her husband's shoulder and slid her arms around him. "Not a thing, my dear. Not a thing."
(I'm approaching my 26th anniversary next week and I'm in such a mood for Arthur Molly fluff. sigh)

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122374Chapter: 6
This was an amazing chapter. I LOVED the whole REmus Tonks interaction. I think Fernwithy is influencing us all. BUt I hated that Charlie is hurt and you didn't tell us how he is. I love Charlie. Please let him be okay.

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122370Chapter: 5
I imagined it like this. This awful. And Umbridge thinking this is too humane. I think you have it just about right. Well done.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122364Chapter: 15
Grin grin grin grin grin.

Cries that it's over.

Really enjoyable, sweet story. I love your working of all the characters, especially George and Tonks.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122354Chapter: 15
What a fun ending! Lolly was absolutely hilarious. I never thought Snape would meet his match in a house elf. Maybe she should try putting the shampoo in a black bottle.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122336Chapter: 15
Brilliant! Good on you both. This is an excellent chapter to finish up a great story really well.

This line in particular was brilliantly evil.

“Then,” he continued, “I’ll kill you. But don’t worry, Giorgio….” His eyes took on a maniacal gleam. “I won’t kill you all at once. They say death is the last great adventure. I’m going to be sure to draw it out, nice and slow, so we can both really experience that adventure..."

Wow, it's impressive (although slightly worrying) that you can understand that kind of evil and portray it so well - especially in a story that generally speaking has a very cheerful tone.

Snape and Lolly are just hysterical. Pure genius! And I do not mean that term lightly. I think Lolly could well by my favourite fanfiction OC ever created, she can see the best in Snape (and that takes quite a character in and of itself) and yet she drives him absolutely crazy. Marvelous!

If I could make one slight criticism. The phrase, "poor Mr Davies, her fiance..." indicated that something bad had happened to Mr Davies. And yet, I think that the ending you were going for was one of hope for Snape, yet, I personally don't like the idea of Snape gaining a bright future through injury to another (presumably perfectly decent) person or for that matter Lolly using such an event to her advantage. Of course, you could have just meant that for one reason or another the relationship between them didn't work out - in which case I apologise.

Anyway, your characters were brilliant with some really great interpretations. The plot was fast and detailed and I very much enjoyed reading it. You must be very proud of finishing this story and rightly so! Congrats!

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122326Chapter: 15
Um, predictably a PS~ I loved Tonks/Remus too and wish I could read more about them. ...Though they are at that wonderful place called true-love-plus-a-bit-of-maturity, and that is satisfying in itself. You matched them ceedingly well.

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122325Chapter: 15
Well, this was a satisfying ending and I stayed up till two to read it (got home a bit late tonight). I particularly liked the way things were resolved yet not; though somehow, I'd have loved to read more about Snape and Ms. Delainy--their story, if there is one, is so far from finished. Perhaps a spinoff??? However, the present ending is life, and your art mimics it well, or maybe is an improvement upon it. ;) Lolly/Snape are truly funny, and the ending to the George/Ainsley story is quite, quite satisfying. Other than that, I like the postscripts from the characters; and I look forward to new stories and chs. Thanks for a wholesome and also ~exciting~ read.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122324Chapter: 15
This was so funny! I loved the Snape/ Lolly interactions- shampoo, ha! I'm so glad stupid Malanotte got what he deserved in the end. Poor George. Or lucky George considering he did most definately get the girl *sigh*. This was a wonderfully entertaining read, I hope you both will keep writing here.

Reviewer: MikeDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122321Chapter: 15
Wow. Just wow. Absolutely wonderful. And well worth the wait. Remus and Tonks are incredibly sweet, and between you to and Fernwithy, I'm now quite hooked on the pairing. The ending is lovely, hits just the right notes and left a huge grin on my face. Gotta love Lolly =)

Reviewer: HalanDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122304Chapter: 15
Even though it was very clear that this story would be ending, I didn't expect it to end so soon. However, you did manage to wrap everything up nicely and all. I've enjoyed reading this story as each chapter has come out, and to see it finished makes me happy since I've completed a 'journey' of sorts with the characters but sad since the 'journey' is over.

My only wish is to find out what really happened to Christopher Davis. Dead? Disfigured? Dumped? Another D-word? The suspense just may kill me...or leave me feeling disgruntled for a few minutes.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122299Chapter: 15
I.LOVE.LOLLY. Hurry up and make your millions so I can have my own personal Lolly, okay?

I'm glad that Charlie and Jennifer are still happy and madly in love. She's a good woman, and he only deserves the best.

Now, could you speak to your friend APR about finishing up her sooper-seekrit fic? ;D

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122292Chapter: 15
Oh my gosh, you did it! You finished, and I'm happy for you but sad for us because this has been such a great story and delightful read to look forward to. I love Tonks settling in among the people in the waiting room, and into her new role. I love Ainsely convincing George just how good of an idea a shop in Hogsmeade would be. And I love how you've left Snape and Lolly - I can make this story continue in my head anytime, simply by wondering what she might have just done to leave him speechless. Thanks again for a magnificent read. And for George Weasley, action hero.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122248Chapter: 15
Oh no! The end! ;)

Well done, ladies. I've enjoyed reading this story. I'm a big fan of George now. And Ainsley.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122247Chapter: 15
Wonderful ending--a bit abrupt, but you pulled it off very well! I hope that's a sequel I see, far off in the future ;-). Nice read

Reviewer: CeilidhDate: 2005-05-15
Reviewid: 122098Chapter: 14
I'm new to Sugar Quill, and have been lurking in the shadows just reading for a while now. Your story is fantastic! I love the plots, and your take on the characters, and I immediately warmed up to the Tonks/Remus thing. It's mature, realistic, sweet and exciting. As it should be.

Please, please PLEASE update soon! I look forward to your next chapter.

Reviewer: PeishanDate: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120418Chapter: 14
I really, really enjoyed this story. Just the right mix of character development, and the plot's exciting. I've bookmarked the story and hope to read the next installment soon. Thanks!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-04-22
Reviewid: 120357Chapter: 1
**Ack!** You caught us reviewing our own story! But...here our review count was, hovering at 249, and...it's such an ugly, unsatisfying number. We had to change it. So here we are. Well...might as well leave a review while we're at it.

UPDATE PLZ!!!!!NOW!!!Y'ALL ARE THE BEST WRITERZ IN THE WURRRRRLD!

Ahem. **straighten clothing** thank you.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119888Chapter: 14
I won't do it this time - I will not be distracted by the beautiful emotional writing and forget to say, "holy moly, what plots you have going on!"
I don't trust *anybody*(well, except for the canon characters.) Style, plot, emotion, suspense, intrigue, knee-buckling fluff, and a sympathetic Severus. Egads, what haven't you supplied? Thanks for sharing this with us mortals.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119885Chapter: 13
You did it again - I can't lump these chapters together and write one review. You had me weeping with Percy; his visit to the tree was beautiful. Then you had me absolutely trembling with Tonks. Gah! I remain prostrate in the presence of your writing majesty.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119883Chapter: 12
I am working on catching up, chapter by chapter, but this amazing line stopped me in my tracks and demanded I comment on it immediately.
>>And then he was gone, leaving her feeling that some vital element had just been taken from the air around her, and yet she was expected to go on breathing anyway.<<
Ladies, I am speechless in the shadow of your greatness.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-04-17
Reviewid: 119825Chapter: 8
I love this chapter (this chapter being Owls and Notes). Brilliantly done.

...and you know, Harry, how sometimes he gets a little bit quiet, and sits staring into the fire in the kitchen? That usually means he needs to talk about something, and if you'd step in and sort of fill up the gap while I'm gone, it would mean a lot. Just don't laugh if he tells you things that Fred and George have done to him, will you? It's really not very funny when you're the one on the receiving end.

Is Ginny hearing from Dean at all?

Love,

Hermione

This bit there is just brilliant in its subtlety.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-04-15
Reviewid: 119690Chapter: 14
*sigh* *sigh* *mega-sigh*

Oh, wait, this is supposed to be a review... :)

Honestly, this chapter blew me away. And not just because of the kiss... it blew me away because I found myself feeling sorry for Snape. And not in an "I've been manipulated into this feeling" way, either - it was totally natural.

I think that the one thing about writing that can't be taught - because it's about who you are, and not how you write - is the kind of compassion that lets you feel for all kinds of people, even those very different from you. Good writers all have it; you can tell they care about their characters, even the rotten ones. And you really have it. I knew it already, but I had to mention it in this chapter because it's so evident in the way you handle Snape.

Yay for the update! Thank you!

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119197Chapter: 14
YES! FINALLY! Go Tonks go! Wonderful last line.
Your writing, as usual, amazes me. Keep up the good work, ladies!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-04-10
Reviewid: 119128Chapter: 14
The last line is the best thing EVER.

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-04-08
Reviewid: 119022Chapter: 14
I'm trying to think of something sensible to write, rather than just making high pitched noises of excitement that another chapter is up. I really like the effort you've put into researching British-isms. I'm hopelessly American, but I noticed the words for 'babysitter' and 'the stopping place for pedestrians in the middle of a street'. Good stuff! :)

Reviewer: LorieDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118833Chapter: 14
You are writing a story that, in lesser hands, would seem terribly disjointed and choppy, but you are making it a sheer pleasure to hop back and forth, and it all flows wonderfully. Might I add that your getting Tonks and Remus together was done masterfully, and when I read the chapter in which he shows her how to tell if the moon is waxing or waning, I tried it out myself. Not so romantic when you are alone, though! Anyway, "The chapter that took forever to write" was well worth the wait, esp. for the Remus and Tonks part, beautifully written, simply perfect. You have convinced me that they belong together, something that I never thought of in canon. Looking forward to the next chapters!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118820Chapter: 14
"Lolly gets five Sickles per week. Sir can pay weekly, or monthly. Which ever is convenient."-*g*

For some odd reason I cracked up when I read this.
"They can’t have the -MLES- crashing their little party on them, can they?" LOL

Welcome Grunnings! “The Drill That Fits the Bill”:
I loved the fact that you had Grunnings there.

I wonder who there leader is, and what happened to Ainsley.

Amazing chapter

Gryfny

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118653Chapter: 14
Oh my. As always I'm awed. This is beautiful all the way around. Poor Snape...but perhaps you've opened him up to the possibility of finding love down the road. George's situation is terribly frightening. And Remus/Tonks - achingly sweet.

Just loved it.

Reviewer: suaDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118610Chapter: 14
This chapter was beautiful. . . and not disconnected at all. The seams of the story fitted together perfectly. Way to go!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118509Chapter: 14
Ouch... ouch for Snape. Ouch ouch ouch. I really did not see that coming, and I really hurt for him. I wonder why she didn't tell him? Maybe because she thought it was obvious? Maybe because she knew that he wouldn't do anything. Still, I winced for him. At least he's got Lolly. God help him. ^^;;

I also felt sorry for Ainsley, but in a different way. The interaction between the twins was spot on, and it was nice to see Fred holding George back for a change. Poor George, he's in deep. And what have they got themselves into? >.>

Remus and Tonks... wow. Just wow. So realistic, and so moving. That's all I have to say.

Favourite lines:
Her eyes suddenly filled with tears. "Lolly does not care, Sir. Lolly is just wanting Sir to stop making his own life miserable." - so true
x
Briefly, George let himself dwell on the very pleasant prospect of introducing the Healer’s nose to his fist. - very funny
x
A week. It wasn't so long, really. Not when you wanted someone forever.

Hope the next chapter won't take so long,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118417Chapter: 14
The writing just gets better and better. The elegant prose involving Snape, the disparity of perspective between Ainsley and George, and the sensual yet understated moment between Tonks and Remus are to be savoured. I presently think of your Snape as what Mister Darcy would have been like if raised by wizards, and without an Elisabeth around to correct him early on. The beaked mask is quite freakish and apt--as I've always found Huitzilopochtli, Thoth, Garuda, Horus and Tash! Odowritemoregainsoonplease. ;)

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118411Chapter: 14
Firstly, I love your chapter title.;) I hope the next chapter takes less than forever. The part about Remus and Tonks was adorable "I hate saying goodbye to you"- very poignant. I'm worried about Ainsley, though. I really hope she's alright and George reaches her in time.... damn cliffhangers. That Dark of the Moon society was scary, you really created an unpleasant atmosphere for that scene.. executioners hoods.. ugh.
On a slightly lighter note, I liked interaction between Snape and Lolly- and the fact that the final clinching thought in his decision to take Lolly was that it would annoy the other staff... Wonderful chapter, not at all stumbling, kepp it up!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118378Chapter: 14
Welcome back! I've missed you and your story, and especially your insights on the forums. Hope you're back for good!

Reviewer: AbbaDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118372Chapter: 14
Lovely! The cameo appearance by Uncle Vernon was quite inspired. Such poignancy with the Lupin/Tonks interaction — I love how Tonks is completely overwhelmed by how she feels about him, at the point of tears for no good reason.

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118362Chapter: 14
Oh, what a great installment! Please update soon as I'm dying over the cliffies here.

My heart is just breaking for Snape. And I'm rather disappointed in Sarah. What was she thinking?? That relationship just can't end that way. She at least owes him an explanation.

The George/Aisley storyline certainly got seriously scary in a hurry. I also liked the touch of having them run into Uncle Vernon.

The section on Remus and Tonks was just beautiful. Finally they're admitting their feelings. sigh! Isn't it time for another full moon pretty quickly? Or did I miss that along the way? Anyway, am anxiously awaiting their next conversation.

Hope the next chapter comes quickly as the suspense will kill me. Great work!!!! Thanks!

Reviewer: Frankie BDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118356Chapter: 14
*melts into a puddle on the floor*

Gah. Superb, as always, ladies. . . and well worth the wait. The last line alone was well worth it.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116206Chapter: 13
This is amazing. I was actually shivering at the end of this chapter! Pleeeeeeease keep going!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116189Chapter: 13
This is bloody brilliant. I absolutely adore Lolly- one truly roxing house elf- and your
Snape is very human. That Lorenzo or whatever his name is is odious- I really hope he doesn't get his hands on Ainsley. When he was first imtroduced I immediately thought Lockhart, only he seems a lot brighter and- and - eviler than that.

The Remus/ Tonks situation is lovely- I especially liked the part where she turned up to nurse him after his transformation and he got annoyed at her... Very much how I would imagine Remus to react- he's used to being solitary and he would *not* be interested in charity.

I feel so sorry for poor broken Annie- I wonder to what extent she was involved with killing that poor kid, and if her dead had anything to do with it. So many mysteries yet to be solved! I really can't wait for an update. One problem I found when reading- maybe it was just me being thick- was I got confused at times between Sarah and Leah-not so much when they were talking as when they were being talked about. I had to look back at one point to work out which one the house elf didn't like (did I mention how much I liked Lolly? Well, I'll mention it again anyway). And Ainsley, as I think I've said before, is very likable. I always feel a little dubious around female OC's (probably the effect of reading too many Mary Sue parodies, I now see them everywhere) but Ainsley is just wonderful and not even faintly Sue- ish. And the Weasley party was adorable- for some reason the description of Molly and Arthur's wedding photo really choked me up- and Percy not quite coming was heart rending- if only he'd had enough courage to prove his brothers wrong- it would have made Molly so happy....

Anyhow, this review is getting perilously wrong, so I'll shut up now.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116159Chapter: 2
Interesting concept. I wonder how Lupin will manage being as nasty to his pupils as old Snapey. I really liked the characterisation of Dumbledore, ditto Snape. And your ' Fred and George inventions' were very inventive and Molly's reactions were priceless. And the romance between Ainsley and Geoge is just *so cute*. I love how he's so insecure around girls.
<"Oh puh-lease," Rachel had retorted. "Can you imagine us together? With his orange hair and all those freckles--and that awful house he lives in! I wouldn't go out with him if he were the last boy in Ottery St. Catchpole. Although, if it were a contest between him and Fred, I think they'd tie for last place."

And she had laughed.

And he had thrown the locket into the river on his way home and never told anyone about her, not even Fred. And he had never fancied another girl again. Until now. >

That complete.... cow. Poor George. Well, I love him, anyhow. *hugs George*. And after he'd saved up to by her a locket and everything. *fumes* Some people have no taste. This reminded me a little of the Ron/ Fleur interaction... although at least Fleur wasn't that mean.

<Fred had called him 'fit,' but then Fred would say that, as they looked exactly alike. >

This made me laugh. So Fred!

Ainsley's backstory was fascinating and very sad- it was a jolting reminder of the terrible things that are happening in the wizarding world- interesting that that group also called itself the DA...

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114764Chapter: 13
Ooh, I've just spent the past few hours engrossed in this, and it's wonderful! I can't wait for an update.

One of my favorite parts:

'"Still… it's a bloody great invasion of privacy, walking around in another man's underpants for a month and a half. And Snape isn't the type to clap me on the back and laugh it off over a pint or two. If you think he's unpleasant now, wait 'til he comes back knowing his skinny arse has been exposed to me all summer! I'll never be able to look the man in the eye again."

There was a brief silence. Tonks stared, then covered her mouth with her hand. She tried, and failed, to suppress a snort of laughter.'

:D

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114680Chapter: 13
P.s., sorry, I meant Anne of Green Gables not the Delerium girl! Also, I love the quote from Indigo Girls at the star--having a music context is a wonderful addition to the reading experience.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114652Chapter: 13
Wonderful, please don't make us wait so long for the next chapter! (although then it's closer to ending, which would be sad. . . so maybe you should take your time)

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114633Chapter: 13
Really, really perfect, just like a summer's evening.

Wonderful how you draw the past, present and future into a realistic yet ever so sweet/poignant/pleasing collusion of melancholy and hopefulness--WITHOUT any by gosh awful Poeish or Family Circus sentimentality--through the party.

Wonderful timing on the moon scene.

Wonderful tappings into a range of core human experiences--delight and desire, amused condescension for the opposite sex, promise of connexion (the G/H moment was great!), rowdy fun, exclusion and inclusion, remembering something totally good and totally lost from childhood.

I really like the unique way you're defining 'love' with Lolly and Snape. Also with Molly and Arthur.

The descriptive language is great. Somehow I think orchards and lilacs and a moon tossed on ghostly seas, and Anne afraid to move unless it all disappears. And, with all the human interest and wonderful bits of fructose (complex) fluff, you maintain the plot.

Reviewer: Snuffle's GirlDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114619Chapter: 13
ahhhhhhh that was soooo harsh!!! How could you tantalize us with that moment!!! Please tell me it will happen soon!!! I really can't take it anymore! OH and will Sarah and Severus ever see eachother again?? can't wait for an update!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114561Chapter: 13
Before I regale your talented musings I must say that you are impertinent tarts for leaving off this chapter this way...Yep, impertinent tarts!

This whole thing is just lovely. I'm really enjoying the story of tonx/remus. They're a wonderful couple together and his little waxing/wanning lesson...*sigh* .. y'all are killing me here.

Percy...I've got a much deeper appreciation for our Prefect since becoming friends with Julie. He doesn't deserve what the other boys are doing...but then again..Weasley's are fierce loyalists...just all the same I wished Molly had seen him.

Ainsley/George..what a wonderful relationship that is enveloping between the two of the them...and that smarmy Lorenozo argh...Hope George figures out a way to get rid of him in short order.

Severus...I love his interactions with Lolly...they KILL me! And with Sarah...she does bring out the man in him...it is grand to watch!!

And last but not least, the appearance of quillers. I love that!! It crax me up when I'm reading a paragraph and out of nowhere Juli Miller or Jennifer Sauls or Adriana pops up...just a wonderful personal touch to an already beautiful story!

Great Job!! Keep it up!!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114537Chapter: 13
I hope we see more of Irma Prewett, you can't just introduce a great character and then forget about them. The whole Anniversary party was just great. The Percy scene was very powerful, but I'm still hoping to a reconcilation between them.

And I hope Lolly works out with Snape.

Reviewer: AdrienneDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114526Chapter: 13
Percy has my deepest sympathies. To be so doubtful and wanting to make everything better, than to have his brother say something like that and confirm all doubts... Man, I just really felt for him. On a brighter note, I love Remus and Tonks. Your Remus is a bit seductive than other portrayals I've seen, not that that is in any way a bad thing. Excellent that you still keep him in character. And of course, Snape... ::sigh:: Awesome. I feel like something is going to go down with Leah though, she's not a happy lady is she? Well done all around, thank you for creating such enjoyable fanfic.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114414Chapter: 13
*sigh*

Reviewer: DorianDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114413Chapter: 13
When I first heard of the idea of a Remus/Tonks ship, I thought it was ludicrous. Now I am not only sold, but convinced they are the best things that ever happened to each other. Thanks for being some of the only writers to realize the magic of a touch that is NOT a kiss...yet...I also love the fact that we know what's going on with Harry, Ron, Hermione, and Ginny, even if they aren't described exactly.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114339Chapter: 13
I love how you write this story. I love how it is focused on the outside characters, characters who are important but who are not Harry and Ginny and Ron and Hermione, yet it still incorporates all the detail and nuance of their lives. I love Remus...I don't blame Tonks for feeling like jelly! I love how you wrote that scene. I wish I could attend this party! Can't wait to read more... :D

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114327Chapter: 13
Oh, I just want Remus and Tonks to finally finally admit their feelings to each other. They've had so many electrifying moments, I'm anxious with anticpation for the climax.

Another great chapter, I hope George can warn Ainsley in time.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114297Chapter: 13
ACK! So many emotions in one chapter! How do you do it?

Poor Percy...I wish he had found his Gryffindor courage.

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114291Chapter: 13
*melts*

I think that was just my favourite chapter so far. I love the thought of Lolly going back to Hogwarts with Snape (Lolly is, I sincerely believe, one of the all time great OCs). And last bit... just beautiful.

*melts some more*

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114260Chapter: 13
Ouch, seems like those Weasleys mess everything up. First Fred and Charlie (and I really wanted to see the reunification scene too!), and then Ron and Ginny. Ah well...great writing.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114258Chapter: 13
Gulp. Good grief this is the most wonerful story. I've just read as far as you've got in one sitting. It's mesmerising, and I love the characters it follows. Oh all right, I've never been a Snape fan, but I think your portrayal of his is very good - truthful but human. And the Remus/Tonks stuff is brilliant. Their relationship is so in character, it makes me more of an R/T shipper than I already am. You've one such a good job with both of them.
And then there's George ... reading some of your earlier George chapters I was mentally nodding and going'yes, precisely'. I think you've got him spot on - giving him a character that is separate from Fred's. His fluffy moment was heat-melting.

The way these threads weave together, along with the humour and the fantastic characters of this story make it seriously addictive. It is so very bitter-sweet, especially at the moment, with Percy fleeing, an Remus and Tonks left in limbo (for once, darn Ron and Ginny).

You are amazing writers.

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114252Chapter: 13
I have another method to tell if the moon is waning or waxing but it's dead boring compared to Remus's method. Though I'm not sure if Tonks was in any state to understand let alone remember his 'explanation'. Maybe he'll have to explain again *grin*

Poor Percy! The childhood memories were a very nice touch (and triggered some memories of mine). Too bad he had to hear what his brother think of him. Loved Percy taking the time to be scandalised by Fred's smoking. Once a Prefect, always a Prefect!

I can't wait to read more of the ongoing love saga between Lolly and Snape. I imagine his face when she asks to accompany him to Hogwarts. Or maybe Lolly won't ask and will just show up there one morning, LOL.

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114244Chapter: 13
Phenomenal chapter, ladies! I don't know whether I want to kiss you for giving us more or holler at you for making us wait longer. Poor Percy... and the Remus/Tonks scene was lovely.
Your writing is wonderful - keep the good stuff coming!

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114234Chapter: 13
Loved the party! The music was simply inspired; the dancing simply divine, dahling. The family pictures made me (cough), ahem. . .get dust in my eye. Dancing under the apple blossoms, it really made for a remarkable evening, don't you think?

Excellent food, although the barkeep was a bit under the weather, I reckon--he slopped me pint all over. That Remus didn't get to dance much, did he? Pity, he seemed so quiet. Pity that Percy didn't show--understandable to be sure, but it must have broken Molly's heart.

Nicely done! As you can tell, I enjoyed a lot of very nice moments.

"Professor Snape," Sarah said carefully, "does not always know what it is that he truly wants. Although it wouldn't do to mention that to him," she added hastily.

(snort-chuckle)

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114231Chapter: 13
Poor Percy! I really can't believe I just said that, but I do think the boy is redeemable. I am now very curious about Sarah as well. I wonder what she was about to say before Lolly got there. The party was very well set up. I would have cried, too. The anticipation is killing me! I can't wait to see the next chapter!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114218Chapter: 13
Okay...I don't know what to say. I've so been looking forward to this chapter and wondering what you would do and it was soo lovely!! Percy in the tree was just beautiful, all the lovely little boy games and the reflections on childhood (Bill the undisputed Grand Despot and Terror of Nations)...and Fred...acting just as stupid as Percy.

And then there's Remus and Tonks...jaw droppingly, breathtakingly gorgeous.

Thank you so much...I'm throwing a hundred kisses to you both!

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114199Chapter: 13
If you only know how happy seeing an update makes me. This was a beautiful chapter, it just flowed. The party scenes were lovely, especially the scene between Tonks and Remus and the moon (it's like another character). Also loved the scene between Snape and Sarah, but will they ever get to have a conversation that doesn't get interrupted? I'm quite curious to hear what she "has...". Poor Severus, to step out on such an emotional limb and then not get an answer. Although the conversation between Sarah and Lolly at least cleared up a few things. Lastly, the scene with Percy was heartbreaking. If only Charlie and Fred knew, but I guess they'll find out when the gift is found. Thanks for this chapter! So since the course is ending, is the story wrapping up? Please say that's not happening!

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114198Chapter: 13
The first paragraph of this chapter raises a serious question: if Remus had a shower before the Polyjuice wore off, would he still be clean once he turned back into himself?

"...Ginny was curled in the swing, laughing up at Harry Potter..." This comes across as a tiny bit strange - we're in Remus's POV, no? Wouldn't he think of Harry as just Harry?

Other than that, I love all the Weasley goodness in this chapter! The bit with Percy was done well, and I like the idea of Snape with his very own house-elf named Lolly!

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114197Chapter: 13
Argh! ::slams head against desktop:: *I'm* going to hex Ginny six ways from Sunday! I'm turning into one of those gushing, fluff-obsessed people who say, "Screw your beautifully woven plot-lines and carefully crafted suspense! Make them smooch already, dammit!"

Phew. Got that outta my system. Loving the story, and looking forward to more.

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114195Chapter: 13
Wow, what a great chapter!

Reviewer: HelenDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114076Chapter: 11
ivy & gracie,

How do I begin to tell you how brilliant this story is? Obviously the characterisation, the prose, the perfectly-timed humour, the romance - ah! All these things I *love*, it goes without saying, but in reading this chapter I came across the perfect illustration of your genius when you described Snape's reflections about the futility of his 'career':

'He closed his eyes and tried to imagine just dropping the letter, unopened, into the fireplace and walking away from it all. Eleanor, after all, had done it. He imagined walking away from Dumbledore, and Hogwarts, and all of the students with their wretched, self-important, adolescent angst. Away from subterfuge, and fear, and the knowledge that one day the juggling act would grow too complex, and the pins in the air would all come crashing down on him.'

So many writers would not have bothered; the letter would have arrived, been torn open and read without a moment's pause to consider any alternative action. But in these lines (and the ones that follow about growing marrows in Surrey!A Poirot reference?) you display your skill at delving beneath a character's skin, deep into the complexities of the decisions that shape their character and their lives. Your Snape becomes a living, breathing soul, not just a jumble of words on a computer screen, and not just a sneer and a snarl and an icy glare.

So, I chose those lines about Snape, but of course I was spoilt for choice when it comes to George, Remus and Tonks; it would almost have been impossible to narrow it down.

This story is just such a delight to read and I eagerly look forward to your updates.

Helen

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113990Chapter: 3
I'm re-reading and just caught the bit where George caught the name Dixon in Snape's report. I feel like a duh-head now, but wanted to compliment y'all on your sneakiness and plot twists. I don't know what I'll do when this story ends!

Reviewer: jkbDate: 2005-02-14
Reviewid: 113912Chapter: 12
This story is really good. I am fascinated with all the characters and story lines going on here. I can't wait to see what happens next.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113847Chapter: 12
:wub: :wub: :wub: :wub:

You dedicated a chapter to me! And it's this chapter! You're so sweet!

"And then he was gone, leaving her feeling that some vital element had just been taken from the air around her, and yet she was expected to go on breathing anyway." *sigh*

As usual, all the characters are so in-character while still doing completely original things. Bill, Charlie, Fred, George... that carrying-on at Tonx's flat was perfect, and so funny! And when Tonx wants Remus to use hs "teacher voice" and he doesn't know he *has* a "teacher voice" -- so funny and believable. Of course he doesn't know he has a teacher voice -- it's second nature!

Remus' thoughts about the moon... *sniff*. Just like him.

You segue from mood to mood in this chapter so well -- funny to tender to sad to funny again (origami!) to downright scary (brr... Fitzwilliam). True to life and seamless.

Thank you for dedicating this wonderful chapter to me!

Kit

Reviewer: PirateQueenDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113595Chapter: 12
This story just gets better and better, the more complex it becomes ... and on a baser level, the thought of Tonks sniffing her own armpits was hilarious! ;-)

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2005-02-07
Reviewid: 113172Chapter: 12
Today I had puttered around, quite bored,
I was out of things to read about an intergalactic fjord,
Until my feet led me to sit at my chair,
Don't click on the Quill cried everything from my toes to my hair!
Yet I did, and lo what I stumbled upon:
Where the Light Is! My day was as good as gone.

How delighted I was to find Ainsley Dixon back!
And giggled, did I, at the graces George lacked.
Your Remus and Tonks make my heart glow,
Severus Snape, could it be, slight pleasant?!? No!
Surprises at every turn I found,
And addicted- addicted I was- good and sound.

With baited breath I await the next chapters,
What will become of those Death Eater raptors?
Will Remus and Tonks finally kiss,
Will Ainsley and George make it or miss?
The romance, suspence and interwoven mystery,
Make this story one that will go down in history!


:o)

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113030Chapter: 12
I like reading this story instead of writing mine!
The whole part with Tonks and Remus was wonderful. Her idea of him teaching Muggles is really good though it has the downside of Remus having to hide even more what he is : a wizard and a werewolf. I think he must be weary of all the hiding and pretending, sometimes.
I'm so relieved that Fred knows that there's something fishy with the party.
And poor Snape (did I type that?!), trying to do something good and ending up again in a dark situation. He must really feel like it's clinging to him.

Reviewer: GabrielDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112953Chapter: 12
[QUOTE]Remus spoke again. "So I was thinking about how the moon has always obsessed people; compelled us with its magic, and how, when we finally got there it turned out to be nothing but a gray ball of dust and rock, and oh gods, was it ever cold!"

"No strange and wonderful life forms could survive there," she said, a little shakily.

"And men brought back a bag of rocks, because they thought they should bring back something, but everyone who looked at the rocks secretly wished they'd been something else; something better; magical, or at least that they'd glittered a little.”[/QUOTE]

Ouch. If someone ever spoke of the Apollo program in such belittling terms to my face, I’d probably have to smack them. The exploration of space is both my passion and my profession. (Not that I want to smack either of you! I get the feeling that this is Remus’ perception of the moon and not necessarily yours. It makes sense that he might hate it; we already know that he fears it.) Even so, I feel compelled to point out that for everyone involved in the Apollo project, landing on the moon was neither a small nor a disappointing thing, and rocks were not brought back simply because the astronauts thought they should. Those rocks were treasured by scientists and engineers, none of whom gave a damn what they looked like apart from what it told them about their compositions. One of the very best episodes of [i]From the Earth to the Moon[/i] is entitled “Galileo Was Right” and deals with a geologist’s attempt to teach the astronauts of Apollo 15 just what to look for on the moon. To the astronauts, a rock was just a rock, but not to the geologist, and by the time those astronauts reached the moon, they saw the terrain in a different way, and looked at it like scientists.

I see a strange irony in Remus’ description of the moon, and I hope I can find the words to explain it well. Remus is removing the mysticism of the moon in his speech and describing it like it is – a rock in space. But to me, this juxtaposition of the legend of the werewolf and reality is, well, jarring. Really, the idea that a sphere of rock orbiting in space more than 200,000 miles away could cause a man to turn into a wolf (depending on the relative positions of the Sun, Earth, and Moon, to boot) is, of course, ludicrous. It is almost as if there are [i]two[/i] moons – one that has the ability to turn men into wolves and exists only in fairy tales, and another that men have walked upon. So having a werewolf in such a story talk about the moon in realistic terms, even going so far as to reference man’s landing upon it, is like mixing oil and water, if you see what I mean. I’m not trying to say that men should not have landed on the moon in the Harry Potter books; on the contrary, the wizards live right alongside the oblivious Muggles, and J.K. Rowling has never given us any reason to believe that major events, such as WWII, never happened in her books. She just doesn’t address them much. And I don’t necessarily think that Remus talking about the lunar landings is a bad thing; I just think it’s… strange. Not bad strange, just strange. I hope I’ve made it plain that this is not a “you shouldn’t have done this!” kind of comment. I just wonder if anyone else, including you, found Remus’ speech to be as ironic as I did.

More comments. I am having a wonderful time reading your story, even if I haven’t given the impression of enjoyment thus far. (I apologize; whenever I hear man’s exploration of space trivialized, by fictional characters or by real people, it gets my back up.) I have to admit to enjoying the George/Ainsley plotline more than the Remus/Tonks plotline, but then, I’m not a Remus/Tonks devotee. It is certainly believable and not heavy-handed at all. If their romance were rushed or unrealistic, I would not be enjoying the story much and would probably not be reviewing. Snape is [i]very[/i] well written. I love that you have not made him into a misunderstood soul with a heart of gold. He’s still dark and unpleasant, as he should be. And I can believe that he might have been in love once – not with a woman who would make him good and pure, but with someone who shared his interests, both for potions and, well, Dark magic (at the time, anyway). Your plot is excellent, too. You’re doing a great job of working these interlocking stories together, like a mystery, and good mysteries are nearly impossible to come by in fanfiction. I actually read very little fanfiction, having come across so much of it that is utter crap. (Great. Now I sound like a complete snob.) But your story is among the best fanfiction that I have ever read, and it’s the sort that really leaves you disappointed when the latest installment is over, knowing you’ll have to wait a few weeks at least to find out what happens next.

My apologies for leaving such an uneven review. I’ve read over it a few times and it doesn’t flow very well, but I’m afraid I don’t know how to make it any more coherent. :)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112873Chapter: 12
I've been a fan of this story since the first chapter. I love Sarah, and the slowly developing relationship between Tonks and Lupin: it's very realistic, yet also romantic. You show how they have things in common, and you point out how Lupin can take command. There are also great insights into other characters. I am missing the focus on George and Ainsley, although I like the focus on Snape's sabbatical. Hope to see more of it in the future.

Brit-pick: Remus wouldn't say 'folks' for 'parents', that's very American; I don't think he'd say 'half-arsed' either, even when he's angry. 'Half-baked' might be better, or even 'cocked up'.

Looking forward to the next installment,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Dena SherickDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112851Chapter: 12
This is one of my favorite stories. Thanks for the intriguing plot line, the humor, and the expansion of some of my favorite characters. I love reading it!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112848Chapter: 12
Squee! (you know why)

I was wondering when the 25th anniversary was going to come up again. I loved that whole scene. And I thought the Remus/Tonks scene had the appropriate amount of tension.

Hee hee! I'm still excited!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --